SPIED: Mitsubishi Attrage seen at JPJ before launch

Mitsubishi_Attrage_JPJ_Malaysia_01

There’s no shortage of information on the upcoming Mitsubishi Attrage. After all, we’ve already driven it in Thailand, seen it on oto.my and most recently, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) itself announced the preliminary price (starting from RM59,000) and specs of the small sedan. Still, more pictures won’t hurt.

UPDATE: The Attrage is now launched in Malaysia – click here for the launch report.

Regular JPJ Putrajaya spies Anol Alias and ApexKit sent us these pictures of an Attrage SE (the highest of four variants to be available), giving us all a first peek at the Malaysian-spec Attrage’s snazzy-looking 15-inch wheels and what looks like a spacious interior. For a B-segment car, that is.

Seen inside are the push start button (hiding behind the indicator stalk, plus the blanked-out key hole), leather-wrapped steering wheel, (at least) four speakers, automatic air-con and a 2-DIN touchscreen head unit.

Mitsubishi_Attrage_JPJ_Malaysia_11

Missing items from the SE kit list are the factory bodykit, LED DRLs (both can be seen in the single official shot here) and leather upholstery. Perhaps those will be locally fitted, while the rest of the car comes as is from Thailand.

A quick recap: the Attrage has a 1.2 litre MIVEC three-pot with 80 PS and 106 Nm, plus a low 915 kg kerb weight for an impressive 21 km per litre claimed economy. Transmission options are either a five-speed manual (on the base GL variant) or an INVECS-III CVT ‘box.

Also don’t forget, the Mitsubishi Attrage is shown in full ahead of its official launch (in November) at the Paradigm Mall Ground Floor Promotional Area from September 6 to 8. That’s Friday (today) till Sunday, so do come by if you’re interested.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 180
    • Gugong? if u look carefully it looks like a eagle! freaking sexy and sport! better than dugong with LED lights Suprima!

• Dugong sorry!

• You said you have imported car. Is it a Tata Nano? LOL

• Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:25 am

hey…welcome to all dugongs then…lol hey Mr VS, i dont know how u looked at this car the part that u say “freaking sexy and sport”, but i can see that u have an eye prob lah…lol again ^_^

• Lorat on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:39 pm

I don’t want to know how your eagle looks like.

• OMG…The new baby Dugong reborn after the dugong (vios) going to retired.

• Matchy on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Tentative price already out…61-78k!

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/pdf/cars/attrage/Mitsubishi-Attrage-Prelaunch-Leaflet.pdf

• its true on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:36 pm

So ugly, with that amount of money better spend on Preve or Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Alahai on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Dugong 3.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Hard to understand when they designed the evo with so umpph, but this thing is so haihh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • iluvmichoobisi on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:20 pm

At least it has a tail. Unlike the lagi best which look like a robot head to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawa on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:32 pm

If proven 21KM/Liter I’ll consider it lah….petrol naik what to do…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • downsys on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Finally some sense from a PaulTan reader! What’s most attractive is the fuel consumption. Looks ok-ok lah. Not too bad but won’t turn heads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • shakey on Sep 06, 2013 at 4:31 pm

yeah, it’s proven for city driving!! For highway, even better at 30km per liter. Don’t believe it? ask chips yap, he did it!!!

• I think is possible coz it has either CVT or manual, not like some ancient 4 speed technology.

Exterior maybe a bit sorry but the pricing n spec is a value buy.

• TS.Lim on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Fuel consumption is best selling point for Attrage.
      Theoretically, 1.2litre 3 cylinders + CVT + 915kg
      sure can achieve at least 18~19km/liter in real world!

• Hameed Koyakutty on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:34 pm

I saw it just now….Seriously, its a ugly looking car……worse than the mirage….

But hey, who cares, even the Almera is selling……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • sonic31s on Sep 06, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Yes Almera its a ugly looking car… but people choose Almera based of the car spacious and affordable and not about the looks… if looks got get yourself a mp4-12c/laferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Fahmi on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Mirage is a good car fit for its purpose, economy minded, city runabout car… And I assume this car is good too, with a bit of added practicality…. Long distance, spirited driving?? Not sure though, it may need a bigger engine like 1.5/1.6 4A9 series, or else it may be underpowered for Malaysian roads…

Mirage looks okay for me, but Attrage looks odd, the common problem of hatch derived sedans…. But even the “odd” Vios and Almera can sell well, why not this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • krs189 on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:42 pm

I’m Att rage of the pricing….

• Beetle Nut on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Honestly, it’s kind of painful to look at this car, and then you find out it has a 1.2L 3 cylinder engine…

• Design-wise, not beautiful at all, but as long as it is spacious, I’m sure people would not mind getting one.

Some more with fuel price rising, 22km/Liter might caught some interest from people who could not afford owning/maintaining a hybrid.

Now the ball is on MITI’s feet, price it wisely because it might lessen people’s anger following the recent fuel price hike. Hopefully it can be priced similar than Mirage.

• List of Dugong available in Malaysia:

1. Toyota Vios
    2. Honda City
    3. Nissan Almera
    4. Mitsubishi Attrage

Pick yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 32
  • i dont know much about car spec and all.. just wanna ask, with 1200 cc engine, is this car have enough pickup for hill climbs and long distance driving if 4 passengers in it?

• Can la.. Myvi 1.3, 91Ps/117Nm. Not very far away. Plus this has CVT.

• Green on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:19 pm

U can test drive it and believe it.

Pickup = no issue.
      better then old mitsu 4 cylinder 1300cc.
      and
      on par with Hyundai Accent 1400cc::
      http://s5.paultan.org/image/2013/07/Mitsu-Attrage-36-850×1283.jpg

Acceleration = Good for a City Styled Sedan.
      All thanks to Well built engine yet come with CVT.

Power to Weight Ratio Comparison:
      1. Saga flx = 1055kg/70kw = 14.5
      2. Attrage = 915/kg/57kw = 16.2

Hence, altough Attrage is 1200cc.
      but u can feel it’s more powerful then Saga FLX.

Check here:
      http://paultan.org/2013/07/18/mitsubishi-attrage-driven-thailand/mitsu-attrage-37/

Test drive Previewed:
      http://paultan.org/2013/07/18/mitsubishi-attrage-driven-thailand/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • I think you mistaken, it is weight to power, the higher the figure means that your every kW need to move more weight which means the power is not good…. correct me if I’m wrong…..

• powershot on Sep 07, 2013 at 7:00 am

you’re right. the lower the value the better. based on the calculation above; it shows how much load the engine has to carry per unit of power output produced

• spark on Sep 06, 2013 at 3:59 pm

it’s not relevant for the middle class family to has a very good looking car with sky high fuel consumption. yes, looks like dugong, but with its FC, it is worth it.

• No No No on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:26 pm

My friend drive P2 1.3M, fully loaded with 4 people, having difficulty to go up G. Highland… Cant imagine what happen to 1.2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • TS.Lim on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:46 pm

if you frequently go Genting Highland, then dont choose this car lo.
      Car is a transport, depends on how you use, when you use, where you use and etc..
      Justify it yourself.
      I got a friend travel a lot within Klang Valley, but seriously jam makes him headache. And, he is a kind of money-saving guy, so he chooses bike eventually. Ha, surprising decision!

• Green on Sep 06, 2013 at 5:31 pm

MMC this time should make it right.
    More Marketing and Better Pricing..

being a budget car from Mitsubishi.
    Should be very clear that Budget car = High Volume Sales..

BUDGET CAR = means to conquer market!

• Mirage is a marketing and sales failure because you can hardly seen any running on the road aside from some earlier registered units.

Malaysian is still pretty much a sedan-preferring market, so I really hope that Mitsu will utilise this chance fully to capture more market share.

• leena on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:22 pm

dugong still use 3 cylinder? Haiyaaaaa

• Alexis on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:03 am

The design is definitely not too attractive. But won’t eliminate it just because of 1 factor.

The fuel efficient and ecological benefits should be considered especially for city driving. With the never ending jam and increase in fuel price, it may be a plus point for many of us. Pricing wise, cannot compare with Thailand since they got Eco car incentive. If it’s between 58K and 70K, can be considered.

Got to test drive 1st. Hard to judge at this stage.

• Nothing great about the design. But can definitely consider due to its frugality. 21km/l is quite enticing for city driving. Can’t judge at this stage, got to test drive 1st.

• almera vs alttrage………..?

after few months from now……..we will know from the road.

• if later, sell figure not reach target…re-badge ma

• Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2013 at 8:45 am

Great news for me.

More Elantra and Forte owners will trade their rotten cabbages in once this Mitsu is out.

Man, just need more Hilux, my sales team getting sore throat telling these pityful people they will have to sell for less than 50% of purchase price within 1 year of ownership

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 361 Thumb down 407
  • Fahmi on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Mitsubishi At Rage

• RVP20 on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:59 pm

wow…1.2 attrage selling @Rm59k
    even Saga flx 1.6 is selling @RM47k, add 1k u got preve

• Pricy for a 1200cc engine sedan car..
    CVT do contributes to better FC, however in the future u might need to replace some spare part like flywheel and etc. Bare in mind that Mitsubishi spare part is not cheap. Sometimes i think conventional auto gear is long lasting than CVT
    Even though CVT can makes the car drive at the pick up rpm, but if the 1200cc engine need higher rpm to carry the weight while 1500cc can do it at lower rpm, do the 1200cc is still fuel efficiency than 1500cc?
    Do shoot me if I am wrong:)

• 500hp on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:10 pm

21km/liter….eco car in thailand…i want boking one…..save money save oil…

• norman on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Im hoping mmc will come out with turbo version

• norman on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Reverse psychology la bro, if your family is under 4 then you can consider or for working purpose. 21km/l at what speed, what condition what whether? Dun tell me you wanna drive slow up to 90 the most? Manufacturers will always be them claiming all sorts of gizmos and tricks but in real world? Ive seen Thai Attrage having struggle goin uphill with 5 on boards need I say more? Myvi is way better than this

• well, the purpose of car is to travel. i cant believe there are so many pretentious people out there comment on better buy this brand and that brand. bottom line is, if you are a cheap s hole, no matter how cool your drive is, you still an s. Proton is the worst car that stealing all other brand design and claiming for his own. Beg to sell to foreign country at cheap price full spec and sell the rejected version to own citizen.