2013 Ford Fiesta facelift – 1.5 Ti-VCT Sport to be launched on Sept 28, 1.0 EcoBoost to debut year end

ford fiesta fl 05

The 2013 Ford Fiesta facelift will be officially launched in Malaysia on September 28, nearly three years since the car made its debut in the country. The new Fiesta will be introduced here in a solitary 1.5 litre Ti-VCT guise, but the Sport won’t be the only variant in the model line-up for long.

By December, the much-anticipated 1.0 EcoBoost variant should be making its way into the showrooms – the hatch is likely to get its Malaysian premiere at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 in November. A sedan form for the facelift is there, but whether that will appear alongside the hatch at point of launch remains to be seen.

The Fiesta facelift, first seen at a Go Further event in Amsterdam in September last year, made its ASEAN debut at the Bangkok Motor Show back in March this year – the car made a teaser appearance on press day, which was also when the 1.0 EcoBoost mill was announced as destined for the region.

Its exterior has a revised front end, with the by-now familiar Aston Martin-esque grille and a new bonnet replete with a power dome. New design headlamps feature as well, though they are still complex surface reflector units (at least in the case of the 1.5). No DRLs incorporated either, by the looks of it.

ford fiesta fl 03

The main mechanical change is the switch from the 120 PS and 152 Nm 1.6 litre Twin Independent Variable Camshaft Timing unit to the 1.5 litre Ti-VCT unit that debuted on the pre-facelift Fiesta in Thailand last year. The displacement revision came about in getting the Fiesta compliant with Thailand’s first-car progamme, which allowed first-time car buyers to deduct excise tax paid for the purchase of the car from their personal income tax.

The 1.5 litre Duratec mill, with 111 PS (109 hp) at 6,300 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,400 for output numbers, continues on with the familiar six-speed PowerShift transmission. Meanwhile, no revision to the braking system, with the familiar front disc/rear drum combi being retained.

Aside from that, the new Fiesta features plenty of added kit and bits – the PowerShift dual-clutch gearbox finally gets a manual override, though still no paddles to be found; you’ll have to make do with the SelectShift buttons located on the gearknob, as seen on the third-gen Focus.

The air-conditioning is now a fully automatic climate control unit (albeit single zone), and new to the car are automatic headlamps, a rain sensor/auto wiper system, full keyless entry and push-button start, all fitted as standard for the 1.5 Sport. Good value, when you consider that for the Australian market these items are all bagged under an optional Sport Executive Pack for that market’s destined 1.0 EcoBoost Fiesta Sport variant.

ford fiesta fl 02

The entire presentation has also been refined – the new car gets partial leather/fabric combination seats, and the silver for the trim panel found on the centre console stack (and instrument binnacle housing) in the current car has been replaced by gloss black. Silver has been retained for the steering wheel boss accent, but now resembles polished metal.

The six-speaker audio system from the current Fiesta has been retained for the 1.5, with the same layout interface panel to be seen, but Ford SYNC now goes on – the in-car connectivity system that connects mobile devices to the car via Bluetooth or USB had its regional introduction in the Focus last year.

The 1.5 litre doesn’t get a 4.2-inch TFT screen full colour display (might be the 1.0 EcoBoost variant will), but the display lettering is now presented in blue instead of orange.

No word on how many airbags the 1.5 will have, but the Australian market examples (Ambiente and Trend versions) feature seven. Given that the existing Fiesta sedan has seven airbags (the limited-run Beta and XTR hatch and outgoing 1.4 LX manual had it too), it would be logical to expect that the 1.5 should have the same number too. For certain, the 1.0 EcoBoost should have the full run.

ford-fiesta-mc-10

As for wheels, that on the 1.5 litre Ti-VCT may look familiar – the 15-spoke design is identical to that seen on the current sedan, which are 15-inch units. Some info suggests that the multi-spoke alloys for the 1.5 are 16-inch units, but this is unlikely to be the case; if they’re 15-inchers, then they should be wrapped with 185/55 tyres.

Some final notes. Australia is also scheduled to get the 120 PS and 170 Nm three-cylinder 1.0 EcoBoost variant in December, and for that market the car will be available in five-speed manual transmission as standard, with the six-speed PowerShift dual-clutch transmission as an option.

We’d ventured in an earlier report that the 1.0 EcoBoost isn’t making its debut at the same time as the 1.5, because the 2012 and 2013 International Engine of The Year is only available with a manual transmission at the moment, and the six-speed Powershift automatic gearbox for the engine in a Fiesta is only scheduled to be ready near the end of the year.

A quick word on the Fiesta ST as well, since we’re on the topic – the plans to get the pocket rocket in now look quite definite, but looks like that won’t arrive in Malaysia this year as earlier presumed. It’s coming in 2014 though, before the first half is out, from what we hear.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bored on Sep 09, 2013 at 11:48 am

mehh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • Anonymous on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:23 pm

In almost all regions the EcoBoost costs a premium over the 1.5. So I am quite certain that it will hit above 90k when it launches. I don’t want to spend that amount of money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Once again it seems to be extremely good value. Plus it is a very safe car too.

Not too bad of a buy. Better than the empty 2013 Vios for sure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 12
    • Oblivion52 on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:38 pm

2014 new Vios looks much better, made of steel not wood, also considered very safe n tough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 91
      • What you mean not made of wood? You drive a wooden car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano on Sep 09, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Steel from milo cans I presume? Do you actually think that empty Vios can get a 5* NCAP? i highly doubt it.

While on the matter of Toyotas, I actually wonder why isn’t the parent company (Toyota Japan) having a tighter control on UMW. As in tell them , look, this is the Toyota way, toe the line or we will get someone else. In fact, I think that is why Ford specs are better. In most markets, because FoMoCo seem to have a tighter control, they know how to make sure that everything is done the Ford way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 2:51 am

hahaha u r damn right….curse those vioses and all those dugong cars…let the dark side of the force destroy them…

• Its a perfect car for those who are still going single, a little cramp as a family car I would say. But if the 1.0l is coming with a three-pedal configuration, than it will definitely get my attention, not hearing many sweet song about the Dual-clutch auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • AVH, remove the chrome from the grill, it actually look good. :) Try and edit the picture.

Hopefully manual will be around!

• Yeah, my only major gripe wiith the new Fiesta facelift is that grill, think Aston Martin Cygnet and you know why, dosen’t really work well with the Fiesta IMO. I think as a small hatch, it should be less bling. But If I get my hands on one(and it must be manual) I’ll start my scavenging hunt for the pre-FL grill.

• drBirdie on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:39 pm

I dun think u can handle a manual transmission well. dun pretend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • Handle well as in a pro? Definitely not. Handle enough to drive to and for from Subang to Selayang in a 20 odd yr old car, well I don’t know what’s your definition of good, but its good enough to not get the engine stalled or miss-a-gear once in the entire trip including the insane after work Subang exit traffic jam. And for me is just fine, I haven’t driven a auto that can live up to the heavenly reaction and reliability of a manual car, I may not be good to you, but I’am definitely loving manual more than any auto for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Chris on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:34 pm

I think it’s okay for young couple expecting kids soon as well. By the time the kids outgrow the car they would probably switch car by then I guess? Unless your kids doesn’t grow that tall.

I’m 6 foot tall I can’t fit in the back, not without a sore neck at least…

• Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 2:54 am

so what? buy a bus lorrrr….then grow the family until u can build a football team…

• JeremyNg on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:59 am

People who know how to drive manual in Malaysia can be consider as the niche group d !

Btw, Real Man use 3 pedals right ?! XD

• CWKen on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:57 pm

10 bucks on the 1.0L ecoboost manual version not being offered here in Malaysia simply because most Malaysian doesn’t have a left leg.

However, I would be more than willing to say “shut up and take my 10 bucks” if it does get offered here :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • I love your comment “….because most Malaysian doesn’t have a left leg”

Good one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • yesser on Sep 09, 2013 at 7:41 pm

“Malaysian doesn’t have a left leg”
          anybody felt insulted here? lol

• Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 2:57 am

totally agreed with the saying of”because most Malaysian doesn’t have a left leg.” coz malaysian is quite lazy nowadays…go kerja n makan gaji only, laidback life to think bila nk kaya… but work very cincai…

• frenzyaustin on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Still no rear disc brake? C’mon, just a step to a perfect car.

• koochai on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:37 pm

fully agreed…rear disc IS the real missing piece

• frenzyaustin on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Even Vios has it since 1st gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • sresi on Sep 09, 2013 at 7:42 pm

are you sure?

• Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:01 am

even vios is still having those rear disc, vios most is the most dangerous car to drive…most easy to get accident due to low tech and the proudness of its owner to think that they are driving lexus…lol

• tolov on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:25 pm

no, you are very wrong. vios driver thinks that he drives a ferrari 458 italia, wow. lol

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:04 pm

To be fair the current brake configuration has plenty of bite… on par with much more expensive cars (34.7 meter from 100 to 0, usually cars are around 40m…). Of course, once you’re driving down from Genting it might get a little hot in there, but for single emergency braking I don’t see an issue with the brakes as they are.

• excrl on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Rival of New Honda Jazz but Jazz 1.5 132hp,170nm and Jazz hybrid 130hp

• Chris on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Fiesta has a legendary handling, Jazz has the best practicality in this class.

We know the new Fiesta is no roomier than the last one, but Jazz has new engine, and sportier looks, maybe handle better than before?

Sounds like a close fight but the new Jazz won’t be here anytime soon…

• Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:04 am

oh, come on people its just a city car…why bother on such hp? its enough to have it more on fc bcoz of ecoboost, better fc plus the price of fuel is mahal already…

• NoAirbags on Sep 09, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Dear all,

I can confirm that the powerful attractions of this cat which is seven airbags would not be available for theupcoming launch. It will features two airbags. Which makes all range of car in this segment have only two airbags.

No idea about the ecoboost though.

• koochai on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:51 pm

the outgoing fiesta s got 2 airbags only…only xtr & beta variants equipped with 7 airbags

• sedan2airbag on Sep 09, 2013 at 3:06 pm

All the variants including sedan, will only offer 2 airbags. Not more 7 airbags in this upcoming sedan

• They should include 7 airbags as standard for all variants. I have a Fiesta, and i choose XTR because of 7 airbags. Have to pay RM6k extra for it, although also comes with full leather seats and bodykits.

• Wow.. looks great.. wonder how much it’ll be..

• Francis on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Although the engine is going down sizing, considering the features that had added on especially the dual-cluth. i would say this is a proper/way better facelift compares to others which gives you a new bumper with aerokits or leather seats.

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:05 pm

The current Fiesta also comes with dual clutch gearboxes, and I’m sure many Malaysians would rather see a normal torque converter or even manual gearbox.

• spark on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:55 pm

porsche front?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • kadajawi on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Aston Martin. Not Porsche.

• No lahh..haiya…

• Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:26 am

FYI, ford motors did owns aston martin from year 1994 to 2007 and sold aston martin to prodrive…thats why they have almost the same grill design, but if looked carefully its not the same one.

• Yay for fiesta st ;-)

• razi saari on Sep 09, 2013 at 2:47 pm

I wonder if Ford Sync for this face-lift model can be retro fitted in current ford fiestas’?hmmmmmm…..I want Ford Sync in my 2011 Ford Fiesta

• Denaihati on Sep 09, 2013 at 3:05 pm

drive 1.0 EcoBoost might be a great new experience.

• Abi Ibrahim on Sep 09, 2013 at 4:16 pm

New launch from SDAC Ford? Good luck getting the car serviced cramped as it is at the service center. My car went in 6 weeks ago still in there! Buck up your service 1st and then bring in more cars!

• Fahmi on Sep 09, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Good looking car, and one of best in class ride and handling… But poor space and practicality is among the few negatives to speak of…. Turbocharged engine should be peppy and gobs of low end torque…. Btw this is a light car..

With three pedals, I would definitely take a look, giving my legs a bit of “exercise”.. Stick shift for the win…

• JeremyNg on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:02 am

“best in class ride and handling”

Somehow I still think Swift Sport handle better !

• CWKen on Sep 10, 2013 at 1:09 pm

The SS does handle better but does so at the expense of your butt. The Fiesta probably has better ride and handling compromise

• nuelhaha on Sep 09, 2013 at 4:49 pm

No manual version ? :'(

• Azlan on Sep 09, 2013 at 5:34 pm

1.5 figures looks underpowered, no LED DRL summore. The 1.0 EcoBoost will surely be more expensive. I guess I have no choice but to go for the Suprima S as the features list of this cannot match Proton’s offering.,

• _xXx_ on Sep 09, 2013 at 5:53 pm

WOW!!!NICE RIMS!!!!

• Any owner can share the review and how reliable of this car? This car look promising but somehow low resale value..

• Einstein on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:12 pm

bro momo,

Are you selling one now? Or u got lubang? Kinda hard to find a low price used fiesta

• Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:16 am

i prefer to have 1.0L ecoboost with paddle shifter its better shifting per milisec makes the car even perfect, sure they can kick in the boost in long roads, but how bout in traffic jamm? its quite tired in those three pedal…really…but if they put in auto tranny, its not worth of the turbo boost anymore, so please ford RnD, make it perfect…TQ

Plus, lower engine size means lower road tax! Yeah! BEST ENGINE OF THE YEAR!

• Darth Maul on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:19 am

forget to mention….How bout that ST version…ermmm very yummy specs…sexy as ever…super hot hatch..hope that one comes too…

• Beetle Nut on Sep 10, 2013 at 1:42 pm

I wonder if there’s any improvements to the dual clutch gearbox…my friend’s Fiesta is undergoing a new clutch change under warranty for the second time in 2 years. Next year his warranty runs out.

• kobealex on Sep 14, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Here is hoping SDAC does a surprise and launch the Fiesta ST too like they did with the Focus ST.

• @Anthony Lim, the Fiesta is already on sale here in the Philippines, I can confirm that the 15-spoke alloys are 16 inch wheels on 195/50R16 tires. The 15 inch alloys of the New Fiesta has a twin-6-spoke design(total of 12-spokes divided into 6 pairs).

• @Anthony Lim, correction about the 15 inch alloy wheels of the New Fiesta, they have a twin-7-spoke design (total of 14 spokes grouped into 7 pairs) on 185/55R15 tires.

• Criticismacai on Feb 02, 2014 at 9:25 pm

If compare Japs car n EU car, japs car safety n power are always loser, in terms of handling, traction control n driving comfort… If u want Jap car, think for Mazda, as they are joint venture for recent car engine RnD