BMW i8 plug-in hybrid sports car – full official details

BMW_i8_022

Frankfurt sees the world premiere of the BMW i8 sports car – BMW Group’s first production plug-in hybrid, and the second member of the BMW i brand after the i3 city car. It’s a 2+2 coupe served in an aerodynamically groundbreaking body design, further complimented by a stylish and luxurious interior.

The emotion-led aesthetic package is based on the BMW i design language, incorporating classic sports car proportions and a fresh re-interpretation of BMW signature features. Unique layering principle gives a distinctive visual impression, with complex surface designs partnering up with clean and uncluttered lines.

It possesses much of the pizzazz and drama of the BMW Vision EfficientDynamics Concept, first shown in 2009. The futuristic model was then toned down and unveiled again as the BMW i8 concept in 2011, which leads up nicely to this, the final production form of the plug-in hybrid sports car.

BMW_i8_024

Basic dimensions measure in at 4,689 mm long, 1,942 mm wide and 1,293 mm tall, encased over a long 2,800 mm wheelbase. A low drag coefficient of 0.26 is achieved by having a low-slug bonnet, partially-blanked off kidney grilles, sealed underbody, air ducts along the upper surface and slim wheels (195/50 rubber up front; 215/45 out back).

New to the BMW family are the long doors, which open upwards, similar to those on the McLaren MP4-12C. Full-LED lamps all around are fitted as standard, with the industry-first laser headlights offered as a cost option. These generate a pure-white, extremely bright light that is pleasant to the eye, at less than half the energy consumption of LED headlights.

Like the i3 city car, the i8 is made up of two integral parts, using BMW i’s LiveDrive architecture. The Life module passenger cell is made of carbon-fibre-reinforced plastic (CFRP), while the drive system, high-voltage battery, chassis, and crash structures are integrated into the aluminium Drive module.

BMW_i8_031

Generous use of carbon-fibre and aluminium adds up to a low kerb weight of 1,490 kg (inclusive of the heavy battery packs and electric motors), while clever use of space and weight distribution offers a very low centre of gravity (below 460 mm to the ground) for increased dynamism.

The new plug-in hybrid system represents the latest development stage of BMW’s Efficient Dynamics programme. It debuts the company’s new 1.5 litre three-cylinder petrol engine with BMW TwinPower Turbo technology, in this application making 231 hp and 320 Nm of torque. It powers the rear wheels through a six-speed automatic gearbox.

Additionally, there’s a bespoke hybrid synchronous electric motor that sends up to 131 hp and 250 Nm of torque to the front wheels via a two-stage auto’box, offering through-the-road all-wheel drive characteristics. Powering the motor is a lithium-ion high-voltage battery with liquid cooling.

BMW_i8_034

The combination of BMW TwinPower Turbo and BMW eDrive technologies produces a combined system output of 362 hp and 570 Nm of torque, allowing the BMW i8 to get from 0 to 100 km/h as quickly as 4.4 seconds, and reach an electronically limited top speed of 250 km/h.

An even bigger achievement is the claimed 2.5 litre per 100 km fuel economy and CO2 emissions of 59 grams per kilometre. Charging up the lithium-ion battery pack takes three hours with a domestic power socket, or less than 120 minutes using the BMW i Wallbox.

eDrive offers an all-electric driving range of up to 35 km, with a top speed of 120 km/h. Working in tandem with the petrol engine, a combined range of over 500 km is available. On top of that, the Driving Experience Control switch delivers five distinct driving modes.

Each of the five modes come with its own pre-set balance between dynamics and efficiency, using the powertrain controller to coordinate the cooperation between the petrol engine and the electric motor. The chosen mode alters the suspension settings and steering assistance too.

The chassis is no less sophisticated, employing a double-wishbone front suspension, rear multi-link setup, Electric Power Steering, Dynamic Damper Control and 20-inch light alloys as standard. Even lighter carbon wheels can be had as an option, which reduces unsprung weight by three kilograms at each corner.

Inside, it comes fully-equipped with the Navigation system Professional, all-digital instrument display, plus the usual BMW iDrive with a freestanding Control Display. Customers get a choice of three interior trims lines – standard Neso and optional Carpo or Halo equipment packs.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hondaman on Sep 10, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Wish can afford one….

• kadajawa on Sep 11, 2013 at 8:03 am

Look at the engine 1.5L hybrid…..wonder if MITI allow BMW to sell it here at zero duty price RM150K………

• High class! suite me very well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • qusiao on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Really? I only know that you always give rubbish comments, that’s all.

• the driver on Sep 10, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Nice but,… can’t afford it!

• drrif on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Perfect, perfect. Finally BMW producing a stunning new car, after the boring new X5, 5series, etc..

• sudonano on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:14 pm

The front and the interior. Plain WOW.

The future is here.

And since it is a 1.5l hybrid, it will be tax exempt in MY. Meaning it should be about 400k (In US supposed to be about 100k USD, add in some dealer +++ ). Which is way cheaper than the R8.

Not bad.

• Albert on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:18 pm

oh my god !
    is this car under hybrid car tax exemption in Malaysia.
    :D
    I’m gonna so get it if it under tax exemption ~

• Veneno on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:30 pm

yesss.. looks almost identical to the concept..

• zamer on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:33 pm

i guess they are too lazy to change the aircond screen..we’ve seen that screen since e46/e39 1996 model and still will be used for 2014 model.

its kind of odd when all are using LCD screen but they are still in monochrome screen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • This is one hell of a car, design is awesome!

• PauKaya on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:45 pm

love it…but the future seems doomed

• adheree on Sep 10, 2013 at 9:47 pm

marvelous…

• Fahmi on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Reminds me of current BMW Z4 E89 from front and old Z4 E85 from the rear….

• Luqman_HKM on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:16 pm

1.5 3 cylinder turbocharged engine and electric motor that chucks out 362 hp and 570Nm of torque? 1.5 3 cylinder engine probably means hybrid tax exemption, and 362hp and 570Nm means PURE EPICNESS.

• shawal on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:20 pm

left me in awe…
    utterly speechless..
    The future is now…

• Fahmi on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:26 pm

The electric car arena really spiced up in the last 10 years, the world is moving very fast… Electric cars were, were slow, bulky and rare monsters… Now, not anymore…

• ABTguy on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Yeah ! It is entitled for the tax waiver in Malaysia !

• jinjangman on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:44 pm

lawa gila babi kereta ni!

• Awesome! Looks futuristic inside and out! It has been awhile to see such good design from BMW….

• Puzzndrag on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Oh gosh…..this car is really Sexy!!!

• kingston on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:10 pm

The side profile looks like the legendary M1

• Najib on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Should bring this here in Malaysia since my Rakyat cannot pay for fuel. Then again i can completely reduce the subsidy on RON95 to RM0 if i bring this BMW i8 here.

See?? Not to stupid am i?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Hellhole on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:26 pm

BMW Malaysia! Please bring this car in tax free before the end of 2013!!!!!

• jolly_idiot on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Look good. Sound good. But really that good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • This qualifies for tax exemption. Imagine this selling in Malaysia, it would be just RM500k

• That ass !!!!

• Varman on Sep 11, 2013 at 12:25 am

This is how it most likely will be

US : $50,000
    Malaysia : RM 1,000,000

Thank you cronies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Sep 11, 2013 at 8:25 am

No la… Cronies already got their discount card. the price you mentioned is just for Supporters only… For Rakyat aa… still got another tax…

• armandd on Sep 11, 2013 at 8:42 am

It’s a hybrid with a 1.5l engine, sure can get tax exemption, but BMW must bring it here before 31/12/2013.

• drrif on Sep 12, 2013 at 6:43 am

Duh, its not 50K USD. Have a look at the UK car web sites, its going to sell for 95K pounds = 600,000…minimum

50K USD is price for a 5 series in the UK….not the i8

• hellhole on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:40 pm

The tax free price of the 5 series is RM240K. This is tax free so it should be 500K duh!!

• Looks weird in black

• HELLHOLE on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:47 am

@100K EUROS. GIVEN THAT THIS IS A BELOW-2-LITER HYBRID; HENCE TAX FREE. IF BMW MALAYSIA CAN SELL THIS BEFORE YEAR END AT RM400K RM+- IT WILL BE A STEAL

• Keris Jawa on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:54 am

Superb!

• BMW BEST on Sep 11, 2013 at 2:11 am

Not a supercar but still very very nice!!!

• gavin on Sep 11, 2013 at 8:28 am

Good luck to the owner who meets a jealous madman who puts a hole in the carbon fibre, it’ll never get fixed in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • armandd on Sep 11, 2013 at 8:36 am

Looks better than I expected, except for the aerodynamically styled rear end.

• Joyrider on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:55 am

BMW finally has a Porsche 911 competitor…

• Kancil Fan on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:56 am

3 cylinder means its engine will sound similar to a Kancil Turbo L200.

• munich on Sep 12, 2013 at 3:35 am

BMW has develop an active sound design particularly for this car. It means eventhough it has a 1.5 litre engine, it might sound like a v8 engine or even like a f1 car.

• blue-traveler on Sep 11, 2013 at 11:22 am

Shoot Out!!! I so want to see the Shoot out between this i8 and Tesla Model S. Both claim 4.4 seconds.

• Jaybond on Sep 11, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Front end and the side view looks nice. The rear end looks too busy and cluttered though..

• Car cynic on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Judging by the looks of it, we will be lucky to have a minute allocation for us here. The waiting list will be 3 yrs from now..

• TS.Lim on Sep 11, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Nice, Very nice design.
    Have been keeping an eye all along since its first concept till production form.
    I like the design!
    But, i expect a bit quicker for the acceleration, somewhere around Nissan GT-R’s figure.
    FC is good enough.
    Hope it can reach here with a reasonable price!

• Chris on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Wish it reaches Malaysia ASAP, so I can take pictures of it.. because I can’t afford it anyway even if it’s tax-free

*looks at wallet*
    *sad*

• munich on Sep 12, 2013 at 3:38 am

basic price in europe would be around 100k.. if you know the meaning of basic price of cars in europe..ICE, paint jobs, tires etc. are not included yet in this price….

• JackChaiVoonChoon on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:20 pm

I have made up my mind, This gorgeous bmw i8 will be true successor for my current bmw Z5 quad turbo.My current ride is too thirsty.

• shawal on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Hands down BMW’s best car..
    All 2014 allocated units have been sold out….
    It’ll take awhile until it reaches our shores…

• Chan jun Wei on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:21 pm

What’s the price

• is it selling in malaysia?

• Julie on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:01 am

can anyone explain to me what is hybrid system?