W1A Wilayah number plate series – new format begins

w1a plate

It’s a go for the new W1A format vehicle registration plate for Wilayah Persekutuan – the introduction of the series continues off from the existing three alphabet W series, which ended with WYY 9999. The timing of the introduction is pretty much as anticipated.

The start of the new number sequence from W1A will run to W9999A, then W1B to W9999B, W1C to W9999C and so on until W9999Y. Once that’s reached, the next set will begin with WA1A to WA9999A, ending at WY9999Y. This will be followed by a WAA1A to WAA9999A series, and so forth until it gets to WYY9999Y.

It was reported last month that more than bids for 5,000 for W1A series numbers had been made, according to KL Road Transport Department (JPJ) director Mohd Nadzri Osman. It was stated that that three types of numbers were up for bidding – popular numbers (four digits), fancy numbers (two digits) and golden numbers (single digit).

As to who’s the owner of the W1A number plate, it turns out that the number has been assigned to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong; the W8A and W10A plates are also similarly assigned.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Fahmi on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Paul Tan when?? Driven Enterprise?? Haha…..Just kidding, no offense..

• Hiroshi on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:33 pm

if really got so much money, go save malaysia economic la…ringgit is worthless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
    • hameed Koyakutty on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Hmmm….Abu Hasan bid the number for RM129K…….
      Wow, so much money for a plate no. from an unknown(known??) guy???

Many more Msian is also rich but prefer to remain below the limelight…..a heavenly place to live aye????

“Go save Malaysia economic???” Why??? Msia Economic is in a bad shape ka????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
      • jolly_idiot on Sep 11, 2013 at 11:07 pm

From your comment it show you’re living in hutan.

Look at ringgit against other currency. We’re in deep shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • Even Japan/HK doesnt care Yen lower than US Dollar… China also try harder to push & maintain RMB lower than Dollar… Why U so angry Ringgit lower than dollar… Pleased read economic 1st leerrr…

• i dont know abu hassan but if his name is dato abul hassan mohamed rashid this fella had serious court case

• Sharvind Varma on Sep 12, 2013 at 6:04 pm

yeap it is abul hassan…same last ic num…SC sentence him 6 years in prison…still living in luxury…haha

• at least the money remains in our country rather than going outside :)

then it is up to the gov how to manage

• Already gain maa…

• Nobody to comment?? Takutt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Peter on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:46 pm

In my opinion it’s not a user friendly format especially if one were to use it for sorting in MS Excel Office. The next best solution is maintain current alphabet series but with 5 digit numbers, e.g WYY1 to WYY99999 which accommodate 99,999 vehicles per run. FYI, China had implemented it long ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • On another aspect, you have 26 alphabets (minus a few that’s not usable, you still get 20?) vs 10 numerics. :)

• anyone with slightly more advanced knowledge of excel would know how to sort this. it actually lets you sort them into smaller compartments and categories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • oblong on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:26 pm

4D easy to ‘tikam’…1Big 1Small

• peter on Sep 11, 2013 at 6:31 pm

This shows your knowledge in Excel is limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • peter on Sep 11, 2013 at 6:33 pm

please do some sorting on your own, then you will know what I am talking about.

• carlos on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:26 pm

DAP is definitely won’t qualify when it comes to excel. We’re dealing with 9999. They can’t even deal with 2000+

• sw.yin on Sep 12, 2013 at 12:17 am

Easy.. Use formula below in another column and then sort it..

=MID(A1,2,LEN(A1)-2)

• sw.yin on Sep 12, 2013 at 12:21 am

This caters for W1A till W9999Y… For WA1A till WYY9999Y and so on, this formula can be improve.. Lazy to think now..

• Cannot, then it would be difficult to buy 4 ekor.

• taboogen on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:22 pm

i know class for excell intermediate.. want to join… hahaha

• Chris on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Why not have plate like:

State
      (2 digit year)-(5 char hexadecimal)

That way every year every state can sell up to 1.04 million cars. More than you ever need.

• alldisc on Sep 11, 2013 at 5:53 pm

nowadays no need to separate between states anymore.

we live in borderless world. JPJ is interconnected. and many ppl bought cars from other states to live and work in another.

go for standardise Malaysia number plate. just like singapore. or UK. and change it on yearly basis. this year when we see a car, quickly we can know the car is registered in which year.

otherwise, when you see a Camry with WHY plate.. or WKL… can you guess which year? Is it harder.

• OMG…then can buy 5D …lol.

• Along on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Even in UK especially Northern Ireland are using same format as Malaysia which is LLL NNNN… BDZ 7459…

People in UK prefers Northern Ireland number plates because it cannot tell the age of the car…

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/10/British_vehicle_registration_plate_NI.PNG

• Along on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Porsche Panamera UK with Northern Ireland number plates

CFZ 9533… It looks similar to Malaysian number plates…

http://platesmania.com/uk/foto943

• alldisc on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:22 am

that is bullshit Along.

UK consists of Great Britain + Ireland. while GB consists of 3 countries that are England, Wales and Scotland.

ireland is the minority country in the UK, as the balance 3 makes majority and does not justify your statement.

the actual fact is… Malaysia, Singapore and Hong Kong all inherit British number plate. Britain and Singapore had long upgraded the system while Malaysia remains with old way.

they are using running registration numbers with numbers to show first half of the year and 2nd half of the year.

example
        AA 09 XYZ (2009 Jan-Jun)
        AA 59 XYZ (2009 Jul-Dec)

* British registration years actually starts from August instead of January. the above is only example

another example

AA 13 XYZ (2013 Jan-Jun)
        AA 63 XYZ (2013 Jul-Dec)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • fuh..Mr.Abu is a rich dude!

• very rich on Sep 12, 2013 at 7:24 am

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Crime/Story/A1Story20090314-128402.html

• Jilbaber on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Got some hi profile name there that I know, Tengku Asmawi (W15A) is widower of 1970’s singer late Rafeah Buang (he then remarried)..he’s a relative to Sultan Pahang

• KoRek on Sep 12, 2013 at 8:59 am

Another high-profile individual that not everybody know @ W12A Edyy Casmady – husband of popular Malay actress & Pengerusi of Koperasi Belia 1Malaysia Berhad (KOB1M)which majoring in promoting automotive business & jualbeli kenderaan huhuhu

• Calvin on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:11 pm

They should have just use the same pattern instead of start a new format. What is wrong with WAAA1, WAAA2, WAAA3? Yeah, because number plate is free income to JPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
  • Kelvin on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:37 pm

It’s hard to abolish a system which is making money. Well, if people are willing to pay, then the people have only themselves to blame. Come to think of it, it is ingrained in our culture due to our historic feudal system. Exclusivity to those who are rich. At least it can be considered as a tax for the rich.

I still prefer the German system when I registered my car. Just need to pay 10 EUR for an available combination and Boom! you get your plates.

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:45 pm

i’d like to book W1N…
    i bet W4N will be booked by someone from one of those rich “Wan” families in the east coast…

• Go donate to the poor lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • carlos on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:31 pm

they are donating to the government. Then Government pay for road, traffic lights, sugar subsidy, build public hospitals etc etc etc. Good laa these rich people contributing to the public coffers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Peter on Sep 11, 2013 at 5:04 pm

W7A … money laundering?

• Wow… RM130,000 for a plate number.

• start-a-figt on Sep 11, 2013 at 5:39 pm

do u know u have to bid for plate number before you could buy car in major cities in China?

• It is meaning-less. JPJ should come up with better format after we got only just no plate!

• JPJPJ on Sep 11, 2013 at 6:43 pm

masa sbelum no baru ni keluar JPJ dah offer cadangan kpd public..tp bila dah kluar no baru ni, mcm2 plak cadangan..x betul lah..bashhhh lah..hehe

• Along on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:07 pm

I saw new trade plate format… W/TP 1234… from W 1234 A to W/TP 1234…

• Along on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:13 pm

I believe this number plate will suffered drops in sales because it is ugly for square number plates especially motorcycles and JDMs…

For example W 1234 A is ok to write in horizontal… but it looks so ugly when making square plates

W
    1234A, quite ugly on motorcycles…

W 1234 A, ok

SAB
    1234R, ok

KV
    1234D, ok

QAA
    1234G, ok

• Along on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:46 pm

I forgot to add… Since QAA 1234 A Kuching implemented, QBB 1234 Sri Aman and QCD 1234 Kota Samarahan plates begin to hasten because many motorcycle owners prefer no suffix plates…

QAA
      1234G

is quite ugly for some owners who wanted square plates…

• BLT Club on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:15 pm

RM129,000 just for plat nombor. And yet…

Najib to unveil policies to increase bumi participation in economy

Apa lagi Melayu mahu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
  • Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2013 at 8:03 pm

All Korean Cars should have the Negeri Sembilan Plates reserved for them.

NRV 1234 A

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:40 am

dont be so hard laa.. No Resale Value?

to harsh… better Low Resale Value. ekekekekeek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • ben yap on Sep 11, 2013 at 9:20 pm

why aren’t JPJ bringing in the personalised no. plate?

Talk and talk but now forgot about it?

• Denaihati on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:03 pm

begins with registration number W—A is beautiful enough.

• Yoong on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:20 pm

This results shall be the final after they turned on light…..

• I just wanna buy W4444A so that when people see my car they will be like, “Waaaaaaaaaaa……!!!” with their mouth wide open.

• John Doe on Sep 11, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Google out the W5A…

• felix on Sep 12, 2013 at 12:38 am

i got my W129A with rm500.. very lucky! =D

• Troll on Sep 12, 2013 at 12:38 am

Google W7A’s name and see where he’s supposed to be right now and why he could pay so much for a plate number.

• ayamxxx on Sep 12, 2013 at 8:13 am

inb4, mane sultan johor?

• Felix on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:09 am

Call 03-41450879 department of tender wangsa maju to check your result :)

• An “A” list for burglars and car thieves, not to mention potential kidnappers.

• carbonix on Sep 12, 2013 at 3:37 pm

alldisc, i think you your geography mixed up!
    UK as in United Kingdom consists of England, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Great Britain is another name for the UK. If one say GB or UK, it refers to same country!
    Ireland is a separate country from UK or GB and it’s also part of European Union. Not to be confused with Northern Ireland which is part of UK!

• Rashid hasan on Sep 14, 2013 at 6:34 am

Dont judge people