CKD BMW X1 20d and X3 20d introduced in Malaysia

bmw-x1-20d

The locally-assembled BMW X1 xDrive20d and X3 xDrive20d have been added to the local BMW Sport Activity Vehicle range. The ’20d’ diesel-powered SUVs join their ’20i’ petrol-powered CKD siblings X1 sDrive20i and X3 xDrive20i, introduced here in November 2012 and January 2013, respectively. All are assembled in Kulim, Kedah.

At the heart of both SUVs is a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel with 184 hp and 380 Nm of torque available from 1,750 to 2,750 rpm. Paired to an eight-speed automatic gearbox, the X1 xDrive20d does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 8.0 seconds flat, half a second faster than the bigger and heavier X3 xDrive20d. Brake energy regeneration, Eco Pro mode and auto start/stop are standard.

As usual for diesels, real-world performance and flexibility is stronger than the bare figures suggest. They also deliver great fuel economy – 5.4 litres per 100 km (18.5 km/l) combined for the facelifted X1 and 5.6 litres (17.9 km/l) for big brother X3. Note that the diesel X1 is badged xDrive, which means it has on-demand all-wheel drive. The petrol X1 is rear-wheel drive.

xdrive-20d-badge

The X1 xDrive20d comes with the xLine package which includes underguard elements for the front and rear aprons, side skirt covers, air intake and kidney grille slats in Titanium Silver matte finish, plus 18-inch alloys in Y-spoke design.

Inside, the xDrive20d gets Dark Copper trim and a sports leather steering wheel with shift paddles, among other things. BMW ConnectedDrive with Internet connectivity, Navigation System Professional and BMW Apps are standard here, along with a 12-speaker sound system and front/rear Park Distance Control. The sDrive20i didn’t even have iDrive and a central screen, so it’s a big jump on the specs front.

Available in six colours – Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Midnight Blue, Mineral Grey, Sparkling Bronze and Valencia Orange – the X1 xDrive20d is priced at RM268,800 (OTR without insurance, but with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair), a RM30k premium over the X1 sDrive20i. The pre-facelift X1 had a CKD diesel variant as well – launched in December 2010, it was priced then at a lofty RM298,800.

bmw-x3-20d

The X3 xDrive20d gets extra equipment over its petrol sister. There’s a panoramic glass roof, 18-inch Y-spoke alloys (Style 308), aluminium satin roof rails, sports leather steering wheel and an automatically operated tailgate from the standard Comfort Access package.

Available in five colours – Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Mineral Silver, Sparkling Bronze and Vermillion Red – the diesel X3 is yours for RM348,800, RM25k costlier than the petrol X3, which was originally priced at RM358,800 as a CBU import. Back in 2011, the F25 X3 made its debut in Malaysia as a CBU xDrive20d for RM348,800.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dugong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 69
    • Hondaman on Sep 12, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Yup, an expensive one too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
      • BMW Ex Engineer on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:51 am

Everyone kena tipu again by our beloved Malaysian government. Look closely and you will see, no reduction in prices at all. Didn’t our beloved Government promise us up to 30% reduction in car prices? I would not dare to buy this car for fear that the 30% comes anytime in the next few years. There goes my resale value.

Another issue is why is BMW still giving ONLY 2 years warranty when MB is giving 4 years and virtually ALL other car companies are giving 5 years? I am an ex BMW engineer and I can tell you why. It is because after the 2nd year, somehow, by some magic, and some miracle, tepat tepat after the 2nd year, the gearbox will kong and you will have to pay close to RM80,000 to replace the gearbox. It is as if when they manufacturered the car, the give the gear box a precision life span of only 2 years.

BMW has no confident in their own products and they dare not give anything more than 2 years. It is the ONLY car company in Malaysia selling their overpriced cars with a mere 2 years warranty.

Please lah BMW, don’t tipu people. Gerhad Pils, please maintain your German dignity, you have been too long in Asia and starting to become an Asian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 64
        • Kena fired is it? ex-engineer. No wonder talk all the rubbish.
          Tax is nothing to do with BMW, why you never mention this in Merc forum? and mention this in every BMW forum.
          Merc gives 4 years because it can’t sell, and their C class had to sell below 200k, this all marketing tactics to push sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
          • the professional on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:18 pm

your dumbass couldn’t bring you somewhere to blabber your bullshit? butthurt bmw fanboys. if the brand is shit, then admit it. no point trying to defend it anymore. i’ve heard so many condemned BMWs and you can hardly see any bmw that lasts more than 10 years.. most of them are sent to scraped metal centre to be disposed.. lol admit it :)

• nutcrack vw is giving 2+3 warranty? do u know tat ? merc peugeot 2+1 2+2 do u know tat?

• Not Dugong but Sotong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
  • bluebird on Sep 12, 2013 at 7:13 pm

good car but become overpriced junk once go through Malaysian tax scheme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
  • seancorr on Sep 12, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Wow the X1 is well worth the price for the kit (xDrive, iDrive with nav, etc) on offer just have to get used to its looks.

The X3 on the other hand didnt offer much for the extra 25k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
  • F la bmw, CKD mark down 10k only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • agreed, we can say the F word to bmw malaysia because price should be much much cheaper for CKD version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Jibby The Hut on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:28 am

don’t blame bmw.. it’s our country’s automotive policy that screws up the prices of cars.. it’s a madness that has to stop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Keris Jawa on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:27 am

I really want to experience how it feels to own one of these, but the price, gosh! Exorbitant!

• Jinggo on Sep 13, 2013 at 8:27 am

better go for the 2nd hand or recond unit. only rm149k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Lee lee on Sep 13, 2013 at 11:57 am

Alamak I think putting a harman sound system better then giving us a glass sunroof that serves no purpose in our climate!

• The X3 comes with a panoramic GLASSROOF. It is not a sunroof which opens up. Just a piece of glass atop.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 13, 2013 at 4:08 pm

so much more expensive than Mazda 3 but yet performance and looks wise its not even a quarter of an Mazda 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Malik on Sep 14, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Please respect people,if you can’t afford to buy one just shut your mouth

• We are jealous people, can’t control our mouth, need to say something bad for things we can’t afford.