Nissan 370Z successor to be previewed in Tokyo

Nissan 370Z facelift

The Tokyo show in November could welcome a concept that previews the successor to the Nissan 370Z sports car, according to an Autocar UK report. At the ongoing Frankfurt show, Nissan development boss Andy Palmer told the publication that the actual car would be powered by a downsized, turbocharged engine.

The smaller, blown motor won’t produce less power than the 324 hp currently made by the naturally-aspirated 3.7 litre V6, thankfully. Moreover, the seventh-gen Z-car is set to be “smaller and lighter” than the current one, which could only be good news as far as driving is concerned. And yes, there will be a Nismo-tuned version soon enough.

The Tokyo-bound concept, however, could be electric-powered, says the report. Although the production car will be petrol-powered, future electric versions are not unlikely.

Nissan 370Z facelift

“The traditional sleek sports car is nice but not the market I want to address. I want to address the issue of a next-generation sports car,” Autocar UK quoted Palmer as saying. We can’t wait to see how un-traditional a Z-car can get.

Since the Nissan 370Z took over from the Nissan 350Z in 2009, there have been roadster, Nismo and numerous special editions. The sports car features Synchro Rev Match – the world’s first synchronised downshift rev-matching system on a manual gearbox.

A minor facelift happened in 2012, giving the vehicle LED DRLs, a mildly restyled front bumper and new 19-inch alloys for the GT trim. A Nismo version followed, while Continental sales for the regular 370Z facelift began earlier this year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• EDDIE on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:45 am

Bring back 280z/280zx/300zx!!!

N/A, turbo and TT is good…Please NO electric motor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Sky pirate on Sep 12, 2013 at 2:22 pm

I don’t understand why the hate for electric motors, they provide massive torque at 0 RPM, without lag from turbo. If there are any downsides, then it’s gonna be expensive and heavy. The heavy part is being addressed by using carbon fiber for the body, so the only problem now is the cost.

• Anonymous on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:54 pm

You don’t understand because, you never thought of what powered the electric motor, what happened when the battery depleted, you left with a powerless engine, unlike turbocharging and supercharging, got it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • EDDIE on Sep 14, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Because E-motor feels diff.

• Yeah
    It is good news

• I drive 350Z and always like to smoke Preve and Satria Neo at highway. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Enthu on Sep 13, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Only?
      you pay so much road tax for such a car to “smoke” cars which cost less than 100k?

• GT-Rider on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:10 pm

That’s pathetic. Anyway, 350Z is like a peanut to me.

• At last, we are dropping the fat trait.

• Fair lady? Where got fair meh?

• carlos on Sep 15, 2013 at 2:19 am

I enjoyed every moment with my Z34 :)