VIDEOS: Porsche 918 Spyder breaks the ‘Ring record

They’ve done it! The Porsche 918 Spyder and its team of testers have broken the Nurburgring lap record for a road legal car with a time of 6 minutes and 57 seconds. That’s right, they’ve managed to dip under the magic seven-minute barrier, breaking the previous record (held by the Gumpert Apollo Sport) by 14 seconds, making them the new king of the ‘Ring.

“The radical hybridisation of the 918 Spyder from the very outset is what made this lap record possible,” said Dr. Frank Walliser, head of the 918 Spyder project. “The lap time on the Nordschleife is, and remains, the toughest measure of a super sports car. Posting a time of 6.57 minutes, we achieved a result of which everyone in the development team – and at Porsche as a whole – is rightly proud of.”

Porsche has released two videos of the landmark achievement. The one above is a shorter, more stylised clip that includes on-track action shots and victory celebrations that ensued, while the one below is a simple on-board footage of the full record-breaking lap. Take a look, and enjoy watching history in the making.

The 887 hp plug-in hybrid hyper car’s fastest time was set by Porsche factory race driver Marc Lieb on his first attempt lapping the 20.6 km-long track at an average speed of over 179.5 km/h. Lieb, along with rally legend Walter Röhrl and Porsche test driver Timo Kluck drove two 918 Spyders present, and all three posted lap times of under seven minutes.

Both cars on duty were fitted with the optional Weissach package, but are otherwise stock standard, down to the factory fit Michelin tyres. If you’re wondering, ‘Weissach’ is pronounced as ‘vice-ach,’ and not at all like the self-flagellation term you’re thinking of. And even if it does sound like it, this record proves that it clearly doesn’t.

You now have your target, McLaren P1 and Ferrari LaFerrari. Game on, and may the odds be ever in your favour!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• GTR Sucks on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:10 pm

GT-Rider,

Your stupid car can go trade in at JPJ scrapping programme already. Maybe give your RM2k for your piece of crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • Joe Radzif on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Proud of you..
    – Carrera GT –

• chaerul on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:17 pm

The new king of the ring is born!

• kelso on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Dude coasted at the end… could there be, a faster time in the making?

Please Polyphony Digital, make a deal with Porsche so we can drive this on GT6…

• frenzyaustin on Sep 12, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Don’t worry about that I think, GT6 has nearly all vehicle in their Game/Simulator.

• kelso on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Sadly they don’t have a deal with Porsche on the previous GT series but tried compensating by using Ruf as a manufacturer… strange when you consider every other VW brand is on it…

Still keeping the fingers and toes crossed

• wow…..big phone inside

• But the end time in the 2nd video shows 9.34.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 12, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Sexy rear, best looking Porsche so far.

• could cost at least RM3m when touched down on our road?

• suprima s can easily lap Nurburgring under 6 sec

• joke of the year… haaa haaa 6 sec…. even the cheapest sport car GTR also need 7 minute ++.. Suprima S just need 6 sec ONLY… the dumber of the year…

• my toyota vios can tapao this 918…

on roads with lotsa bumps :p

• I’ve driven this car before….in need for speed lol