McLaren Kuala Lumpur previews the MP4-12C

McLaren MP4-12C 38

It seems that the launch of McLaren Kuala Lumpur, which was supposed to be sometime this month, has now been moved to October. Still, Sime Darby Auto Britannia hasn’t let the first batch of MP4-12Cs that recently arrived sit idle – the company held a preview of both Coupe and Spider variants of the supercar today in Petaling Jaya.

Both the 12C Coupe and 12C Spider are powered by a 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 with 625 PS on tap, paired with a seven-speed SSG dual-clutch transmission. Both variants do the 0-100 km/h sprint in the same time, which is 3.1 seconds, though the hard-top has a slightly faster top speed, 333 km/h to the Spider’s 329 km/h.

McLaren MP4-12C 20

No official pricing has yet been announced for the twinkly twosome, but we’ve been told that it’s anticipated to be in the RM2.1 to 2.4 million range. Pricing of the cars and business plans for the brand will be revealed during the launch of the sales gallery.

When it opens, McLaren Kuala Lumpur – which will be located in Mutiara Damansara – will be the brand’s 41st retail location globally. A two-bay service centre, situated in Temasya Industrial Park, Glenmarie, will support the showroom. Until then, feast your eyes on the pair of lovelies.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kambinganas on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Erm.. these ladies leave a lot to be desired. Nasib baik kereta bagus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • jeremy on Sep 13, 2013 at 10:02 pm

I’d still do them…

• Mephisto on Sep 14, 2013 at 5:30 pm

They won’t unless you can afford the car in the first place. If you can afford the car, surely you can get better chicks. Why waste time with expensive flat chest and no ass chicks? One of them looks like a trans up close.

• U r rite.. besides, most models are just like vase that noe how to pose but dunno how to help husband to earn money. Those aforementioned models, there are alot in Malaysia.. Especially instagram, when rakyat suffer to live day by day and the government is getting worst. Those bitches only know ht to upload nice food, nice dress, party. and get laid. tats all.

• kington on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Very effective car, much like the GT-R but you’ve read from magazines and videos all over, the slower 458 Italia remains the better buy with a lil’ more involvement. Still, i continue my dream of owning a 911 GT3.

• Fahmi on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Sadly most supercars do not come with stick-shift and three pedals anymore…. Driving involvement is more important than technical prowess for myself… Technical marvel have a price to pay, new tech render old ones obsolete, but driving involvement is priceless, very subjective matter, old junks sometimes are better than modern counterparts……

Modern cars and their transmissions are not bad at all… But nothing beats sheer driving pleasure of a stick shift, though lap times are definitely to suffer much…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • kington on Sep 14, 2013 at 9:26 am

Totally agree with you…

• Chris on Sep 14, 2013 at 3:23 pm

“Changing gear is a vital form of self expression, and I’m being denied”

– Richard Hamster, on flappy pedal gearbox.

• kelso on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:55 am

Fist Bump for the 911 GT3… remember the first time driving a 911 and after the feel good feelings went away, I was left wondering as to how much better can Porsche build these cars… I mean, how much better is a 911 GT3? Not found out yet, but it does seem like another adventure to be had.

• Nice car. Whether can buy 1 free 2….2 gals?

• hondaman on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:22 pm

if you can afford to buy this car, not 2 but 2000 girls will want to marry you including their mother.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
  • John Lee on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:37 pm

This is fabulous

• GT-Rider on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:41 pm

FYI, Rosyam Nor owns this car already.the black one. :)

• GT-Rider on Sep 13, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Please, don’t use that nick, it’s mine.

Anyway, yes it’s beautiful but mine is still tad faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • GT-Rider on Sep 14, 2013 at 3:30 pm

btw, you’re not the only one who drives GTR in Bolehland Road.booohoooo~

• GT-R Sucks on Sep 14, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Pls la. GT-R is just a common low-end car. Nothing compared to mclaren.

• Fahmi on Sep 15, 2013 at 3:20 pm

For your information, 0-60 in under 3 sec is not your common car…

• its just fast. But GTR is not as classy as Mclaren. its just a slightly higher end street based sports car. not a supercar at all.

• aaa Rosyam borrowed it from someone for filming purpose

• the 2 gals looks lazy on bed..sigh

• Peter on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:21 pm

I can only afford Canon’s MP4…95 multi-func printer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Sorry guys, you can oggle on the cars but all 10 units have been bought already.

• WaJib on Sep 13, 2013 at 11:54 pm

I prefer the ‘twosome’…ladies

• amokio on Sep 14, 2013 at 12:29 am

When i see supercars launching in Kuala Lumpur, i search for the price(RM) in that article, not the specs…

• The behind makes me want to tweak!

• Matrxe on Sep 14, 2013 at 8:33 am

Wow.. 2.1 millions. i guess rich dude who bought supercars wouldnt like car tax reductions. Just image how much 10% tax reduction will hurt their resale values.

• vee-oh on Sep 14, 2013 at 9:09 am

rear design is nice…both car & girls

• I think all unit for Malaysia has spoken for already. Doesnt matter how expensive, once luxury brand have the thought to come in Malaysia, definitely there are goina be sales around here. Talk bout these 2 girls? when u can afford this car, you can many other girls that are better than these 2 girls. Preferably get those who can help you to earn 3-5 more Mclaren then those on top. I think those on top like other models, only noe how to pose..

• KillBox1Alpha on Sep 14, 2013 at 9:50 am

Which pair of lovelies you referring to Anthony?

• teamsleepnine on Sep 14, 2013 at 12:23 pm

sorry,can’t help but notice one of the girl .. a bit too much facelift eh?she look bit like joan rivers

• Every time a supercar brand open shop here in Malaysia, I’m proud with our fellow Malaysians who are successful and create the market for these supercar. At the same time, trying so very very hard not to be envious and have bad perceptions about them… Good fortune always comes from good ol hardwork, right?