Toyota Agya finally makes Indonesian market debut

toyota agya

Toyota has finally launched its Agya compact car in Indonesia, almost a year after the five-door hatchback and its eco-car twin, the Daihatsu Ayla, premiered at the 2012 Indonesian International Motor Show. Similarly, Daihatsu announced the market debut of the Ayla.

Both cars were originally supposed to have begun selling in the country last December, following the completion of the new plant that would build them, but their market introduction was put on hold as the companies waited for the Indonesian government to announce support measures for its Low-Cost Green Cars (LCGC) programme.

Programme requirements for LCGC compliance include an engine capacity of below 1,200 cc and a minimum fuel consumption of 20-22 km per litre. Certified vehicles are eligible for reduced taxes, and the Agya and Ayla are the first vehicles to receive certification under the programme. Honda’s introduction of a 1.2 litre version of its Brio is likewise for LCGC certification purposes.

The Agya and Ayla are powered by a 997cc three-cylinder engine, coded the 1KR-FE for the Agya and D26F-1KR-DE for the Ayla. The aluminium-block unit, which weighs 69 kg, is good for 65 hp at 6,000 rpm and 87 Nm of twist at 3,600 rpm. Not copious by any means, the output, but the car is light, tipping the scales at 740 kg. Drivetrain choices are a five-speed manual and a four-speed auto.

The sales price for the Agya – the name of which is from the Sanskrit word meaning “fast” – will range from 99 million rupiah (RM29,008) to 120 million rupiah (RM35,163). Toyota is aiming for a monthly sales target of 5,000 units for the car in 2013.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nabill on Sep 13, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 125
    • kadajawa on Sep 13, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Even though AFTA said no car import tax among ASEAN countries, surely this car will become RM70K starting price here….bravo NAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
    • So sad la bolehland people…like there is no other day bcoz of car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • redsupra on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:56 pm

My kancil turbo goes 135 without toppling when a bus is trying to pass me at 120

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Green on Sep 14, 2013 at 7:39 am

if this come replacing Viva.

hope to see next 1000cc RM36k Viva S Auto, making above 20km/L is real bargain as a rakyat’s car. RM36k does worth every sen comparing to Mirage Base Auto model 21km/L at RM61k.

current Viva 1000cc Automatic is making 15km/L city drive.

• bukapintubayartol on Sep 13, 2013 at 12:31 pm

When the perodua factory here is completed, will Malaysia get a version of these cars? I thought they would be fitted with the new two cylinder turbo engine instead of a three cylinder NA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
  • drchan on Sep 13, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 182
  • Tatababai on Sep 13, 2013 at 12:52 pm

So does our Perodua Agya next?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • If Perodua sell this, that will cost RM55,000, will you still buy it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
  • halim on Sep 13, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Indonesia kept to their word and fast tracked their LCGC but over here in Msia, MITI is still in la la land
    shaking legs with zero urgency eventhough Msia moooted this idea way b4 Indonesia.
    Hello wake up MITI!! Bangun lah where is the EEV
    plan for 2012 NAP which was to transform the nation as a production hub for EEV’s ? Its already coming to the end of the year and NAP 2012 is still on the drawing board?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
    • timber8115 on Sep 13, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Still in slumberland sleeping on the bedroom, i guess.
      This is gonna cause all FDI flowing to our neighboring country. And how to expect these car companies to be cost competitive as all the mfg to be done in neighboring countries instead of Malaysia? With the high import tax and sales tax, we have to deal with the same high car price instead of hoping for cheaper ones. This gonna make car ownership in Malaysia more difficult with the incompetent public transport…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Import tax?

• timber8115 on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:07 pm

import duties*…. my bad.

• toyox on Sep 13, 2013 at 8:39 pm

It can be competitive when manufactured here because the cars that are meant to be exported from Malaysia are not taxed like local cars.

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2013 at 5:12 pm

What slumberland?
        It is everywhere. Just visit the counters and offices. The way they do their jobs is like they are sleeping and working at the same time. We know who they are.

Females end up with 1,3,5,7 or 9, familiar?

Important evidence, but procedures terlalai, sengaja or sleeping, you tell me.

• brian on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:47 am

Actually, it is no more import duty under AFTA agreement. It is only have excise duty, which is charge 75%-105% whatever it came from asean or here and it can only reduce depend on how much local content. Therefore, it gives a huge advantage to proton, which locally made. But in Thailand their excise duty is only 30% – 50% and Indonesia 30%-75% it vary depend on cc. so do you think it is fair if compare to our neighbouring country.

• Agya – the name of which is from the Sanskrit word meaning “fast”

The only fast I see in this thing is that you die fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • That front logo….copying harrier, alphard and estima?

• do'oh on Sep 13, 2013 at 3:01 pm

so… the new perodua viva

• Agya, aiya….
      Three yrs down we would be seeing P2 “aiya” flooding M’sia road. Everyone will be aiya, aiya…..
      Chinese says “aiya” means “adui” in Malays…
      Aiya, adui,aiya,adui….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 133
    • hondaman on Sep 13, 2013 at 3:26 pm

it will be named Perodua Vavi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 52
  • tokmoh on Sep 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

What was it again with our ministers saying Proton is cheaper than toyota/honda in thailand/indonesia? Who’s the cheaper one now?

More importantly, who’s much, muuuuuch more fuel efficient? This matters much more than looks, all you haters out there. This car is for people with not much money to spend, that wants to minimise spending. Rather save on fuel bill than get pretty car but everyday eat maggi, bread.

We lose out on this benefit so that Proton can sell more expensive, fuel thirsty with bloody cutthroat service charge and dodgy quality, therefore more visits to proton service centre aka slaughterhouse. Terima kasih bn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Sep 13, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Can servicing a C-segment national car be more expensive than servicing an imported D-segment car of triple price?

• tokmoh on Sep 13, 2013 at 8:37 pm

If I say yes, you’d probably won’t believe it anyway.

Preve/Suprima has more electronics, so don’t expect it to be cheap nor more reliable in the long run.

My 11-year-old Waja recently had a few problems, it’s been costing me quite a few thousands. And I am still not assured the problem is gone. All times I had to sent to EON service centre, as the problems seem unusual.

It made me realise Proton syok sendiri thinking they’re Mercedes/BMW to charge ridiculous price for their parts, some which I discovered later 4X the price if bought outside. They forgot their customers are mostly from lower income group, or people who simply don’t want to spend too much money on cars.

• ilsan on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:18 am

D segment imported car is already has higher price spare parts. It won’t be much helpful neither, especially after warranty period has aexpired.

• walaweh on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:20 pm

well said tok moh. but as i know, any car parts,not only proton,cheaper when u buy outside. its a norm that car manufacturers pricing its part based on oem recomended selling price,rather than syok sendiri. what they can offer is discount on mrsp price.

the diff outsides parts with original parts centre,i believe u already aware. u dont know whether the original outside parts r realy original or fake one.
          the outside parts also dont have waranty,hence its cheaper. u may ended up double or even triple it cost in the future.

n original part,even its not that good in term of quality like fit n finish,but on safety side,its being tested to meet it. like front hood of waja for example,u can fork out the cheaper option non oem part,but the safety on whether it will crumple properly n without causing any unwanted injury like the hood will intrude the front windshield that would become double edge sword,u wouldnt know coz its not being tested as the original,even its better in fit n finish department.

but i agree on prtn giving discount price on the parts.

i do receive royalty discounts from 10 to 30% of parts n labour everytime i servicing my car.

n bout fc,4 the time being,it just so so for town driving,but hway,the same as others from same segment,but not the best if cmpare with lgcc cars n hybrid.

• Saga SV is 33k. If agya comes here it won’t be that cheap. Again, FC cost saved for few years. Even the TOC is almost similar, does Agya offers same safety features like Saga SV? That’s not including comfort level and handling.

• tokmoh on Sep 14, 2013 at 2:06 pm

The minister compared the price of proton here with toyota/honda over there, which he was proven wrong as this car is cheaper, not more expensive as claimed. It’s irrelevant to say this car becomes expensive if arrive here.

Handling, handling, handling, that’s the only thing protonfags can bangga about is it? Not quality, not service, not value for money, which is far more important to most people. We’re mostly ordinary people, not F1 driver nor richfags who have too much money to care about handling.

Kid, you wait when you have to fork every single sen yourself, then you’ll see what matters more: your wallet or your inflated ego to insist you’ve got better handling, willingness to pay more fuel bill and money and time to waste at sc.

• How about safety? That’s more important than RV

• lozer on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:21 am

33k Saga SV is with tax, if it’s without excise duty 75% sure it’s cheaper than 29k. When you compare cars keep it on same ground.

• Denaihati on Sep 13, 2013 at 3:08 pm

probably as a replacement for the upcoming viva. economical fuel consumption is the main factor.

• magpie on Sep 13, 2013 at 3:26 pm

A TRD low-cost green car? Duh..

• just like a bigger viva for me

• the first perspective pict look like an MPV rather than car

• In indonesia 30% downpayment and interest rate around 6.25% if u want to buy a new car..so whose will get the benefit of the cheaper car there?mostly rich people will get the benefit.

• Die Maker on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Perodua will use this model for next Viva replacement and currently local vendor have start develop the BIW part. The project call D87A and will be mass pro on Q3 of next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • nzain on Sep 13, 2013 at 6:34 pm

i think perodua will take over this model then bcome malaysian product..hoh what the hack…instead it should be named toyota fuglya…

• King Khong on Sep 13, 2013 at 7:04 pm

i can see from the video…
    people’s first impression ;
    1. falling to the floor
    2. bang to the glass
    hehe…just for fun ya..! dun be so serious~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • i see more and many plastic here …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • Babi Negara on Sep 15, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Di Indonesia harga RM35K…di Msia gerenti harga 80K…Mitsubishi Attragre High Spec RM77K…di Thailand RM45K…Kerajaan Babi…tak puas2 hisap darah rakyat!!! Tak tahu mentadbir Negara, tak tahu urus ekonomi…alih2 rakyat juga jadi mangsa!!! Babi Negara!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Love Malaysia on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:42 am

Rakyat bodoh macamkaulah patut jadi BAVI. kat Malaysia tak de rakyatnya ke Indnesia / Thailand jadi buruh kasar. BODOH !!!!!. Kereta murah kat Indo / Thailand pun tak semua rakyat boleh beli sebab byk benda lain / lebih mustahak perlu dibeli. Kat Malaysia baru kerja jadi ‘despatch’ pun boleh beli kereta.

• tongK on Sep 15, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Attrage High Spec kat Thailand 59k la. Kalau nak 45k buat kereta sendiri la bwahahahahaha.

• brian on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:53 am

This car surely perodua will make it locally but it will not 100% same. we can only know in this coming kl motor show in November.

• junaidi juned on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:39 pm

apakah toyota agya harus pakai BBM patarmak