Clarion Malaysia debuts its new AX1 Android-based in-car head-unit – introductory price of RM1,599

clarion ax1-26

Clarion Malaysia, the people behind the Mirage Android-based OEM car stereo system, has officially unveiled an all-new model called the AX1.

The AX1, which stands for “Android Experience 1,” is a touch-screen two-DIN system which runs on the Android 2.3.7 Gingerbread operating system. It’s powered by an ARM Cortex 800MHz processor with 1GB of RAM, and features a 6.5-inch WVGA TFT LCD capacitive display.

The unit also has a built-in 24-watt four-channel digital amplifier, a six-channel RCA output, a rear view camera input and a HDMI video output. Also on the list is an image viewer and 1080P full-HD video playback capability. You can view and play all these, as well as music, via the built-in SD card slot or from the two USB outlets available.

clarion ax1-7

You can also connect your iPod and iPhone for video and audio playback while charging your device at the same time. The system also supports Bluetooth connectivity, which enables you to enjoy hands-free communication, apart from streaming audio and video.

The AX1 is also Internet capable via tethering, which opens doors to a host of features such as browsing, watching YouTube, sending and replying emails and more.

For those who fully rely on a GPS for their daily drives, you’ll be pleased to know that the AX1 also comes with an in-built GPS system, complete with Malaysian maps through an app called iGO.

Just like any Android-based device, the AX1 will allow you to perform app downloads and upgrades over the air, in this case through tethering from your mobile device. Of course, not all apps can be used in the AX1, as they would have to be approved first, considering it’s an in-car unit. Playing Angry Birds while driving would be quite a scary sight :)

The AX1 is now on sale exclusively via the Infogo.com online music store, which has up to 22 million song titles in its inventory. The unit is available for five Asian markets at the moment, and these are Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia and India. Deliveries of the first retail units are expected to commence in November.

At the launch, Clarion Malaysia also announced that the first 3,000 units of the AX1 will carry a special introductory price tag of RM1,599, while the expected recommend retail price is eventually set to hover around the US$725 mark, which translates to about RM2,385.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Beetle Nut on Sep 17, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Woof! Woof! Those woofers sure look good!

• For that price i can buy full fledged 10inch tablet with android 4.2.2 n 3g/lte connectivity….clarion is one of proton oem partner rite?

• but that tablet you cannot use it to control your speaker, rear camera and other devices in your car.

• Zlanu on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Take note Proton, this is how you make an Android integrated player in your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Proton Staff on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:26 pm

What are the difference between proton’s blaupunkt unit? Despite this one being capacitive.

• Zlanu on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:07 pm

1) Better Android version.
        2) Smoother interface
        3) Ability to update device.
        4) More support for apps that can be used on the road. (Doesn’t stop you from watching videos). Yes, I admit you’re not supposed to d that but I’d rather be given the option than told that I can’t.

————————–

This next part is more speculation…

5) Can update Android? Can download Waze to use?

• Waze needs mobile data to be turned on to be working. It’s a big no no if you want to save money when using GPS device.

• Azman on Sep 22, 2013 at 12:30 pm

The article says you can tether to your phone for data. Remains to be seen though.

• How many internal memory (HDD storage) does this thing have since we can download and install apps in it? Does it have capability to save songs automatically on internal HDD if we play through CDs?

• How compatible this thing is with re-cond car available in our Malaysian market?
    Screen resolution? Can install Waze or Google Map?

• teamsleepnine on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:10 pm

aiyoooo…the girl….aiyoooo!!!!!

• Oh no.. No CD/DVD/blueray player..

• Denaihati on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:32 pm

the best all in one car player so far.

• Gegary on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:05 am

Still running ancient Android version?

There are so many similar Android headunits from China nowadays, for around RM1K.

• kadajawi on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Android 2.3.7? Hello Clarion, 2010 has called. They want their operating system back.

I’d be disappointed if it had 4.0, but 2.3?! Why not 4.3? 2.3 was never designed for anything but phones, and it wasn’t even good for those!

It’s a bit disappointing… I’d expect better from Clarion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • downsys on Sep 17, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Apart from wanting the latest operating system, how much better would 4.3 be as compared to 2.3.7 as an ICE unit?

• Azman on Sep 22, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Better stability. Better graphics pipeline. At least put on 4.1 lah.. Smells like cheapo china customisation.

• heybadigol on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:54 pm

I hope it comes with Waze pre-installed (does it work on 2.3.7? Sorry am not an Android user). Too bad no CD/DVD input. So does it mean we’re stuck with listening to sucky MP3/lossy files. I hope it supports Flac/lossless up to 24 bit (or at least 16bit CD quality). It would be great to be able to listen to 24 bit music in the car – almost like listening to vinyl :)

• Tishaban on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Why not a generic audio unit with Bluetooth and hook up your own tablet when you need the audio? A lot more flexibility there because tablet tech moves forward at a much faster pace than your average audio component

• Because, that’s like doing a kamikazi move on the company and the entire industry. Imagine you can sell these babies at 2.5k, but the generic unit only at 300. The earning margin will be super low and thus may cause the entire company to bankrupt.

• soulfly on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:15 pm

why I cant pre-order at infogo website? the website keep on promting error

• niuhje on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:57 pm

sex sells!

• Since Clarion also supplies most radio headunits for Proton, I hope future batches of Prevé and Suprima S will feature this unit

Current Blaupunkt unit is good, but not up to standard :(

*P/S: guys, this thing does not need Android 4.0+++.It’s a radio, not a tablet.

• just google cdrom car mount , you can convert a generic tablet into a car 2 din player . you should have a look at how gxrmin 719x integrated .

• policeman on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Don’t ever buy Clarion. Horrible quality.

New one in Inspira got problem – can’t read disc after restart car engine, got to remove and add the disc again. That’s why all Inspira owners change to aftermarket radio.

Same goes to Clarion in Saga, but not as bad.

Stay away. You’ve been warned.

• Ironically, I drive both Inspira and Saga FLX for 2 years and such thing never happened to me. The only thing that I don’t like about Inspira’s Clarion unit is bad radio reception, lack of USB input (must be standard nowadays lol) and has only simple audio tuning. Replace then with Clarion NX. The one in Saga works well.

Clarion headunits (even the cheap looking ones in Saga and Savvy) are known for F-ing good sound processing quality (despite some OEM versions like the one in Protons having small degree of audio tuning). Having lived with them in my previous Perdana and Waja, I could not deny that.

Just add a pre-amp for more tuning, pair of tweeters and a small LFE (subwoofer as some of you might prefer to call it), and add some soundproofing.

• Play FLAC…Waze…that’s enuff reason for me to get one….where to get this intro price?

• Compatibility on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Currently what car model does it fit into?

• I more concern about is the steering wheel audio control can be use back?

• mystvearn on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:35 pm

I only use 2 maps. Google maps and Waze. If I cannot get waze on it, forget it. Pioneer Appradio3 has waze.

• paparadzi on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:41 am

This will be good if Waze or Google Maps can be installed and used. Otherwise no point.

• paparadzi on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:51 am

No RDS for the radio?

• azrai on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:12 am

Is it the same model in Suprima?

• normally i dont bother articles about audio. but i put down this comment just for the girl sake.

• kucau on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:57 pm

to editor:

“not all apps can be used in the AX1, as they would have to be approved first, considering it’s an in-car unit. Playing Angry Birds while driving would be quite a scary sight :)” im sure they use their own android App Garage because they dont want competing app to run on this unit eg Spotify or other mapping solution . or they simply dont want licensing to use google apps on this unit?

• But then again, they are selling the unit and not apps. Automotive law in Msia prohibits them from producing units that could allow driver to run graphical apps(eg. games) while driving. Oh well, I would probably hack it and install my own apps anyway.

• Clarion has launched and launch, with the rabbit teeth promoter girl and all the hypes. But is anyone using it?

• glenf18 on Sep 21, 2013 at 2:36 pm

helps if you read the last 2 paras (after looking at the girls, of course). look forward to using mine when it arrives in November. now, who can i sell my garmin nuvi to?

• leaving my comment here because of the model in the first image here…

• Danish Mirza on Nov 18, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Hi… So can this be used in any car? And where can I get it?