Changan CS75 joins the domestic mid-size SUV scene

changan cs75 1

Though it’s very much aimed at the domestic market, Changan Automobile decided to give its Changan CS75 a global debut in Frankfurt last week. Might be that the company wanted to highlight the fact that the mid-size SUV was developed globally, with research and development input not just from China, but from its Italian and UK-based centres as well.

For the immediate future though, the CS75 – developed to a five-star China NCAP (C-NCAP) safety standard, according to its maker – is set to take the fight to the likes of BYD’s S6 in its domestic market.

changan cs75 2

It’ll be available in two petrol engine forms, a normally-aspirated 2.0 litre and a turbocharged 1.8 litre. Reports suggest an output of around 177 hp for the latter, which will be paired to a six-speed auto ‘box.

The reports also indicate that the projected annual sales volume domestically for the CS75 will be around 30,000 units, this by 2015. No indication as to whether the globally-designed offering will be offered globally.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ugly, i rather buy a Suprima S rather than this China quality 1 star SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 88
    • Ok let me tell u, Suprima and this car r not so much different except the badge that’s all. anyway this car is just copy Ford Kuga design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • proton quality is 5 star?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • wee teck on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:16 am

LOL…you must be still in your 90’s mind.
      China cars are now getting better and better. Some brand offers premium model for premium price which COULD be better than some other countries car.
      The reason you saw many cars are 1 star cars was because they were now built to be 1 star and sell it to the poor. because poor do not care, they just want a mean to travel from point A to point B. Which is still better or safer than many poor malaysian travel in a small motorcycle.
      I did not say all china car is good, but the speed they improve is very fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Sutra Eastar on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:07 am

i don’t agree with u. i once drove a naza sutra and now a cherry eastar. level of disappointment? not much improved. test drive the exora bold and preve recently, knocked my head to the wall for buying a china car again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • datuk dr azreen on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Proton is much2 uglier to compare with any kind of vehicles exist in this world no matter to compare with quality, pricing, safety n etc…proton absolutely is worsted

• powershot on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:30 pm

quality aside. design wise still looks better than the new crv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • What the FUCK are you talking about??BMW headlights,Range Rover grille,Volkswagen Tiguan side shape,Sportage/Sorento rearlights,you say this is NICE?? I say NO!!I hate everything related to China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
  • Mpit3 on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Hmmm… so many combination… little bit of kia, range rover, ford kuga, crv..arghhh JANGAN beli….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
    • the real copycat on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:15 pm

at least they do their research, copy the best part from dif maker n combined it rather than some1 copy exactly but say “look it’s a brand NEW model!!!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • wee teck on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:18 am

nowaday all car makers copy each other, so stop saying rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Damn many!!!Copycat useless China JUNK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • Black Dog on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:34 pm

The design looks global enough to be offered as a global car.

CHINA N-CAP or MALAYSIAN N-CAP better? or just as worst?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • glaze on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:42 pm

front lamps are BMW alike and rear lamps are Kia alike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • China car? NO THANKS. I rather stick with Malaysian makes which is many times better even though its always heavily criticized.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 97
    • LOL……proton salesman.
      Sorry, no potong too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • My list:BMW X1,Volkswagen Tiguan,Ford Kuga,Honda CRV,Kia Sportage.

• datuk dr azreen on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Proton do copycat all those dirt thing..equal to China auto…bt the positove of China Auto is the develop a CHEAPEST car price to support their Chinese people to have a luxuries car with a small pay..but proton they copy other overseas car woth lowest quality n less safety for highest price to their malaysian people…r u know the real car like range rover copycat namely landwind 100% same quality n same class to the origin RR evoque has been sell in chine for only rm62k each…try to imagine if proton copy cat the luxuries car from europe n sells to our people here is that the price r cheap u think?? Just take a sample of mitsubishi lancer n inspira not so much diff but inspira is more expensive earn to rm 80k each in our country… what issue I try to wakr up u is about how stupid we as malaysia people here…the highest taxes of governemnt we say yeaaa…so happy to pay double or triple n definitely I can say we r among the stupid people who locate in this nation…u know one thing more is the price of honda civic is only rm47k sells in japan…that price is after taxes of japan gov… how overseas governemnt like china, japan, korea they r truly responsible to care their people charity n goods life..bt here.. what u get else than to be dummy for 57 years full of lies…don say to me “xsuka jangan duduk malaysia”, n my answer for dummy people that will ask me that question is “negara ni kepunyaan tuhan bukan kepunyaan bangsa penipu dr parti be end”…anyway smiles ok its hurt to get the truth, I understand most dumny people who already has been fooled for 57years they hard to learn what is the best for human n what is the worst for human..this is caused of they has been 57 years eats shit/dung given by be end to them until the brain get serious damage…ok tata..

• suprima on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:52 pm

good job Changan. let the bashers say what they want..it is a good car. if it sell it at 75k in malaysia berebut orang beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • Mashed Protractors on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:58 pm

haha i think it’s quite obvious whose headlights and tail lights were nicked by this chinese manufacturer…

• Jilbaber on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Damn, If I didn’t know this is China made car, I would have thought it’s a new Land Rover from the front and or new Kia from behind !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Automakers copy various design cues from contemporary cars on sale and paste it on their own. They do it all the time but Chinese automakers does it more blatantly.

• anakSarawak on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm

“Crap”…???? I don’t think so…..The Chinese are very lucky to have many choices from their own manufacturers….I mean, look at us….anybody see what I meant? Have anyone ever wondered how come the Chinese back on the mainland CAN HAVE all these new designs…??? Seriously….are we near that ( Their ) standerds..???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • degonggok on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:38 am

1.3 or maybe 1.4 billion people.

• diamjer on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:12 am

china is the biggest automotive market in the world.
      so what “standerds” do you want?

• roxas on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:06 am

at least they know how to design properly compare to proton design which stil llack years behind especially the interior. i have seen many beautifully design china cars.

• rojak.. at least better design than proton.. haha

• areyousure on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:48 pm

proton is head turner, they turned heads when looking at moving preve. why not jetta, merc A250, renault megane or BMW F10? why preve??

• dugong on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:40 am

Miles better than Korean Junk SUV.

• BerMaz (Berjaya Corp Bhd’s subsidiary) salesmen out there. Any chance of bringing this model to Malaysia ?

• Norman on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:04 am

If safety is ur concern then dun buy but if your budget is limited and styling is your preferences then go ahead

• Cookie on Nov 23, 2013 at 6:01 pm

So much ill informed and opinionated feedback in here. Style is personal true, but the functionality is best left to people who know know how to objectively evaluate a car. Chinese manufacturers are working hard to improve their products and their image. They do sell some cheap and maybe cheerful cars in lower tier cities but they will move upmarket sooner rather than later. It may be that customers cannot see it because of the logo on the car.

• mother on Aug 03, 2014 at 3:57 am

Maliesian people are related to 2nd-class world human…it shows when 57 years most of us are living like stupid to depend the same roof same leadership n they still call it democracy? 57 years worses by corruption n bad inflation…before independent who is the group of malie? A lord of land isnt it? But now, is they r land lord or house rental the most who dies without any property and have to work under different race shoe…take that as a fact!

what I m going to explain..no matter the product come from China or India..the manufacturers there are much “world high class recorded” better than local product…tata corporation from India site in 5th best car sold in world and most car from China in the ranked of below 10 world best…any country are accepting our “Peloton Pelive and Peloton Ezorah” to sell in their country?? The answer is NO! Why no? our local car product are extremely poor quality with expensive car pricing and worses in many aspect…to those who willing to condemn China made car please look at ourselves product called as PELOTON….it is definitely unacceptable, bullshit and fcuked just like the people who support them fooled for 57 years, from landlord background of group and turn over to the 3rd class race who live in poverty and 90% work as dogs to other race shoes and command! Note that!!

• Dr.Rahman on Aug 10, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Changan cs 75 was one of best car 2015 in China automobile market. In this price, you can buy Toyota Camry right now. Even Changan cs75 made by Chinese car company, the whole system is better than other Japanese suv or car. Coming next 10 years,will challenging time for Chinese car companies.