Naza seals deal to distribute Koenigsegg in Malaysia

Naza-Koenigsegg

Koenigsegg is finally coming to town – Naza Swedish Motors will represent the Swedish supercar brand in Malaysia. According to a report by The Star, the Naza Group subsidiary has inked an agreement with Koenigsegg Automotive to distribute and market Koenigsegg cars in Malaysia as well as Indonesia.

UPDATE: The Koenigsegg Agera S has been launched in Malaysia. Details and live gallery here.

The announcement of an official tie-up comes more than three years after a story in January 2010 intimated that Naza – which also handles Ferrari and Maserati in Malaysia – was set to become the local Koenigsegg distributor.

The report adds that Naza Swedish Motors will open its showroom and service centre sometime in the first quarter of 2014, which is also when the Koenigsegg Agera S will be introduced here. Pricing for the model reportedly starts from RM4.3 million.

Koenigsegg Agera-01

The 1,415 kg Agera S is powered by a twin-turbo 5.0 litre V8 offering 1,030 hp at 7,100 rpm and 1,100 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm, and the lump is mated to a specially-developed seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 2.9 seconds, and it’ll take 22.7 seconds for the Agera S to hit 300 km/h.

The report mentions that Koenigsegg has delivered 102 cars since the brand’s inception since 1994, and the company says it’s aiming to deliver up to 14 vehicles globally next year.

The announcement of Koenigsegg’s impending arrival follows the establishment of McLaren Kuala Lumpur, which opens its doors soon – the company recently previewed the MP4-12C ahead of its opening. Looks like there’s a healthy market for supercars here, eh?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawi on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:35 pm

They plan to sell 14 cars… globally? The mechanics here will be the most bored mechanics in the world then… (and can they even get a car for the showroom? Ready stock?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 36
    • Ask my wife to buy this for me!

• MACC is a Joke on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Most of the 14 made will be ordered by Malaysians. Look at Lamborghini, their highest orders per annum comes from Malaysia. Of all countries worldwide, they receive the highest orders from Malaysia. Even when the Aventador was launched, 50 was snapped up by Malaysians.
        Strangely, most of the buyers have no proper jobs. Neither have they inherited wealth. They just seem to have lots of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
        • Can you list it out? Lamborghini owner without proper job…please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Guan Yin Ma on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:38 am

Koenigsegg’s machanics fly from sweden to msia after an appointment for service or repair. You pay so much money for a hypercar, they will send you mechanics on demand. Same goes to singapore’s Koenigsegg customer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
      • GT-Rider on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:28 am

meh…mine 2.6s only..rather get swedish chocolate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Black Dog on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:20 pm

14 for the whole wide world? How many allocated for malaysia? One for the Naza brothers and another for another sucker?

Or maybe one for our Agung? (he got all the hot new numbers (surely free lah)…W1A, W3A, W8A, W8888A etc)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
          • malicious envy by hanjing hitam..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
          • Sigh..Chill broather.. As usual the high ranking get all the nice cars while rakyat get crappy cars. Live with it.. i feel u.

• armandd on Jun 10, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Careful what you write boy, why need to mention DYMM Agong in this matter. Doing jail time seems like your idea of having fun I guess.

• Get Nissan GTR or Carrera S rather than getting this useless kwai tai junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • GT-Rider on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:10 am

Don’t use my name here. I’m not envy to see other people drive sport cars. I’m only curious if they can beat me.

• kadajawa on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:42 am

MACC officers should become undercover spy mechanics there.

Sure can catch lots of corrupt cronies big fish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • MACC dare not move a finger la. Mayb their big fish is actually their big big boss. Do u think they dare to touch big boss?

• Guan Yin Ma on Sep 19, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Yes. They dare. Just because they cant find evidence, they cant touch them. Once u got 100% solid evidence, even royal families need to go jail. No one is above the law. They only can play with law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • MACC is a Joke on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Which world are you living in friend? MACC got so much evidence on so many people but so scared to touch them. Look at Taib from Sarawak, he even ridiculed the MACC officers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Sun Wu Kong on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:03 pm

She’s from heaven. I know her well.

• MycarMylife on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:20 am

apa kah Naza mahu lagi ???
      Nasa’s Luna Buggy agency perhaps!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • drCoorper on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:33 am

dude, do you think its the same buying a million dollar super car compare to buying your daily commute 4 wheels ?

• Wow! I guess there will be a new aes record coming soon.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
  • Luqman_HKM on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Ohohohohoho…. Wow Naza, just, wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Vyseus on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Wow….I need to start to become kronis for some politician now. My fav car coming to town~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 33
    • who?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • armandd on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Buyers of these types of cars are usually business tycoons, not kronies whatsoever lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 37
      • armandmya55 on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:03 pm

you are probably right, business govt linked tycoons. corrected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
        • who? is it the one who control 70% of economy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • And u just have to bring in the racial issue again? Mind u. Even the yellow ppl gain more than 70% of the economy. But yellow monkeys are not that spend drift and on top of those 70-80% yellow monkeys are control by a handful of brown monkey king overlord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • i don said it but u said it..who those brown monkey?

• do u have prove wat u said?…the reality u can see fr forbes top 50 boleh richest…if other people controlling them obviously many of them oso in the list..how many of them been control? can u give one name?..if not well…

• Yellow Banana on Sep 21, 2013 at 2:58 pm

So what.. Dont you think there’s no KRONI in USA politics?. KRONI everywhere. You can be KRONI as well should one of your buddy become somebody in politic. Dont lie lahhh

• Norman on Feb 11, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Isn’t mahathir’s son driving one of the two veyron in Malaysia? So he work so hard to buy Bugatti la. Said to be Muslim. Own a beer company? Said to be a legitamate business men, took contracts from the government with no tenders to prove? Keep it up BN. good job!

• hadi75 on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Just be a SetPol to the menteris…..u can buy one… .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Zenvo_GT on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Bow to the master…

• They should also make a deal with the vauxhall…i like the astra vxr a lot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Yes bring in Opel/Vauxhall rather than bring in this type of junk brand.Like the new Opel Cascada and Astra GTC.

• Veneno on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:04 pm

I’ll be the first customer.. em, sort of..

• Just wow…maybe i can see the ultracar anytime soon on malaysian road

• Naza, u got the Stig’s seal of approval. I don’t care if no one buys it, I just want to see(and maybe touch)it. Bring it over to the KLIMS ’12 and it will make my year, Naza.
    Now, wheres that piggy bank of mine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • I can’t even pronounce the name cohhectly !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • sepul on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:25 pm

How are the owners supposed to drive one of these on our roads, then? Only PLUS highway is suitable for such a low riding car. Elswhere it will grind the under body. Ouch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Denaihati on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Congratulations to Naza. at least there’s a chance we might see this car on the road.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Where is Mr.Pagani?

• Koenigseggisseggggnignigsegigisegggg

• Dr mamak. on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:34 am

I’ll buy one for my grandson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Proton Supporter on Sep 19, 2013 at 3:57 am

Meh, Suprima S is better. Got 5 stars Asean NCAP you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
    • since when? even SS bro, Preve oso dont hav 5 star ASEAN-NCAP …they oni hav 5 star ANCAP

• if not mistaken most supercar/hypercar do not hav any NCAP watsoever…

• odi862 on Sep 19, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Why bother any NCAP for supercars, sure die when crash at 250km/h and above.

• if u don agree..give me 1 current supercar/hypercar that have 5 star EuroNCAP

• nzrlmbn on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:56 am

I’ll be very happy if they provide test drive unit at the showroom

• hondaman on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:41 am

The SA will bring the car for a test drive at your home because he wants to have a spin in it too.

• Roy Mustang on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:46 am

I don’t think just anyone could test drive it. hahaha

• I also have this car now….in Need For Speed lol

• zamer on Sep 19, 2013 at 7:47 am

i like how the door opens. something different than others.

and the meter cluster indicates the horsepower measurements. cool

• wiralution on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:47 am

RM 4.3 million? Fuh… just imagine how much tax the gov get from there. This will always be my DREAM car (in my dream la).

• Chris on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:48 am

I’m actually kind of confused. Can someone explain why do you need to “distribute” a car brand that only plans to make 14 cars a year?

Sound more like Naza is saying “We’ve manage to get our hands on one car and we plan to sell it”.

• rocco rocco on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:32 am

Cool. This hyper car got 2 brake pad for each rear tyre.

• bugatti owners, beware…

• carazy on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:49 am

the first words when I sow the paultan headline jz now was “WOOOWWWW”.

• lim dynasty can buy maa..

• Norman on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:06 am

For the elites and higher society ppl plus porn stars cause the name says it all konek sex

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:05 pm

These kind of vehicles are not for the ordinary richmen who drives Benz & BMW & Porsche.

• car man on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:16 am

Doesn’t it feel great to monopolize almost all the car brands including AP beside GLC.

• Jilbaber on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:36 am

On that very last sentence of the article, I start to think positively one day, the gov has to increase speed limit on the highway

• namanama on Sep 19, 2013 at 1:47 pm

healty market for supercar due to Income inequality in Malaysia.The rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

• v-power on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:25 pm

From all the comments above, I can’t help but feel sorry for whomever is lucky enough (or privileged enough) to own the Koenigsegg…don’t get me wrong it’s a fantastic car…but it’s about the stigma that comes with owning such a beast of a car…

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Racists, we all know whom his/her name is. It is above.
    And racists/kronies can never care about the ongoing massive nuclear disaster in Japan.
    Junk = sour grape; can you even buy a C-class every single year? Let alone E and S.
    I thought there were a lot of real car enthusiasts when I saw the figure 60 comments.

• steve on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:34 pm

If I had save from young like Rosmah, I could hv afford to get this car already…

• lan cin cau on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:44 pm

btw not all pakai lambo or supercar is kroni… i got one fren which below 35… got GTR and lambo superleggra direct import from uk. he work hard, ada business sendiri.. like own medium hotel, retails shop and also a few petrol station. and he is a brown monkey… not all brown monkey tak tau business maa…. no need to join 08, 04, 36 or any group with number… sigh*

• deontan on Apr 05, 2014 at 12:44 pm

are you sure? 4++ mill only?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:01 pm

kalau kita beli ini jangan marah ya…bukan duit rakayat….honest (cross fingers)

• The Stig on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Some say he doesn’t care about the owners’ stuff, he appreciates and thanks the one who bought this beauty and drive the hypercar out for Malaysians to see and hear the noise. #realcarsenthusiasts

• rotipisang on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:57 am

bila langgar kancil u cry maaa….