BMW 1 Series (F20) launched in Malaysia – 116i, 118i Sport/Urban, 125i Sport/M Sport, RM171k-254k

F20 BMW 125i M Sport 7

After teasers, spyshots and a preview, the F20 BMW 1 Series finally lands on Malaysian soil. Having made its global debut a whole two years ago in Frankfurt, the second-gen rear-wheel drive five-door hatch is offered here in 116i, 118i and 125i variants – although only the 125i was present at the launch.

The 118i can be had in Sport or Urban trim while the 125i comes in Sport and top-of-the-line M Sport trims. The 116i only comes in standard trim. Only the 125i is fully imported; the others are locally assembled in Kulim, Kedah. Bookings for the 116i and 118i will begin on September 21, with first customer deliveries scheduled to happen in October.

The F20 is 85 mm longer (4,320 mm) and 17 mm wider (1,770 mm) than its E87 predecessor, and rides on a 30-mm longer wheelbase (2,690 mm). Height is unchanged at 1,421 mm. Tracks are wider by 51 mm up front and 72 mm out back. Rear legroom is up by 21 mm and boot volume by 30 litres. There’s 360 litres of luggage space (1,200 litres with back seats folded).

F20 BMW 125i M Sport 11

All variants get twin-scroll turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engines that feature direct injection, Valvetronic and EfficientDynamics tech (including regenerative braking), plus an eight-speed auto. Kerb weights hover around the 1,400 kg mark.

The 116i’s 1.6 litre N13 unit makes 136 hp and 220 Nm of torque, enough to push the vehicle to 100 km/h from rest in 8.7 seconds and onwards to 210 km/h. Fuel economy and CO2 emissions are a quoted 5.8 litres per 100 km and 134 grams per km respectively.

The 118i has the same engine as the 116i, only here it’s tuned to give 170 hp and 250 Nm of torque. As a result, the mid-range car does the century sprint in 7.2 seconds before topping out at 222 km/h. Economy and CO2 figures are identical to those of the 116i.

Finally, the 125i draws 218 hp and 310 Nm of twist from a 2.0 litre N20 mill, enabling it to hit 100 km/h from a standstill in 6.2 seconds and max out at 243 km/h. This one returns 6.3 litres per 100 km and emits 148 grams of CO2 per km.

No matter what variant you choose, you get six airbags, xenon headlamps, fog lamps, rear park distance control, Driving Experience Control (Comfort, Sport, Eco Pro modes), auto start/stop, Bluetooth and USB connectivity, and BMW Live.

The 116i gets 17-inch Y-spoke alloys with 205/50 tyres, satin silver interior trim and cloth upholstery. From here on up, cruise control, auto air-con and a chrome-trimmed steering wheel are standard.

The Urban line gives the 118i grille slats and trim which are finished in Alpine White, a lightly-grilled fog lamp housing and white 17-inch V-spoke alloys with 225/45 tyres. There’s a high-gloss black interior with silver highlights and upholstery in a mixture of silver cloth and black leather.

The Sport line bestows the 118i and 125i with a grille that has fewer slats than the Urban car; also, the slats are finished in high-gloss black here, as are other bits of exterior trim. The fog lamp housings have bars, and shoes are 17-inch star-spoke alloys with 225/45 tyres. Also, a Sport+ mode is added to the Driving Experience Control.

Both the 118i Sport and 125i Sport have high-gloss black interiors with red highlights (including within the instrument dials and on the key fob) and black cloth seats with red stitching, but the latter gets a sports gearbox with shift paddles and a seven-speaker audio system.

The 125i M Sport gets an all-round body kit (including more aggressive-looking bumpers and a rear diffuser), sports suspension, twin tailpipes and 18-inch star-spoke M alloys wrapped in 225/40 series front and 245/35 series rear tyres.

Its dashboard is trimmed in aluminium with Estoril Blue highlights, and the seats combine cloth and Alcantara. It gets all the 125i Sport’s goodies, plus an M Sport steering wheel, 8.8-inch Navigation System Professional (all the others get a 6.5-inch BMW Radio Professional unit) and BMW Apps.

If even that’s not enough for you, you could turn to the M Performance catalogue. Items offered as after-sales options include 19-inch twin-spoke alloys with four-colour M logo, a roof spoiler, plus black or white stripes that run across the bonnet, roof and tailgate.

F20 BMW 125i M Sport 2

You could also plump for an Alcantara steering wheel with carbon trim and Race Display (F1-style shift lights), a carbon gear lever, pedal covers and a stainless steel footrest, amongst others. Click here to see the list of available M Performance parts and their respective prices.

Body colour choices include Alpine White (not on Urban), Black Sapphire (not on Sport and M Sport), Crimson Red (not on Urban and M Sport), Mineral Grey, Glacier Silver (not on Urban), Sparkling Bronze (Urban only), Midnight Blue (Urban only) and Estoril Blue (M Sport only).

Also, BMW Credit Malaysia‘s Step Up Financing programme offers monthly loan repayment schemes that start from RM1,600 for the 116i, RM1,800 for the 118i, RM2,200 for the 125i Sport and RM2,400 for the 125i M Sport. BMW says the programme provides savings of up to 30% over a standard straight financing package. Click here to see details of the financing programme for the BMW 1 Series.

On-the-road prices without insurance but including BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (except 116i, although BS+RI may be offered as an optional extra at a later stage) are:

• BMW 116i – RM170,800
  • BMW 118i Sport – RM190,800
  • BMW 118i Urban – RM190,800
  • BMW 125i Sport – RM238,800
  • BMW 125i M Sport – RM253,800

UPDATE: Price list and catalogue overview of M Performance parts now included in gallery. Step Up Financing programme details added.

GALLERY: BMW 125i Sport

GALLERY: BMW 125i M Sport

GALLERY: BMW 125i M Performance

GALLERY: BMW 116i

GALLERY: BMW 118i Urban

BMW 1-Series 116i, 118i and 125i Pricelist & Equipment

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kadajawi on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 401
    • ABTguy on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 306
      • Aerro on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:38 am

Those who cannot afford 1 Series can only buy Suprima 9 years car loan….so kesian lah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 31
        • ABTguy on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:31 am

Haha.. how you know huh? Yes I cannot afford to buy this car, so I have to bash kow kow lah, at least feel good lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 20
          • Only 2 years Warranty on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:22 am

BMW still giving ONLY 2 years warranty when MB is giving 4 years and virtually ALL other car companies are giving 5 years? I can tell you why. It is because after the 2nd year, there will be a high probability that the gearbox will kong and you will have to pay close to RM80,000 to replace the gearbox. It is as if when they manufacturered the car, they give the gear box or other parts a precision life span of only 2 years.

BMW has no confident in their own products and they dare not give anything more than 2 years. It is the ONLY car company in Malaysia selling their overpriced cars with a mere 2 years warranty.
            Charge so much, at least give people 5 years warranty. Even Proton and Perodua give 5 years warranty

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 555 Thumb down 163
          • VW Salesman Are Crying on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:51 am

Now VW Salesman all are crying. With the Merc A250 and this new BMW, VW Salesman don’t know what to do. Already nobody buying their cars because of the DSG Scandal, now with the introduction of the Merc A250 and BMW 1 series, VW is going to face a painful death in Malaysia.

VW fans love to deny and bash all other cars. But when proven wrong, they become like mouse. For example, for years VW fanboys said the DSG was perfect and all rumours were from people who could not afford VW cars. But when VW Global wrote issued in black and white that ALL their DSG gearboxes cannot be used in hot Asian countries and Traffic jams, all the VW fansboys became quiet like mouse.

So now with this two new German prestige cars, VW can now close shop in Malaysia. No pint selling cars that cannot handle Malaysian hot weather and Malaysian traffic jams. I rather get a car that holds prestige like a BMW or Mercedes. Oh btw, if you were a young girl, would you get attracted and impressed with a man driving a VW or a man driving BMW or Mercedes. You know the answer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 304 Thumb down 8
          • Blaze on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:12 pm

To ONLY 2 YEARS WARRANTY;

Your statement about the gearbox will conk after 2 years and then “BMW has no confident in their own products and they dare not give anything more than 2 years.” . You should know that most current BMWs uses ZF 6HP26 gearbox, which also being used by other cars such as Jags and even Maserati. Even the latest 8 speeder is also build by ZF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 43
          • Blaze Buddy on Sep 21, 2013 at 11:42 am

Blaze, I am your buddy from AB. Don’t worry lah about our sales so much. It will go well

• Does not matter who makes it, a car is the 2nd most expensive thing you buy in your life after your house. It is only proper for a car company of this prestige to follow industry standards of 5 years.

• armandd on Sep 20, 2013 at 1:05 pm

And you can only afford a 660cc Viva with 9 years loan… so kesian lah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • wat a big S….haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • the car look like a sad face..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Black Dog on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Yea, looks horrible! The A-Class easily beat this in every department

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • flat_tire on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:40 pm

doesn’t look garang lorr.. headlights more like puppy eyes..

• The headlights itself not really ugly anyway. The plain kosong area between the headlights and kidney grille made the whole face ugly.

• Price is affordable but the look is terrible! even thought A class rear is quite ugly but the front is freaking nice! but this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • I think the only good looking hot hatch r Volvo v40 and Golf GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Yeah, this is a suprima S version of BMW

• kennytkl on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:28 pm

ehhh…..A class better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 11
    • fredo on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:53 am

yep, looks wise maybe A-class better but driving experience in this should be so much more fun

• Although I’m a huge fan of BMW.. I’d opt for A-class should I want to purchase a hot hatch! Price-wise also kalah Mercedes benz.. Haih!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Alpha on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:32 pm

The 125i falls short compared to the A250 and Golf GTi. But the 116i seems good enough to convince people from buying a Golf 1.4 TSi. And the performance is not too bad too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Golf TSI and GTI are in shitty position. 116i and 125i pricing is not far off from VW and considering BMW is a proper luxury brand and famous for its dynamic driving and rear wheel drive..

Volvo is eating into Golf pricing… VGM, you better to something to regain your position…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
      • This is what we called “competition” and ITS US THE CONSUMERS who WINS!…anyway, i wonder anyone is buying the golf at its retails RM156k price…u can easily get 10-15k off…most ppl bought it for +- the price of a civic 2.0

• skypirate on Sep 20, 2013 at 1:01 am

RWD always pawns FWD, enough said. However, if I’m in the market for a hot hatch, I would pick the A250. This 1 series is the only hot hatch with RWD money can buy at the moment, whereas those looking for looks would go for the Merc A class, whereas the VW Golf GTI, let’s just save that car for well off beng-ish college students.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • magpie on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Suprima owner wont park side by side with this car. Malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 32
  • finally, a BMW car with below RM200k price tag!! (Y)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • GOLF GTI on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Often copied, never equaled …GOLF GTI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 67
    • DSG Breakdown King on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:14 pm

You mean people can copy the DSG that breaksdown often? Trust me, nobody wants to copy a low class car that is known as the “People’s Car”. And nobody want to copy breakdowns.

• Hondaman on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:48 pm

This looks better than the terencat looking X1. Btw, it will affect V40’s sale because of the badge prestige

• Uhhh thanks but I’ll just take a Suprima with RaceChip. 170hp and cheap maintenance also lol. slightly higher FC la 7L/100km (last time I tested)

But no RWD……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 56
    • Fahmi on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:25 pm

You sell RaceChip eh?? May I get your phone number and shop address… Heheheh….

• Seems like proton salesman to me. The post is one 1 series and why the hell are you talking about proton?

• Prince on Sep 26, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Hello Haha & Magpie, Johnny is right! BMW is about name & performance but Suprima owner will dare proof that the “OVERPRICED” German piece of metal shit is not worth the price or the thrill. Hello Magpie go feel the Suprima boy than you consider if RM170k is really worth it for a BMW1? You cakap besar tapi i confirm minor maintainance for the BMW1 series pun tak mampu. Show me 1 BMW Salesman who drives a BMW than i will consider buying a beemer. Hahaaaa

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Ugly and overpriced…A-class anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 21
  • sudonano on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:02 pm

The war is on in the premium hatch segment.

VW Golf vs BMW 116i vs A200 vs V40 T4.
    Golf GTi vs BMW 125iM vs A250 vs V40 T5

Let the battle begin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • And Audi A1 can buang into longkang.. Small supermini with a luxury C-segment pricing

• glaze on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:20 am

“premium” does not include the VW and Volvo btw, its BMW vs Merc at the moment unless Audi bring in the A3 to compete with it

• honestly, surprise by the 116i performance.. anyway is this the cheapest bmw history ever launch in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Our old E36 325i last time back in 1994 cost RM160k. =)

• And there is this thing called inflation. Yah and in 1994 a cup of the tarik is only RM1

• Pontiac on Sep 21, 2013 at 9:23 am

Teh tarik Rm 1 in 1994?? Quite expensive ler. I would expect 50 cent. Coz nowdays teh tarik only cost rm1.50 ler.

• Yes finally here but…. No, those ugly headlights!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Nice starting price to own a BMW but c’mon…no front parking sensors or at least leather/cloth seats for a premium car?

• Pablo on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:40 am

Even in Europe, their BMW 525i or Audi A6 is manual and without reverse parking sensor.

Handcore!

• mohd ali on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 137
    • joe john on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:43 pm

You smoking pot ka…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • WaJib on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:32 am

Lawak bodoh… nak compared proton n BMW..compared with perodua dulu…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
      • fuglybmw on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:39 am

better value – yes
        safer stronger- already 5 star ancap
        higher resell value – of course
        has better looking – 1 series is ugly
        it can smoke bmw and merc – yes, put racechip, anytime can tapau 116/c180

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
        • Sky pirate on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:15 am

Please compare stock with stock. Let’s say there are two guys, one needs Viagra and the other doesn’t. If I’m the guy that needs Viagra, I wouldn’t be proud of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
          • RON97 on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:36 am

Well said, bro.
            Many proton fans are from lower income group. They can’t even afford to buy Viagra ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • Why do you even reason with that guy when he is obviously talking crap? Probably another proton salesman who can’t accept the fact that even periodic is outselling proton cars.

• dunso on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Rven with stock setting it can be faster than 116 after ECU remapping

Hail proton!

• Perkosa on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:02 am

Proton is Asia BMW wat. You guys not patriotic. All the hardworks our Mamak Dr M create proton to be on the same level with german bmw, and you people look down on Proton.

“Apa lagi lu cina, melayu, india dan lain-lain mau ????”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
        • bootupjoe on Sep 20, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Mamak Dr M create Malaysian people buy more expensive car instead of “Proton” lah …

• bootupjoe on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Smoke your head lah….smoke.

• Another proton salesman spotted.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:32 pm

lack of paddle shifter on the 118i is kind of a bummer.

Considering the 118i is already RM8k cheaper than the A200, it can’t have hurt to have spec’d the paddle-shifter+7-speaker sound system and bump up the price by RM4k.

• Any news/possibility of the M135 showing up on our shores?

• Pliz bring m135i too^^..

• What exactly is “including BMW Service + Repair”?

Service and repair is covered for how long?

• 3years or 60k km whichever comes first. labour n parts included

• Saga BeLum Masak on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:09 am

With the power on tap and other goodies. Peugoet 508 sw HYbri4 with 5 year unlimited mileage or at least 408 is more reasonable than this.

• Always whichever comes 1st. I prefer whichever comes 2nd.

• rembra on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Does it have automatic parallel parking like the v40 and a-class?

• The back is copy Suprima S oh. If you know about cars, you will agree with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • This model came out when Suprima is still under the sketch board or hvnt even born. We only getting this car after 3 years launching in elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Uh uh… Bro ah, how you know Suprima have not even born yet? I remember Suprima concept already 3 years ago was shown in KLIMS as Tuah also. That is national standard, bro.
        Test drive Suprima first, it will change your perception.
        If you don’t agree with me, you don’t know much about cars.
        I am Chan.
        :-)

• glaze on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:25 am

Tuah is a sedan and the back does not look like Suprima S. It is just a concept car.

BMW launched F20 back in 2011, and yes you can buy F20 in Europe in 2011 but you can’t buy Tuah or Suprima S in Malaysia back in 2011.

Suprims S launched to public only in 2013 and the back was not display to public before 2013.

• I am Chan too on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Chan, please learn from Mr Google. . . .

• Now lets see if Mercedes will introduce the A180 blue efficiency quietly like they did with the c class…

• Chris on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:45 pm

*inserts comparison of suprima’s 1.6 turbo vs BMW’s 1.6 turbo, power, fc and all*

*prepares pop corn*

• Jilbaber on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:44 am

doing ‘comparison’ are totally unfair is this manner, while both car have turbo, the BMW is a twin scroll, also while both are 1.6 liter engine capacity, the German’s are GDi engine !

• Prince on Sep 26, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Hi Chris i wonder if you passed your Math in school? Cause you dont know how to calculate Boy! Suprema is 80k & Bmw1series cheapest is 170k you want to talk about FC, POWER & All. Proton owner to laugh at your math, Suprema owner will pay RM80 less RM170(bmw1 price) he has balance of RM90k to pay for his petrol, insurance for the next 10years, take his girl friend for a 3days 2 night stay at bali, langkawi, pangkor & even mode his Suprema & have some extra cash as down payMent for a property. Now hows is that for you damn comparison? Who now has the most fun, Chris pls reply. I bet you dont own a proper car & yet you make fun of proton cars?

• Very impressive torque figures ! How in god’s name did they pull 310Nm out of a 2.0 !?!? o.O Mind blown !

And is it just me, or does the 1-series’ front look like a stormtrooper from Star Wars ? The force is strong in those headlights…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • not that impressive on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:30 am

err..

golf gti – 350nm
      golf r – 380nm
      a250 – 350nm
      a45 amg – 450nm

all with 2.0 engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • jeemyv on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:41 am

twin-scroll + GDI – nothing to shout about

• I guess I’m a bit ketinggalan zaman in the turbo area. xD Thanks though, this next gen turbo engine tech is something else !

• Aaron on Sep 20, 2013 at 1:19 am

Turbo are responsible on pulling out such torque even at low RPM. NA cars can never achieve these figures.

• 4g63t DSM on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:45 am

Not driven turbo cars much?

300nm from a 2.0l turbo is nothing.

My 2 decade old mildly tuned 2.0 VR4 motor was pushing out over 400nm @ 1.2Bar. Of course that said, it’s has no where the refinement and fuel economy of today’s modern gdi turbo motors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • VWGTI on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:06 am

Your car is those special half cut. Can go fast in straight line but comes corner, can wrap around the tree. Milo tin at its best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • 4G63T DSM on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:38 pm

My car is an Eagle Talon / Mitsubishi Eclipse Turbo AWD. Go read up.

Assume much?

It would run rings around your VW GTI on the track.

• GTIfan on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Show us the pictar or you are dreaming!!

• oh you mean you are those rice boy who love to drag at every traffic light at the state ? Dont make me laugh with your rice rocket trying to beat golf gti on track.

• Jilbaber on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:47 am

Even some Hyundai’s ThetaII GDi turbo engine are able to pull up to 365NM (unfortunately never reach our shore)..so why have to blow your mind.

• ah beng impreza owner on Sep 21, 2013 at 1:05 am

er my impreza sti has way more power and torque than all this

• a lot of bro and sis here don’t like it…. i guess this is going to be real personal… damn i like it….

• Damn sexy car IMO. But 125i M sport is kinda pricy wei. However, 116i and 118i is a good buy as this is the only RWD hot hatch and soon when the new generation 1er come out. Its goina be FWD. Only 2 series will maintain RWD. So to those who still want cheap RWD BMW this is a good choice. I dont think BMW goina bring M135i as its 3.0l and tax inefficient. Ppl goina bash..

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:30 am

Very over rated car and brand.

Can’t wait to see Mazda 3 eating up this car for breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper.

This car was launched at the wrong time with Mazda 3’s indicated launch of November.

What are BMW thinking? Is like trying to pitch an ant (BMW) against the anteater (Mazda)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • fredo on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:02 am

thats too ambitious, comparing a mazda with a bimmer..
      Rx7 maybe diff. la…but a fwd mazda3 ? come on! u can do better

• lets be honest here…no one who is looking at a BMW would even consider the Mazda 3 (no matter how good it is)

A person looking at the 116i, will make comparisons with V40, Mini cooper one, maybe the Gold Tsi…the Mazda 3 is in a whole lower category fighting with Civic and Focus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Paparoti on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Seriously, why bother to reply to Maserati? His posts are nonsense…opsss, why am I even replying to his nonsense post??? Haha

• Masakroti on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:10 am

I thought you says your vw is the best of the best in the world. Why compare mazda ? Dare not put up with your VW. Your vw can’t even compete with the A class or even the V40 lar. What’s more with a wanker bimmer badge or perhaps, you are just a pimple boy driving a myvi with evolution sticker.

• Mazda3 sucks at century sprinting, especially the auto variants. Even a vios is better, haha!

• Can’t wait to read your shoot out of the 125i M Sport vs GTi vs A250.

• andrewk on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:58 am

Yeah Paul, make this happen! And throw in the Volvo V40 in the mix as well….. Gonna be an interesting read.

And based on the comments so far… maybe the Suprima S? LOL!

• armandd on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:46 am

Proton Suprima looks much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Paparoti on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:21 pm

If you can afford 125i, do you think you will still say suprima looks better? It seems to me that suprima engineers took a lot of effort to copy the 1 series.

• unread on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:31 pm

Suprima is still better, especially on the headlamps, rear design and cabin space

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Really? on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:57 pm

To each his own. To me, suprima looked fugly. Prefer myvi anytime over proton products.

• Myvi is ugly, tata nano is much better, even better than Ferrari.

• mr fiq on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:55 am

haiyyaa..suprima mana bleh banding ngan bmw 1 series.. bmw is world class la…

• The 116i will be the best selling variant, good branding, practical and decent power (slighly pricer then Golf, cheaper then Mini cooper One)

No one will touch the 125, too close to 320/pre-reg 328 and alot uglier then the A250

• heybadigol on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:31 am

Wow, now you can buy a beemer with the price of a Honda Accord and cheaper than top of the range Mazda6 :) Though I sincerely hope that NOBODY try comparing/cross-shop these cars, as they belong in completely different classes. Yes, the A Series looks a lot better, and the VW Golf looks better too. But bring on some twisties, and I do believe the 1 Series will beat the A Class & Golf. Packaging wise, it looks very cramped in there, and that transmission tunnel in the rear makes it look even worst, so space is probably the biggest problem for this car. Everything else looks fine, and with the 2.0 turbo in front, can probably battle a 328i.

But seriously, if you must have a hatch, get the Golf. If you must buy a BMW, but got no cash, then get the 316i. If you really must have the 1 series, make sure you dont have passengers at the back, or just get the previous generation 2 door coupe.

On a side note, interesting that the 1.6 engine was tuned further for more power/torque with no loss to fuel efficiency. Why did they not do the same for the 316i & introduce a 318i? Hmmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • neemfa on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:32 am

Price is competitive for lower end variants.. might steal some sales from Golf 1.4 & V40 T4..

Not the prettiest hatch but soon when they start giving out discounts & pre-regs, price will hit RM150k and may attract some buyers.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:28 am

This prove that VW is overpriced in Malaysia. Why buy VW when you can get a Mercedes and BMW with nearly same price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Got auto parking or not?

• Majuperak on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:23 am

Jonathan,

Why no gallery for 116i ??? C’mon …. why like that ? We are also eager to see the difference between all models not just the top end model.

• Paul Tan on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:27 am

They did not bring the 116i and 118i to the launch. Only the 125i. Since the 116i and 118i are CKD we reckon that might be something to do with it.

• Majuperak on Sep 20, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Why you guys did not ask BMW only provide the top range for review and display ? bulk of the sales will come from 116i …. just like 3 series, bulk of the sales is from 320i ….. with the launch of 316i not sure. ….

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Hi Majuperak, the 116i and 118i are in the midst of local production and are therefore not available yet, so they weren’t at yesterday’s launch.

Bookings will open tomorrow (September 21) and customer deliveries will start from next month. You should be able to see the 116i and 118i at all dealerships from the start of October.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:53 am

Nasim is knockin this I16 with 208 1.6THP and 308 1.6THP

136bhp vs 156bhp
    220Nm vs 240Nm
    170K vs 140K
    and to compromise
    8.7s vs 9.2s
    5.8L vs 7.1L

The battle is heating up.

For P, pls look around, improve or sell SS with lower price or……

• foxtrot on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:00 am

awww no 125d :(

• May I know where is the place that the photos showing?

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Hi Amil, the launch took place at the Damansara Performing Arts Centre in Empire Damansara, Damansara Perdana.

• xatomic on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:37 am

Bye Bye Golf TSI

Doesn’t take a genius to decide which to go for…

• Gracke on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:38 am

Welldone BMW this time, a good price with good look with good chassis with great handling and performannce, but only one thing confusing is what others always complaint about the gearbox failure after sometimes! Don’t know is true or not? Can any BMW owner give some advice here.

• mazlan on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:18 pm

still no manual option, BMW please close shop

• YeapyEvo on Sep 20, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Who wants a Toyota GT86 when you can get a BMW 125i both RWD at the same price? Toyota is really overpricing their car, Malaysians need to teach them a lesson.

• Meanwhile in Mazda……….

• The interior is rather outdated. For a car that price and emblem, I expect it with electric parking brake and CBU. The hand brake is sticking out like a sore thumb!

• blackbox on Sep 20, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Electric parking brake cannot do handbrake turn lah.

• Come on…how frequent do you perform hand brake turns? You can do a hand brake turn with electric foot brake.

• Paparoti on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Is there anything wrong with manual handbrake? Go see the car in person before making any comments.

• I didn’t say there was something wrong with the hand brake, just fugly. Compared interior, looks outdated to me. Not even bucket seats for M?

• LaporpoWataKungsiiii on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:38 pm

have to agree with that really super duper ugly headlights!!! the lampu do not match d front design la.. 3series a better buy.. 316i ok what..

• stealth on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:19 pm

why why why every time Proton Sperma , ops typo Suprima have to be compared to in each and every post here? Compare with something of the same level lah duh…

• They are butthurt because cheapo sperma can handle better even without those tech stuff, LOL

• Fahmi on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:27 pm

For the price I would choose Ford Focus ST….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • 8.7 sec is a joke a for proton nowadays. even preve can get 8 sec.

watch?v=i2FNRe32_3U

pity for luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Tyler Durden on Sep 21, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Since when the 0-100 time is the deal-breaker on choosing, and owning a car? If that’s a big deal then everyone should be driving a Veyron, a Zonda, an Exige S etc?

• LOOK STUPID especially the front.It looks like a tortoise head. The A 250 Mersc beat this car flat.

• protwo on Sep 21, 2013 at 8:11 am

No auto park feature?

• The front grill looks like Hitler’s moustache.

• Tyler Durden on Sep 21, 2013 at 11:05 pm

This is still, the only RWD luxury hatch there is out there. Definitely worth considering if one is looking for a premium C-segment hatchback.

Not particularly pleased with the level of equipment provided in a 116i, hence the 118i upwards is the right choice.

Just my personal views.

TD

• kensiew on Sep 22, 2013 at 11:25 am

This car is a piece of crap. Mercedes a class will be my pick. What happened to bmw recently? Ur cars suck!

• ExOneEr on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:31 am

Looks like there’s a catch on the entry level 116i, it does not include BRSI?? That’s a bit cheeky of them to exclude!

“All variants of the all- new BMW 1 Series except the BMW 116i include the BMW Service and Repair Inclusive (BS+RI) service program.”

http://www.bmw.com.my/com/en/general/news/news/news_214.html

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Hi ExOneEr, BS+RI is indeed not included in the 116i’s price. BMW has said this is to make the entry-level price point more accessible.

However, we’re told that plans exist to offer BS+RI on the 116i as a paid option (like on the MINI One) at a later stage, hopefully by the time the car arrives in dealerships in October.

• yoolang on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:39 pm

this 1 got the automatic parking assis for you or just line?

• Humphrey on Sep 25, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Say, my good chaps, does this cars come with automatic parallel parking like it does in the UK?

• jiesir on Sep 30, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Sad news. 116i is price 179k. 9k higher that unofficial lay announced!

• ExOneEr on Sep 30, 2013 at 5:48 pm

jiesir, where did you get this news ? It’s officially announced to be RM170k, but without BRSI, could the RM179K include BRSI?

• the front of 1 series look flat and no design on photo, maybe bcos of lighting effect, but the real car at showroom i see today at BMW puchong, it look nice, very modern design.

• BM Power on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Owned few BM cars, last disposed off a 6 yrs old E39 w/o gear box issue. My F10 is going to be 4, touch wood, gear box still working…