Daihatsu UFC-2 Concept previews the next-gen Alza?

Daihatsu_UFC-2_Concept_ 001

The second of Daihatsu’s eight world premieres in Jakarta is this blue machine, called the UFC-2 Concept. Daihatsu isn’t planning a new mixed martial arts competition, as the name stands for Ultra Function Compact (the press release actually says Function Ultra Concept, but let’s let that slide, shall we?).

The Daihatsu UFC-2 Concept – which evolves from the UFC Concept from last year’s show – is claimed to be a sporty compact car for seven passengers. Our take is, it’s a small seven-seater that looks more like a family vehicle than a boxy van, which is always pleasant. There’s lots of chrome and LED detailing around it to make it stand out from a crowd of boring people carriers.

Based on its size, proportions and window line, the UFC-2 Concept looks to be a design study to preview a new Daihatsu Boon Luminas and its Toyota twin, the Passo Sette. The names sound familiar to you? Well, that’s because the current Perodua Alza is based on the seven-seat MPV pair.

So, what you see here, ladies and gentlemen, could well be an early look at the next-generation Alza, Malaysia’s favourite MPV. Like what you see?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• doohhh on Sep 19, 2013 at 7:17 pm

change to perodua logo and… Voilà perodua concept car project

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:52 pm

You know what? The next moment, our patriotic confident self-centred Malaysian hero will stand up to change this and that to make it more beautiful konon, and still think that his design is the best in the world.
      This design is good enough, hands off ya.

• Low Budget on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:38 am

If they don’t dabble with it, then it won’t be “Perodua Car”, they will definitely re-design the Grill and Bumper a bit, replace the original accessories with the local ones and here it goes.. a Perodua new model.

• Sorry, Daihatsu will not allow you to do that….

• Aerro on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:41 am

Proton cannot sleep well now….ha ha ha

• abuya123 on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:39 am

Since when proton sleep well? By the way, welcome new alza….

• Low Budget on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:43 am

My guess is Proton can indeed sleep well, the Gomen will always support and propping up Proton, if not there will be no Jaguh Kampung to speak off.

• The front reminds me of the ongoing Vios and the tail lamps look like Lancer’s. Anyway, the combination of both creates a decent looking compact MPV. Might do well here in Malaysia if the production model doesn’t deviate too far from this concept.

• skyjuice on Sep 19, 2013 at 7:24 pm

something is out of proportion, maybe the small tires or too much ground clearance? :hmm:

• Please build it with better body quality than the current Alza.

• magpie on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:46 pm

..and brake pad that wont leave black dirt on rims.

• …Or brake pads that actually brakes. Too much close call for me in my family’s Alza.

• Alson P on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:44 am

You can upgrade to “carbon-ceramic brake” system….

• Low Budget on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:45 am

Ai Yah, small problem only, just change the brake pads to different brand when it is time for replacement.

• Better than Alza? Please don’t. Currently P2 is selling 2 Alza with every Exora sold. If this one better than Alza, what will Proton makan?

• Ford, you might want to check your design department, some designers may have defected to Daihatsu. either that or Daihatsu have went back to the tried and tested way of copying.

• Chris on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:54 pm

I can’t help noticing that the headlights seems to be similar in some of the new japanese cars. Wonder if the lights are just from some OEM like Hella, and they buy them in bulk and just fit onto the cars.

I know my old toyota have hella lights.

• First thought to me is that it looks like a Sci-Fi up version of the Ford Ecosport. In fact the entire concept looks like a Sci-fied version of the Ford small SUV made into a MPV. The Japanese are known to put alot of sci-fi inspired design into their design, for better or worse.

• art appreciator on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Sure do like what I see. Lots of futuristic design language involved, and the front lamps are to me a beauty. Seen from the front, the car has a ‘spring-forward’ feeling. It’s quite rugged.

The only discomfort I have comes from the arrangement and proportions of things in the back face – it reminds me of villains with high foreheads —> http://crashbandicoot.wikia.com/wiki/Doctor_Neo_Cortex

• kadajawi on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:55 pm

The front looks a bit like a C4 Picasso, the rear was lifted off the Ford Galaxy.

But yeah, not bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Ah moi got trunky legs. Not sure got such words or not.

• drrif on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:47 pm

The only good thing about it is the girl!

• Hey… this could be the next Avanza / Xenia… Why has it be the Alza??

• scootster on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:00 am

The side mirrors are too small for mpv

• norman on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:30 am

Hope its a 1.6 125hp/155nm weigh 1250kg

• basher on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:45 am

looks smaller than alza or its anot

• basher on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:46 am

looks smaller than alza, i hope it was another daihatsu eye illusion technique…lol

• benzs on Sep 21, 2013 at 10:25 am

Alza will under go facelift n this model will be replacing Alza face lift after 3 to 4 yrs. Perodua have to maintain its current model before they can sell new model. Jap collaboration is like tat. They control everthing n what Malaysian get is old design n tech from Jap approval especially P2.

• Proton forever nyenyak tido disebalik tempurung

• norman on Sep 22, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Not only that after your collaboration with them ended and when you start to build ur own engine they will get piss off with you,Kia,Chery has gone through that

• amd2u on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:01 pm

perodua is copy cat !