Honda Mobilio – full details and live gallery of the MPV

Honda_Mobilio_prototype_ 001

We now have fresh and full details of the new Honda Mobilio, along with live photos of the vehicle from its world debut earlier today at the Indonesian International Motor Show 2013. The budget seven-seat MPV is an interesting vehicle indeed, especially since it’s aiming to be the cheapest of its kind in Indonesia.

Still labelled as a prototype, the budget MPV will not go into production exactly as it’s seen here, but the changes will be minimal, according to Honda. It looks completely production ready though, so perhaps it won’t be very long before the Mobilio completes its development programme.

It looks rather good in the flesh; much better than most pictures suggest. Its ‘Dual Solid Motion’ design concept is distinctive, if not exactly unique. The character line that runs across the side of the vehicle draws attention away from the thick proportion as well as help improve all-round visibility. Honda calls it the ‘lightning-bolt’ belt line.

brio-mpv-sketch

While the front is heavily based on the Brio hatchback it’s derived from, the rear end is all new. The lights have a BMW-like notched design, and the D-pillar is partly covered by the rear quarter panel – another move to break up the visual mass. The prototype sits on 15-inch aluminium wheels.

No pictures of the interior yet, as we weren’t allowed in (this is a prototype, after all). Honda claims to have a class-leading “sensation and comfortable” cabin, without saying it’ll be the roomiest small MPV around. It goes on to say that the rear-most seats will have limited space, but makes up for it by having a “comfortable and relaxed atmosphere” back there.

Practicality should be a high point in the Mobilio. The third row seats can be folded 50/50, while the centre row can tumble down in a 60/40 configuration. A necessary feature in all MPVs, the small Honda MPV will feature a double-blower air-conditioning system, with a dedicated multi-vent panel behind the front seats.

Honda_Mobilio_prototype_ 003

Engine-wise, the Honda Mobilio is powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC unit with 118 PS at 6,600 rpm and 144 Nm of torque at 4,800 rpm. There’s either a five-speed manual or a CVT ‘box. That should be sufficient for a vehicle that measures 4,390 mm long, 1,680 mm wide and 1,610 mm tall. The Brio platform has been stretched, here offering a long 2,650 mm wheelbase.

Safety is paramount in a people (often family) carrier, yes? The Mobilio has dual airbags, Honda’s G-CON (G-Force Control Technology) and ABS with EBD. Seatbelts with pretensioners, impact mitigating headrest and integrated pedestrian protection are all standard too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Spark on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Kalau masuk Malaysia berapa RM ni?

• basher on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:08 pm

looks better than avanza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • OMG…frankly speaking, good looking and look nicer than avanza,alza, exora and grand livina.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
      • MycarMyLife on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:27 am

Good looking alright , Hafiz, can we have some test reports on the performance and handling of this Mobilo cos’ the boxiness may have the same straight line stability complains as the Toyota’s Versa or Venza ( both not sold in MY )
        Just my thoughts

• kadajawa on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Bye bye Exora…opppsss wait first, here as usual Honda being forced to price it RM90K….Proton still safe from competition….bravo NAP…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
    • armandd on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:58 pm

No such thing as Honda forced to price it RM90k. Honda dealers profit margin is too high. Recently there’s a Honda SA SMS me offering up to RM10k discount for City and believe it of not, RM18.5k discount on 2012 (old stock) CRZ! Just imagine, if they could afford to sell their cars with such discounts, what does that tell you about their profit margin?

Every single post want to mention about Proton, really tired with such uneducated comments… D.A.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 21
      • mr_em on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:34 am

I don’t want to take sides but who are you to judge a person’s comment uneducated or not?

By the way, this is a blog and everyone is entitled to express his or her view and if you disagree just say so but why do you need to feel offended by a mention of Proton?

By the way, even our Govt themselves admit that Malaysia’s automotive industry is still not an open market… in other words THEY HAVE NOT FULLY REMOVED THE PROTECTION GIVEN TO THE LOCAL MANUFACTURERS… please come back to this comments section when you find something to prove otherwise…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
        • Can you provide source which Honda was forced to price higher? Or you just a pathetic keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • lucky on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:07 pm

I dont no in MY. but in Ind, this car has been released. the lowest price is 159.5 mill (+/- RM43.4K) and the highest price is 198 mill. (+/- RM53.8K). The price is low to kill Avanza-Xenia domination.

• sudonano on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Toyota, take notes, this is how you should make an MPV. Not that odd looking Avanza and the hideous Innova facelift.

Good job Honda, all the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • rubbish still rubbish, nothing innovative design, more like copying Toyota’s brilliant idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • I would prefer the line to continue after the B-pillar rather than having a kink, could have looked alot closer(Still far, but closer) to the JDM Honda Odyssey. But still, better looking than a Avanza, and the manual should complement that familiar 1.5 in that rather well than the 5-speed auto I’am used to.

• add bodykits will look much better

• andrewk on Sep 19, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Just commenting on the sketch of the rear 3 quarter angle and the photo of the car in the same angle – All the design elements are there (lights, body line, intergrated rear roof spoiler etc. etc.) but yet the picture looks way more sportier and desirable…

I bet if Theo Chin took that photo, scaled it horizontally and p/shop some bigger rims, it’ll look just like the picture!!

Anyway, IMHO its a nice looking design regardless. Love the way the roof ends at the back giving it a “invisible” rear pillar look..

• Denaihati on Sep 19, 2013 at 7:35 pm

might be successor of honda freed. even more attractive.

• kadajawi on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:20 pm

This thing is for Indonesia, the Freed is for Japan. I’m pretty sure the Freed will still be the better car (and if you ever had a car with sliding doors… they absolutely rock. The Freed has them, the Mobilio doesn’t. Dealbreaker for me.) Keep in mind the Freed is based on the Jazz, the Mobilio only on the Brio. In short, there’s no way Honda is going to replace the Freed (which sells very well) by the Mobilio… maybe in Malaysia, cause the Mobilio is cheaper, but the Freed will continue in Japan.

• kadajawi on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Looks quite nice. The step in the window line helps make it look not so tall (look at the rear, it’s pretty high, but yet from the side you don’t notice it as much), and it gives passengers (kids) a better view out of the car. More entertaining.

• kadajawi on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:22 pm

But how can anyone say a car with 2 airbags and no ESP is safe? Even the Prius with only 2 airbags wasn’t safe, whereas with 6 airbags it was very safe. Exactly the same car. It makes a big difference.

• this car is very suitable in this country, couse many
      people likes going out together, well come mobilio,im sure so many people will be stuck on this mpv than the other mpv

• art appreciator on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Beautiful.
    Wow, the Indonesian car market is getting pretty exciting!

• thats normal since their market is so big..car maker can make model indo onli even oni it cover 15% of the population

• thedarkside on Sep 21, 2013 at 4:19 am

they are predominantly a small mpv market…toyota kijang/avanza, suzuki apv almost everywhere on the road.

• Dunknown on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:42 pm

I think Honda’s design attracts most of the youngsters, while Toyota mostly attracts those elderly.

• Hondaman on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Honda msia, please, please bring this and price it below 90k, for sure grand livina & inova mati.

• magpie on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Nice one, honda. Will watch closely for this model.

• Sigh… in the drawing, the back light look so much “BMW”… but the actual one, very disappointing… :(

Hey, isn’t Honda is gonna work with Proton… who knows this could be the next Exora or the Brio Amaze become the next Saga…

Malaysia Boleh !!!

• Achong on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:29 am

you wish… all proton can do only copycat, there’s nothing to proud of…

• aihsan on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:09 am

wahh . Already have a Avanza killer there lah .

• OMG…In here, the new avanza getting less on the road….bcos of alza. But if this launch here, will be top sales if the price reasonable.

• It is underpowered, 144Nm of torque won’t be enough with 7 or 9 people in the car, but all things considered, I’d say it’s a pretty decent MPV. Miles ahead of the Avanza and Innova.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Blublibla on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:16 am

Thsi car is beautiful! x3 Honda Malaysia please bring it here! xD

• Faizan on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:26 am

why they spoil the look with ugly headlight… why not just put latest Honda headlamp design?

• iluvloyola on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:28 am

* canceling my vios booking… *

• diamjer on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:57 am

sad attempt by honda on the cheap mpv segment. look decent but we had better specd’s mpv in that price range.

high-end mpv are being conquered by toyota. kesian honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Drawing look more nicer than real car.

• fxtrilion on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:29 pm

the rear, especially the lamp remind me of new bmw 3 series. and front lamp look like myvi or viva.

• skysonic on Sep 21, 2013 at 3:24 am

price would be similar to avanza most likely. this car have 83% of their part indonesia made. AFTA will remove some import duties fo stuff from asean countries

• dtrackerx250cc on Sep 21, 2013 at 1:28 pm

this will not be available until next month.
    41,839.91 RM is the cheapest that will be sold in indonesia.
    might be available on Malaysia next year.

• Indonesians are very verrry verrrrrry lucky with their govt policy on this Low Cost Car.
    …..
    Terimakasih Dr M.

• Hondx on Sep 22, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Honda freed is develop for indonesia market.
    at here, freed not selling well in here.

and this mobilio, also for indo market i believe.
    better dun bring it to MY.
    i believee not selling well in here.

indo ppl really like pmv..
    if u go batam, estima all around..with dirt and mud.

• Sparcov on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Not selling well in malaysia not because of the car is because of the selling price. Freed sold at RM 60K, I will go and buy for sure.

• RECENTLY PROTON LAUNCH SAGA SV PRICE VERY ATTRACTIVE…BUT WHY WAITING PERIOD IS TOO LONG..BOOKING BEFORE RAYA UNTIL NOW CANNOT DELIVER..
    FEEL CHEATED..

• jai kl on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:23 pm

wat de faksss

• In malaysia is too many car… stop unveil for the new car. control our financing.. for those already car,just maintant. no need to change.. frompemudapas

• Zul Bahri on Mar 07, 2014 at 6:11 pm

ok banget honda mmobilindo is goooooood

• Any idea if Honda Malaysia is bringing this in anytime soon?

• V.VENKATESWARA RAO on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:34 pm

MOBILIO A GOOD MIDDLE FAMILI CAR IN HONDA

• V.VENKATESWARA RAO on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:35 pm

MOBILIO A FAMILY CAR IN HONDA

• i want to test drive as soon as possebil

• honda cite

• surjeet singh on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:12 am