Pimp My Almera contest enters FB stage, public votes

pimp-my-almera

The first phase of Nissan’s “Pimp My Almera” contest recently drew to a close as participants from three design colleges were selected to represent their institutions.

Representatives from Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) and local fashion editor Miranda Yeoh visited Dasein Academy of Art, Saito College and IACT College to shortlist the submissions and choose one winner from each college. Each won RM5,000 and are in the running for the grand prize of RM20,000.

“I was impressed with the creativity portrayed in most of the entries. It was quite a tough decision for us to make initially, as art and design are very subjective matters. We are looking forward with great anticipation to the final outcome of the ‘pimped up’ Nissan Almera,” said Tan Keng Meng, ETCM’s director of marketing and product planning.

The three chosen entries have been posted on Nissan Malaysia’s Facebook page, allowing the public to vote for their favourite design. The winner gets RM20k and will see his/her creative vision realised on an actual Nissan Almera that will be displayed at KLIMS13. One like is one vote, and each FB account is allowed to vote for one design once every 24 hours. Voting ends on October 12.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• it seems like : “best stickers” contest…yucks!

• OMG…wasting time and money…just focus on how to make the next new model become more good looking better loh…

• carlos on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:07 am

“my almera is so not good looking, please, please, please, pimp my ride!! – Do something to it”

The message is : your not so good looking almera can look good. Just need a bit of plastic surgery, or should i say, fibreglass surgery. Buy one today, and with a bit more of money it could look more related to the GTR

• No amount of pimp can save the Almera… just accept the ugliness and you’ll be happier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • almera on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:19 am

beyond pimping

• shawal on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:21 am

how about putting in 6 airbags and a cvt gearbox..?

• Plonk those items and it still can’t beat the exterior ugliness. Just accept the fate. lol

• those designs ain’t impress me

• Almera Owner on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:49 am

Don’t waste time. It is good idea to put more effort to survey around on the segment of car and what other competitors are offering in terms of specification and features.

• almari owner on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:27 am

your almera need a facelift…360°

• i am glad that they are realizing how ugly their car..

• Chris on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Why there is a need to pimp one of the ugliest car with the worst interior in the world?

I can’t really brain this

• Denaihati on Sep 19, 2013 at 1:09 pm

interesting contests and big money awaits the participants.

• oh god… why…???

• Datuk on Sep 19, 2013 at 4:27 pm

ah beng specialist needed

• vee-oh on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:45 pm

really?? why need to pimp Almera? its beyond pimpin’ already..its just, well, ugleeyyy

• honda c70 on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:52 pm

A dugong ugly cousin will always be a dugong. ugly cousin..why bother?