2013 Ford Fiesta facelift debuts in showrooms, RM87k

2013 Ford Fiesta-1.5-Sport-and-Titanium-001

If you’ve been keen to get up close and personal with the new 2013 Ford Fiesta, you can do so at Ford showrooms across the country from today. The facelifted Fiesta arrives on the scene in 1.5 litre engine guise and in five-door Sport hatch and Titanium sedan forms – the order books for them have opened, and pricing has also been announced. Both variants are going for an introductory price of RM86,988.

The facelift arrives with minor exterior revisions, the most noticeable change being with the nose – fresh to the car is a large trapezoidal front grille, and the bonnet and headlamp design has also been revised. The sedan, meanwhile, features a new bumper fascia and heavier use of chrome accents.

Inside, as previously reported, plenty of new kit – these include the incorporation of Ford SYNC, keyless entry, push-button start, rain-sensing wipers and Electronic Automatic Temperature Control (EATC) air-conditioning. Also on is EcoMode, a handy software application that measures the fuel efficiency of the driver’s gear shifting, consistency and speed.

Ford-Fiesta-1.5-Sport-and-Titanium-002

The Sport features a black/dark grey themed interior, with fabric/leather combination seats, while the Titanium has a primary light grey two-tone cabin, with full leather seats.

The 1.5 twin independent variable camshaft timing (Ti-VCT) four-cylinder petrol engine on call has 112 PS at 6,300 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,400 rpm for output numbers. The lump is paired with the familiar six-speed dual-clutch PowerShift transmission, now with a gearshift-mounted SelectShift manual override. As for the much-awaited 1.0 EcoBoost variant, that will only arrive on the scene later, either late this year or early next year.

The Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium come with a five-year or a 200,000 km bumper-to-bumper warranty, as well as a three-year or 60,000 km Ford Extended Service Plan (ESP) maintenance programme, which covers parts and labour free of charge.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 113
    • Dashboard on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:13 pm

The dashboard is still using hard material similar to previous gen right?

• matsatay on Sep 21, 2013 at 8:03 am

Base on oversea picture i asked my wife to wait for facelifted model since the interior dashboard is much better than the toy like of the old one. Imagine my horror when this facelifted model use old interior! so much for husband knowing about car better!

• BUYER BEWARE on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:27 am

Though Ford is a good car, having owned one last year, I would never touch the brand. It is plagued by very very very bad service. Service is so bad that expect to wait at least 3 months for any part to come. Even the smallest part. And if you car cannot be driven until that part comes, say hello to the Len Seng bus or Intrakota. It is shocking for them to take so long to sort out even the smallest problems. My bumper got banged also, it took 3 months to replace the bumper. Called them every other week they say “Must order from Singapore”. Come on lah, you are Sime Darby, the largest company in Malaysia, don’t tell me you got no warehouse to stock the parts?

Also, Ford is also plagued with gearbox problems. The gearbox always kaputs because it is one of those dual clutch gearboxes. My car kaput a few times. Well it is okey if it is under warranty, but imagine what happens if it is outside warranty? And each time my gearbox kaput, they took three months to replace it. The car sat in their workshop for 3 months.

I appeal to Ford US to withdraw their dealership and give it to a manufacturer company that can give this car a decent name in Malaysia. Its a pity after sales service stinks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Malaysians NO SHAME on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:04 am

Malaysians are treated like pariah dogs. If a company can make you pay RM90k for a car with 2 airbags, it means that the company don’t care a damn about your life. The best part is, Malaysians have no shame. People throw scraps at you also, you all go crawling like dogs to buy it. Even the pariah dog on the road, you throw him an old stale bone also, he won’t eat it and will go away. This means Malaysian buyers are of lower dignity and slef pride than the pariah dog on the street. The dog also knows what is dangerous to him and stays away from the stale bone.

Don’t you value your own life? Don’t you value the lives of your children? I won’t be surprised one day they even take out the VSC, or have they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • noname on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:26 am

So if we may ask, what is the non-pariah car that you are currently driving? worth about 90k that gives you top-notch safety features?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • gugugaga on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:07 pm

The problem here lies with the government. The minimum requirement of airbags in Malaysia is only 2.

If you are a company, you’ll want high sales and to minimize production cost. So, they only put the bare minimum, so that the price doesn’t shoot up, hence it becomes unattractive to the buyers. Prices of cars shoot up easily in Malaysia, thanks to the ridiculous taxes imposed by our beloved government.

• Pruden Shanky on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 156
    • Datuk on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:08 pm

honestly a lots of fiesta on the road compare to kia rio.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
    • Your choice sucks, both of them…stupit boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
    • Chris on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Which state did you stay in? I see at least a few fiesta everyday on the road, and only a Rio once every 1-2 week, or so rare I didn’t really notice it.

I think I notice more Serena Hybrid than Rio on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • pruden shanky making stupid decision

• Do you have proof Rio is selling better than Fiesta? I hardly see Rio and, mind you, it’s Klang Valley that we are talking about here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • AlBeCh on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:48 pm

‘wasteless release’? ._.

• AlBeCh on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:10 pm

`wasteless release`? ._.

• Serena Hybrid??I never see this junk yet on Penang road,but Rio I already see a few Rio in Georgetown.

• _xXx_ on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:35 pm

what were the 2 guys there for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Those 2 guys were not suppose to be there…
      The car itself looks ugly + 2guys well….just wrong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • Kelly on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:26 pm

They look like random passerby taking photo with chick in front of car to show “I was there” while polluting the clean view of the car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • calcutta on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:27 pm

don blame them,blame the education system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • Seriously the car is better off with the 2 gals. The 2 guys, one look like ah beng vcd seller with evolution sticker wanabe, the other look like a nerd whom i think are better off with a vios.

• A car that has no identity…poor facelift..overall very plain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 34
    • calcutta on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:01 pm

no identity? i guess proton suprima suits you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
    • Chris on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Do you not like Aston Martin looks? If you don’t like Aston Martin, your taste on car looks are questionable to begin with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
      • calcutta on Sep 21, 2013 at 7:31 am

malaysian taste on car are questionable to begin with

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • must like astom martin design meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Chris on Sep 21, 2013 at 2:15 pm

I may have gone over the line suggesting the car looks good because it looks like an Aston Martin, I apologize for that.

But to answer your question: Why not? Unless you hate Aston Martin styling, it’s a good facelift.

• Ah Beng on Sep 22, 2013 at 2:12 am

Even James Bond don’t like this car.

• Simba on Sep 22, 2013 at 5:24 pm

I respect & love Aston Martin cars.. but a car that wanna look like an Aston Martin’s & doesn’t perform like one is just pathetic.. sorry to say

• Marvin Eng on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Hi to all car expertise, I need an honest opinion which one should I go?

1) New Suzuki Swift
    2) New Toyota Vios
    3) Kia Rio
    4) Honda City
    5) New Ford Fiesta
    6) Proton Suprima

The reason is those cars are budget around RM 90,000 Below

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
    • Personally will opt for Kia rio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 68
      • Cerato on Sep 21, 2013 at 7:55 pm

If you can wait a bit and stretch your budget a bit more. My personal preference is the Cerato 1.6. I went to see the car and was blown away with its interior, both in quality and design. I test drove the car as well, it is comfortable and quiet too. Not the best handling car but it has a good value for your money. 1.6 engine might sound small but it doesn’t feel under powered like persona and can move along nicely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Congratulations that you have the capacity to buy those cars. Of course, the answer is the all-new Ford Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • Chris on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Don’t forget CKD Jazz, probably most practical of all those you list.

I went and check out Suprima with my own eyes before I love/hate it. The dashboard is the same quality as vios, but the door panels is no better than a Viva, and the dials/buttons/aircond flaps are horrible!

I think I broke the aircond vent flaps when I try to move it around…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
      • obviously u are lying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
        • Chris on Sep 21, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Why would I? I’m not even a car salesman.

I compare with Vios and Viva because I know both. The aircond vents plastic flexes more than my lunch box. I think I hear a crack when I try to move the one on the right side of the steering wheel.

• obviously u are wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
        • Chris on Sep 21, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Wrong on Jazz or Suprima part? You know, you got to be more specific if you want to sound convincing :/

• buy a second hand nissan skyline r34

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • might want to try almera n the new attrage…
      btw test drive n evaluate yourselves…avoid kimchi n vios then you R alright

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • 1st, Swift.
      2nd, I would not get sedan. I would consider Isuzu DMax. Or Ford Ranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • sudonano on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:52 pm

If you don’t mine non Japanese, get the Rio if you are on a budget. Or the 208 if you don’t mind about 86k price.

If you must have Japanese, your only choice would be the City E. Its the only Japanese car there with ESC. Both Rio and 208 have ESC too.

If you need space, then Proton, but bear in mind, the Suprima’s boot is tad shallow. And build quality and reliability of the CFE is not proven, since it only a 2 year old engine.

The Fiesta is good if you want a sporty ride. The new facelift is a bit sad cause it has only 2 airbags (from what I have read). The pre facelift sedan (about 80 oddk) had 7. If you want, you could look at the pre facelift sedan or the XTR, which you could get good deals on. Or wait till the 1.0 turbo Fiesta comes next year, I’d reckon it will bring back the 7 airbags.

Currently the safest cars in the list has to be the 208, Rio, then the City and Fiesta. Followed by the Suprima.
      Vios and Swift is a joke. Barely any safety kit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • If RV is not your concern, Fiesta or 208. Not a fan of Korean due to poor handling and bad interior design. Design is not everything. A even bigger no to Proton…once bitten, twice shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • geste on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Suprima S coz got BMW oem speed cloth seat, or wait for manual variant prolly 240Nm torque FTW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • AlBeCh on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Hmm…for that same price mentioned,don’t you wanna add the 5 door Peugeot 208 under your list also?

• kadajawi on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:14 pm

New Fiesta only 2 airbags. Try to quickly grab the old one if interested, the new one is seriously not worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • karim on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Proton suprima la brader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Just my thoughts, if you are single, Fiesta or Rio or Swift ,the size and spec justify that kind of car, 208 is not bad too. But if you a family of say 2+2, Suprima and City. From the reports, Suprima tends to drink more than the city, but the city has a terrible NVH , but good overall performance and handling, and IMO looks better inside out, this is coming form someone that drives a City almost daily.

• Have you test drive the Proton Suprima?
      It has ANCAP 5 stars crack test. This is International Standard oh.
      And don’t forget, safety is important bro.
      Test it out first, it will change your perception.
      If you know about cars, after you test it, you will agree with me.
      Ok, you might agree with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Really? on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Suprima is so bad that I cringe when looking at it. Chan must be a desperate proton salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • flat_tire on Sep 21, 2013 at 5:03 am

it got 5 stars without an actual crash test.. don’t forget to mention that ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • budlee on Sep 21, 2013 at 9:57 am

it has the same body structure as the Preve, and ANCAP has accepted that, so that is why it is awardedthe 5 star rating. Its common for IIHS test too

• If brand is not important to you, then choose suprima.. if you can go a bit higher than 90k, then go for honda city fullspec.. ;)

• Einstein on Sep 22, 2013 at 1:23 am

A lot of people talk about car,
        but do they really know about car?
        I wonder now

• 1st goes to city. then fiesta.

do test drive both car.

• if you want performance and dont care people think you are ‘unaffordable’ go for suprima

if you the best car but not from proton, go for city.

if you are guy, dont choose swift.

if you want conti, fiesta.

but none of this car is on my list.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 21, 2013 at 8:19 pm

If you are more driver focused, get a Fiesta. If wan save fuel and always stuck in traffic jam, get a jazz hybrid. Try to avoid 4-speeder if travel on highway a lot as it will be much noisier and consume more fuel. If always stuck in traffic jam, avoid Dual Clutch Transmission like Ford Fiesta as DCT proven work terribly in stop and go traffic. Overall, Jazz Hybrid make a lot of sense.

• inolikeiproducts on Sep 25, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Hard to choose. I’d probably go with the fiesta. I drive the pre face lifted now. Nice drive. But am also worried about warranty issues. If that’s your main bug bear, guess you got no choice but to go with City.

• Can’t really see the full rear view for the sedan titanium spec, if exactly same as previous generation, then it still the ugliest sedan I have ever seen. However, the hatch its nice looking. Wondering wat those designer know how to make sedan compact size car or not :s

• Albert on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Fiesta ST leh????

• Chris on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:38 pm

87k for 1L ecoboost sounds like a better deal, it’s hard to accept that for a 1.5L NA… looks like my dream is broken :(

• Just waiting for the Fiesta ST to come price it below the 208 GTi like in europe (120k below) and it will be an absolute masterstroke for SDAC

• Denaihati on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:18 pm

five-year or a 200,000 km warranty make it as a good choice to consider

• Gary Yap on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Hmmm… the fiesta just became ugly, sad.

• Arun 12B on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Confirm suzuki swift and honda city only the best in everything. Other cars all just waste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Zend3r on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:15 pm

who’s tat big boob girl in white top

damn

• kadajawi on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:18 pm

So it only has 2 airbags? What’s wrong with SDAC? Why the downgrade? They could have been the first mainstream brand to advertise with a full set of safety features on all passenger cars. Haven’t they seen the backlash when the Camry was downgraded by removing the VSC?

Quickly grab an old Fiesta, the new one isn’t worth buying. The City offers just as much, but has more space is cheaper and Japanese.

• Arun 12B on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Sure honda city & suzuki swift the best in everything. Other cars all waste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • damn expensive….. city look better…. but mayb feature is less…. :(

• car lovers on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:51 pm

like james bond car…..aston martin….nice looking…

• If sporty ride, i will pick fiesta or City which is class leading for FC since 2008 beside its size, if u put aside saga and fiesta manual. Vios is reliable but not safe, boring and no style.

• Enthu on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:13 pm

its still the troubling Powershift dual clutch that jerks/judders.

check out this problem if you are getting this car. Even with warranty, previous version owners are having a frustration time claiming it.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 21, 2013 at 8:28 am

Those crazy ppl up there who suggested Kia Rio should be should be castrated and shot

It’s easily one of the most hideous looking car with the worst FC and handling in the market, not to mention a continental car pretender. There’s nothing good about this car except maybe the safety features

What’s the point of having slightly above average safety features when the overall car will be useless and will crash anyways. If you drive a rio, chances of getting into accident is ten times cause the cars hideousness will result in ppl crashing into u for bring too ugly. Don’t get me started on the resale value.

For a better choice, get the Mazda 2. Performance akin to a continental hatch, with class leading FC and safety features and not to mention the exterior is fresh and evergreen. Some even say it looks like a BMW prototype.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • Chris on Sep 21, 2013 at 2:33 pm

1. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Your argument is invalid.
      2. FC according to some FC tracking website, it’s doing as good as, if not better than the Vios. Your argument is invalid.
      3. Nothing wrong being a pretender, that’s how you improve, and it’s a plus in some people’s book.
      4. How good it is depends on how/where you drive your car. Your argument is not convincing.
      5. Unless you can show evidence of Rio crashing 10x more than other cars, your argument is invalid.
      6. Not everyone care for RV, so don’t start.
      7. I agree with Mazda 2 handles better.
      8. I think Mazda 2’s design is old, Rio is fresh, and Fiesta is the best but hey, I’m not going to shove my opinion down someone’s throat and say they are crazy if they disagree with me ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • budlee on Sep 21, 2013 at 9:55 am

As suspected, it only has 2 airbags. Quite the downgrading compared to the previous cars.

I suspect is a Malaysian thing. Honda, Toyota and Nissan does it.

• At least proton suprima dont have the powershift problem that haunt all fiesta owner. One side mirror cost 1k ????? WTH ??? I love fiesta handling but I dont want my car to stay inside SC just after 1 month and nobody knows how to fix it.

• donnckt on Sep 21, 2013 at 11:58 am

pathetic car with pathetic engine output, with dual clutch transmission,

keep it pls………

• donnckt on Sep 21, 2013 at 11:59 am

who will buy this cheap car with this expensive price?

• Ahmadfaris93 on Sep 21, 2013 at 12:38 pm

I dont the new wheels/rims look as good as the previous one Ford brought in for the Fiesta hatchback. The 5 spoke wheels look more sporty than this.

• Totally agree. So disappointed to see those uninspring looking wheels. One after another letdowns following the biggest: 1.5 L engine downgrade :-(

• more ugly than a duck, the old model looks much better…can compete with the Suprima for the “Ugliest Car of the Year”

• Chenny on Sep 22, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Come to think in second, The new Vios looks far better than this overrated Fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Vanos on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Somehow putting those Aston Martin style front grille on cheap Fords is just wrong. Regardless that Ford motor co.owns Aston.

• Chenny on Apr 01, 2014 at 9:57 am

I like those 2 airbags in white tshirt

• cyuenable on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:16 am

Can anyone tell me more bout the transmission/ gearbox problem? i heard bout the rattling noise. Is it that terrible after all? Do this car worth its price?
    Thankyou so much !