GALLERY: Honda Brio Satya: entry-level hatch at IIMS

Honda_Brio_Satya_Indonesia_ 001

Honda may have officially launched its revised Brio lineup in Indonesia last week, but what better avenue to showcase the new offerings than at IIMS?

The Brio made its Indonesian debut in August last year, arriving as a 100 PS and 127 Nm 1.3 litre i-VTEC-equipped model. For 2013, the scope has been broadened with the introduction of the 88 PS and 109 Nm 1.2 litre SOHC lump that was first seen on the Brio for the Thai market – the engine equips the new Brio 1.2 and Brio Satya variants that Honda has introduced for the Indonesian market.

The 1.3 continues on, powering the Brio Sports, which is available in a single Type-E grade. The Brio 1.2 is available in S and E model grades and with an auto transmission, while the Brio Satya 1.2, which is Honda’s entry for the country’s Low Cost and Green Car (LCGC) programme, comes in three model grades, these being A, S, and E. In keeping things in line with the low-cost factor, the Satya is only available with a manual transmission.

The Brio Satya is produced in Indonesia with 85% local content, and is the automaker’s cheapest model in that market – the Type-A version holds that honour, rolling in at 106 million Rupiah (RM30,100). All the Brio Satyas variants are equipped with dual airbags, though of course the range-topping Type-E gets the most kit – on the list are fog lamps, rear wiper, 14-inch alloys and a double-DIN CD/MP3 player with USB/iPod connectivity.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 30k??? Better than viva and saga!!

• There are very solid reasons for its low pricing;

1. It has 85% local content, and Indonesian labour costs are cheaper than Thailand’s and Malaysia’s.

2. Economy of scale; the more Honda Brios are made and sold, the cheaper the cost of manufacturing. Honda sells and manufactures the Brio in three very big markets (Thailand, Indonesia and India), our Viva and Saga are dependent on just our market.

3. The Brio is ‘cheaply made’ (not ‘made cheaply’, there’s a difference), with simple, outdated but proven engines, transmissions and less interior kit.

4. Cronies in Malaysia will never remove or reduce our car excise duty, if they do, a bajet Viva or Saga would cost less than RM20k today.

Got other reasons, but the above are the most relevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawa on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:51 pm

5. Aero will buy it even at RM60K price. It’s a Honda badge. Don’t deny it OK. Even more at Labuan or Langkawi, Aero will buy it for each family members, for his cat too. Cheap lah RM30K only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • Huh ? For what I wanna pay RM60k for this Brio ?

I’d rather spend 60k on a used 2011 Proton Inspira, still new by today’s standards and comparable to the Civic, Corolla, Forte and Sylphy, but for half the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • aero the p1 p2 supporter is talking nonsense again.

point no. 4: Cronies in Malaysia will never remove or reduce our car excise duty, if they do, a bajet Viva or Saga would cost less than RM20k today.

viva or saga will never go down enough to RM20k. even with the removal of everything. in which it’s already removed anyway.

aero still believe that p1 and p2 got the same excise duty as any other manufacturer. aero reads utusan thus believe that it’s a level playing field.

well aero, it’s not. p1, p2 and naza got huge discounts on top of the excise duty for their ‘value added services’. VA discounts by providing personal flight and heli service to select few. and the such.

check how much the saga and viva is selling in labuan and langkawi. compare the prices to peninsula. then you’ll get tax and duty free price.
        then check how much civic, altis, and jazz ckd selling in langkawi and labuan. and you’ll get how much they’re taxed and dutied.

level playing field? same excise duty? yeah right..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Proton still got excise duty, if not how come so cheap in UAE? Some cars like Inspira is more expensive than Lancer CBU coz in Langkawi it’s not exempted from excise duty.

• merit on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:05 pm

30k for 1.2l with small boot, i’d rather go for more practical saga with 1.3l, proper boot and much roomier cabin space.

• everything also blame Proton… their cars also kena tax la… adui! u think our government so good give u tax free car even though is local made meh!

RM30k for Brio! u go ask Viva why a 880cc car still expensive than Brio.. not Saga. Cheapest 1.3 Saga only RM34k! Although 4k more than Brio but it has bigger cc engine, spacious interior, bigger boot… and nicer interior than the ugly Brio’s interior lolx… and one more thing, this Brio is made in Indonesia, 85% local content and cheaper labour cost. Saga is made in here, high material and labour cost. Imagine if Proton were to set up factory there to produce and use the indon material… im sure the same Saga selling now will even more cheaper!

• Mamam on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Cewek cantik

• I dunno abt BRIO; but if the models come in as a maid; I for sure will be in police lockup loh !!

• lanjan on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:22 pm

The rear is still ugly.
    They should ditch the red circle of the rear light cluster.

• torquealot on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:51 pm

This one only cost 106 million Rupiah (RM30,100) ?? all variants come with 2 airbags ?? Damn you Perodua and damn you BN government !

• maverick on Sep 20, 2013 at 5:14 pm

kalau jual kat malaysia rm30100…pehh menangis guae..my 1.0 viva cost me rm38700 already..this car got 1.2l, 88ps and 109nm compare to elite 56ps and 90nm with same equipment level..hehe

• minister will say, you don’t like can move to indonesia. there got cheap honda. minister cannot stop you.

• Lanjan on Sep 20, 2013 at 5:39 pm

If Honda bring it in, reckons the price to be more than the Mitsubishi Mirage 55K++. Hopefully they bring the 1.3, manual.

• kadajawa on Sep 20, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Fat hope lah. It’s RM60K minimum for kosong spec. Bravo NAP

• wow seriously n honestly you are comparing the price with the indonesian market..yup its true the car price are cheap but how about the lifestyle in indonesia or thailand..i’ve been to these countries n seriously living in Malaysia is much more comfortable than staying there..trust me having a cheap car but have to pay petrol around RM5 per litre is not the best thing that u hv in mind..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • Denaihati on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:46 pm

nice city car but less attractive dashboard.

• Man Satay on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Will be Re-Badge into Proton Satay…Yum, Yum…

• presna on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Say whatever you want about the design or the dated-tech in the Brio, but at that price and the ‘honda’ badge… it will sell like hot cakes in Malaysia (if only at that price…. which will nvr happen)

p.s. here’s a good advise to P1….. why don’t you showcase the saga sv model in indonesia??? Despite change in management still the same thinking, export to developed countries only….. just for the name sake of selling cars in Australia…UK..bla…

When ASEAN region has a huge population, seriously don’t see why P1 doesn’t make a hard push for its cheaper models….

• benzs on Sep 21, 2013 at 10:17 am

Just dream only Malaysian. This car will never release in Malaysia. G will protect P1… Even it happen, no cheap at all. Taxation is craze!

• rontol on Sep 21, 2013 at 1:30 pm

if this model coming to malaysia the price should be 60k..for this i rather buy myvi lagi best for more spec and acc than this low spec cheap style dashboard but only sell the H brand

• Sam Loo on Sep 21, 2013 at 10:19 pm

The design may not suit many,but at least it will have better RV than kimchis

• Brio is fast like Jazz with limiter ….

• Honda Brio Community on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:18 pm

hai, mari join Honda Brio Community..

• ahmad on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:56 pm

not like another indonesian lcgc program, hoonda brio satya has 4 cylinder so it id more silent and powerfull