DRIVEN: Ford Fiesta facelift – 1.5 Ti-VCT sampled

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium 018

The thought that there are more than 10,000 examples of the sixth-generation Ford Fiesta on Malaysian roads is staggering, particularly for someone who bought into the brand well before it was considered swanky to do so. While Japanese car owners won’t understand what’s mind-boggling about that, the out-in-left-field enthusiast who went with something like the second-gen C307 Ford Focus will. Because it wasn’t that long ago that being seen with a Blue Oval wasn’t fashionable, to put it simply. Being different, yes. In vogue, no.

Being chic in a Ford last happened in the ’80s, when the Laser S and TX3s were very much “in” and cult vehicles. Somewhere along the way, the bean counters committed what would best be termed malfeasance with a series of poor model selections, effectively committing the brand to a slow, progressive downfall (and becoming a Ranger-trick pony) it never recovered from until three years ago.

The Focus never did the job of lifting the brand out of the doldrums, despite its credentials. The first-gen C170 may have been sterling, but with too few examples (150 or so) and being too niche (manual) it never got things going. The second-gen fared better, but again never became a volume seller. The current third-gen C346 aims to go further, but it isn’t the magic bullet for the brand, or its volume seller.

The arrival of the Fiesta Mk6 changed all that. This then is the vehicle responsible for putting the brand back on to a decent perch; after all, 10,000 examples since it made its debut in late 2010 isn’t a small matter, considering the state of affairs pre-2010. Of course, three years on, it’s the turn of the facelift to continue lighting up the trail.

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium 015

When it first arrived here, the B299 Fiesta – which made its market debut in late 2008 – did so with great aplomb. Its contemporary looks gave it allure, and good drive dynamics made it winsome, as did its competitive price and its high-ish levels of equipment specification (dual-clutch transmission, ESP, and in late pre-facelift examples, seven airbags in the sedan and special edition hatches, among other bits).

It wasn’t perfect, and I’ll get to the flaws later on, but it had charm, so much so I bought one in 2011 to replace a first-gen Focus I’d been running for six years (see what I meant now by staggering, at the start?). And so it is that this preview drive report will explore both old and new AAT Rayong-made examples in closer fashion than would otherwise be normal. Plus, since there’s no official launch for the car, it’ll even double up as a launch report.

The facelifted car debuts here in similar five-door hatch and sedan forms as seen previously, with Sport and Titanium suffixes to denote the body-styles. The first item to cover is the external revisions. Not many changes with the facelift, first seen at a Go Further event in Amsterdam in September last year, and which made its ASEAN debut at the Bangkok Motor Show back in March this year.

The front end has been revised, with a new bumper and the by-now familiar Aston Martin-like grille taking centre stage, and there’s also a fresh bonnet – complete with a power dome – and new design headlamps slapped on. The grille is one of those love-it-or-hate-it bits; opinion here among the team is quite divided by it. Danny likes it, I don’t, and I never think I will, the face of the original being far better integrated and more organic looking to me. Still, that’s a preference, and different things work for different people, no?

No changes to the headlamp configuration, despite the reworked styling – the unit is still a twin-chamber, halogen complex surface reflector type, with no DRLs present. At the back, the tail light assembly gets a new design, and in the case of the sedan, there are more bits of chrome to be found on the facelift. In terms of dimensions, the facelift variants are a shade longer than their predecessors – 3,982 mm for the hatch (old, 3,950 mm) and 4,323 mm for the sedan (old, 4,291 mm).

Both facelifted sedan and hatch wear identical 16-inch wheels, in this case a 15-spoke design that is similar in styling to the 15-inch unit seen on the pre-facelift sedan. Shape-wise, I do think the old hatchback’s five twin-spoke design is easier on the eye, and keeps better to the Sport theme. The tyre choice remains the same as that found on the outgoing hatch – 195/50 series Continental ContiPremiumContact 2s equip both variants, with the spare being a 175/65 unit, mounted on a steel-wheel.

Inside the car, cosmetic changes include new seat fabric material, these being a partial fabric/leather combination in black for the Sport hatch and full leather in light grey for the Titanium sedan. The dashboard and general cabin layout remains the same, though the entire presentation has been refined (visually, if not to the touch).

The old Fiesta’s cheap-looking silver for the trim panels is gone – the inserts on the entire centre console stack and cover for the door grab-handle are now in gloss black, and a satin black finish now dresses the instrument binnacle housing, with a chrome accent framing the outline. Silver is still used for the steering wheel boss accent, but presented in a far sleeker polished metal look; the interior door handle is also now finished in the same shade (previously, bare plastic).

A word about the front door cards – the European Fiesta facelift features a reworked grab handle position and layout for the door window/side mirror adjustment buttons, which looks a significant improvement ergonomically. The Thai-made facelift, however, retains the old door cards; the cost of retooling surely omitted them, but it’d have been nice to see the new panels make their way on here.

Meanwhile, the metering for the instrument panel has also been revised, and the small central display now reads the entire gear selector range (P, R, N, D, S), encapsulating the chosen position when in that particular gear (previously, only the particular position selected).

Elsewhere, all display lettering is now presented in a shade called Ice Blue, replacing the orange found in the outgoing car, and the instrument dial needles are likewise in blue (previously, red). The central stack-mounted display remains in monochrome, and no alterations to the six-speaker audio system.

New though is Ford SYNC, the brand’s in-car connectivity system that connects mobile devices to the car via Bluetooth or USB. Also on, an EcoMode software application that measures your driving patterns and awards you kudos in the form of leaf-icons displayed on screen.

Other new equipment and features found on the facelift is a single-zone, fully-automatic climate control unit, automatic headlamps (with a new selector position on the far right of the light switch), a rain sensor/auto wiper system, full keyless entry and push-button start, all fitted as standard for both variants.

There’s also Smart Regenerative Charging, which whenever possible has the alternator charging the battery during braking or decelerating. Still no cruise control to be found, but the new kit and slightly more polished overview is a welcome sight.

The main mechanical change is with a switch in engine displacement for the debutant – the new Fiesta is still equipped with a Duratec Twin Independent Variable Camshaft Timing mill from the Sigma family, but is now 1,499 cc in capacity compared to the previous car’s 1,596 cc.

First seen in the Thai-market pre-facelift Fiesta last year, the revised displacement mill came about as a means to get the car compliant with the Kingdom’s first-car progamme, which allowed first-time car buyers to deduct excise tax paid for the purchase of the car from their personal income tax. The scheme is over, but the revised mill is very much here to stay.

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium 041

The 1.5 litre Ti-VCT develops 112 PS at 6,300 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,400 rpm. Conversely, the outgoing 1.6 Ti-VCT offers 120 PS at 6,000 rpm and 152 Nm at 4,050 rpm, an eight PS and 12 Nm difference in output – marginal, but vis-a-vis there are some performance differences, notably in low-to-midband acceleration aspects.

There’s a bit less punch here if you jump directly from the 1.6 to it, less obvious on its own. This despite the 1.5 actually having a marginally lighter kerb weight, at 1,125 kg for the 1.5 Sport hatch to the 1.6 Sport hatch’s 1,153 kg; the new Titanium sedan is also lighter, at 1,141 kg.

It’s higher revving at intermediate speeds though. Cruising along, the 1.6 litre unit ticks at around 2,100 rpm at 90 km/h constant – the 1.5 litre, as noticed during the brief preview drive, did the same at around 2,300-2,400 rpm. Not much of a chance to push it speed-wise during the drive, but the 1.5 Sport was taken into 170 km/h, with just the final quarter being a bit puffy (the 1.6 does the same).

Another quick aside, this on the perceived exhaust note for the Sport – don’t think that there has been any revisions to the configuration, but hopping back into the 1.6 brought about a deeper, more resonant note to my ears compared to that on the brand-new 1.5s. Might be that two and a half years in, the 1.6’s suppression bits inside the muffler are going; the mileage is low though, with just 24,200 km clocked in 30 months.

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium 049

As for drivetrain, the familiar six-speed, dual-clutch PowerShift transmission continues on, with gear ratios and final drive unchanged from before. A Sport drive mode is now available, sitting in place of the low gear position (L) in the old car, and the gear position markers (P, R, N, D), previously located on the left of the shifter are now correctly oriented to the right, facing the driver.

There’s finally a manual override, available through SelectShift buttons located on the gearknob, as first seen on the third-gen Focus. Aside from the different gear knob, the shifter column itself has also been revised, sitting taller than in the old Fiesta.

The manual-mode is something that should have been there in the first place. At the Thai drive for the pre-facelift Fiesta back in 2010, I remember asking why a manual-mode shifter wasn’t included. The straight-laced answer – which Danny was also given – from Stefan Muenzinger, head of vehicle integration for B-cars at Ford Asia Pacific was that “it’s a gimmick. We find that most people don’t use it.” Well, the gimmick is here, now.

It’s certainly a most usable and welcome one, truth be told, and this is something all Fiesta 1.6 owners will comprehend. The Getrag 6DCT250 dry-clutch unit does well enough once you’re moving, but aspects of its low-speed performance is something that takes getting used to.

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium 050

Tetchy would best describe first and second gear – transitions between can get clunky, especially from cold, and definitely perceptible in slow moving traffic conditions when movement is largely kept between these two ratios. Gentle on the throttle helps, but in an ‘ease on, ease off and ease on again’ situation the characteristics more often than not rears its ugly head. Sometimes, you even get the feeling that you’re riding the clutch. Except that there’s no clutch pedal to ride.

Not having a manual override means there’s nothing you can do about it. The SelectShift curtails the jumpy behaviour, because you can keep it in a particular gear of choice, albeit with it shifting down to first if you come to a stop. Still, it’s a boon to have, when the alternative is none.

Actually, even without engaging SelectShift operation, the 6DCT250 on the 1.5 felt more cohesive, the result of improved TCU programming, perhaps? Operation-wise, manual shifts via SelectShift were clean and smooth during the short drive – the transitions in automatic changes (up, once a ratio hits a redline threshold, and down as speed is noticeably trimmed) were likewise unfettered. Nonetheless, I for one can’t wait for the likes of the 6DCT150 wet-clutch six-speeder ‘box to appear in Asian markets.

Nothing much to report handling-wise – aside from new bump stops for the front suspension to help improve cushioning performance over large bumps, the suspension geometry continues as is; the hatch, with its ‘sport tune’ suspension, pretty much rides and handles like the old does.

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium 070

Likewise the brakes, which retains its front disc/rear drum configuration, which work well enough in day-to-day use. I initially thought the pedal feel on the 1.5 Sport to be a bit soft, but quickly realised how much the stainless-steel braided brake hoses I’d slapped on to the 1.6 had tightened up feel as well as modulation aspects.

Safety kit, by and large, continues as before, and on the list are Electronic Stability Programme (ESP), traction control, ABS with EBD, emergency brake assist, rear Isofix mounts and hill launch assist (which Ford says has been refined) as seen in the outgoing model. By and large, because as airbags go, the facelift features two, and it doesn’t matter which body-style you choose.

The omission of the Safety Pack and its seven airbags is surely to be a source of contention, especially since the outgoing Fiesta LX sedan introduced it in 2011, and the limited-run Beta and XTR hatches as well as the last run of 1.4 LX manuals had it too.

In ticking the boxes with a view of working to a price point, the inclusion of auto AC, auto headlamps/wipers, keyless entry and push-button start as a package (the entire kit is bagged as an optional Sport Executive Pack for the Australian market) looks like it has been chosen ahead of the Safety Pack. Then again, the best-selling version of the pre-facelift Fiesta was the Sport hatch, and that had two bags, so maybe the marketers know what they’re doing.

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium 065

Finally, exterior colours, and Black Mica has been removed altogether from the palette for both body-styles. For the hatch, there are five shades. Chilli Orange, Metropolitan Gray and True Red have been retained, while Arctic White replaces Cool White and the new signature colour, Celestial Blue, replaces Aurora Blue in the lineup. For the sedan, four colours are available, these being Met Grey, Highlight Silver, Arctic White and True Red.

Until the 120 PS and 170 Nm three-cylinder turbocharged 1.0 litre EcoBoost variant debuts (it’s likely to make its Malaysian premiere at the KLIMS 2013 in November, and begin selling sometime early next year), the 1.5 litre Ti-VCT Sport and Titanium will hold court, and both make their market debut at an introductory price of RM86,988, on-the-road with insurance, complete with a five-year/200,000 km warranty.

On the whole, the Fiesta facelift in its 1.5 litre guise remains a competitive package, despite the competition having shored up in the three years since it made its debut. The engine downsizing may be seen as a bit of a downer and the lack of airbags may take away some of the gloss, but Ford is hoping that the added kit/features and improved interior polish will offset that (dunno about that face though). Personally, the peculiarities of the Getrag box aside, I’ve quite enjoyed my time with the little B-segmenter.

The real adventure for the revised B299, however, will begin when the 1.0 EcoBoost gets here. If that’s priced right, the Mk6 should be looking at another very good run down the road before time is called on it. Now, do we hear calls for the five-speed manual transmission then?

Read Danny’s drive report on the pre-facelift Fiesta from 2010 here. Gallery below the pricelists/brochure.

[scribd id=170206902 key=key-ep685vysmpjqhky1zo3 mode=scroll]

[scribd id=170205665 key=key-2l64ep34jj9vmjgjcqh4 mode=scroll]

[scribd id=170205657 key=key-2g30ytvz0burtjl5o9an mode=scroll]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• A fresh extrerior look but interior likely same with previous gen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:01 am

They did change the materials/paints inside, and they downgraded the car/bumped up the price. Not a very compelling facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • BUYER BEWARE on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:26 am

Though Ford is a good car, having owned one last year, I would never touch the brand. It is plagued by very very very bad service. Service is so bad that expect to wait at least 3 months for any part to come. Even the smallest part. And if you car cannot be driven until that part comes, say hello to the Len Seng bus or Intrakota. It is shocking for them to take so long to sort out even the smallest problems. My bumper got banged also, it took 3 months to replace the bumper. Called them every other week they say “Must order from Singapore”. Come on lah, you are Sime Darby, the largest company in Malaysia, don’t tell me you got no warehouse to stock the parts?

Also, Ford is also plagued with gearbox problems. The gearbox always kaputs because it is one of those dual clutch gearboxes. My car kaput a few times. Well it is okey if it is under warranty, but imagine what happens if it is outside warranty? And each time my gearbox kaput, they took three months to replace it. The car sat in their workshop for 3 months.

I appeal to Ford US to withdraw their dealership and give it to a manufacturer company that can give this car a decent name in Malaysia. Its a pity after sales service stinks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 254 Thumb down 12
        • SBUYER BEWARE

same happen to VW so don’t worry… we should trade in for a new Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
          • Darth Maul on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:37 pm

there goes ah beng car fans….beware of this scam…

• PuchongSpa on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:16 am

Same goes to VW Malaysia. Everything also no stock. Even down to simple thing like a bulb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
          • bulb oso u go to SC?…i just go any beng shop and buy bulb for rm2 including labor oni take 2-3 min

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Sam Loo Ah Kong on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Told you to buy Toyota. Who ask you itchy butt go buy VW. Nah, padan muka.

Buy Toyota, better resale value. My son, sam loo will love you more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
          • Sorry,useless junk Toyota is not my choice.Happy to have a Kia Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
          • cititel on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Dear puchongspa,

You sure vw malaysia no stock? Don’t lie la. You must be vw haters.

If you want bulb, please come to cititel spa. I am sure my local masseurs can help you change your bulb.

• BintangPalace on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:33 am

Even VW had the same issue. No stock even for wear and tear item.

• Junk

U siao meh? Toyota is not junk! they’r using old school technology bcoz can tahan lama mah!

• Ford Parts = BMW prices on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Ford parts are so expensive. Most of the Fiesta buyers are below 30 yrs old and got excited with so called “continental” marketing 3 years ago. Most Fiesta buyers are still in warranty period. When warranty period finishes, then you will be whacked severely. I won BMW and Ford. I can verify that Ford parts prices are SAME as BMW prices. The current batch of Fiesta buyers will soon cry when their warranty habis. Sime did not give you 5 years warranty for free. They will recoup every sen back on your 5th year onwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
        • Samantha Loo on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Ford Msia Root of problem: SDAC
          Toyota Msia Root of problem: UMW

• DCT is great in performance wise if set properly by manufacturer but it’s reliability and durability loses to the so called ancient torque converter. Most people bash about the torque converter offerings by some manufacturer but truth is its more suited to the driving habits and conditions in Malaysia.
          (mind you that the torque converter technology ten years ago and now has changed, the theory and working principle is the same but has improved)

• CWKen on Sep 25, 2013 at 6:01 pm

That’s why people should buy manual then no need complain gearbox rosak. Have you seen these old school stick shifts break down like this? no right? Better FC, better fun, cheaper maintenance, opportunity to exercise our lazy left leg especially to those who doesn’t exercise at all. Nothing to lose.

• I m one of you.
          suffering the fiesta gear box.

any idea? or solution? brother

• Samuel Loo on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:07 am

This review is so long yet NO info given on fuel consumption figures.

Why? The FC far better than Suprima kah? Then, Proton cannot justify its RM80K price anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:17 pm

No fuel consumption figures in km per litre or litre per 100 km was made available to us for the facelift, and the brochure doesn’t state it either.

If you would like to know what a real-world, 30-month inter-urban cycle fuel economy for a Fiesta 1.6 is, then I can tell you that in my case, the median average over the 24,200 km travelled is 12.23 km per litre, or 8.17 litres per 100 km.

The best consumption (and highest mileage) I have achieved on a single tank has been 521.6 km for a return fill of 36.1 litres, translating to 14.44 km per litre or 6.92 litres per 100 km (RON 97). The worst run was 353.8 km for 37.4 litres of petrol, which is 9.45 km per litre, or 10.58 litres per 100 km (it was a RON 95 tankful)

Most average tankfuls are around 420 to 430 km before the refill alarm triggers, and the usual mileage hovers around the 12 km per litre mark.

This measurement is not off the computer readout, but from calculating mileage to litres filled; I trip the odometer each fill, and always tank up to full. So each reading is worked off the mileage done on the previous tank. I tend to fill past the ‘click’, by around a litre or so; I have logged each tank from the time I got the car.

Unfortunately, I can’t tell you if the 1.5 litre Ti-VCT is going to be more frugal or a heavier drinker than the 1.6 litre unit over a two-and-a-half-year real world, inter-urban cycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • Samsudin Loo on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:11 am

Welk said….

• S.Roma on Sep 24, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Still high cons for 1.5cc car, unlike japan car, shame la… sigh…

• CWKen on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm

I am inclined to think that if you throw those jap cars you mentioned to Anthony, it’ll either yield the same if not slightly worse results than that. Simply because of torque converters alone. Factor in kerb weight, displacement and the torque it generates, this still wins in overall fuel efficiency-performance ratio.

• CWKen on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Nice stats! ALmost exactly the same way I measure the FC figures of my car. Well done over there, Anthony!

• Nathan Chan on Aug 01, 2014 at 5:23 am

Can anybody advise or tell me if the Getrag 6DCT250 dry clutch in the new ecoboost has any problems? Its a horror story to read some of the comments here. Is it really that problematic coz I’m bout to fork out a good 95k for the Ecoboost. Please advise?

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:00 am

I hope the marketing people like having blood on their hands.

I for one see no reason why one should go for this over the Rio (6 airbags, good features, much lower price tag) or the 208 (6 airbags, good features, probably better interior, better looks, and a lower price tag), or even the City (more space, cheaper, and a Honda (including the easier ownership experience). It too has ESP).

Also, jumping from 7 airbags in the 70k version to 2 airbags in the 86k version is quite hard to take and can backfire (see Camry 2.4 having no VSC, and the 2.5 then having no VSC… until they had to put it back as fast as they could). I think people were expecting the hatchback to get 7 airbags too, so they held out and waited for the facelifted version.

It’s a shame that we don’t get any detailed sales figures anymore, it should be quite interesting to see if this one does well… I hope not. Hopefully people will be asking for the old Fiesta instead now. (Which was better looking anyway.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
    • Vader on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:56 am

Since the Fiesta got more market share then become greedy like T, good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • Malaysians NO SHAME on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:03 am

Malaysians are treated like pariah dogs. If a company can make you pay RM90k for a car with 2 airbags, it means that the company don’t care a damn about your life. The best part is, Malaysians have no shame. People throw scraps at you also, you all go crawling like dogs to buy it. Even the pariah dog on the road, you throw him an old stale bone also, he won’t eat it and will go away. This means Malaysian buyers are of lower dignity and slef pride than the pariah dog on the street. The dog also knows what is dangerous to him and stays away from the stale bone.

Don’t you value your own life? Don’t you value the lives of your children? I won’t be surprised one day they even take out the VSC, or have they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 10
        • Treated like Pariah dog::

1. Pay more then RM80k for a fiesta that treated as if got the car for free.

lousy reliability, lousy after sales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • The Fiesta 1.6 hatch accounted for 70% of the pre-facelift model’s sales. Of the remaining 30%, most of it went to the 1.6 sedan; 1.4 hatch sold only a handful.

• Blaze on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:44 am

Why 2 airbags people might ask. Well as i said last time, “they” awarded others with only 2 airbags a five star award. So why should Ford bother to put more airbags. “Good” job ANCAP/MIROS.

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:18 pm

2 airbag cars were awarded 5 stars since ASEAN NCAP wasn’t able to do side impact tests. I hope they are soon though, and can downgrade cars that have only 2 airbags (which amusingly will also hit and hurt the Fiesta… the car with side airbags was tested for frontal impacts only, the car without will be tested for side impacts). I just hope they’ll start doing side impacts soon, it was announced for the last round already IIRC, who knows why they didn’t do it (mhhh… intervention by car makers…?)

• Kimchi on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:48 am

When fiesta was launch, it really shaken up the whole B-segment industry in Malaysia and became the benchmark for other car makers. 7 airbags while their competitors dugong and city is still in 2 airbags phase.

Fast forward to now, the kimchi (only kia not hyundai), the french and even proton suprima have move to 6 airbags, but Ford decide to play arrogant and greedy by releasing their facelifted with only 2 airbags.

Just because of their nice sales for their previous fiesta, they decide to be greedy like T&H.

Well, let’s see their sales volume whether prospective buyer will abandon Ford and go for Pug or kimchi or even Suprima.

Good luck greedy autoconnexion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Kimchi on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Now, Kia have done it again. Next month they are launching their Kia Picanto (A-Class segment) and it’s coming with 6 airbags, and also Vehicle Stability Control at rm60k to rm63k.

Will it be a new benchmark for A-sgement car ? Definately a yay. Now, Ford, you are following like Hyundai. Give 2 airbags. Shame on you.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:35 am

I choose Fiesta over Rio due to it’s sportier ride, over 208 because no hatchback option and sedan looks like crap, over City because sportier ride too. But I find no reason to buy FL model over pre-FL. FL model offers a lot of gimmick and omits real feature. Downgrade engine, downgrade safety and seems wrong design, especially that 70’s looking rim is ridiculously ugly. If I want to buy a Fiesta, I would wait for stock clearance of the pre-FL model.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:39 am

Oops, I forgot that new 208 hatch is available in Malaysia. Yeah, just the 4-speeder and French car quality. If they managed to put in a 6-speed, best in class should award to Pug.

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Good luck waiting for clearance when people waiting for the FL realize that they’d rather have the pre-FL model…

• 7nitestand on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:28 pm

There is no such thing as a 208 sedan.

• Yes,Rio and Peugeot 208 at least got more advanced safety features.Unlike the useless junk Vios,no safety features.

• jukon on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:26 am

Why they ditch the airbags to 2 only? I think they start to be greedy like T

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
  • gensta on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:40 am

Malaysia is a poor developing country. so they think we do not deserve another five airbag to protect our life. however cars in developed countries equip at least 6 airbag as standard. BUT, our cars are much much much more expensive than cars in developed countries….wth….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Maybe we as consumers can use this platform to spread the message to ‘ban’ any purchase from greedy car manufacturer until they decide to upgrade the specs according to the price given.
    Price upgrade but spec downgrade..so Typical Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:37 am

Not only UMW, but ALL Malaysian company. Profit, marketing, and no passion or enthusiast of pushing good product.

• Anonymous on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:18 am

I like it… but the damned centre console. Here’s to hoping the EcoBoost does a one-up and comes with MT!
    If it does, then this is my next.

• sudonano on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:25 am

2 airbags? REALLY? Ford you know what state you are now. And you do this. But it could also be their plan to make these models the base specs when the 1.0 comes… Good luck then Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Base spec at 86k when the previous base spec was at 70k is very ballsy though. But yes, I fear they want to differentiate the models, so they chose to leave away the airbags. I’d rather have them leave away the auto aircon though (as much as I love that feature), and maybe go for a simpler HU, smaller rims, … just leave the safety features. And maybe offer MT. The engine options are simply to close to each other… the 1.5 offers almost as much power as the 1.0 (which offers about as much as the outgoing 1.6), a few more hp won’t warrant a price bump that will be at least 10k or so.

But if you keep in mind that you’d save around 10k with a Rio (at similar specs) or a few k with a 208 with better interior… Sime Darby really has become arrogant and greedy. Now they’ll hopefully kill all the momentum they had.

• sudonano on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Exactly!

They already messed the recent Hyundais. 2 airbag Santa Fe? Hello?

This is what happens when the marketing “think” they know what they are doing, only to see sales slide and then have a “feature update” ala UMW. People in the market for a Fiesta also would see the Prius C and the 208. This would just seal the deal on either those two models. And 87k for this, the Ecoboost? 100k? Polo hatch and 100+k, no one wants to buy also. Cause for 20 k more you get a Focus 2.0S or the same price, a Cerato K3 1.6.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:41 am

87k. Now this one I really don’t get.

Malaysian car buyers are getting increasingly more safety savvy. Missing 5 airbags will eat into Fords launch thunder. Ford will find it biting thier behind. It’s only 2k less than the XTR.

I see no reason buyers won’t go for the better equipped Pug 208 instead. And in the longshot, both the Rio and the 1 sized larger 1.6 Cerato.

How on earth are they going to price the likely more premium upcoming 1.0 ecoboost (my guess is with the missing airbags put in)….

Most likely the greedy bastards at DRB Hicom at work here…. Worst working its magic on Skimping out on Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Diss-illusions on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:34 am

Err.. Ford is distributed by Sime Darby.. and so is Hyundai. Check your facts before slamming…

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Otherwise he is right though.

I don’t think the XTR will be offered anymore… so for now either you get a pre FL car while you can (or get a second hand one… which may go up in price now) or go to the competition.

• panadoll on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:41 am

saya nampak permainan kamu…

• Only people who really know cars will go for 208 and Rio.

• Gary Yap on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:07 am

This is a facelift gone wrong, design wise, guess Ford can’t pull rabbits out of the hat all the time. And that testy gearbox, please issue a recall already!

• neemfa on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:39 am

The marketing team didn’t do their homework.. or did SDAC hired a bunch of fresh grads?

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Even fresh grads can’t be this stupid… must be old folks that don’t care about safety.

• Sam Loo Ah Kong on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Probably UITM….Perkasa special class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • sonic31s on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Even the marketing team “do” their homework… but the final conclusion & decision is on the BODs!

• Nicholas How on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:58 am

strange when ford offers 2 airbags everyone complains, but when toyota offers 2 everyone seems to think it is ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Because there is a more important feature Toyota is lacking….VSC. You put that in and people will complain…..less. Just look at the outlash at the new Accord and Santa Fe for not providing 6 Airbags.

• Mr. Nicholas How, How did you encounter there are no complaints when toyota offers 2 airbags? Is this your first time in PT?

• Nicholas How on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:29 pm

If that is the case, then the complain does not tally with the sales figure.

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:28 pm

People do complain about Toyota offering only 2 airbags, even on the Vios, let alone the Camry. But at least those cars weren’t downgraded.

I, and probably many others expected the new version to also upgrade the hatchback to 7 airbags… no one expected them to downgrade to two airbags.

• vee-oh on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:12 am

more gearbox breakdown on the road now…fiesta owners can happily join VW owners by the roadside now..wow!!

• frenzyaustin on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:41 am

Looks like DCT really can’t work in hot country.

• battu on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:25 am

actually in real life i never see vw or ford broke down at side of road due to gb prob.

• Over here in Subang,I usually see alot of Hot-Golfs(R32, GTI) and Scirocco on the back of flat beds, not sure why but I assumed DSG problem. Haven’t seen a Ford thou, heard many reports and from an actual customer of a Fiesta, but never seen it on the side with hazard lights….

• I am from Subang Jaya also but i already saw a few Fords like Mondeo,S-Max and of course Fiesta.

• Ah Beng on Sep 25, 2013 at 3:57 am

They can now have a fiesta party on the roadside.

• people wont buy it until 1.0 ecoboost gets here

• Slightly more expensive, slightly better spec. Manual override is NOT a gimmick, without it in a City I might go insane(The Auto dosen’t go well with the revy SOHC 1.5). The Fiesta was always a lustful product in my eyes, good spec and good looks, almost went for that instead of the city but was written off because it lacks the ‘size’ to be a family car. But now the FL Fiesta looks kinda mundane in my eyes as compared to say, a 208. The looks hasnn’t grown on me, and the additional feature is not what I find deal-winning. rather dissapointed….oh yeah and that airbag count
    *opinions may differ*

• frenzyaustin on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:45 am

FL Fiesta offers only gimmick. The manual override sounds cool, but the gear shift position is too awkward. How hard is it to install a pair of pedal behind the steering. Auto wiper is way too much gimmick. why somebody is so lazy to operate the wiper.

• BTW, I did’t quite catch the manual overide mode part, how did it work again? is there a pedal-shift like the H.City or a pull-lever like most cars
        anyhow yeah I do agree, auto wiper/headlights are gimmicks along with auto parking brakes. But actually the thing that come into my mind is this, what if those stuff were to break. Sure it won’t happen now or 2-3 years but as the years pile on(my family keep our cars for 10 years or more) how much will it irked you to see those gimmick go considering that we humans get irked by something as little as a broken dash light(well, I know alot that do). a balance of safety/reliability/performance is what makes a good car after all for the joe consumer.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm

The +- button on the stick. Most weird way of shifting gear.

• ququbert on Sep 23, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Addressing your first question, it’s “left thumb-operated”. Ie, the + and – sit on a vertical axis on the gear knob, facing the driver.

• Chris on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:32 am

With everyone complaining about how it looks, I just wanted to say it’s my favourite Fiesta yet. That muscular bonnet that makes it looks like a bigger car, and the grill that looks like an angry fish come charging with it’s mouth wide open.

I know it’s not for everyone, but I like it.

But those rims are horrible (imagine washing it every weekend), and what on earth is Ford thinking when they remove the airbags and raise the price tag? I rather they remove the keyless entry, manual gear override, push start button for more airbags.

As much as I love how it looks, I can’t help feeling it’s an overpriced gimmick of a toy. Maybe the 1.0L ecoboost will be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • nice write up… Writer went from Focus to a Fiesta. I went from a Focus to Kuga, we “left-field” ppl tend to stick to Fords

• najib on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:23 am

Proton Suprima S is still the best, this aston martin is rubbish. Always proton, proud to have a suprima, it can smoke bmw, merc and many cars. Also has better interior quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • Yea yea, Your Suprima can smoke BMW, Merc & many cars…. u know why? Bcos they don’t even bother to look at Suprima hence where got appetite to have a “fight” with the small little soft turbo Campro..
      Wake up la u

• Darth Maul on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:08 am

A person that thinks aston martin is rubbish…u must be dont like mr 007, even u cant afford to buy its plate no.. buy the way, go ahead n buy suprima ppl will spit at u n throw u shit…hence, ur name….

• heybadigol on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:52 am

While safety is important, the number of airbags does not make a car safe. Its the overall safety package. So, rather than looking at the airbag count, one should look at the safety rating instead. Since none was provided for this Fiesta facelift, no one can really comment on how safe or unsafe this facelift is. We need to wait till they come up with the test results. Hopefully, soon.

I have driven the prefacelift sports hatchback, and must admit its really nice to drive with good handling and acceptable ride. Only exception was the slow speed clunkiness of the dual clutch gearbox (think all DSGs are like that). And I know people who drive the Fiesta for almost 2 years, with nary a gearbox issue. So, am a bit puzzled at all these gearbox problem complaints. Maybe its down to luck?

Other nice things was the supportive sport seats, which were also comfy and the really nice sound system, which even included time alignment (some D segment cars dont even have this).

But as nice a car as it is, the competition has moved on up. The 208 is a really good car in terms of overall package and is prolly the Fiesta’s main rival. The Rio looks nice too with a decent price tag, but it can’t match the handling of the Fiesta. Another good competitor which is about to be replaced is the Honda Jazz. It may be old, but its interior packaging makes it feel bigger inside than it really is, especially with the magic seats. If I was in the market to purchase something in this class, id wait first for the new Jazz and the 1 litre ecoboost Fiesta to surface before deciding. It wont be long before those 2 come around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:37 pm

It is a well known fact that without side airbags protection from side impacts is marginal. The Toyota Prius II was tested both with and without side airbags, and the differences were huge (the rest of the car was identical). You are sitting much closer to the door/window than you do to the dashboard, and you want to avoid any direct contact of the head with anything hard… like your door frame. The Almera managed to get a reasonable rating with only 1 airbag since there is just so much space in front of the passenger -> He couldn’t hit the dashboard. That is simply not possible in a side impact, there is no car that has enough space.

Of course for frontal impacts the Fiesta will surely do well, but being hit in the side is not too uncommon. It can happen any time, for example while crossing a traffic light (see those poor guys in Singapore early this year or so).

All that speaks for the Fiesta now is ride and handling, and perhaps the gearbox (then again I’m sure many will rather have a 4 or 5 speed torque converter that the competitors have than a DSG they are afraid of). Everything else… it’s more expensive, the interior is so-so, in terms of safety it is a big downgrade… why would I buy a Fiesta when I can have a City, that is about as safe, but cheaper, more spacious, that has spare parts and mechanics everywhere?

• David on Sep 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

because it’s no where near as fun to drive…the Jazz is not one you can drive enthusiastically.

ultimately it’s what you want in a car..the fiesta has a balance of driving dynamics and comfort. while the Jazz is really skewed more for comfort and sedate city driving.

• heybadigol:I would very appreciate if you go for either Rio or 208.

• mantop on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:57 am

It is high time that we smart thinking msians exercise our rights to refrain ourselves from buying underspecced cars with non-sense price tags just like this one…there should be a nationwide campaign to beware future car buyers of this ‘scam’ to cheat msian consumers who lack knowledge of what today’s cars should be equipped with to enhance drivers n passengers safety!!!

• moolastrikes on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:35 am

Not bad, but hopefully they get better getrag box. My mk6 getrag box still good but seen bunch of owners had a bad box…

• azhar on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:18 pm

ford more and more becoming like toyota…from 6 airbags now down to 2 airbags..price remains the same!

• What trend is now? F (Aston wannabe) follows T’s way?
    I think previous Fiesta got 7 airbags is due to they thought Malaysian safety is high
    now Asean ancap result came out car with 1 airbag also can get 4 star so what for offer so many airbag at the price range?
    To sum up
    It is like want a great quality car u have to let go nice specs and cheap price – Vios and this Aston Martin wannabe
    You want cheap car yet can get a nice specs… then let go quality
    Last time ppl complain why Proton car has no this no that… cheap quality la… etc etc but when everything put in.. Sell at 80k.. Ppl complain why local
    car so expensive 1.. Rather buy others… how great if every good things come in cheap.. Everyone can eat birdnest, abalone, shark’s fin hehe …
    Sigh… Used to like Fiesta… now… no with that kind of specs and price

• Darth Maul on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:58 pm

ehhh halooo, ford never be an aston martin wannabe…remember people…From 1994 until 2007, Aston Martin was a wholly owned subsidiary of the Ford Motor Company…that means ford bought the exclusive britain car company..

• hantu on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Huge discount for pre-FL fiesta?

• parton on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:55 pm

What the puck did i just read…my eyesss….this article is so hard to read. Can u just write in more technically simple phrases?

• Nope, i don’t have any problems with my fiesta … superb handing, reasonable fuel consumption, very characterful, mine is a pre FL 2011 model. Cruising at 160kmh is a breeze. 1 caution though, change the original tyres. I’m lovin it ..

• bluebird on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Cruising at 160km/h, Are you sure? Don’t Lie.
      What is the RPM like?? 6 or 7 ??

• It uses 1.6L engine, furthermore has 6th speed. So there is no problem cruising at 160km/h peacefully

• I wonder what car need to have 6~7k rpm for crushing at 160km/h?

• Opps Noname on Sep 25, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Lol…if this 6 sppeds car cruising at 160km/h in 6~7k RPM, u just have to scrap it, no need deep considderation anymore.

• truely malaysian on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Suprima S

• Nicholas How on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:32 pm

i am surprised at how bad the after sales service is for ford for i have not encountered such issue, maybe i am just lucky. My gf’s ford fiesta is doing well apart from an accident that resulted in a dented back bumper. took them 2 weeks to order it and fix it back on. And we are in freaking sarawak!

• klimk on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Why does everyone keep on complaining about 6 or 7 air bags. Standard Fiesta Sports never came with 6 or 7 air bags. Only the limited run of Beta and XTR has, and mind you it cost a lot more than the standard Sports version. And, how many Fiesta owners can come forward and claim that their gearbox has problem? If you hear from a friend that his friend’s Fiesta always has gearbox problem, it might not be true. The truth is, the gearbox is not as refine as one would expect and a manual override is always a welcome, but properly placed as a pedal shifter though.

The new nose job looks weird to me. On closer look, it gives you the sporty Aston Martin look. But as a complete package, it just doesn’t blend in well for a car this size. Sorry about it.

As for the price, it’s bump up RM 4,000.00 from the standard Fiesta Sports+ 1.6L pre-facelift. That includes addition equipment mentioned and extended warranty but a slightly smaller engine. Make your own judgement. And please don’t harp on the RM 70++K price tag. That was for the 1.4L manual hatchback version.

Notice people here like to jump the gun without getting the facts right. 6 or 7 airbags, gearbox problem, RM 70++K price tag, etc….. That a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • dun swallow every comment tht tends to bash certain makers frm certain dealerships until they r proven right. Got bad ppl here as bad as communist.

• By the time EcoBoost Launch in next year, it will be my first car after Graduation..

• hyprX on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:48 pm

this aston martin copycat car has no class and facr lor. amoi won’t ride in it. buy civic, it’s for “budak baru nak naik tunjuk kaya”, very suitable for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Darth Maul on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:49 pm

good for you lorr…next time it will be “budak baru naik kaya jadi apek” amoi already dont want to ride with u coz looks so apek..coz of same standard like apek driving civic.^_^

• Not to show off man, i am pissed off with vios spec, somemore i will work in labuan, the current model just sold 60K+, it is affordable for everyone with degree holder..

• lala, before gaya, go earn your money first before asking papa mama for money to buy expensive car.

Take bus first to save for your first downpayment.

• Not to show off man, i am pissed off with toyota and honda spec, somemore i will work in labuan, the current model just sold 60K+, it is affordable for everyone with degree holder..

• teelim on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Like the reviewer, I too prefer the looks of the pre facelift version. Would be excited for the 1.0 EcoBoost model if not for the Fiesta ST. Come on SDAC, that the model we all want. Would be great if they could consider making the 5door variant of the ST available here.

• sepul on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Ford should have approached Naza as their dealer. Or any other company besides Sime Darby.

• fiesta on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:19 pm

As a current fiesta owner, one simple advice that i can give u (those who’s eyeing on this fiesta) is, DO NOT BUY THIS CAR. I don’t know where to start but lemme get to it part by part.

1) poor after sales service (not gonna elaborate more. Previous comments already bashed about this.

2) clutch problem. i can assure you that u can ask all the fiesta owner, almost 80% of them have got their clutch replaced. Due to leaking, awful grinding noise or clutch slip like mad. Whole car will vibrate during clutch slip on low gear. The SA will tell you that it’s a common DCT characteristics. Rubbish! Even though i’ve replaced the clutch (under warranty), the issues just come back. Now in the process of claiming for a 2nd set of new clutch (fingers crossed. hope that I can get it).

3)Low reliability. My 2011 fiesta has visited the service center for countless times. Replaced steering rack, aircond compressor, clutch, TCM (transmission control module), brake rotor…( and i hope stops there)

4) can cosider as poor reliability or poor assembly process lah. My 2 year old car now has so many weird rattling noise inside the cabin. Inside the dashboard, behind meter cluster, inside the front left door, inside the steering column and somewhere on the window there where the glass is touching the rubber. if i wind down the window a bit, the noise disappear. weird.

I am now considering to trade it in for a swift sport manual or maybe just a Rio (coz i love small & safe car. don’t really need a sedan…but dunno yet) once the warranty period ends….or until I cannot stand anymore.

• blublibla on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:06 am

I am actually surprised that my 2009 Saga BLM fared waaaaaaaaaaaay better than your Fiesta. And mind you the saga is already near 5 years old.

• fiesta on Sep 25, 2013 at 1:39 pm

before i own this fiesta, I had a saga blm green color. year 2008. to this date, only changed rear absorber (excluding the power window problem). No other issues. I was also quite surprised now.

• truely malaysian on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:32 pm

The cluth problem is due to a “faulty” oil seal which comes from Europe. It would not withstand the heat here. Changing the oil seal would solve the problem, but SDAC takes the attitude “if people complain then don’t change it for them”. Not recalling all the Fiesta from the market is a major mistake.

The Ranger I am driving in the workshop now, 1 year old and it did 48k on the road, last Friday has “Power Train” alarm was on, SDAC change the ATF fluid but same alarm came up again while I was driving it back (can you imagine that). Finally I realized it come up at 115km and hault the turbo, I even take videos to show SDAC. I got a feeling they knew what is the problem but they decided to keep it to themselves. SDAC- please change or I will do all I can to make it into a big deal…

BTW my Ranger is W__ 1__8, blue colour.

• Nathan Chan on Aug 01, 2014 at 5:30 am

Hi, I am considering an Ecoboost 1.0.. but with all the scare stories about the dry dual clutch, its putting me off. Can I have an honest review about it? coz I test drove it and I love it a lot but if its so unreliable then I need to know from an owner.

• Opps Noname on Sep 25, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Now u see car makers, customers are looking at ur spec/feature/safety equipments rather then performance/durability/quality, less 2 airbags is a vital false. 20 years old Proton Saga/Iswara without any single airbag, ESP, VSC, ABS etc can survive so long, but Camry without VSC, Fiesta no 7 airbags is a big mistake…

• Fahmi on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:46 am

You see, safety are important, but reliability matters, who wants a car that always stuck here and there… Both are important for me…

• Opps Noname on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:24 am

Driver attitude is the most important, no matter how well safety your car is, if the driver drive like nobody, even 10 air bags only will serve as ur last pillow in life.

• Fahmi on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:48 am

I hate to say this but my pick for the segment is the “aging” Honda City…

• kereta sampah jikalau sebulan breakdown sekali!