GALLERY: Honda CR-Z Mugen RZ on display at IIMS

Honda_CR-Z_Mugen_RZ_IIMS_ 001

Making an unannounced appearance at Honda’s IIMS 2013 stand is this little blue gem, a Honda CR-Z Mugen RZ. The Japan-only limited edition sports car was unveiled at this year’s Tokyo Auto Salon, and shows Mugen’s take on putting in more R into the latest CR-Z.

It cuts a dashing figure with its bespoke Azure Blue Metallic paintjob, and the complete Mugen bodykit with genuine carbon-fibre parts sure make it look the business. It sits lower to the ground thanks to a five-way adjustable suspension, and the pretty 17-inch forged alloys hide away uprated brake rotors and calipers.

Unlike most dressed up CR-Zs you see around though, there’s more than meets the eye in this one. Mugen has bolted a supercharger kit on the 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine, raising outputs to 156 PS and 185 Nm of torque – a healthy increase from the standard car’s 120 PS and 145 Nm. The 20 PS/78 Nm electric motor is untouched, as is the standard six-speed manual transmission.

Sadly, this is as close as we’ll get to it, as all 300 complete cars are only sold in Japan (the show car carries a dash-mounted ‘Mugen RZ No.088’ plaque). Oh well; still makes a good viewing though, doesn’t it?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kapcai jee on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Wooww.. Nice car but the color like BN color laa.. The G should buy this car instead of accord.. Pastu tampal logo dacing jerr.. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
    • Pontiac on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Crz. Kindly do not tailgate me. U only drive hybrid ok?!I will smoke u with my m6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • cuntlies on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:08 pm

This tiny engine won’t be able to tailgate your M6, don’t worry. Somemore it’s hybrid. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • That lady standing @ the right side of the car is definitely janda….i’m at 99% sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
  • beast look with kitty heart inside..yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • FIRST …. and blue color is very nice. Nice racing car by Mugen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • foxtrot on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:57 pm

HKS already done supercharger mods lah
    up to max of 300ps i heard
    http://www.hkseurope.com/news/story.asp?NewsID=71

• @bong on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:05 pm

With that power kit add on, now I will consider to buy the crz. But sadly lately Honda no longer can retain their glorious NA power..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Denaihati on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:21 am

excellent. at least give some idea of ​​malaysian CRZ users to make over, except for engine performance, certainly not half cut yet.

• Hiroshi on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:35 am

next Gen CRZ honda will adopt Platform that current develop for Type R civic …no more girly act

• RedCRZ on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:26 am

No….
    Honda… why Japan only? WHYYYY????
    Think can mod my current car to be like that?

• namanama on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:36 am

sure can,there’s lot of bolt-on supercharger kits available.

• My MUGEN friend claim he can reserved and bring this Honda CR-Z MUGEN RZ for me! But I guess the price was crazy. It will lunch this coming Nov. So who really really rich and interesting to own this car for collection, can PM me for more detail.