Mazda Biante MPV to debut in Malaysia in November – ‘new look’ CX-9 SUV to premiere alongside it

Mazda_Biante_ 002

The Mazda model lineup in Malaysia is set to expand before the year is out – reports have it that Bermaz plans to launch the Mazda Biante eight-seater MPV as well as the CX-9 facelift sometime in November. This was indicated by the company last week during the sending-off of its first export batch of Malaysian-assembled CX-5s to Thailand.

The Biante has just been introduced in Indonesia – the live photos of it you see here were taken by Hafriz at the ongoing IIMS – and is being sold as the New Biante (with a 2.0 DISI engine) and Biante SkyActiv in the country.

Mazda_Biante_ 003

In its SkyActiv variant form, the 4.71 metre long MPV – facelifted last year and a direct competitor to the Nissan Serena C26 S-Hybrid – is equipped with a SkyActiv-G 2.0 engine, with output numbers being 149 hp at 6,000 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,100 rpm.

Like the CX-5, the SkyActiv mill in this one is paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission. The facelift process dresses up the high-roof offering with a new front bumper and grille, new rear LED combination lamps and 17-inch wheels and 215/50 series tyres, among other things. Mazda-related listings on oto.my indicate an estimated pricing of RM140k for the Biante, which prices it in Serena S-Hybrid territory.

paultan.org pix cx-9 sydney 01

Meanwhile, the ‘new look’ CX-9, which made its global debut in Sydney at the AIMS last October, will debut alongside the Biante, so goes the word. The SUV is on its second facelift since its launch in 2007, with the first being in 2009. The front and rear ends have been given a revision, while the the interior features minor updates in new trim finishes and material choices.

Available in both FWD and AWD forms, the vehicle continues to be powered by a MZI 3.7 litre V6 offering 273 hp and 367 Nm, mated to a six-speed automatic ‘box. The kit list includes new 20-inch aluminium wheels and a raft of i-Activsense safety features, which include Forward Obstruction Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Blind Spot Monitoring and High Beam Control.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jack Azhar on Sep 24, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Put more bhp into the guts n equip dat machine with premium specs tip to toe,front to end,in n out..then u got a true rival 4 vellfire, alphard n elgrand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Size wise, hitting the road, Biante is too small challenging Alphard class mpv.

• katak bawah tempurung on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:28 pm

This boxy midsize MPV only rival for Nissan Serena, Toyota Voxy and Mitsubishi Delica.

Vellfire, Alhphard and Elgrand is fullsize MPV. Totally different league bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Mazda is crazy coz they r beautiful than those cheap crap Kimchi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Korean on Sep 24, 2013 at 8:56 pm

So far the best Japanese car I have seen is the Estima.Kimchi Starex is fugly and not good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • Megane on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:23 pm

The Estima may be best looking but the interior quality is a let down . Hollow hard plastic everywhere . Elysion interior is much better

• Sky pirate on Sep 24, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Mazda already has a full size MPV in the name of Mazda 8.

• The Biante will certainly be a unique sight on Malaysian road along with the new IS.

• xiper on Sep 24, 2013 at 4:27 pm

BIG Vios front grill with Mazda logo on the MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Maaajeeedaaa on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:13 pm

I am looking forward to own a Biante!!!!

Yes! Yes!

• Walter Ty on Sep 24, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Will Berjaya offer this vehicle in the Philippine market? Ever since the company took over the Mazda distributorship from Ford more than a year ago, they have the flexibility to select vehicles that Filipino customers prefer.

• why no skyactiv? too heavy that no skyactiv can help save fuel?

• Korean on Sep 24, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Maybe Biante is a JDM car,not international car like Mazda 6 and upcoming Mazda 3.

• no skyactiv means it’s going to be a drinker, just like all previous mazda models. the cx-9 especially is a super drinker.

• Do you actually read or can you read?? It’s a skyactiv engine and transmission.

• bawang on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Come with skyactiv engine..confirm!

• bawakereta on Sep 24, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Wow! Ugly looking mpv! Proton exora got better look than this mazda.mazda designer got no taste kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 76
    • U lah yg no taste at all! Exora is better look?! omg that thing is seafood van!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • bawakereta on Sep 25, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Look closely laa…sudah terang lagi bersuluh… The design look outdated. Facelift toyota avanza got better look than this Biante.

• Korean on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:01 pm

JDM cars have their own design,not like the cheap Protong Exora.So far the good design JDM grey import cars i had seen is Estima,Vellfire and Honda Stepwagon MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • More official import MPV for people to choose from. Now need to wait for Toyota and Honda to offer something similar, not some made for 3rd world country MPV..

• Pablo on Sep 25, 2013 at 4:20 pm

DRB Honda had bring Stream, Odyssey, Stepwagon and Elysion. All except Stream already phrase out due to low demand.

Toyota on another hand, satisfied with their Rush, Avanza and Innova.

• Zubair on Sep 24, 2013 at 8:28 pm

If compare with New Nissan Serena i think Sarena looks batter inside and outside + hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • I saw a biante the other day near Colgate factory in PJ, not too bad looking

• Suzuki on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:08 pm

My parents in Osaka owns Mazda Biante, very spacious interior. Good to know that Malaysia importing it.

• Biante is only good looking outside exterior, but inside … i prefer Serena. Biante is smaller than Serena or even NAV1.

• Serena brand is stronger than others in the class. in that sense, Elgrand is Serena’s big brother. sadly, NAV is the poor man’s Alphard. Alphard has stronger brand here. So, brand and money wise … get any Serena! :D

• Biante is in the market for a while already. Mazda pushing it to Malaysia now? And that CX-9, I wish they lifted the interior design as well..

• totti on Sep 25, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Biante with skyactive engine and exterior design will beat the nissan Serena.

The new nissan C26 engine with Xtronic-CVTC will be a failure in malaysia as compared to C24 model.

This C26 Lack of pulling power/pick up.

• clutch_plate on Sep 25, 2013 at 12:27 pm

The Biante interior look cheap.. Plastic feeling everywhere in the cockpit. Otherwise its ok for mid-size MPV. C’mon Mazda.. We know u can do better than this. Or maybe there’s another Premium version? Lets wait & see..

• norman on Sep 25, 2013 at 1:52 pm

I feel okay with the design..and Mazda is the only japan cars with slightly heavy than other japs make..Im sure the engine is pretty reliable too

• BIJAN on Sep 25, 2013 at 7:02 pm

I really cannot understand the picture shown, only part of the car, where is the picture for second row seat or trunk?

• Korean Fan on Sep 25, 2013 at 9:15 pm

To the Mazda user, I just want to know if Mazda is reliable? I owned Mazda 6 before and currently driving CX 9. But I felt that the car is not as reliable as the typical Japanese. FYI, I am not based in Malaysia, but I am curious to find out from Malaysian user.

• norman on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:21 am

Japanese are known for their reliability even when wear n tear is showing..Only let down this days when they start to assemble/produce parts from China/Taiwan/Vietnam and the quality arent same anymore

• Heard Mazda spare parts are very expensive compared to other Jap makes. Anyone heard likewise?

Mazda used to sell well in M’sia, but now has very distant sales to T,H & N.