Kia Optima facelift shown at IIMS – to reach us soon?

Kia_Optima_facelift_IIMS_ 001

Another IIMS 2013 show car worth mentioning is the Kia Optima facelift, which has just been launched in Jakarta. The minor mid-life update was first introduced at the New York Auto Show in March, so a local release shouldn’t be too far away now. The end of 2013 would mark the current model’s second birthday here in Malaysia.

As far as facelifts go, this is a straightforward one. Much of the original K5’s design elements have been kept intact, as it was a forward-looking car to start with. The DRL strips have been moved from the bumper to the top of the headlamps, mirroring those on the latest Cerato and Sorento models.

The foglamps, meanwhile, have been replaced with a grid of four LED clusters on each side. Moving to the rear, the new light units feature thick LED ‘frames,’ again bringing the Optima in line with more recent Kia models. The 18-inch wheels are new too, moving away from the current car’s flat dish design.

In Indonesia, the updated Optima is offered only with a Theta II 2.4 litre engine. Expect the Malaysian model to stick to the existing Nu 2.0 litre motor with 165 PS and 198 Nm of torque, paired to a six-speed automatic transmission. For a preview of the refreshed interior, check out the American-market Kia Optima facelift here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Humble Mumble on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 302
    • Pontiac on Sep 25, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Mehhh. My mazda6 better. Kodo design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 99
      • Of coz Mazda is better loh! this car so so only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 71
      • Camry on Sep 25, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 231
      • Koreancarz on Sep 25, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 195
        • If u r slow, pls move to slow lane or just let them past! pls take responsibility! b4 u comment, pls think first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 21
          • betul!! baru or buruk, canggih atau tidak, BMW or VIVA,kalau jalan 2 line…yang slow kat tepi la..bagi laluan yg laju walaupun yg laju tu kereta kancil 660 berkarat… that’s rule!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
        • URCancer on Sep 29, 2013 at 9:32 pm

you’re one of those slow drivers hogging the lane during rush hour right? if you’re incompetent, unable to process multiple inputs around you when you drive, then acknowledge your inferior brain prowess and go to the slow lane. serves you right for being tailgated.

is your job slowing people down?

• _xXx_ on Sep 25, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 173
  • Ryan.C on Sep 25, 2013 at 6:09 pm

COOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 46
  • Hiroshi on Sep 25, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 150
  • I can clearly see blackberry symbol on front bumper..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 9:04 pm

I can see the hailat face of K5 owners q ing up in front of my yard waiting to trade their rotten cabbages in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 57
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 237
  • Choosing between the Optima and Mazda 6 is like choosing between Amber Heard and Michelle Yeoh.

The former is more chic, vibrant and contemporary in nature, all while being slightly more extroverted and Americentric, but with a European flair.

The latter might be older, but she’s also a lot more experienced, classy and unprovocative. She blends Oriental and Western influences for the ultimate balance in beauty.

In other perspectives, the Camry is Madonna (either you love, or hate her),

the Accord is Beyoncé (experienced and classy as well, but a bit controversial at times)

and although completely unrelated, the Vios is Miley Cyrus (she used to be ok, but everybody hates her now).

k thanks for reading :]

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 19
    • Megane on Sep 25, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Both of them (ladies) have flat breasts … Boring ! Meanwhile Mazda 6 and K5 are gorgeous with the right proportion .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
      • Big breasts are overrated… I’d vote for a self-motivated, independent woman over some bimbo any day.

And the same applies for cars. A supercharged German V6-powered car can smoke a naturally aspirated American V12-powered car anyday.

Just some perspective lah. xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 8:53 pm

But K5 is really gorgeous for me when the owners trade them in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 38

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 134
      • Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Sonata makes better trade in value than K5, and turnover rate is much higher.

If you want to be a sorhai, at least be a smarter sorhai and buy Hyundai instead of Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 38
    • Zend3r on Sep 25, 2013 at 9:20 pm

bro,

which chick u think can compare suprima S with?

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Rosmah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Hi Zend3r,

I wrote this comment a month ago on facebook;

If all the leading C-segment hatches sold in Malaysia were women;

1. The Focus hatch is probably your gf. She always draws attention (Euro styling) as much as she draws from your wallet (price), but you don’t care cause you love her too much ! Unfortunately, by the time you and her get older, she starts to get all rusty and emo (reliability), and even more dependent on your wallet (spare parts and service is expensive). In the end, terpaksa break-up jugak because she becomes meaningless to you (poor resale value).

2. The Suprima S would be your wife. She’s the one you’re forced to be with (cheapest), but not necessarily the one you’d WANT to be with. She will give you some problems (reliability) every once in a while, but she gets the job done most of the time. Nonetheless, she has a lot of upsides too, and can be a ‘lot of fun’ (ride & handling) at times.

3. The Mazda 3 hatch is the best of both words. She combines Japanese reliability with European styling. Unfortunately, she will be the most expensive of the 3 women I’ve mentioned, but you know there’s no other better woman in the world you’d WANT to live with (long term reliability will save you a lot of $ and time).

K thanks for reading. :D

• I am expecting to be flamed by the kimchi lovers but I have to say it anyway. Between Mazda 6 and Optima, Mazda 6 is way better in design. To me, Optima design does not stand the test of time. I got bored of the design after a month. I am glad I did not buy it or else I will probably regret my decision. Even the facelift looks bland.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 31
      • I agree, which is why I said the Optima is contemporary, but not as much as the Fludic Sculpture Hyundai cars though. All of these Korean car designs will become stale in 10 years time. Why ? Just looking back, the Forte already looks twice its age today because it was contemporary when it came out in ’08. The previous model Elantra also looks outdated today.

But some cars are designed to stand the test of time. The 90s E39 5-series is one of them. It still looks proper today, it has aged gracefully like fine wine. Also, the 90s fifth-gen Civic is one of those Japanese cars which looked good then and still does today, and still the best generation Civic in my opinion.

If I daresay, the Waja is the only Proton to age well, I hated it when it first came out, but it grew on me over the years.

I have a feeling that the Mazda 6 will age well too. Time will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
        • Aerro on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 133
        • holofanboi on Mar 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

No offense intended here, but you do sound like those typical 30-40yrs old stuck with their nostalgia goggles when it comes to car design it seems. I for one cringe whenever people think that the E39 5 series actually looks good in this day and age. (Take it from a young guy, its disgusting when compared to the current F10)

There’s also cases where people believe the age old Supra, Prelude or heck, even the EK97 Civic looks BETTER than its modern counterparts. Now, I’ve seen those 3 in the metal and i’ll admit they actually do look great. But definitely not ->better<- than what its parent companies have been releasing all this while.

Hmm…the way I phrase my sentences sounds like I am looking for a fight -.-;; Going to need more practice on that part.

• Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Hyundai will have higher RV than Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 20
      • Sam Looser on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 202
    • Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Needless to say, M6 will have much better RV than the rotten cabbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
    • URCancer on Sep 29, 2013 at 9:35 pm

u paultan wannabe is it. i thought you’re going to throw another pop analogy at the end.

written a bloody essay did ya

• Black Dog on Sep 25, 2013 at 7:29 pm

My Ala, even the Indons are getting the more powerful 2.4L engine than our pathetic 2.0L?

• gavincsy on Sep 25, 2013 at 8:22 pm

no turbo gdi engine?

well no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Denaihati on Sep 25, 2013 at 9:26 pm

eventhough led fog lamp like windows logo but its really nice looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • qwerty on Sep 25, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Prefer the pre-facelift wheel design. Flashy and stylish; this one is just too mainstream. :(

The facelift designs make the car looks dated. Not well done IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Sorry but I just hate the rear lights.
    Like the Cerato, when you’re at their back, the lights are blinding and look like sore nipples.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
    • Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 10:52 pm

You should check out the faces on kimchi owners when they try to trade in their cabbages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 31
  • Only now in Malaysia? Middle East have been running these facelifted K5 since early this year. The K9 – Cadenza also have been here since April.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
  • Maserati(Official) on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:03 am

From my unbiased review on a test drive of the current generation k5:

It manoevuers like a lorry
    Picks up like a 90 yr old man in a wheel chair
    Comfort is like sitting next to a 400lbs man in a budget airline
    Drinks fuel like an alcoholic

Honestly, this car is all show and no substance. Wondering why Malaysians still fall for the KIA/Hyundai tricks.

For a better alternative, why not get consider Mazda 3 or 6? These cars are equal or better than BMW or even the Audi C segment cars, I can personally vouch it from my unbiased observation on the specs and personal test drives (M6).

If you have the budget, VW is also another carmaker which makes honest and excellent performance car. There’s a reason why its called the ‘peoples’ car. Only smart people buys it.

Korean carmakers should just stop making cars because its getting more embarrassing looking at how they are trying to distinguish themselves, which is clearly not working.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 51
    • Fahmi on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:42 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 132

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 181
    • Sam Looser on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 189
    • URCancer on Sep 29, 2013 at 9:36 pm

lol unbiased. because you never senselessly bashed korean cars here right? RIGHT?

• Doctor89 on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:32 am

Got to agree with that.

• Fahmi on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:21 am

I prefer not to comment on design, it is subjective matter… Beauty is in the eye of the beholder…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Precisely.

I love Sonata better because its turnover in the used car market is much higher than K5. In addition, the net profit for Sonata is easily 3-5X that of K5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • me prefer mazda 808

• namanama on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:20 am

is that Blackberry logo fog lamp?

• benzs on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:23 am

Here come another K pop car facelift. To be honest im not a Korean fan automotive. But design wise is acceptable while quality, engine n RV is very unacceptable. Dont bash me dear reader, even Sam Loo know K pop RV is damn low. But im not here to protect him, this is true for K.pop RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
    • Anything other than Toyota has bad RV for Sam Loo lah bro -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • SH sam loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 215
    • Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Wrong. I love Honda and Mazda, not so much Mitsu.

As long as its not kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • kialover on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 153
    • Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:45 pm

If you insist on kimchi, go for Sonata. You will look less hailat when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • heybadigol on Sep 26, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Oh wow, the 4 LEDs in the lower front really look like the Blackberry logo :) Anyways, its a nice refresh. But why still no 2.4 here when Hyundai gets to sell with that engine?

• ch'ng on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:29 pm

i will go for mazda 6 kodo for sure, the kia just have a little look in design and poor quality inside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:46 pm

This design will be outdated 2 weeks after it hits the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Nyiwon on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 230
      • Sam Loo on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:41 pm

I never pity kimchi owners when they are shown the Hilux. Afterall, they will have to learn RV lesson the hard way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
  • kimchilover on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:12 pm

buy kimchi car, get kimchi chick .why not?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:39 pm

The problem is if you get a new kimchi, you will get a Hailat face instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • samhailat on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 292
  • benzs on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 208