New Honda Odyssey MPV – now taller, with sliding doors, coming to Malaysia before the end of 2013

2013-honda-odyssey-jdm-01

Honda surprised us today by teasing the first photos of the all new Honda Odyssey. With the new generation, the Odyssey’s formula has been significantly tweaked – it now has a taller roofline and gets sliding doors for the rear.

UPDATE: The Honda Odyssey has been launched at KLIMS13, full launch report and local spec pics here.

It’s not the first time we’ve seen a tall Japanese market Honda Odyssey – the first two generations followed this ‘van’ formula, then the third gen and fourth gen became ‘low riders’, very much like 7 seater wagons. Note that the JDM market Odyssey and the American market Odyssey are different cars.

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 8.21.49 PM

I guess Honda figured out that the successful Toyota Estima formula worked better and has decided to compete directly against it, instead of offering an alternative.

Honda’s other JDM MPVs all have tall rooflines – the Elysion which competes against the Alphard, the Stepwgn which goes against the Noah, and the Honda Freed. A tall roofline certainly does wonders to ease movement within the cabin, and I suppose it also makes makes the cabin feel roomier.

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 8.22.00 PM

You have the option for two reclining captain seats in the second row or a proper 3 seater bench. You can have it in either 2WD or 4WD forms, with a CVT transmission. That’s all Honda has revealed so far.

The new Odyssey will probably be available with a 2.4 litre engine like the generation before it, but since it has a larger body now will Honda offer a 3.5 litre as well?

Honda Malaysia sold the third generation Honda Odyssey here, but skipped the fourth generation. But good news to car buyers with families – the Odyssey is coming back. This fifth generation will be coming to Malaysia by the end of the year through official channels, so you won’t have to buy grey.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mason on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:59 pm

nice aerodynamic..from photo,nice than previous odyssey…love it…if the prices kis right,i will want one..hehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
    • Looks great! very clean design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Now Odyssey ia back to right tract which MPV target customers want.
        But, is it made in Tokyo? Have we all neglected the ongoing major event there which the government can do nothing about? Is the vehicle contaminated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 47
        • Yes it is contaminated. It glows in the dark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
          • bunch of sad case dislikes.. u don’t get the joke, don’t u?

• Sam Loo on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:41 pm

BTW, Fukushima is around 500km north of Tokyo.

New Honda plant is in Yorii-machi, Osato-gun, Saitama. Also a long long distance from Fukushima

• Jimmy on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 210
    • OMG…The new H.Jazz father. 1st impression, once i saw the front, it remind me the new jazz gen. Anyway, overall is nice.

• sting on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:58 am

Honda already announced New design wad ( Exciting H Design with front ( New.solid wing face ) Jazz is the first, so New Honda will be this design

• Black Dog on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Fantastic news! At least no more ‘coffin’ shape. Will surely watch out for this one. Reckon price around Rm190K?

• TongHoi on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Finally…alphard will shaken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 31
    • TongSan on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:10 pm

lu tarak tau baca kah

ini lawan sama Estima lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
      • Tonghoi on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:41 pm

yup…agree..mistake.

should said the boring estima will shaken liao..kekeke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • Since i plan to buy estima 3 years ago but I didn’t do it cause of boring shape,. The previous ODC is 2 low..this new model is great. Perfect design. Sure will have one.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 167
      • matg.org on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:59 pm

are u kidding bai ?? y not u just said it compete with avanza?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
      • If I am not mistaken, Honda’s answer to the Alphard is the Elysion. This one goes aginst the Estima. Not sure what Honda is against the Innova since Innova is a develope for SEA/developing countries and it is not sold in Japan. The Freed is sold to go against the Avanza over here but its price meant that it is solely in Innova territory, Freed is design to be a Kei-car like MPV in Japan, which there are many.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
        • Errrm sorry for this weird comment, but the Elysion reminds me of Elysium xD ….. it’s an epic movie, everyone above the age of 18 must watch it ! :D

• Mat Azhar bin Mat Lazim on Jun 04, 2017 at 7:32 am

Toyota Innova is to compete with Honda Stream.

• Jimmy on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Toyota salesperson, good evening to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • _xXx_ on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:53 am

innova compete ngan tata lorry laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • mambang on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:11 am

innova?dgn exora bold pun kalah lg mau compete dengan odyssey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • thgh has not been taking his meds.

• Unknown on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:38 am

Why dont you say ALZA?

• Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Odyssey compete with Estima/Previa/Tarago range lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • sonic31s on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Estima and vellfire watch out for a new rival !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • I genuinely need an answer. Why JDM-releases cars shot for promo studio photos like these ones don’t have ICE Head unit in it? Is ICE optional in Japan? Tq in advance for answers…

• DrCooper on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:30 am

Yes, in Japan there ICE unit is optional, even for buying a NEW car, you can choose opt extra down to spare tyre. I know I bought new car there

• sudonano on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Looks good. Wow, really will give Estima a run for the moolah. Provided without the hubcaps that is!

• heybadigol on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Paultan, should’ve mentioned JDM Odyssey, so as to avoid confusion with the USDM Ody, which looks similar, but I think is bigger.

Overall better looking than the USDM Ody. But, I kinda prefer the low rider look of the past 2 generations, which looked like a crossover between an MPV and an estate. Not that this one doesnt look too bad, just a personal preference.

Yeah, it’ll prolly get the same 2.4 DI engine as the US Accord, and with the same “stepped” CVT as well. But judging by its height and more “people mover” image, they’ll probably drop the “performance” version 200bhp engine. Though i would be more than happy to be proven wrong.

• “It’s not the first time we’ve seen a tall Japanese market Honda Odyssey – the first two generations followed this ‘van’ formula, then the third gen and fourth gen became ‘low riders’, very much like 7 seater wagons. Note that the JDM market Odyssey and the American market Odyssey are different cars.” – He actually stated that this is a JDM odyssey I don’t know weather at the time u were reading this, Paultan hasn’t updated it.

Anyways, Past JDM Odyssey were by my opinion, the best looking MPV in the market, thou cramp at the rear and smaller they were certainly lookers. This one has lost abit of that athletic look, but gains in the much needed space and it is still by far, the best looking in its category. Just change those stock wheels.

• Tonghoi on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:39 pm

i do agree with u..the stock wheels should change….fxxking ugly

• Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Using the 2+2+3 config instead of 2+3+2

• 2+2+3 is stupid just like the freed. impractical as you can’t even convert it to a 5 seater and carry decent luggage. most people who buys 7 seater doesn’t need the full 7 seater all the time. majority of the time is 5 seater and the extra 2 seats are used when needed.

that’s why 2+3+2 makes the perfect sense and shouldn’t be change. there are some things that you should not try to be creative on, honda.

• So you don’t see the luggages behind you…

• Sam Loo on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:47 pm

2+2+3 gives the option of having the captain’s seat on the middle row.

Think they also have the 2+3+3 configuration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Nice car.. Bravo Honda

• Ini baru macam MPV ma!

• Denaihati on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:19 pm

changes for the better. more over if 3.5L engine will be introduce.

• MoFaz on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Will it come to Malaysia next year? We’ll enjoy 0% import tax from japan soon.

• Hondaman on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:26 pm

0% import tax but 70% xcise duty… Same concept but not the same thing

• MoFaz on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:07 am

excise duty is for all cars la.. even from thai also kena 75%. import tax from japan reduce from 30% previously to 0%, similar to those cars from thai. we should see some price drop unless dealer take advantage and take more profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • that 0% import duty is nothing. salesman also can give you 10k discount or more. so with 0% import duty, their margin just get bigger. abolish the excise duty if you really serious is giving high quality but affordable cars to the public.

• neemfa on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:59 pm

A proper MPV that is nice to drive.. whats not to like?

While the Estima is a good people mover, it is boring to drive..

• So far the best available full size MPV available in Msia which have good interior size and can also take corners wt good power is the VW Sharan. That thing can sure handle the twisties and its small 2.0 liter engine can easily outperform all those alphard/estima/edc…etc.etc..(no wonder, its the same engine as the GTI)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • but sharan price is too high

• wat are talking abt,,..sharan is abt the same price as the last odessey..abt rm230-rm250k

• Ford S-Max is another option as well.. I have driven the MPV recently and was quite impressed with the power and space provided… Sadly, the price is quite high..

• SpongeWai on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:24 pm

5th gen Honda Odyssey vs Toyota Previa/Estima vs Mazda 8

Honda Stream vs Toyota Wish vs Nissan Serena S-Hybrid vs Mazda 5

Honda Elysion vs Toyota Vellfire/Alphard vs Nissan Elgrand

thank you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • You forgot to include the vw sharan & ford smax….my guess, both euro mpv will easily outperform those japs mpv with its handling, interior size & powerful engine (both using 2.0 liter which will save u money on roadtax)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 53
    • SpongeBOB on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:43 pm

You mess that are 5 different category of JDM MPV – Mini, Compact, Boxy, Midsize, Fullsize.

Mini – T.Sette, T,Sienta H.Freed
      Compact – H.Stream, T.Wish, M.Premacy/5, T.Isis, N.Lafesta
      Boxy – N.Serena, T.Noah/NAV1/Voxy, H.Stepwagon, M.Biante, M.Delica
      Midsize – T.Estima, H.Odyssey, N.Pressage, M.MPV/8
      Fullsize – T.Alphard, N.Elgrand, H.Elysion

• Have anyone forgotten the upcoming crossover ‘like’ vehicle from Proton??

• sold in Saudi at SAR140k..so you can calculate how much it will be in Malaysia. Just times 2..

• koochai on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:58 am

if i remember correctly about 6-7 years ago honda malaysia is selling new odyssey for RM 0.25 million!!!

• foolish to spend that money at that time for that odyssey. u can buy a bmw/merc at that price point.

• definitely > 250k

• Huh ? Are those Vios 1.5J hubcaps I spy in the first picture ? LOL xD

Credit where it’s due, the Odyssey dashboard looks great ! But I just wish Hyundai could launch the i40 tourer here instead. That thing is sex on wheels lah. No doubt.

• Aerro on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:50 am

Why don’t you said Proton will rebadge it as new Exora? Fanboi like you surely excited like monkey makan belacan lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Eh ! Monkeys are cute k :3

• and there’s a real possibility proton will rebadge it into exora as how it rebadges accord to perdana.

• drMpower on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:58 pm

jesus christ whats wrong with you?

it has BEEN ANNOUNCED that proton will develop A NEW PERDANA from ground up.

get a life

• yorker on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Proton always envied by someone, sigh

• I hope Honda will be generous with the specs and reasonable with the prices. The high spec 2+3+2 config with black interior and black wood trim looks gorgeous would sell very well if priced right. Hope also local Honda bigwigs read this and give the public what they want. A definite buy from me to upgrade from my 2007 CRV.

• This is a real MPV with sliding door. From first time i dont like NAV1. Come to Indonesia ??

• Honda stepwgn vs Nissan serena s-hybrid vs Mazda biante

• finally estima will face her competitor locally

• Sam Loo on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Actually, I find that the current Odyssey is really easy to drive. Its about the same size as Accord and it seats 7.

I would get the new Odyssey over the Estima or Mazda 8 & Mitsu Grandis

• bluebird on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:05 am

If I am not mistaken, the only Estimas on the road are junk recons from Japan, which means we are getting other people’s old used car and treat is as though we have made it in life.
    Where as the new Odyssey is totally new car that comes with manufacturer’s warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Polo Saga on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:26 am

Where’s the freaking vacuum cleaner?

• Polo Saga on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:30 am

Still prefer 2008 version with its sportier look.

• Joe Radzif on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:52 am

Mini Bus…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • don’t be so mean. mini bus don’t have ogawa seats ok?

• Summicron on Sep 29, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Come back when you have3 kids to drive around. You can jam your 3 kids into a 2-door coupe. I’ll humbly take this ‘mini-bus’ thanks.

• Kangkung on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Proton lovers.in your mind only exora is good like lamborghini

• carnut on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:21 am

Good effort by Honda to bring in a freshly launched car and not something that is launched 2-3 years ago. Wont be cheap as this is a premium MPV. Probably RM200k and above.

• bluebird on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:08 am

It is cheap car actually, but become expensive and premium once going through Malaysian Tax structure.
      At least RM100K out of the car price is TAX money.
      Government says petrol is cheap therefore tax is expensive, but how much petrol I have to burn in order to save back the RM100K I have given out as tax

• OldABARB1 on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:21 am

Is the Absolute version available ? The sliding door is a welcome feature. Since it gets taller, will handling be a bit compromise ? With the 8 seater, it can accommodate large family outing and a few bags behind which is good.

• teksidrebar on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:08 am

How much would it cost I wonder. RM 250K++?
    While it would compete with Estima however people would still buy Estima and recond Odyssey as unfortunately the price bracket in this recond business is just what most people can afford and spend on cars. MPV segment is still not well catered for. Given the choice, people would not want to buy recond but what other choice do have got?

• MoFaz on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:40 am

Honda Malaysia sell previous gen close to RM240k… if they CKD here might be able to drop it closer to RM200k?..
    i think Proton should also make it optional for two reclining captain seats or a proper 3 seater bench in the second row for Exora Prime. otherwise, I would’ve bought Prime long time ago.

• please masuk pasaran malaysia..gua mau angkat ini punya mpv..

• MoFaz on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:17 pm

ada kat tajuk tu.. “coming to Malaysia before the end of 2013”. ngerti?

• namanama on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:20 pm

This one should be for international market while JDM will get what we see on the road which is RB3/RB4.Korek me if im wrong.

• OldABARB1 on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:19 pm

I’ll ‘korek’ you because you’re wrong, the Honda Japan website already announce this model to replace the RB3/4… err err are you wet yet ?

• Sam Loo on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:43 pm

There is a Toyota MPV model not sold in South East Asia. Its the massive Siena

Seen many in Taipei (Left Hand Drive versions, off course) and they are freaking massive, but I must say looks pretty old fashioned

• Fahmi on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:00 pm

The wheel caps at the topmost picture looks like the rims of Odyssey Absolute RA6…

• Fahmi on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:06 pm

I am hoping that its price will be competitive with Mazda 8 and Ford S-Max.. Under RM210k else no one will buy.. Hopefully the specs does not disappoint.. One question.. Will this model have Absolute variant which is more powerful and sportier like previous model years?? Wait and see… Or else it will be discontinued just like Accord Euro R..

• sewerside on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:21 pm

When I open this page, I mistaken the picture as Toyota Estima. How can the design so similar? Sigh

• wangsamaju on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:21 pm

“Honda surprised us today by teasing the first photos of the all new Honda Odyssey.”

Is there any official statement from Honda on this? Or is this just rumour?

• wangsamaju on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Another thing, if this is true, will the GPS map, audio system and reverse camera will have English version and not Japanese?

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 169
  • If rm 160k will sell because it is estima recond price (2006 model & depends to year made) in our market…actually affordable price shud be around rm150k – rm170k….

• I hope only

• Hey Paul, the one with nice kitted odyssey have Absolute on it plate no…does that mean it using the beefier version of the 2.4 like the current gen…?if so no need for the v6…it is good enough for me…

• fisal on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Recond ODC Rb3 seling RM160-Rm180 (2009-2010). Third generation 7 years ago was selling (or rather not) at RM250K.. what could one expect the price of this 5th generation..? How many could afford/or would want to spend..? the recond 4th generation would still sell.. I guess. So Paul, did u manage to get the price range yet, from HOnda..?

• alviks on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:48 pm

previous version better.this looks like usdm plus RA version -dashboard.huhhh

• Does anyone here know whether the new Odyssey launched in MY comes with a single exhaust pipe or twin exhaust pipes (i.e. one on each side)? Thanks.

• Chap Ayam on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:30 am

This is RC1 and priced at 248k for the top variant