PDAM: Further fuel subsidy reductions may stop petrol smuggling, use savings to abolish road tax

PDAM petrol smuggling

The recent price hike of RON 95 petrol to RM2.10 a litre, diesel to RM2.00 a litre and RON 97 petrol to RM2.85 a litre has made ballooning fuel subsidies and the nation’s fiscal deficit hot discussion topics. Now along comes another issue to ponder – that of petrol smuggling.

Last Friday, Kedah’s Anti-Smuggling Unit (UPP) foiled an attempt to illegally transport 27,300 litres of subsidised diesel worth RM54,600 by lorry to Thailand, according to a New Straits Times report.

The report says a UPP enforcement team detained a 48-year-old suspect at a roadblock at the Tandop toll plaza in the early hours of the morning, upon discovering that he was en route from Penang to store the diesel in a storage unit.

PDAM petrol smuggling

In a similar vein, an earlier NST report told of Kuala Perlis UPP foiling a 34-year-old man’s attempt to smuggle 2,400 litres of subsidised diesel worth RM4,800, also to Thailand.

The UPP team spotted the suspect filling up at a petrol station in Jejawi, tailed him and flagged him down. Upon inspection, his lorry was found to have a modified tank that could hold up to 3,200 litres of diesel.

Petroleum Dealers’ Association of Malaysia (PDAM) president Datuk Hashim Othman has said that further increases in the price of RON 95 petrol would help efforts to put an end to such cases of petrol smuggling, according to a Bernama report.

PDAM petrol smuggling

“The smuggling of petrol and diesel was due to fuel being cheaper in Malaysia,” he told the national news agency, adding that the subsidy would ease the burden of the lower- and middle-income groups so that they would be able to adapt to rising prices.

The PDAM president also lamented, according to Bernama, that in spite of the government’s efforts to ease the burden of the people through subsidies, some people were taking advantage of them.

PDAM recently proposed that the savings garnered from the fuel subsidy cuts be used by the government to abolish road tax and reduce the insurance rate for cars with an engine displacement of under 2,000 cc.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Roy Mustang on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:44 am

Kasi subsidi but they smuggle.. Some malaysian really genius lah. Make most sane malaysian suffer..

i iz sad.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • _xXx_ on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:02 am

thank you for saving me RM90/year road tax but wtf! u r making me to pay additional RM3204/year (300L x 12 months x RM0.89 subsidy)!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 6
      • LimPek on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm

WTF !!! my car roadtax just RM70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Peter on Sep 26, 2013 at 4:59 pm

This’s similar to saying reduce subsidy on sugar can reduce diabetes patient. No wonder mahatir also said there lot of fools in his party and needs new blood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • PKRBN2x5 on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:38 pm

hapuskan roadtax, hapuskan tol la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
          • IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:20 pm

cut the subsidies, abolish road tax, toll, reduce car prices now!!! i’m ready for it!!!

• tricycle on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:44 pm

WT???

The government weaknesses in controlling the border so the whole nation has to pay?

What for are we paying your salary as government then?

Please do extra thinking, our border with thailand not really big. And roads linking thailand and malaysia not that many.

Petty smuggle maybe difficult to catch unless we build 20 feet border wall. (a mere suggestion)

But the big one, using trucks, whether small or big trucks must use road. So not so difficult to tackle them down isn’t it?

or are they invisible?
      or are their big lorries got wings and can fly?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • Opss Noname on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:00 pm

They gt money

• komarad on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:51 pm

most of the smuggling involves diesel… yet want to reduce RON 97 subsidy…I agree as long as excise duties abolish…not road tax, RM90 for a week usage, abolish roadtax only supercar owners get benefit as their r/tax cost few thousands…

• wiralution on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:09 am

Dear gov, are you saying that… bcoz of your enforcement team not able to prevent this smuggling activity, therefore you rather impose the subsidy cut to the people? Isn’t that what they (the enforcement team) are paying for (thru peoples money)?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 7
    • wiralution on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:17 am

Sorry for typo error. It should be read as ‘PDAM’ instead of ‘gov’. But still, why he want to say things as if he’s the gov (or on behalf of gov).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • So in the end, the rakyat is the one that shall suffer because of corruption in government departments.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
  • Focus st on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:10 am

u are right Roy, some ppl are selfish.

give the G to use it as an excuse. smuggling is not a new thing. instead of tackling the problem by proper checks at the borders the are making the citizens pay the penalty. if officers at the customs do their jobs well as they are paid to do, this will not be an issue.

personally, if G want to reduce subsidy, just be honest and no need to use such a lame excuse. if they have other uses of the money eg. for projects or other beneficial purposes then justified.
    this will in turn affect food, transportation and other product prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • Joe Radzif on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:32 pm

If they can stop ashes from outside to cross border. why they cannot stop the petrol crossing too?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • Roy Mustang on Sep 26, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Better they increase the Kastam’s salary and make them work more efficiently rather than decreasing petrol’s subsidy.

We all know that petrol price hike causes insane chain reaction.. Why don’t them G sees this..

Petrol up means: food & transport up.
      Gula up means: food onli..

N they choose to UP both.

Again, I iz sad.

• Anti CO2 on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:13 am

The subsidy saving should be used to REDUCE CAR PRICE! Period!PDAM another Gov engine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • dewaSemut on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:01 am

I would rather see the savings goes to reducing cost of ownership (road tax, insurance etc).

Reduction of car price should come from Govt. It’s their move.. The chess piece is in their hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Truth on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:13 am

Every time when I see the image of the price. It is either Angry feeling and Funny feeling.

Angry, because the whole team of government servants don’t know how to choose which fuel to subsidize. In Aug, price without subsidy for RON97 is cheaper than RON95.

Funny, new course to introduce to government servants – Simple Math and Simple Economics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • benzs on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:14 am

Thanks to those who smuggle. Now G will not give subsidise fuel, we all suffer n pain. OMG!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • benzs on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:18 am

True Wiralution. Enforcement team cant beat off those smugglers, but why the hack we all have to involved. Those team should put an effort to disguise as middle man or smuggle to track down their activity. Not very professional at all. Should learn from US in how they do things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • The whole enforcement team only know how to take easy way out. Minum teh no. one priority. No. 2, minum duit kopi. No. 3, get fat and wait for pencen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Hadi75 on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:24 am

No fuel subsidies….
    Cheaper cars so no need to make huge bank loan..
    No or minimum roadtax for cars regardless of engine capacity…
    Subsidies just for transport and industries….
    Give choices to users at petrol pump be it diesel or petrol….euro4/5 or euro2m….
    CAN OR NOT????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Can not.
      We want free subsidies cars & fuel. No need bank loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Chris on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:43 am

Vote for free market.

– No petrol subsidy
      – Remove excise duty, reasonable import/sales tax.
      – They can even tax the petrol for all I care.
      – Road tax based on weight/emission

Benefits? It encourages people on a budget to start buying clean, efficient cars and drive less. Our cities will be cleaner and safer. It’s not for everyone, but it beats buying old technology dirty cars and waste petrol because we know it’s subsidized.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
  • Until the price is on the par with Thailand. No way the smuggling will stop. It just a simple math calculation.

Increase counter smuggling measure in active & passive way.

One way perhaps let foreign buyer buy petrol/ diesel at market price + margin cost fuel subsidies.

• underskinned on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:32 am

Dude, I only pay RM90 a year for my road tax. I’m not saving much with this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • upset on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:35 am

VOTE FOR DACING!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • krs189 on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:38 am

Reduce the Excise Duty and abolish Toll. Then I don’t mine Fuel at RM2.70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • i do mind..if want to reduce..reduce internet charges, phone charges, bank interest, electric rate charges, reduce astro charges, reduce price of house, reduce public transport charges, reduce salex tax to below 4%, reduce carpark rate, abolish rm1 registration fee in gov hospital/clinic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • This is BN govt la. No need to use their brains to run the country, just give more burden to the Rakyat. Education minister also spend $20 million for consultants to iron out our country’s education blue print, when its what they are paid to do. NOTHING they do is helping to reduce the burden of the Rakyat or the country’s national debt. BRAVO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
  • car tax high,
    petrol high,
    house price high,
    +bank loan interest increase.
    +food price increase.

no min salary set in Malaysia for educated person.

our good gov .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
  • Its estimated that hundreds of millions worth of petrol/diesel is smuggled out every year to indon and thailand…why not PDRM do its JOB, stop the smuggling and we save millions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • anti upp on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:46 am

Dont blame the smuggle blame the enforcement they all rasuah kaki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • omanjedi on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:50 am

I have not heard thailand gov considering raising the rice price to prevent smuggling to malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • Whatever on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:37 am

Haha nice one. If we have tax free car prices and minimum toll charges then why not for unsubsidized fuel.. Must have give n take… Gov nowadays tend to take only… Income tax n bonus also high in tax.

• bonbon on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:35 pm

I heard malaysia gov ask thai goverment to sale their petrol at malaysian price….so no change smuggler to do their jobs, MOST important malaysia enforcement dont need to work anymore and we can terminate them…. so no Rasuah happen ….easy job

• kacimara on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:02 am

There are nothing you can say that they will follow or decrease the price. now the media will support the GOV statement (from smuggle to increase the GOV economy) so all people will just obey. HAHAHA…

• danial on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:17 am

Petrol and diesel smuggling has been going on for a decade, if you look at petrol station near the border, you can see a standard saga pumping gas untill RM 350 per tank, is a daily sight, sometime those guy make 4-5 trip a day, i have saw one cases where petrol station dealer has been cooperating with this smugglers, they come at night and syphoned diesel/gasoline to another tanker and send somewhere before being smuggle out of the country. Is not about reducing the subsidy, is about how you manage your subsidy, if you take a stren action against this smuggler, i think we can save alot, but then again, there is a goverment officer that are indirectly involve with this activity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:37 am

subsidised diesel always smuggled, nobody panics.

Chin Peng’s ash wanted to be brought in, then everybody loses their mind! joker.jpg

bodoh punya polis, kalau nak cari abu, punya la bersungguh-sungguh. cuba tunjuk half of that effort camtu untuk cari smuggled diesel.

reduce road tax konon, ptoooi.

masa election kata nak reduce car price, now apa jadi? kata kene tunggu smpai dekat next election, rinse n repeat. F U PDAM, like hell we’ll fall for that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • newbie on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:44 am

lame excuses….come up with a new one!!!!!sorry to hear that somebody actually believe in it….lame,lame,lame.

• RVP20 on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:44 am

hahahaha….it’s like saying increase the sugar price to reduce diabetes, oh wait they already said it~!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • sugarglider on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:03 pm

another examples of truely shit excuses. increase sugar price because want to prevent diabetes. o.O do the G knows most of the foods and drinks here using sugar. for sure all price will hike up. soo ridiculous. dissapointed!

• tokmoh on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Heh, the same excuse used to increase cigarette price. Instead of reducing smoking, people switch to contraband, some can be as low as RM2.50 for a pack of 20s!

• lotustuned on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:50 am

In SG they can track > 2/3 fuel up even on small sedans…here cant track those damn big smuggling tanks on lorries/pickup? OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Polo Saga on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:57 am

So we’re selling the most expensive petrol among all the crude oil countries now, and yet using this bullshit to further increase the petrol price in future?

What a corrupted useless government! Where is the money that we’ve made from petrol?

• Nissan on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:11 am

Make no sense at all and sounds stupid. Instead of increasing of petrol price which burden the citizen, they should hired more Anti-Smuggling Unit (UPP)or revised the law. The reason behind is because of they (UPP) cant do their job. This will definitely leads to inflation.

• alex7 on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:13 am

Rather than cut the subsidies, why don’t the government cut down all the lavish party and events.. make hybrid car cheaper to own.. and tell Proton to produce hybrid car faster..

• Joe Radzif on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:16 am

Thank u BN voters…
    u made this stupidity happen…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
    • vroom vroom on Sep 26, 2013 at 1:07 pm

LOL! you’ve got a thumb down for this. Unbelievable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Joe Radzif on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:29 pm

There are a lot BN supporters who love the price hiking…
        don’t know either they are profited or just dumb…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • butur on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:21 pm

They just upset but speechless. Giving thumbdown to save face. It’s possible many thumb down originated fr the same person.

• Toroto on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:34 am

Use savings to abolish Excise duty! What for roadtax, how much roadtax for average cars??!

• IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:23 am

reduce excise duty is more appropriate.. n abolish roadtax for average cars (2000cc below) not luxury cars, abolish tol, reduce public transportation price..

• Sparcov on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:38 am

Repeat again

1. High Petrol Price without road tax and toll charges, excise duty = okay

2. High Petrol Price with road tax and toll, excise duty = no good.

Have you realise what car government used?

JKR = Fortuner 2.7
    DBKL = Xtrail, pajero, fortuner
    Putrajaya = Various imported car and Protons.

Not to mentioned others….

While the rakyat using Proton, perodua also being asked not to use car and use public transport.

this is not fair at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:10 pm

i guess bcoz proton don hv 4wd cars.. there r also govt. agencies that use old waja..

• amirad on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Might as well say the reason for the super high car prices is to encourage people to take the public transport. What public transport! Squashed like a sardin in a tin can is a norm when taking LRT and monorail during peak hours. Well at least here we don’t have to sit on the train/bus roof like in some other countries.

• inderaloka on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Sepatutnya hukum pengedar minyak yang jual minyak kepada penyeludup atau pengedar yang jual minyak harga subsidi kepada warga asing. Sepatutnya tingkatkan pencegahan, penguatkuasaan dan hukuman.

Kerana nila setitik, rosak susu sebelanga. Kerana penyeludupan tidak dicegah dan undang-undang tidak dikuatkuasakan, rakyat yang kena tanggung.

• stanley on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:16 pm

in jb smuggling very hot job now.. hahaha my friends 1 buy alphard cash.. 1 more buy audi tt cash… just smuggle haha so geng

• Space cop gaban on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:40 pm

who is your friend?
      i want to tangkap and sumbat lowkap pigi

• Beat the traffic on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Bravo BN government , this is the only way to improve traffic congestion in KL. I think RM 2.50 per litre is the resonable price !

• Jackie on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:41 pm

If the gov reduced the excise duty ..can u accept a lower resale value for ur car ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Beat the traffic on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:58 pm

First of all, I have never asked the government to reduce the duty.

Second, you are asking a dumb question, it is like asking me : can u accept a lower resale value of your phone. Of course yes !! Then I can buy a new phone with a lower price also for the rest of my life ma. Damn stupid la you

• IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:12 pm

what kind of question is that??? i want cheaper cars now!!!

• use vios and you can save a lot of petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Please use kereta lembu, greener, multipurpose, reduce accedent rate. No money sell them.

• Wilson on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Smuggler did the smuggling job then both Rakyat and the smuggler get to punished together… Genius.

• Chris on Sep 26, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Current situation: Cheap petrol, expensive cars, expensive tax, expensive tolls.

Why is it bad?
    – Neighbour smuggle petrol
    – Encourage wastage (already pay for high car tax, must use back all cheap subsidized petrol to earn it back)
    – Stuck with Euro 2 emission standard, dirty and polluting, + the wastage, double pollution.

Ideal scenario IMHO:
    – taxed petrol (gst?), no subsidy
    – cheap road tax for clean cars, punish dirty cars

why is it good?
    – encourages people to buy the car they need, not more than what they need.
    – encourages people to own clean cars
    – doesn’t drive needlessly

If we want to have any chance to become a developed country, we need to be less selfish and be more responsible to our surroundings.

• You’ve missed the big point Chris. How can the fuel be smuggled out if the party responsible is doing their job?

Your other points is valid, but to become a developed country we must also reduce corruption!

• No to subsidy on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:02 pm

why would we need to put enforcement ppl on the ground when there is not any profit to be earned from smuggling (due to price parity)?
        why would someone bribe enforcement officers to get away with smuggling, I presume, under such scenario?

• The above mentioned criteria will not be achieve. Definitely not in another 20-30 years if our own mentality doesnt change and our education system doesnt work.

Besides, corruption is the biggest obstacles for Malaysia to be a developed country.

• Speakiing on behalf of fuel smugglers. We like some politician who promise to make fuel even cheaper. This way, we can make more profit. Thank you.

• To those smugglers, don’t need to smuggler fuel to Thailand especially diesel when Thailand’s diesel quality is way better than ours.

Besides, roadtax free? wow, Why not reduce excise duty as promised by BN? roadtax is not a prob for most ppl as only tax-free for below 2,000cc rather than through the whole engine capacity range. RM90/year is nothing la.

• Ford_GT on Sep 26, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Paul Low said, “Cut off the middleman”. Unfortunately the scumbags refused to do so therefore the corruption is soaring and beyond.

• Raymond on Sep 26, 2013 at 1:55 pm

I used to work across the border (BKH)and it is all due to weak control from border security control.
    You will find so many Thai selling subsidized petrol on the road side (Thai Side).
    What they (Thai) do is drive their pick-up across the border (no Passport needed with just a smile) to the nearest petrol station on Malaysia side and fill up. On their way back to Thailand, they will give $5 or $10 to the UPP, Custom Officer and Police and they are back in Thailand with 55litre of subsidized fuel.
    Day in day out, it is much more than the reported 3200 litres!!!

• Our Malaysian law enforcer is weak. Gt money can ady. Thats y, who the hell respect our law enforcer is this issue keep goin on.?

• Betong on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm

It is true the border security is questionable. I used to work as a vendor in one of the govt agency near the north. Every weekend, we will party at hatyai and all we did was, follow one of our govt employee, he just raised his hand, and we are in Thailand without any passport. Exiting Thailand is also raising our hand. It is so easy it an eye opener.

Good thing is, we don’t have any chop in our passport that says we were in Hatyai :p

• neemfa on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:14 pm

All wayang.. they pretend that there is a smuggling activity, so that they have excuse to cut the subsidy..

as if there is a subsidy in the first place.. sigh..

• padam je on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Dey PDAM tamby, itu macam smuggling kalo, kasi letak harga sama itu Thai sama Spore la, ok ka ko?

• Diesel being smuggled…RON 95 is losing the subsidy.. Is it me or is the maths here wrong?!!!?
    How do you prevent diesel smuggling by increasing RON 95 price?

• Easy. Just increase the ringgit against Thai baht and a surcharge of every Singaporean car coming into Johor

• _xXx_ on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Yes. Please propose to Brunei to apply the same thing u proposed to foreign vehicles entering their country as well.

• roxas on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:15 pm

1 sentence enough for this.
    the relevant party is not doing their job to prevent smuggling.

• NO SUBSIDY – cheaper car price – smaller loan – shorter loan tenure but DEARER fuel.

Is GOVERNMENT ready to cut massive revenue from excise and tax they’re very used to since early 1986?? I do not think so.

• The Government can increase the price of petrol but they must give petrol subsidy card with the stored value based on the yearly average usage of fuel of the mid class income bracket. For bus and lorry also can be implemented too. JPJ can give this card during a yearly road tax renewal. So the May be you guys can propose the amount.

• The Government can increase the price of petrol but they must give petrol subsidy card with the stored value based on the yearly average usage of fuel of the mid class income bracket. For bus and lorry also can be implemented too. JPJ can give this card during a yearly road tax renewal. May be you guys can propose the amount.

• Silver arrows on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Just bcoz of smuggling … need to raise the petrol price…

So nw the benchmark is x more world price .. it will be the price of the petrol in the country where it will smuggled ..

So after this our’s will be the most expensive in the region to avoid smuggling!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • joemanap on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:41 pm

what for we have authority when they can,t combat smuggling? at the end rakyat will get burden due to subsidy reduction

• PKRBN2x5 on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:47 pm

the salary for the people at anti-smuggling unit is so kesian.. gaji so sikit, lots of work, siang & malam n dangerous some more.. pls don’t blame them.. they work so hard for the country..

• Sometimes i dont blame them. Their efficency we all know to what extend. Blame their stupidity instead for supporting the failed G. They are poor due to no minimum wages for civil servant. Civil servant or law enforcer in other countries can drive a decent car and live at least in some mid class condo. But our poor law enforcer who works their ass off only to afford kapcai or some cheapo car. Cant blame them too sometimes if they want duit kopi. Once polis asked duit kopi during roadblock, i sound him back. he said its due to low wages. sigh, really pity those fella.

• Veneno on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:48 pm

lepas ni, harga barang pon melambung2 la tinggi nya.. hahahaha..

• winners on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:03 pm

The government should just make an official announcement that all vehicles caught smuggling will be confiscated and no further negotiation will be entertained. Also, drivers of such vehicles will be jailed for a minimum of 1 month plus fine according to the number of repeated offenses committed.

We shall then see how much more can those smugglers tolerate.

• Luqman_HKM on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:47 pm

What do they mean when they say “To abolish road tax”? Cars would be cheaper?

• deftones on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:48 pm

alaa…baru smuggle minyak dah affect whole malaysian.

what about them for doing undertable?? act like nothing happen..jizz

give brim here and there..now finding way to cover back losses

• In short, we have to pay for the government incompetency.

• Not even 1 year after election…
    Congratulation to those smart s who pilih such good government.

• mason on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Malaysia Gov ah,if u all see this ah,please lah,want to compare oils prices with neighbouring country,please compare the car prices too…Malaysia Gov ah, abolish the super high tax on imported car,lowered the car prices,u can raise the oils according to market prices..if not,please dont talk bullshit ,and thought Malaysia rakyat is Dungu lah..TQ

• totenkepg on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:53 pm

If they announce officially the hike of fuel price again,i promise i will buy a kapcai bike.now browsing through the price.. :(

• Abolish road tax also for what ? The average rakyat won’t benefit much, only those who own high engine displacement cars will. Most of the rakyat buy cars rated 1.6 and below, the road tax for these cars are negligible.

• IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:16 am

abolish roadtax for cars 2.0 below, abolish toll, reduce 2.0 below car price.. hmm increase saman pun ok.. hmm reduce public transportation ticket price..

• rational on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:30 am

One way of thinking. It will stop fuel smuggling and stop this kind corruption. A good thing, but repay the people with other incentive. I prefer the money to be use for education and health.

• Chan Wai Kwok on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:45 am

If this fellow can smuggler few thousand liters of our petrol across the border, I wonder how our PDRM can prevent 1 liter (or less) Chin Peng ashes back to our country.

• Instead of buffing up the Anti Smuggling Unit to do a better job, they want to increase petrol price to control smuggling?
    And the data points also funny. What is RM50k smuggling compare to the total of what rakyat need to pay?

• so they increase the fuel price in order to stop smuggling. its like reducing the value of money when there is too much robbery. genius!

• freelancer on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Typical style of our Government:
    Promises made -> promises broken -> excuses come in -> diam diam another 5 tahun lagi -> repeat again from Step 1…
    It’s pathetic to see a gov like this and no choice we have to live with it (personally saya org miskin) and try to change this shit. that’s it!

• IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:16 pm

the miskin part: usaha la bro, bleh jadi kaya.. no need crony/cable what so ever also can jadi kaya like myself.. no need help from the G.

• kenny leh on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:06 pm

some one tell me petrol will go up 10 sen by tonight

• BaTan on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Paul Tan hip…

• Vincent Alexander Ong on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:52 pm

As they always say…..Price up who cares, Syukurlah Malaysia Aman… ROFL… sorry brainless bunch of BN nitwits.

• So-High on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Who ever vote for BN now regret\cry\suffer..Coz you guys we suffering.All Mentari using free petrol so they dont feel our pain unless they use their own money.Blame the kastam didt do work why increase price pulak m@@high…Brainless people using our money buying all luxury house and party.Remove toll and roadtax better.Corrupted blood suffer will burn in hell.

• IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:14 pm

come on G! do it! cut the subsidies n abolish road tax, toll, reduce car prices now!!!

• joanna on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:50 pm

If the authority are so good in preventing Chin Peng ashes being smuggled into this country, why they are so inefficient in preventing fuel smuggling? Lol.