Peugeot 208 GTi on display in Blue Box Glenmarie

peugeot-208-gti-glenmarie-35

Not long more to go before one can get their grubby paws on a Peugeot 208 GTi, by the looks of it – the car has ‘arrived’ in the showrooms, or at least one has. A red example of the hot hatch is on display at Peugeot Blue Box Glenmarie, so if you’re keen to salivate over it, you know where to head to.

The vehicle was spotted last month at JPJ Putrajaya, undergoing type approval, and an ad for it on oto.my also came about last month. A salesperson at Glenmarie mentions that the order books have opened for the car, and that it’ll be priced at under RM140k, with the official launch set to happen sometime in October; first deliveries will also begin then.

The Peugeot 208 GTi is only available as a three-door hatchback, with a six-speed manual transmission. It’s powered by a THP 200 1.6 litre turbo mill offering 200 hp and 275 Nm, quite a fair bit of propulsion energy for a 1,160 kg car. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.8 seconds and a 230 km/h top speed.

Our intrepid squid, Hafriz Shah, put the 208 GTi through its paces earlier this year, doing the tango with the pocket rocket in the twists and turns of the French Riviera – read his comprehensive take of the car here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Looks good!!! better than polo GTI

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 9
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 160
      • John Tan on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:13 pm

E… Halo? VW polo GTI 0-100km/h takes 6.8s. Do study before you bash.
        http://www.volkswagen.com.my/en/models/polo-gti/trimlevel_overview.s9_trimlevel_detail.suffix.html/polo-gti~2Fpolo-gti.html#/tab=97734d8c53e306487ca7718ce9354e04

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • curry puff on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:19 pm

agree with john tan, infact polo gti is slower at 6.9 s

more expensive and with crappy dryclutch gearbox. 208 gti is manual

http://www.topgear.com/uk/photos/peugeot-208-gti-renault-clio-rs-ford-fiesta-st-triple-test-2013-07-02

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 142
  • Bahomet on Sep 26, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Red hot chick in Blue Box Glenmarie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Biggest problem with the 208’s, too much chrome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 39
  • peugeot-san on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:16 pm

woaa.. very nice.. can be seen next to my suprima s and evoque!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • Don’t lie please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • Yeah. He’s a liar. He has two very expensive cars actually. A kancil and a viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
    • Come on bro! pls don’t compare apple with orange la. Suprima S has 130hp only but GTI has 200hp….shame on proton even after 30 yrs history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • bawakereta on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Have you ever wonder how long peugot has been in this industry. Please don’t compare proton with other baby boomer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • komarad on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:34 pm

still hopeful for the 4 doors 208 gets manual gearbox..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • The question is how reliable is the THP engine ? Been reading so many swear and curses on this THP engine that it’s making me seriously doubtful about plonking my $$$ onto this ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Guan Yin Ma on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Well, if you use ron 97 or the v power racing, your engine wont have so much problem. If you use ron 95.. then…..

• SpongeWai on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:54 pm

B-segment sports car

VW Polo GTi (RM150k to RM160k)
    Ford Fiesta ST (available here next year maybe?)
    Suzuki Swift Sport (RM97k to RM105k)
    Peugeot 208 GTi (estimated below RM140k)
    Renault Clio RS (available next year with estimated price is RM200k which previewed already back in March during F1 here)

thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Take out the swift sport please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 52
      • Yeah. Swift is such an ugly looking pig

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 65
        • neutral on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:00 pm

swift sport is not really ugly…just that it’s not worth the price at which it’s selling at. it’s really fun to drive and all that. it’s not all about power but the good chassis and amazing handling. however, too expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
          • frenzyaustin on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:10 pm

But I think Swift Sport is completely worth the money. Tell me which car has fun factor with a manual gearbox, great performance, good package and CBU under 100K? Coming close is Polo but it’s looks boring. SSS to me it’s perfectly good looking, sporty and reasonable priced too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
        • wakaka on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:04 am

Swift Sport too slow to be on that list, I used to own one, i know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Kalun on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Suzuki Swift is a warm hatch.

Others are hot hatch. Cannot compare green apple to red apple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • frenzyaustin on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Only warm hatch in Malaysia. Fiesta is not so warm, except a suspension and engine tuning. Then it’s a warm hatch.

• RedCRZ on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:59 pm

I wish my warm2 hybrid coupe is as fast as it looks… =(

• how bout the scirocco?

• frenzyaustin on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Scirocco is hair dresser car, looks fast but not, Price so high but the performance of a CR-Z. But Scirocco R is different beast.

• samlok on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Yeah! swift sport definitely the choice

• sudonano on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Wow. Really FRENCH POISON. Just. Wow.

What is that button marked P and a steering wheel pic on it on the right of the steering, near the ESC off switch? Auto Park?

• David D on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Mate Sudonano, that’s parking sensors for the front and back, more of to activate and deactivate it. The 208 does have an auto-park feature, but its only, and EXCLUSIVELY, for the Intuitive spec, which is a Europe-exclusive spec (and an awesome model at that). Other than that, i must say, this has to be a hot hatch i must get should i want one with a stick, not a slush.

Cheers!

• sudonano on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Ooh! That is interesting! Thanks! Reason why I thought that was an auto park button was cause the Ford and Range Rover’s Auto Park shows an icon similar to that on the info display when active. Normally I see everyone will use the P with the ripples coming out of it to activate the park sensors.

We so need to have the Intuitive spec. I think last I checked was the normal one we get is Allure. I checked in UK, the Allure can get it, but its a 500 quid option.

I’ve tested the 208 VTi when it first launched, with lots of doubts of the VTi engine being sluggish. I was dead wrong. Press only it happily go. And the interior is fantastic for the price. Pretty huggable seats too, though the slush is a bit slow, in typical French fashion. Not fast like a ZF box or a DCT, but you can get used to it. Too bad no keyless start or it will be the complete perfect car!

I can only imagine this being a real success. With the Polo GTi being extremely pricey, and VW’s famous DSG7 issues, this Frenchie doesn’t look too bad. Plus if you have seen this vs the Fiesta ST(which I love too!) on Top Gear, you can hear the turbo blowoff sound is plain WOW.

If Ford Malaysia brings in the Fiesta ST, I think I would be torn between them both, if I wanted a stick hot hatch. Might go for the ST cause I prefer Fords, but it will be by a hair. A very thin hair. Well done Nasim.

• neutral on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:02 am

it’s all down to the price. from all reviews it seems that the fiesta is king when it comes to fun factor and dynamics. the fiesta is cheaper than both 208 gti and clio rs in most markets. nasim is trying hard to price it extremely competitively (CKD?). if ford prices the ST higher than the 208 gti. bye bye ST.

• sudonano on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:52 am

True. In most markets ST is cheaper by about 10k ringgit I think. Cause it is less powerful. It won’t win a drag race, but it will win the handling, Ford’s legendary handling. Though this 208 ain’t no slouch.

VW must be shivering now in MY.

• suddenly, hot hatch become so so affordable.
    look at the 200hp 275nm!
    it is the mk6 golf gti power!
    now you get it with almost 100k less,minus the notorious DSG.
    no reason not to get one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Chris on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Unless you have a super practical girlfriend who didn’t want a two door… *sigh*

• there is one big reason, bro — monthly salary… if make less than rm5k, how to buy oh?…. barang naik kawkaw sudah bah….

• the 100k more one pays for Golf GTI is for DAS AUTO to recover after spending 20 million brand campaign in BUKIT JALIL early last year …..hence it’s not the VW technology that is costly…rather wrong marketing strategy here. Now we consumers kena kau kau

• blackbox on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:33 pm

there are some concern about this car,
    1) Is the driver side wiper is still smaller than the passenger side? (Bad right hand drive conversion)
    2) In the photo doesn’t looks like it have space for foot rest beside the clutch pedal….(Bad right hand drive conversion).
    3) Since it is using prince engine is the radiator fan still as noisy as 308 and DS4?

• tombyron on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:36 pm

can it feed with ron95??

• blackbox on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:54 pm

It should have closer gear ratio to give more fun. This car is not that fun or suitable for 230km/h and not many people will drive it to that speed. Must well lower down the top speed to 210 or even 200 with closer ratio gearbox that shall make the car more responsive and shorter 0-100km/h. The driver also can shift around the gear more often, instead of third gear drive all the way up to Genting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • WHAT?? is this really a design from Peugeot? exterior is quite acceptable but interior.. What a piece of crap!!! 100k for this junk? forget it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 62
  • not much competition for this hot hatch atm…ahve to wait for Fiesta ST to launch

• moots on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Doubt it will sell well since it’s a manual. Keyboard warriors will flood it with praise but from sales trend can see demand for manual cars waning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
  • frenzyaustin on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Another manual Hot Hatch with reasonable price. VW hot hatch is really overpriced compare other Germans

• Overpriced only in Malaysia la….everywhere is much cheaper even in US it cost between US35-40K equal to RM120K

• frenzyaustin on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Actually VW sold their car more expensive than their equal competitors in a few country. Australian and Brits forumers really hate VW due to it’s questionable reliability and pricing. Mazda and Ford are better choice compare to VW actually. Those 2 has great performance, economy and much reasonable price.

• Denaihati on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:42 pm

must be excited during the acceleration with a lot of power for this small car. interior wise, very sporty.

• Image ID – 201422

u purposedly took this photo to make us laugh, didn’t u, anthony? :D

• ikmal on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Ah, the famous “I CAN’T SEE THE INSTRUMENT PANEL BECAUSE THE FAT STEERING WHEEL BLOCKS IT” problem. :)

Well my sis has the normal Pug 208, and luckily with my prefered driving position, I can see the instrument panel nice and clear.

• neemfa on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:05 am

A car for true enthusiast.. just worry about the engine giving depollution problem..

ron97 may reduce the problem but not many station are selling this fuel..

• amirad on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:21 am

Finally a GTi with a manual transmission (in Malaysia). Manual tranny drivers are extinct species (again in Malaysia). To the family man, its always nice to enjoy the drive with family, hence the need for four doors. Never driven a French before. Would love to sample its power and driving dynamics.

• mentari-o-korea on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:44 am

2 major concerns by most Msian, not an auto and 3 doors only !!!

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Emm..nice car..but I’m still waiting for Fiesta ST..

• Fahmi on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Yeah, stick shift, three pedals, no paddles baby!!

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I seriously don’t understand how can the GTi be so much more expensive as compared to the standard 208. I did some calculations and the price difference between the cheapest 1.6vti and the GTi in the UK is only at 25%. Based on 1.6vti local price of RM86k, the GTi should be priced around 110k-115k. Furthermore, the GTi we’re getting is the CKD version.

• foxtrot on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:41 pm

our gahmen & cronies mah, tsk tsk

• intermilan on Sep 29, 2013 at 11:43 pm

It could be the tax related to 3-doors car (they still exist?) or simply Nasim wanted higher profit.

But imagine Nasim selling this 200bhp machine at RM115K OTR..? Will other car companies allow that to go unpunished..?

But thanks for the revelations.. Once we know the OTR price of this CKD GTi, we will also know Nasim intentions.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:45 am

@intermilan, don’t think 3 door & 5 door variants have different tax structures as the 3 door polo gti is cheaper than 5 door polo gti.

As for other car companies I don’t think they have much say. Don’t forget Nasim is part of Naza Group.

• waterman on Sep 29, 2013 at 1:48 am

Dear Mates,
    why keep talking?
    time for test drive!!