2014 Mazda3 arrives in Europe with MZD Connect HMI

The 2014 Mazda3 has just gone on sale in Europe, debuting its new human-machine interface (HMI) and in-vehicle connectivity system, dubbed MZD Connect. On the latter, Mazda claims that the new 3 is one of the first in its segment to offer an on-board package of online services.

MZD Connect syncs with the user’s smartphone (via Bluetooth or USB) to offer a wide scale of connected convenience, including navigation and SMS (readout and voice recognition) features. In Europe, Internet radio, news, podcasts, audio books, and Facebook and Twitter feeds are offered through Aha, a cloud-based platform.

Real-time infotainment services can be accessed through either the seven-inch touchscreen display or the Rotary Commander on the centre console. Audio will then be served through the (optional) Bose nine-speaker premium sound system with Bose Centerpoint 2 surround sound technology.

Meanwhile, Mazda’s new HMI implements an ergonomically centre-focused driver’s space, with an integrated head-up display (Active Driving Display in Mazda-speak), symmetrically-positioned pedals and a lower steering wheel. The HUD utilises a transparent plastic panel to reflect the projected display, much like those on high-end Peugeots.

Want a closer look at the new 2014 Mazda3? Check out a mega-gallery of both the hatchback and sedan bodystyles here, as well as indicative pricing and specs of the Malaysian-bound models here, as seen on our sister classifieds site oto.my.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ah Beng on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Better than Suprima’s Android Infotainment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Pontiac on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Now now. Be a good boy aa my little baby. Father (m6) wanna go zoom zoom for now. Do not tailgate me like the CRZ who dont know they running using hybrid. Ok??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • mexdeh on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:25 pm

hybrid oso ok what, sometimes it’s the faster if not fastest variant in a row, for example camry hybrid

• NICE

• proton best on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 120
    • bawakereta on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Betol! Proton Suprima.lagi canggih. Body cantik.tertawan memang the bomb!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 76
    • kadajawa on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Let’s see how Suprima and Mazda3 sales in Europe….

But wait, Suprima not yet launch there! Jaguh global is not so global at all lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
      • Stop dreaming… In Europe, no one buy Potong so why wasting time to reach there? always get bash by UK top Gear lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
        • you are still living in cave? proton already reached europe years ago. UK top gear j.c. is only a clown, you can laugh but don’t believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
          • Clarkson on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Ya ya, reached Europe years ago but standard still decades ago compared to European cars. Only in Malaysia you can find clowns of proton supporters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
          • feindf on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:53 am

Already reach 5 star ancap safety rating. You cannot say sing same song nowadays, it’s outdated and make you look stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
          • Eh Clarkson, you can say all you want and destroy as many Malaysian cars as you want, but you can’t deny the fact that Proton sold more than 200,000 cars in Europe since 1989.

Go check Wikipedia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
          • Potong vs Europe car = empty vs gold.

not only top gear, still a lot of ppl bash it! hopeless :(

5 star ancap? so what? Chinese car can do better! 5 star euro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • Wow…so many delusional proton salesmen in this thread. Wake and get a grip of reality. Stop extolling the “superiority” of suprima/preve when you know it’ll make you the laughing stock in town. It’s like comparing a limau (proton) and an orange (Mazda). We very well know in heart which is the superior car here and it’s definitely not proton make.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • australian ncap or euro ncap more or less is same lor. you cannot judge something from its badge. it’s like judging book by its cover

• Clarkson on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:15 pm

You all can praise proton until the kingdom comes but the truth is nobody wants to buy it. Look at your neighbour Sg and see how much they are selling. Even Ferrari sells more than proton. 5 stars safety? Volvo achieve this years ago. Malaysia car maker and it’s supporters still live in kampung apparently. Btw, it’s not outdated and still relevant today. :)

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/M03-Car_Regn_by_make.pdf

• are you vios worshipper? old engine and 4 gears make it a perfect car. even better than lambo. lol

• Archangel on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Suprima S does not have human-machine interface (HMI) such as integrated head-up display (HUD) and the fuel consumption is higher than new Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • decifa on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:30 pm

performance wise mazda3 auto sucks. suprima is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
        • Another keyboard warrior who jumps to conclusion before even test driving the car…wow, you must be from the future.

• frggle on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:16 pm

you are still living in denial. go and check it yourself. the number are out already. no surprise you worship bad car like a vios! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
        • xavier on Sep 30, 2013 at 3:29 pm

mana bukti anda? sila tunjuk fakta yang boleh dipercayai dan diakui… sucks konon.. su sucks prima saya tahu.. haha..

• Ya ur Sup Lima is the best and no one cant beat it! actually if someone of u cant afford import car so no need to force urself to bash those high quality import car and type something ugly or what lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Woi !!! Don’t talk to my future wife like that ! >:(

As much as I support Proton, I don’t think it’s fair to put down ‘good’ Japanese cars like this undeniably sexy Mazda 3.

You can bash the Dugongs (Vios/Almera/Attrage) all day, but please, leave the Mazda 3 alone k ?

:3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Must be poorly designed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
  • old dog on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:48 pm

If RM153K, says bye bye, since not only it cross to Camry, Accord, Teana, CRV, …and with 10% more at RM170K, the choice of VW, Lexus, and even BMW 1 series…

Good luck Bermaz, dont let your greed kill the momentum of CX-5, to Mazda6…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • lalala on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:59 pm

The way the monitor screen positioned and the control knob of HMI seems like copying BMW’s iDrive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Paparoti on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:32 am

True…the first time I saw the cabin shot, I thought it looked similar to my f30 with the exception of the radio station buttons which I don’t see in the Mazda 3

• benzs on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I can see many people comparing with Suprima this days. What the hack! Suprima is total different range with those import cars. Cant compare that! Even 6 airbags does not prove Suprima is best in global. What if a small accident causing 6 air bags deploy. That is going to be butt hurt. Not to mention, Malaysian P1 is slow from the perspective of RnD. Especially engine. Every model release is the same engine with plus minus add up only. Come on guys, dont compare Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Chris on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Preve = C Segment Sedan
      Suprima = C Segment hatch
      Mazda3 = C Segment sedan/hatch

What do you mean it’s not in the same range? It’s perfectly okay to compare them as long as you don’t bias towards one or the other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Barcelona and Sunderland play in main football league in their country. Do you hear people compare them?

• verna on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:20 pm

mazda3 auto trans sucky big time. suprima s and other C segments cars are better. the chance is the one with i-eloop variant or manual trans.

• Unknown lol on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Because proton paid them to comment over the Internet …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • LOL yeap. Same engine every now and then. Very pathetic indeed.

• umbr-ella on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:36 pm

you want lorry engine inside? lol. you can get its chassis with toyota innova, buy it.

• gunsee on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:44 pm

1.What if a small accident causing 6 air bags deploy. That is going to be butt hurt.

Of course proton basher butthurt, where got C segment 73k car got 6 airbags and 5 star ancap

2.Not to mention, Malaysian P1 is slow from the perspective of RnD. Especially engine.

Suprima does have 2.0 n.a engine power. Some japs cars here using SOHC engine, decades engine, 4 auto gearbox, sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Paparoti on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:42 am

If there is no excise and import duty, there are many Japanese and Korean cars that will fit your bill of under 70k and fully loaded with all safety features. Again, what kind of quality are we getting from proton even when it comes with 6 airbags? Don’t you know there are many different quality levels to the same type of product? Isn’t the power window lesson enough? Go buy your proton since you are so supportive of them. I believe majority of educated readers here know what make they will shy away from if they have the budget to buy non protons.

• gstbr on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:24 pm

even beloved vios got problems, safety gadgets usually comes from several manufacturers like bosch, etc. it’s not made of proton.

• Arshyy on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:17 pm

This one have much better interior than the current mazdas (cx5 & mazda 6)

• SpongeWai on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:36 pm

C-segment sedan/hatchback challenger

current gen Honda Civic (facelift unveiled next year)
    current gen Nissan Sylphy (new gen expected to be arrived here next year 2nd quarter or 3rd quarter)
    Mazda 3 (new gen arrived end of this year?!)
    Mitsubishi Lancer GT
    Toyota Corolla Altis (new gen arrived here in 1st quarter)
    Chevrolet Cruze facelift
    Ford Focus
    VW Golf
    Merc A-Class
    Lexus CT-200h
    Suzuki SX-4 (it is C-segment)
    Volvo V40 & V40 CrossCountry
    BMW 1-series
    Hyundai Elantra
    Kia Cerato (i prefer called it Forte)
    Peugeot 308

erm what else missing?!

• Chris on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Civic facelift in which month?

• Leonon on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:02 pm

I wonder if Euromobil is going to bring in the A3 hatchback

• Sky pirate on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Tough luck. At what price point do you think they gonna price the A3? They screwed up the pricing for the A1, the A3 should be at that price. They can introduce the A3 and drop the price of the A1, but then the owners of A1 gonna create havoc or introduce the A3 and discontinue the A1.

• Altis new gen not here yet?

• Ryan.C on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:39 pm

when this car reach malaysia..
    all gadgets will be removed. becomes tin kosong.

this is what SD ford does for fiesta.

• Exterior more like Mazda 6. Interior wise for the dashboard and navigator look like BMW. Overall very pretty. Just dunno wat will be the pricing like when it come to bolehland.

• The navigator looks cheap. It’s supposed to be placed somewhere near the steering, not far and below. The driver should keep their hands on or near steering when driving.

• stealth on Sep 28, 2013 at 12:20 am

Boys, pls stop comparing with our proton Sperma ops suprima aka supreme.

• What a great looking car! (drooling)

• nikita tan on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:02 am

Bermaz please bring in The New Mazda3 , i can’t wait for that long, superb nice car and it won eveyone heart at the first sight. I cant wait for that long to get this road machine, really driven me crazy…. love Mazda3

• Just what were they thinking with the placement of the number plate?

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 29, 2013 at 8:57 am

This will be the best car in its segment and will challenge the BMW 3 Series and Audi A4. I wonder how many underwears the German engineers had to change knowing that Mazda 3 is entering their territory. Its like a full grown Rottweiler (M3) visiting a house full of poodles and puppies (BMW, Audi and BENZ).

The power, performance and aesthetic from the new M3 is too much for the German Marques to handle I reckon. There’s a reason why this car will be nominated the World Car of the Year pretty soon.

Now the ball its in Berjaya’s court to handle the pricing right. I reckon the public can still tolerate up to 160k for a fully kitted M3, which is still 40% cheaper than its closest rival of the 3 series, A4 and C class. Anything above 160k will be challenging the Mazda 6 sales pie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 63
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Sep 29, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Bro, as long as its not a kimchi, there will be no Hilux to be shown to its owner

• deemer on Sep 29, 2013 at 8:14 pm

I smell a lot of sarcasm there. 160k, better than BMW 3 series and Audi A4. I wanna vomit already.

• amirad on Sep 30, 2013 at 9:46 am

Waiting for the 6 speed manual version with turbo engine, the MPS. Wish list, roomier interior especially in the rear, sufficient boot space about 400 litres and less torque steer please. Then I’m sold.

• tebabow! on Sep 30, 2013 at 3:28 pm

to my eyes.. this is the best c segmen from the japs.. i am one of those who are waiting for this mz3! as honda’s latest civic doesnt turn me on, while toyota’s coming altis just learn how to evolve to a better looking car.

but if bermaz put a price tag close to the germans just becoz of a lot of thumbs up, likes and admirers.. i will forget mz3 n buy the jetta! coz to my pocket japs c segmen is not worth 140k!

i think japs cars are not as prestigous as german car! not yet.. berusahalah nippon!

n bermaz -jangan perasan ok!