Aston Martin Cygnet – swan song for the small ‘un

am cygnet 1

Some news about the Aston Martin Cygnet – word is that Gaydon has finally pulled the plug on the little city car, essentially a rebadged and redressed Toyota iQ. Production has reportedly ceased, and the only new examples left in the market are those on dealership floors.

The Cygnet made its debut in Geneva in 2010, and arrived with a host of appointments to differentiate it from the donor car. Exterior revisions included Aston’s trademark front grille, air intakes on the bonnet, side “gills” and boomerang shaped tail lamps. Inside, the cabin redressing included plenty of leather.

am cygnet

Production was confirmed later in the year. Equipped with a 1R-FE 1.33 litre engine offering 97 hp at 6,000 rpm and 123 Nm at 4,400 rpm, performance specs for the Cygnet include a 170 km/h top speed and 0-100 km/h time of 11.8 seconds with the six-speed manual variant, and a slightly faster 11.6 if you plonked for the CVT version.

There were even plans to come out with an all-electric version of the tiny four-seater at some point. ‘Brilliant idea or bad joke?’, Danny asked back then in his Geneva news report – bad idea and a brilliant joke, as it turns out. Closer to home, an example was advertised last year, going for a neat RM350k!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ford Fiesta Mini.

• Basically that’s how most Ford looks like now, an Aston rebadge small car, weather that’s a good thing or not is purely opinionated.
      I personally view this and all Fords facelifts like a designer’s desperate attempt to up class their car. It’s understandable in this as it carries the badge, not sure on Fords reason thou.

• Chris on Sep 30, 2013 at 4:17 pm

As someone who likes the Aston Martin design but not the badge, it’s a good thing. If P1/P2 ever do a design like that, I’d love it too.

I don’t see it as trying to mimic Aston Martin, I see it as a grill looking like F1 cars from the 50’s, which I absolutely adore.

• True, but in my opinion, both Aston Martin cars and F1 cars from the 50s have a body to go with those grill( a slender and sexy proportion body, long nose-short tail GTness), where the Fords and this is like taking bits of those cars and moulding them onto a body, it’s abit like those extreme SEMA modders that put all the best bits of automotive design into one. The grill on those Fords and this looks very out of place in the small car, Ford should look back at what made the original Focus, Escort for inspiration.
          To be fair, the ford Fusion/Mondeo does go well with the grill, it gets worse as it is used on downsize cars from the Focus and finally the Fiesta. Small cars generally don’t look good with chrome in my opinion.

• Chris on Sep 30, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Touche. Haha.

I have no problem with chrome, but yes that grill design looks better on a longer car. The 2014 Mondeo looks incredibly good with it, extremely muscular.

• tongL on Sep 30, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Chrome finishing on small car makes it look cheap. If you want to make it cheaper just put milo tin sized exhaust, wow! It should be faster than a Ferrari!

• MyVI rivals is coming!!!
    muahahhahaha

• benzs on Sep 30, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Erm did it mention RM350k? How many 1.3L car can we buy in Malaysia with that amount of money?
    1) P1 Saga (1.3L) (34K)
    2) P2 Myvi (1.3L) (43k)
    3) T Avanza (1.3L) (68k)
    4) Hyundai i10 (1.2L) (53k)
    5) Picanto (1.0/1.1) (50k)
    6) MMC Mirage (1.2L)(60K)
    7) Honda Jazz Hybrid (1.3L) (87k)
    8) Honda Insight Hybrid (1.3L) (98k)
    Above is estimate price. The point is, never saw a car with 1.3L will be selling at that much of KKKK.

• Black Dog on Sep 30, 2013 at 2:37 pm

For a premium brand, using another less-premium mfg’s product is often bad decision.

• Think on Sep 30, 2013 at 2:50 pm

RM350K for 97 HP?! What is 350k for? If you even put 25 airbags in this Mini Martin, it still not safe if its run by a truck or just simply an SUV. Rather buy a property then.

• They are just using this car to balance out their emission output (all models emission output / amount of models). Government ruling. I don’t think that they have an intention to make this sell.

• Spot on. This is got to do with their primary market, none other than the US. It’s amusing to see how many people don’t know what’s going on around them.

• It is just a joke lah….didn’t you see the very last sentences:

…..bad idea and a brilliant joke, as it turns out……..

• Hadi75 on Sep 30, 2013 at 8:08 pm

What joke???aston really did sell it but just to get away from emission law….dont think they ever really think it can sell….if it sold, that’s a bonus… :)

• bluebird on Sep 30, 2013 at 3:42 pm

RM350K is the price of this car. RM200K goes to tax (gahmen)

• Judge on Sep 30, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Only a complete moron would buy this car. Even if you get a Toyota Aygo (which this car is 100% based on) and fit it out completely with all the trims that Aston put into this car you still wouldn’t be able to reach the price Aston is asking for.

• Judge on Sep 30, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Only a complete moron would buy this car. Even if you get a Toyota iQ(which this car is 100% based on) and fit it out completely with all the trims that Aston put into this car you still wouldn’t be able to reach the price Aston is asking for.

• Saw 1 yesterday during lunch hour infront of KLCC
    im surprised someone did bought it

• Denaihati on Sep 30, 2013 at 4:48 pm

very nice interior and also the price…heeee

• i ever saw 1 white color in KL, the plate number is number “1”

• It’s a car to perfectly show how filthy rich its owner is, who also happens to be a hardcore fan of Aston Martin.

• WTF were they thinking?

• if i have rm350k i will go for mers a45

• qozh moreno on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Wah… why not much ppl make fuss about a rebadging a Toyota IQ to an Aston… i wonder but when Proton rebadging another car so many wanna comdem like no body business… figures….