Volkswagen VR6 turbo engine in the works – reports

After previewing it in the somewhat OTT Volkswagen Design Vision GTI last May, it looks like VW is serious about reviving its VR6 engine family. Sources from inside the company told US-based site Autoweek that a new narrow-angle six-cylinder engine is indeed under development, for possible use in future high-performance VW models.

Volkswagen’s new head of engine development, Fritz Eichler (the man responsible for Mercedes-AMG’s current powerplants), is said to be overseeing the project. Using a tight 15° angle between the cylinder banks will create a compact six-cylinder engine (smaller than a comparable V6 and significantly shorter than an inline-six design) that’s suitable for transverse mountings.

As in the mad Vision GTI concept car, the new 3.0 litre VR6 will use both direct-injection and a turbocharger, though obviously the outputs will be toned down from the show car’s extravagant 503 PS and 560 Nm of torque. A target figure of around 340 PS to 450 PS has been suggested, slotting the motor above VW’s hottest 2.0 litre turbo engines.

It should be considerably more efficient than the existing naturally-aspirated 3.6-litre VR6 currently in use in the Volkswagen Touareg and Passat CC R-Line. Future incarnations of the two models or perhaps even the production CrossBlue seven-seater/coupe could debut the new engine in the next couple of years.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• benzs on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:10 am

Nice engine! But we only manage to admire coz it wont reach our country. Thumb up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Wisdom on Sep 30, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Open pod filters makes the engine look cheap/ ah beng style mod.

I prefers oem discreet intake/filters to retain its image.

• ABTguy on Sep 30, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Next, this engine will put into Audi and Porsche.

• maabas on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:34 am

Still admire VR4 from mitsu although old car,tech and etc….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Aiyo, Mitsu’s VR4 has nothing to do with Volkswagen VR engines la.

Mitsu VR4 = a trim name for their Galant.
      Volkswagen VR = staggered-6 engine (somewhere in the middle of V6 and inline-6 lol)

• D.I.Y on Sep 30, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Awesome.. VR series legend, this is how Bugatti Veyron came out with W16 engine

• Datuk on Sep 30, 2013 at 12:55 pm

still using DSG gearbox?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • Datuk's Son on Sep 30, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Aiya, everybody using it la – Mercedes, BMW, Audi, even Ford, Peugeot, Opel all using the same gearbox. If you are not happy, don’t visit this site. Go elsewhere…buy a Japanese car or Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • Datuk on Sep 30, 2013 at 6:04 pm

hye son, i know its ur dream car but make sure u have a time to spent at the VW sc. DSG problem will make u headache son. ouh btw i know ur 660 kancil always suit u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • BLT Club on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:04 pm

@Datuk’s Son
      VW uses a Borgwarner’s drivetrains. Merc makes their own.

BLT CLUB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • DIY Guy on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:02 am

“BLT Club”
        Actually Mercedes uses Getrag, while BMW also uses Getrag and Borg Warner, similar to the one used by VW. Only Porsche uses their own jointly developed unit with ZF.

However, ALL DSG units around the world have their own flaws, similar to early unit ABS units. In order to embrace new technology, sometimes we will all have to go through the initial hiccup process.

• tembikai on Sep 30, 2013 at 8:21 pm

What about its turbo setup, since two cylinder banks. I think almost same as subaru’s, unless this engine utilise twin turbo system.

• It is one head la not two. So packaging is similar to inline 6 with cyclinders closer together…