DRIVEN: 2013 Toyota Vios 1.5 G sampled in Putrajaya

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 008

Yes, it was time the game moved on. All automakers know that it’s a bad idea to lose the buying public’s interest – to have them saying that all cars look the same. So we’ve seen some gentle bumps and bulges in the norm-defying envelope as a bit of self-expression tries to break out. The Ford Fiesta and Chevrolet Sonic, to name but two.

But the trick is to be really bold and really mainstream simultaneously; to be truly outrageous with your biggest-volume product. It takes someone as big as Toyota to do that. And Toyota, after the turn of the Millenium, is not quite known to be forward-looking or edge-designing. But it’s confident now that it has done exactly that.

Recently, it was goodbye the well-loved executive-like XV40 Camry and hello the edgier, younger-looking XV50 Camry. Oh dear, the public isn’t quite ready yet, as the declining sales figures would suggest. Now it’s goodbye tedious and boring Vios, hello new, third-generation 2013 Toyota Vios. Are our streetscapes really going to look like that?

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 005

There’s no danger of mistaking the new Vios for anything else. It pushes this edge business as far as it’s safe to go. Further than Toyota did with the Camry softening-up exercise, but not quite as far as with the contrived and slightly overdone Lexus IS. It’s a largely successful redesign, avoiding many of the old Vios’ numerous stylistic downfalls.

From the outgoing Vios, it inherits enough of the rounded face not to look totally alien, but its profile and high-strutting stance are all-new for a mainstream B-segment family sedan. The cabin is just as full of lines and sweeps, and there’s the newfound bump in refinement and comfort to think about, too.

The 2013 Toyota Vios has just been launched in Malaysia, and as expected, there’s already a long queue at every Toyota dealership in the country. Should you join the line, though? That’s what we’re about to find out.

Undoubtedly the biggest car launch of the year, bar Malaysia’s own Proton Suprima S, the new Vios sports a new look that is light-years ahead of its predecessor. That’s important, because Toyota, beyond anything else, makes much of the new car’s athletic looks rather than its actual athleticism.

Automotive enthusiasts, including those that are reading this, incline towards the fast and entertaining, but don’t be encouraged by the sporty bodykit fitted to the car here. This is a top-level Vios 1.5 G automatic, the most rounded variant UMW Toyota sells. Above it is the TRD Sportivo model, which is the Vios’ optimum let’s-play guise, but adds little to the drive.

Thankfully, the extensive body add-ons are optional on all but the TRD Sportivo model. Let’s look at it as an attempt to make the Vios look less like a retiree-targeted sedan to begin with, but by the looks of it, UMW Toyota shouldn’t even have bothered. Like the Camry before it, the bodykit detracts rather than enhances the car’s basic shape, appearing more like an aftermarket project than an in-house design.

It really doesn’t look much like the old Vios that everyone loves to hate, does it? There’s no more thick-set rear three quarters, and those sleek lamps, both front and rear, really does visually lengthen the vehicle. The new car is actually longer than before, of course, by 110 mm, but it looks much larger than that.

Big, bold, quasi-rectangular headlights, similarly-elongated taillights hoisted high on the rear quarters, a waistline that starts high and gets higher without being awkwardly so, little chrome signatures all over… Clearly, a good time has been had at the design studios. It’s not what we’d call naturally beautiful, and you may call it something else, but it’s intriguing. As it’s a Vios. And it looks like that!

There’s function to the form, too. It certainly looks sleeker, that’s obvious enough, but it cheats the wind more efficiently too. It’s a lot more aerodynamic now, to the improvement of both fuel economy and cabin refinement. You’d expect a Toyota to excel in both departments, and this one truly does.

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 103

The new Vios is taller than the one it replaces, though it hardly appears so. It’s a good deal roomier inside, particularly in rear legroom. That’s a good achievement, considering the wheelbase has not changed. But you’re more likely to notice the dashboard, with its instrument panel back where it belongs rather than smack in the middle, as in the past two models.

There are a lot more fine detail changes than there is room here to describe. Lines, angles and sweeps, that’s the new idea, with a black and cream (or Ivory, as Toyota insists) combination that’s all too pleasing to the eyes. It’s a big departure from the basic just-all-you-needed approach in the last Vios.

It’s a fair bit more modern, then. Hard plastics pervade, but you do get a more refined finish on every surface that’s visible. The new steering wheel design is as good to hold as it is to see, with thick rims covered in soft leather. Pity that the plastics on the steering boss looks to have the worst finish in the entire cabin, ruining what is otherwise a fine interior for this class.

There’s an emphasis on perceived quality here. Everything looks premium. It’s straight-laced but high-class, right down to the leather “stitching” across the dashboard trim pieces. The illusion falls apart when you examine closely, knocking on each panel as you would in showrooms. The plastics used are all hard, but at least they’re nicely textured and good to the sight.

Toyota has gotten it right yet again, securing a huge improvement in the desired look and feel department. Well, maybe not the feel part. Yet, as far as showpieces go, this one nails it. If it looks premium, it is premium, as they say. Just don’t touch the fake stitching too much.

Let’s get a move on then, shall we? First thing you notice is the engine, because it’s remarkably quiet. That used not to be a strong point of the Vios, but fine detail updates to the engine mountings and sound insulation has almost silenced the motor. It has made a big difference. It spins up with barely a quiver, and delivers its power in an easy, evenly spread way.

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 053

Say all you want about it, but the 1NZ-FE 1.5 litre VVT-i engine is as reliable as they come, and it’s not that far down on power either. Its 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm are class-competitive, and Toyota claims a 5% improvement in fuel economy on what is already an efficient car.

The gearbox – yes, that old four-speed automatic transmission – is just fine in this application. The Vios’ target audience wouldn’t care if it had any more gears, so changing it would have been wasteful. It’s the same story with the engine. The tried-and-tested combination sells more than a technologically-advanced, yet unproven machine fitted with all new features known to man would. Just ask the Ford Focus.

It may not look pretty on the spec sheet, but it still works well within its limits and crucially, will continue to do so until the world ends, or when you chose to end it. Ten, twenty years down the road, a perfectly working car, any car, will look far prettier than those parked by the side of the road, halted, with angry-looking owners.

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 003

What is less known but is in fact undeniable, is that a four-speed transmission, if done right, is all you need. Nothing more, of course, but no less either. In the new Vios, the antiquated gearbox works better than before, fitted with updated software settings. The throttle uptake is far less rubbery, giving the engine better response and measured-by-the-seat-of-your-pants performance.

Shifts remain ultra smooth, unless you have the throttle pedal mashed on the floor, where you’d feel the large gaps of power surge between the slow gear changes. Drive it like you actually own the car (and put money on it) though, and it performs just as a well-executed comfort-oriented family sedan should: well-mannered, smooth, quiet and comfortable.

The new Vios is faithfully built on its hugely successful predecessor’s rock-solid identity. Much has changed in terms of looks, but underneath the fancy new metalwork lies the same old Vios running gear that thousands have loved and cherished. Remember the adage, “if it ain’t broke?” There’s simply no reason for Toyota to recreate what it has already established to be an immensely successful formula.

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 023

Next, the steering. Toyota has made much of its EPS advances over the past few years, but it hasn’t always given the last word in steering feel, despite their undoubted good manners. The new Vios’ helm, though, is the best expression yet of the technology.

It feels devoid of rubber interface, crisp and linear and exactly proportional in cause versus effect. You can’t feel what’s going on underfoot, but the point is that the steering is always faithful, whatever you do. You don’t react to it, because there’s nothing to react to.

The Vios is a car you’d least likely take for a back road blast, just for the hell of it. It’s just not that kind of car, nor would its owners have penchant for such inclinations. Though better than before, the Vios is neither incisive nor interactive enough through the bends, as reflected by its soft-edged but adequate power delivery.

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 025

You just don’t buy a Toyota Vios to go hard through every corner. If you did, then you’ve bought the wrong car. Driven as it should, there’s not much to comment on the car’s handling other than that it’s perfectly livable with. And to Vios owners, that’s just perfect.

The revamped suspension (still torsion beams in the back) is good at filtering out road noise too, and low friction moving parts help towards a ride which, despite having a firmer set-up compared to the old car, is as good as the squidgier-handling Nissan Almera.

It’s by no means sporty, this car, with a lot of elasticity in its handling and lots of suppleness in its ride. The latter is one of the Vios’ biggest strengths, as it does ride with a more confident, more accomplished serenity than its predecessor. Gone is the clunky, slightly crashy ride, replaced with a surprisingly sophisticated quality never before associated with an entry-level Toyota.

2013_Toyota_Vios_review_ 013

You’ve probably guessed the verdict. It goes well, handles predictably enough, rides fluidly, makes little noise and feels good to sit in and, most importantly, makes a big visual statement. The new Toyota Vios does all that, especially the last one. You can’t not have an opinion about this car, that’s how big of an achievement this is.

If there’s any doubt, the prices should clinch it. Yes, others may offer faster, cheaper, safer and better equipped alternatives (in some cases, all of them together), but the fact remains that the previous Vios was by far and away the leader of its class in terms of sales, and this new one is better in every possible way, without being any more expensive to buy.

It’s great to look at, or at the very least better than before, holds up to customer expectations to touch and is delightful to own and live with. On a visceral level, it’s not really in the running, but we know that already. Look at it this way: if it had a brand new engine and a six-speed gearbox, would a car enthusiast really want a Toyota Vios?

The 2013 Toyota Vios is, at the end of the day, a perfectly suitable choice for a large majority of motorists. It may not appeal to you or me, but to others, the Vios remains the obvious choice. With its grand new looks and improved road manners, rightly so too.

For full prices specifications, read our comprehensive 2013 Toyota Vios launch report here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• viosales on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:36 pm

The best ever launch car this year… Can beat city in every aspects

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 387 Thumb down 261
    • The Death Machine on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 596 Thumb down 1172
      • Death Machine 2 on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 658 Thumb down 1147
        • Suprimau on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 258 Thumb down 451
          • BMW BEST on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 354 Thumb down 555
          • Alpha on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 332 Thumb down 481
          • Suprimau. I think Real Real man don’t drive, they walk or run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
          • Annoynimouse on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 165
          • rational buyer on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 189
          • dixytorjan on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:35 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 237
          • Toyota Salesman So Clever on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:08 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 148
          • fredo on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:26 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 182
          • Proton Supporter All No Brain on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Agree, those hypocrite proton fanboys don’t sound a word when Saga also don’t have the 3 letter word VSC. Worst, they try to tipu the rakyat that Saga has 3 stars safety rating but the truth is it got only 1 star. Boo to proton and it’s brainless supporter…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 48
          • Singapore VIOS VSC ada! on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 184
          • Mana Ada? on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 215
          • VSC VSC Where Are you? on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 216
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 181

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 154
          • Proton Supporter All No Brain on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:23 pm

If VSC is so important, why same segment Saga don’t have VSC? So according to Proton Salesman theory above, Saga = Death Machine juga. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
          • Singapore VIOS VSC ada! on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 129
          • Proton Supporter All No Brain on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:57 pm

The price is due to your beloved G lah. You don’t know? Can if remove protection tax but who buys Saga then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • VSC VSC Where Are you? on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 236
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Malaysian kimchis come standard with VHL

Very HaiLat

• mrzero on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:48 pm

very stupid comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
        • Sam Loo on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:43 am

Finally, the new legend has arrived.

Hafriz, can i know the estimated fuel consumption for this car?

I need this data so that i can outsell this car to meet UMW Toyota target.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
          • Terryble on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 140
          • megatron on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 176
          • Singapore VIOS VSC ada! on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 225
          • VSC VSC Where Are you? on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 253
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:57 pm

That is not the real Sam

• guest on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 185
        • alldisc on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:27 am

you do not know anything called as crumple zones?

let me help – all modern cars have this designed crumple zones to divert impact energy away from passenger cabin. that is how good it is.

and in your wife’s case – the boot is empty while the cruze has an engine as part of its structure.

you need to read more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:22 pm

K5 and Cerato is known as the 21st Century kamikaze.

After these rotten cabbages gets valuated, the owners will by default have the suicidal instint

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 251 Thumb down 104
        • VSC VSC Where are you on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:31 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 311
        • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Actually, you have to read the fine prints.

Kimchi gives you VHL instead of VSC.

VHL = Very HaiLat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Sam is rite. All Koreans have VHL as standard.

VHL-Very HaiLat

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:58 pm

VSC for sushi

VHL for kimchis

Its stands for Very HaiLat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • SamTheDaiLanNgong on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:34 pm

If Hyundai/Kia are Very HaiLat, then you are SHL, Super Hai Lat to think that Hilux and Vios are the best car because they can have so good RV that make you become SHL. What a nerd. And Sorry, i Don’t drive Toyota or Hyundai/Kia. I am driving BMW

• Agree – sick with mostly youngster those i met driving vios on the road are act like riding the safest car in the world. To be honest, i think Preve are safest than this car…although am not fan of this two cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • OMG…Better buy the facelift H.City full spec with vsc with 8k rebate than buying this crap without vsc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
        • alldisc on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:28 am

8k rebate? really??

only desperate businessmen gives huge discounts to move stocks. clearly honda city is not selling well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Actually, as an ex-kumchi owner, I have to say that all Korean Cars come with VHL instead of VSC

VHL-Very HaiLat

• hondaman on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Have you ever seen a CT used as a Taxi? No right… because CT got class, next year new model will tapau this “ikan keli”os.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 20
      • No VSC on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 346 Thumb down 546
        • Suprimau on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 147
          • Aidil Azhar on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:26 pm

I Guess u are too old mr suprimau… ur comment looks so traditional.. go and buy old toyota KE20 then..no VSC,, suited so called real driver like u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
          • Vader on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:42 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 148
          • vk9545 on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:36 am

Lol what a joke. So the ultimate Driving machine has vsc ferrari has vsc so those car are not drivers car only this ugly dugong is the car that hardcore drivers drive right suprimau. What a fanboyism.

• 1NDecent on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:02 pm

I’d be more afraid of cars with too much electronics. You’ll never know when that VSC is gonna go haywire on a straight line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
          • armandd on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Probably 20 years ago, people were afraid of airbags too, because they thought those things would pop out suddenly while driving!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:19 pm

If its Japanese electronic, then your worries are over.

If its Euro or Kimchi, stay away at all cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • salambangi on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Hafiz, your review is unmistakably pro-Toyota. Long winded intro like Clarkson and long discussion on the design but only two lines on the engine.You are trying to minimize the negative aspect of the car.
        YOU SHOULD BE FAIR.You were very critical of the Suprima. Your review of Vios is also devoid of passion as when narrating the Mazda 6.The car is just not as good but imbued with positive account TO SATISFY THE CAR CO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 129
        • efrny on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:57 pm

I agree, I don’t know how to disagree you. Just I hope it’s compared with other cars in same segment like city, saga or kia rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • See Zhanwei on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:26 pm

agree with you bro

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
        • Annoynimouse on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:38 pm

I personally think its a fair review.
          To compare with Suprima, I suggest a comprehensive head-to-head test drive comparison. Drive, technology, quality, everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
        • Clarkson on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:00 am

You want me to review your Suprima? You won’t like it though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
        • fredo on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:29 am

yep, sounds like it….
          just say “ITS OK TO USE THE OLD 4AT AND ENGINE SINCE ITS A TOYOTA” la…. thats the message he wanted to deliver actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:23 pm

So, kimchi owner should be proud that they have VHL in their cars by default

VHL-Very HaiLat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Please equip with VSC to beat the City. For sale..yes vios can beat bcos of the J specs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Yeah, and it makes my used kimchi yard stocked with near new kimchis at record low prices

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 14
      • Vader on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 302
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:25 pm

D and C Segment kimchi owners are threatened by a B-Segment Vios.

This is very interesting, but K5/Forte owners being shown at least 2 Hilux is inevitable

• Sam Loo Loser on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 348
    • hollyfish on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:28 pm

This car can beat City in every aspects? With its dated engine and gearbox? Or its seat wrapped with TRD badge? You sure or not?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 245

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 173
    • Can see many vios fanboy here that doesn’t like it when vios kena critic. Hahaha. They really think driving a vios means they made it in life. . Ka pui! Wake up u chow ah Beng. Gong kia drives vios, understand u Si beh knn gong kia!

• It’s really bad that Toyota claimed better fuel efficiency in this new model when it’s NOT! No complaints abt the comfort, style n nice drive from this car but the fuel efficiency is worst than the earlier version.

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Finally this beauty is up in the market. I wouldn’t say its the best car in the market, but its bang for the buck car. Lets see what this car has to offer (alternative Paul Tan review that would never be published)

1/ Sleek exterior styling – in some ways reminds me of the new Aventador on how the lower bonnet and side profile connects with each other. 5 star job by Toyota, a kick to the face of the ‘supposed’ best designer Peter from KIA, what a shambles the k3 is compared to the beautiful Vios.

2/ Reliable tech – the decision to use the old technology is a strange one but makes sense. Why fix something that is reliable and works brilliantly? I’ve not come across any Toyota that breaks down in my life, and theres a simple explanation to this. Reliable Tech. Unlike KIA who churns out technology which I doubt they understand or knows how to utlize, I see a broken KIA as much as I see an obese person on Malaysian streets.

3/ Interior – One of the most innovating in its class, and one would be proud to be sitting in all day before the health and safety officers come pulling you out in fear of the driver committing suicide. A bucket loads of high technology only found in German Marques like GPS, push start button, soft plastics etc. Toyota has done this well. Compare to the more expensive k3 which doesn’t even come with GPS and a puny screen, this is basically a ‘fck you’ sign to Peter’s KIA by the ever brilliant and innovative Toyota engineers

4/ Safety – many has bragged about how the Korean has more safety features. But does it really matter? Its a chicken an egg story basically. If you are a lousy driver and relies solely on the car’s safety system, you are basically fighting fire, instead of preventing it and hence you are better off the road from dangering other users. A good driver doesn’t need these fancy ESP or whatever jargon the automotive industry has been throwing to us, all you need is airbags, and 2 is more than enough. It’s a fact in the past that the rate of accident is much much lower than we have now, and the reason is the drivers are too dependent on the car, instead of the skills. So this car is a true drivers car, without needed much interference or false security by the many techs being thrown into a beautiful piece of engineering marvel called the Vios.

5/ Price – a contender with the k5 and yet half the price, what more can I say? the Koreans have been short changing the Malaysian market for so long and its time to put a stop into this. Get the vios or other similarly priced Japanese car for a better ride, comfort and safety for you and your family.

I could go on and on, but out of respect to the brilliant reviews posted in this article, I would stop here.

One final word. Avoid smelly Kimchi, stick to delicious and healthy Sushi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2201 Thumb down 458
    • Brace yourselves,

Pro-Kimchi/Nasi lemak and Anti-Sushi comments are coming !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
    • 666devil on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 331
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:30 pm

My modus operandi is only to make profit from sorhai owners that buys kimchis brand new.

And I always encourage more people to buy new Hyundai’s, not Kia’s. Reason is simple.

Sonata and Elantra has better turnover rates with a much healthier margin.

K5 and Forte/Cerato owners are always shown at least 2 Hilux. 2nd hand market has very little demand for them

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 30
        • Masakrotingok on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 206
    • mamamia on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:35 pm

this is macai toyota vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • prayboy on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 183
      • Neutral on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Only people without money but wanna “face” will take loan up to 9 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 8
        • Yes meh? So you look down on poor chap la ?? U sure u earn ur money honestly ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • jason on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:51 am

not really. there are some with money who deliberately take a 9 yr loan. they may be using part of their income for other things. i know one who took a 9 yr loan for an Almera who will probably become a millionaires by the time she’s forty. her colleagues and friends don’t know it but her personal bankers and family members and relatives do.in fact her debt service ratio is among the lowest i’ve seen for someone with her background (professional,high savings and investment,no dependants etc).

people are quick to judge a person by the car that they drive, not realising that although the car is ‘mediocre’, he/she could’ve afforded something better but chose to use his/her money for something else.

believe me when I tell you, not all blokes with a 9 year car loan have little money and not all blokes driving expensive cars have money. ask AKPK!

• Gud luck being a slave of bank for another 9 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • achocho on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:50 pm

This car is “high class luxury car”? Seriously?

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 145
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Just admit that Sam just showed you the Hilux

Short term pain, long term gain.

Get rid of that carcinogenic kimchi once and for all

• BMW BEST on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Walao A how can your imagination even connect an Aventador to this junk?!The outgoing Vios is still better looking than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • josh ling on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:18 pm

agree on the aventador part, he has gone too far. but there’s no way the previous gen vios is better looking than the current one. sorry, 1000% NO WAY!!

• JohnDi on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 137
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:33 pm

If you do, always consider a used unit. Very dai mai.

Someone else has been shown the Hilux :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
    • William on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Bro.. From your post keep bashing Korean cars and make Toyota like god car. Different manufacturer have different strategy. If its all same, what choice would we have left? Vios will serve very well as a reliable economical car. Yes why economical? Because RV is higher (than proton, no doubt) hence the statement.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Sam does not bash kimchi. He just trades them for a living.

I might join him soon, as kimchis are traded in at very low prices and sold with a healthy margin, with the exception of Kia

• jontyan on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:00 pm

I’m a Maserati fan. Your views are so not Maserati..”official” some more..Please change your name to Mercedes or whatever..but well, I can’t control you..so I guess I’ll just have to accept a Maserati poser is in the house..appreciate your opinions..but from someone named Maserati (official)? haihh…

• See Zhanwei on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 158

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 169
    • Terryble on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Bang for bucks?? Come on~~u must be joking~~

Interior most innovating of its class??!!!?!?!?! oh my god~~please save him~~

Contender to K5?? What?? and where??? Can u actually read and process info correctly?

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Wow, K5 owner so desperate?

K5 is D-Segment, and he is afraid that a B-Segment Vios can swing buyers away from the D-Segment kimchi

All I can say is that Kia comes with DVHL as standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • rational buyer on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Agreed that vios provide better ride and comfort especially in term of reliability. But safety, seriously ??

“A good driver doesn’t need these fancy ESP, all you need is airbags, and 2 is more than enough.”

Now I guess even UMW remove the rear sensors or whatever blablabla, some toyota fanboys will still say

“A good driver doesn’t need these fancy crap sensor, all you need is side mirrors, and 2 is more than enough” ??

• sutheshkumar87 on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Just ask the Ford Focus?

Lets see, the second gen uses a 2.0 and paired with a 4 speed auto. The current one uses the same engine but in comes the GDI and the transmission is a 6 speed DCT.

Now, that is a change. The Vios still sports the same drive-train after years. So what gives here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 49
    • someone on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:15 pm

I think what he is trying to say is, Ford Focus is far more advanced than the previous Focus, but that doesn’t guarantee good sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Onanimous on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:23 pm

The tried and tested combination: that sells more than a technologically advanced, yet unproven machine fitted with all new features known to man would.
      The tried and tested (Vios)
      The technologically advanced blablabla (Focus)
      Obviously Vios outsold Focus. That’s what the author meant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • sutheshkumar87 on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Ah noted. But either way, tried and tested TOO long I should say? On the topic of the Focus, it never sell as much as the Fiesta or the Vios since we are in the topic here but do note that I have seen many 3rd gen running around than the second gen, though the latter sales increased with the introduction of the TDCi

Not much of the technological advancement which leads to sales here. Its just whether you want to be safe or different.

• The Original Maserati on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:46 pm

WHY change something that is even better than those junk KOREAN 6 speed gearboxes?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 111
      • JohnDi on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 213
      • JohnDi on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 135
      • See Zhanwei on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 206
    • Carnut on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:25 pm

The Ford focus is a nicer car to drive for sure but buyers that Toyota target are totally different. They want a no fuss car that is reliable and comes from a brand they trust. In this respect they have done well.

Ford’s dual clutch gearbox are very touch and go, and I don’t think they are everyone’s cup of tea. Plenty of complaints about jerkiness at low speeds etc. Its nice if you understand the underlying technology and drive it the way it should be driven, but general car consumers don’t care.

• b sensible on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:58 am

why compare focus with vios…the former is global car which is available in every corner of the world so the specs are standard accross the board no matter which geographical locations. the latter is targeting south east asia so the specs are tailored made for the region. so don’t compare the 2 models side by side as they are targeting different market altogether!

• You guys just doesn’t get it isn’t it?
      Our dear Hafriz Shah is not comparing car specs, he just meant a technologically advanced car (like the Focus) is not getting sales as much as a normal average one like the Vios lah.

• Kalun on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 262
  • rotikacang on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:44 pm

no more “dugong” look, looks more civilised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
    • JohnDi on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:47 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 189
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux (again) on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:37 am

As long as you don’t get a new kimchi, you will not have the Hailat look when Sam points you at the Hilux

• jack azhar on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:48 pm

katy perry front,selena gomez end,demi lovato in but auntie rosmah guts…wat da fish…sigh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
  • Please kindly write the article in normal human English language. The car though, lain kali lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • Chow 1 on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Sorry, can you explain what this mean: “So we’ve seen some gentle bumps and bulges in the norm-defying envelope as a bit of self-expression tries to break out. “?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • The vios update finally here……interior i dun like the instrument panel and steering design is a bit off, the old steering look much better….. exterior is stylish and aggressive..

New camry is here…….new Vios is here……when is the new Altis….that will be my next car……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Aerro on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Real winner drives Vios. A symbol of success, hard work able to pay 10% deposit minimum RM7K. Much easier to get wife too.

Only losers buy syok sendiri crap car at zero down payment 9 yrs loan. Normally ladies rejected these losers too.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 144 Thumb down 180
      • zamer on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 221
      • BMW BEST on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Aiyo real winner drives Vios ka?I also have a Vios in my garage and that’s mean I’m driving it,but I still have time to trolling with you in Paultan,am I consider as a winner?Don’t make joke la pal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • oblong on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Real winners @ Real Driver got driver to drive for him bcos he only fly Gulfstream on weekend hahaha!

• kimchiorsushi on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 178
    • Aerro on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:10 pm

It’s OK you can keep your old Saga.

And you cannot afford Vios anyway so why bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Go for a new kimchi, your face will be HaiLat ugly when Sam shows you his Hilux

• *grabs popcorn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 196
  • totti on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:02 pm

I never take a look or test drive a vios since the inception of Vios from 2003 onward because I am more attacted to the Honda City DSI during year 2003 with beige colour interior.

But this one really caught me by surprise with the good proportion external design (not big and not too small) and the internal dashboard look great if compared to other B segment car but not outstanding.

I prefer those gear/brake divider console to be higher than the front seat to look more luxury.

I will test drive it and compared with the Honda Jazz. Hope this new design with bullet proof engine can convince me to change car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • wendy on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:04 pm

nice review hafriz, u did your best to avoid argument between japs fan vs full spec korean fan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Vishnu Anand on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Broheim, personally I felt that this… is a well-worded review. Fair, just and and oh-so-diplomatic ;) Kudos man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • downsys on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Overall, the new Vios looks good, apart from the DRLs, which look too much like an after-thought, just like to Camry. Luckily, cheaper variants don’t have it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Aerro on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Gerenti Toyota become top 2 sales this year or next year!

Syabas in advance to UMW Toyota! Keep up the good work OK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
  • There was a saying in the international forums on Toyota sedans: picture yourself finding your toaster or microwave oven broken, you go into the store and get a new one, you don’t look at brand , you just see that it is familiar and you just get it, that can be said with Toyota’s customer, it’s just a natural way to get a appliance that can fetch you from A to B as fuss-free and un-emotionally as possible. It’s a natural, fuss free choice.

Same can be said with this, The power plant thou old is still bloody reliable and, do buyer care weather it performs? Chances are no, it conserve fuel and it moves the car, that’s all matter. The brakes slows the car, the radio plays the music the ride is comfortable. Basically as a product, it’s a step up from the old, the interior looks better(it has dashboard stitching, thou nothing much it does bring and upmarket feel) there is a step up in refinement and at least there’s standardize safety set up across the range(thou they are all dismal but it beats the ‘poorer you are, the riskier your life’ option the others are giving). It’s not a bad car, it’s just that there are better ones out there, overall I kinda like the change in attitude UMW is giving(how little of it). It’s an improvement, it’s still playing catch up in the pack, but at least there’s some catch up.

And thank you for putting the meter at the right place now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • bvc100 on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:57 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 106
      • I too do not like to live boring life (some say I maybe even genetically incapable). But that dosen’t mean we can shunt those who does. There is a huge majority of the population that view cars as no different to how most view our Fridge or Microwave oven, its nothing more than an appliance, and a Vios fills that duty nicely, a reliable, trusty little appliance that does its job, nothing more. Problem with the Vios is this, theres the ALmera and that does the same job as the Vios but it is cheaper and maybe even bigger.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Good idea. Buy a new kimchi now.

Your life will be full of undesirable exitement until the day you get rid of it.

The last round of exitement would be Sam showing you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • JeremyNg on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:18 pm

“You don’t buy a Toyota Vios to go hard through every corner. If you did, then you’ve bought the wrong car. ”

Look like they are many people bought the wrong car ! saw many Vios owner tackle corner like Type R

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
    • Enthu on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Yeap. But you gotta hand it to the 1NZ-FE though, it’s pretty punchy in city driving.

Note: against its similar priced competitors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • motorhead on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:21 pm

As a vios owner.. I must say.. Vios is a good product.. Very reliable, economy & fast enough. I am proud to own a 2006 Vios that equipped with Override button.. Which I think no longer available with the new models.. But this one look nice.. & finally.. The back seats can fold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • Proton… your Persona life is end it is time for you to show ur power to take down this Vios… ngek ngek ngek!
    however, to be fair, this vios interior does look nice and premium feel… so proton gambateh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • akatsuky on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:25 pm

design of this model is better than city and almera

i give 5 star on this model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 38
  • Abang & Adik on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Seriously , this is the car I want . Thanks Paul .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 30
  • RyanS on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 237
    • 666devil on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 272
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Consider the alternative.

Used kimchis are high spec and low priced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:13 pm

And I was a kimchi victim.

Now I can safely say that Sam will never show me the Hilux again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • dodgeviper88 on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Do you have any pictures without that hideous tumour-looking bodykits? All the pictures I’ve seen so far has bodykits on it.

• Leotown on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:35 pm

the car like the writer of this article is rather muted. why doesnt he jst say what he really needs to say instead of trying not to offend Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Datuk on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:37 pm

not bad at all but still 2003 engine & gear box, so this sushi or nasi lemak (preve)? myb its not fair to compare with inspira but from the spec and price given, i think inspira (sushi+nasi lemak) is better buy rather than preve and this vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Enthu on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:42 pm

As much as other keyboard warriors like to bash this car, its gonna sell like hotcakes.

Not that buyers who are loyal to Toyota does not wanna change, but Toyota is still living up to its name by providing satisfactory owner experience to them.

Until a day comes when a shitty new Vios joins the scene, this Vios will still climb the charts and dominate our roads.

I am a bit concerned for City though. It used to sell by “looking better” than the Vios previously. I don’t think it will now. To be honest i think it looks too dated and a bit too ah-beng-ish with the full bodykit-spoiler offer as well.

Vios > City/Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • hopefully city will give a discount… then i can buy this 1 instead of vios… :)

• Gamers will understand this.

The Vios is pretty much Call of Duty in a nutshell. Used to be awesome back in the day (CoD4 2007), everyone praised the online multiplayer like God. But after some time, Call of Duty got crappier (MW2 2009) and just when we thought it couldn’t get any worse, in came MW3 2011. The previous gen Vios is MW2/3. This new Vios is BO2 2012, it’s still not good enough, but not nearly as bad as MW3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 227
  • Bahomet on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:48 pm

It definitely shines… to make my car to look better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:55 pm

nice and fair review..it may not be the best handling car,the best spec car but it is the right car for majority of people..thats vios for you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
  • uncle H on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Seriously, this car look more cool without the body kit. the body kits make the car looks like ikan keli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • milano on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 191
  • nowadays when i read paultan review, i just skip straight to the comments part, coz i really cannot understand what the writter want to expressed.
    the sentence just complicated and long winding until i finish reading, i just dont know this vios is good or bad.
    or it meant to be like that?can just use simple language that is understand by human.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 6
    • Hahhaha on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Thumbs up for this comment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:01 pm

I understood most of it just fine. He’s trying to be unbiased in the review (which is good. he’s not trying not to offend Toyota) and said that the new Vios is an improvement over the old Vios. Also goes on to justify why Toyota decides not to research and change the engine and the gearbox. Towards the end, he also acknowledges that there are people who desire more from their car for the price they pay but for the VAST MAJORITY OF MALAYSIAN CAR BUYERS, the Vios is all they need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:28 pm

If your eyes are sharp, Paul’s message in all his articles will have a subliminal message as below :-

“Kimchis have no RV”

• Henry Ford the XII on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Mana Mazda3 baru?

• Wilson on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:28 pm

can you do a review/test drive on the J Manual variant? the reason i am considering this car is because i like to drive Non-local & affordable vehicle with manual transmission.

• No doubt, the new vios is beautiful. Most of Malaysian will still buy this because of economical and reliability aspects. Only pure car enthusiast will not fall into this trap ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • The Original Maserati on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Its flattering when so many people are trying to use my nick probably to garner alot of likes .

Anyway,back to the story,this VIOS looks superb! I had a go in it recently,and its such a nice car to drive!

Yes,people like those KOREAN fanboys will hate this car ,but I can tell you that it is so much nicer to drive compared to the Elantras,Fortes,Ceratos and whatever Korean JUNK that is available in the market now.

Its such a smooth operator and the moment u step on the gas,it just goes without any hesitation.

Yeah,the Koreans will come fully loaded with kit but whats the point when the car drives worst than a 20 year old Honda Civic?

This VIOS is so going to destroy the HYundais and the KIAS out there! Its going to destroy them so badly that they probably will stop selling junk korean cars anymore .

As a conclusion,this Vios trumps its competitor in every way. To put it simply, its a great all rounder which is even nicer to drive than a HONDA CITY.

So Korean fanboys out there,just face it. Your cars are not good enough! You may think they are good,but they are in fact utter rubbish.

TQ

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 403 Thumb down 114
    • 666devil on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 214
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Many K5 and Cerato owners were comparing their D and C segment cars with a B Segment sushi.

That immediately tells you how inferior kimchis are.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 46

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 202
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:28 pm

After Sam showed me the 2 Hilux, I am now no longer gonna be a sorhai that buys new kimchis.

Its either used kimchis or sushi.

• Jilbaber on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:06 pm

I got one technical question though, I notice most cars nowadays (doesn’t matter which brand) with transverse engine has their intake manifold in the front and exhaust one on the rear…I wonder why, since this beloved country has tropical climate, does it more suitable if it other way round for efficient cooling..

• mystvearn on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Hafriz, can I know what kind ICE system does the car use? What kind of maps? Easy to update or not?

Also, how much does this weight (KG) compared to the outgoing model? Having peak PS at 6k RPM and Nm at 4.2k RPM is kind of useless as you want peak power at lower RPMs

• gulator on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:03 am

Yeah I was about to ask same qustion when I read this. Hafriz please answer. Preve/Suprima has high/flat torque at lowish RPM. How’s it fair against lighter car like Vios?

• battu on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Em kinda tasteless review here. I do agree vios is the best selling car out there, but why not showing that we want some improvement, instead of taking it as it is?4 speed auto, no matter how reliable it is, is damn old. People whine when iphone 5s does not bring much improvement, and here we, and a professional car reviewer gladly accept what is basically the same damn car in nicer clothing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • Budweiser on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:29 pm

J Spec and TRD Spec. 20k price difference. What???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • lanjan on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:12 pm

It is just plain rip off. The same engine and safety kit but huge price difference. Furthermore no VSC with that as VSC is beyond skill.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • lazyf on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:33 pm

The bodykit itself makes this car looks VERY UGLY!!!

• paparadzi on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:36 pm

The best thing about the 2014 Vios is that it doesn’t makes my 2008 Vios S totally obsolete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 74
    • Peter on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:24 pm

You got a point. People buy Toyota over other brand just like getting iPhone over any other options. I’m surprise how tolerable toyota fans are to the skin changing upgrade. I don see they pardon other car review who use the same platform for more than a decade … touted as ’why chg the already perfect 4-speed’!?

• Jack Tan on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:48 pm

How does toyota claim 5% more efficient on fuel consumption better than previosu gen. ? Same engine, same gearbox, same technology !! o0o

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • cuntlies on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Refining and tuning on the engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
    • Obviously on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Read carefully. Lower car weight. That 60kg might not seem like much but you try carrying 6 sacks of 10kg rice.

Also, as above, engine and transmission refinement and tuning.

• miskin on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:55 pm

seperti mana yang aku pernah katakan.. kutuk la hapa pon.. menatang ni tetap akan laku jugak….

• dino years on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 226
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:06 pm

You really sounded like me when I was driving a cabbage.

Its OK, just get rid of the cancerous kimchi once and for all and get on with life

• Kapcai on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Writer is toyota butt-licker or maybe macai vios? So much perfect here n there for a kosong car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • think on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Currently , I feel like the review of a car is quite lengthy and slightly frustrating to read . Especially this review is very lengthy with less info . I hope future reviews to be straight forward with less words to describe something..The review should focus on driving characteristics and mainly fuel consumption .Currently paultan reviews comes mostly without info on fuel consumption . I hope that my comments is considered. tq. think..

• cuntlies on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:59 pm

I feel like the writer write and read by himself. A bit too shiok sendiri.

• supra 1.5 on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:17 pm

keluar kilang dah ahbeng car.. belum masuk workshop ahbeng lagi.

• Don’t play-play. With TRD sticker it adds 20hp, goal post spoiler adds 30hp, 18″ tyres and rims adds 20hp etc etc etc. The total is 400hp, wow can beat Golf R anytime anyday. But the best thing is : IT CAN FLY!!! LOL

• The Huns on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Change looks, minimise cost, maximise profit…smart UMW Toyota!

• 666devil on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 145
  • langdon on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 375
    • rational buyer on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:15 am

Some ABeng ASeng out there just don’t appreciate the importance of ESC though, claiming good driving skill alone can save their ass in the accidents.
      I guess they are just expecting every driver out there in Malaysia are having superb driving skill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Just get a new kimchi.

It comes standard with VHL

• NISSpengAN on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:08 pm

My mighty Nissan almera better than this 100x

• antitax on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:16 pm

both vios and city actually don’t need VSC loh.. even many 90’s cars are much more powerful LOL

• fair critics on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 272
    • bystander on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:00 am

Fair critic indeed, couldn’t have agreed more coz I was also a Vios owner, now a Mazda’s.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 115
        • Spot on. From its inception, (Soluna to vios), this product has always been a low-cost Toyota for the SEA market. It caters to people who aspires to own a Toyota at a affordable price at the expense of some quality/features. The engine and transmission is used in the first gen hipporolla and personally, it is fine for everyday driving even though it is old tech. Thing is, the price is not exactly affordable now.

• The Ugly Chink on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:20 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 206

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 207
    • 666devil on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 177
  • bystander on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 214
  • kns sam loo on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 143
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:30 pm

I will be handing out a lot more to my team for pushing down the trade in prices of 1 year old kimchis and selling them at great margin.

• norman on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Thats because you get Asean Toyotas not the real JDM or Europe Toyotas,Quality is way apart although engine is so called bulletproof.To be frank customers aint ignorant nowadays and in fact theyre smart,They got something call google and even an old timer know whats traction control,Edb let alone abs,They expect 2 airbags even for base model

• sepul on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:38 pm

It only lacks a VSC. Other than that, for a Vios, it is nice enough for the target market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Allen on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 109
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:17 pm

But Koreans have VHL as a standard feature in all their cars

Very HaiLat

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 188
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:53 pm

I have been shown the Hilux before.

If you wish to follow the humiliation I have encountered owning a kimchi, please go ahead and get a new unit

But if you are a smarter sorhai, get Hyundai instead of Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Denaihati on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:57 pm

i agree with you, Vios will remains the obvious choice. anyway, good luck to toyota malaysia.

• roxas on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:50 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 169
  • 2013 Vios..NO VSC, 2 airbags only, old engine and gearbox,NO camera… around Rm80k++ ! worth ?? sor hai OFFICIAL Maserati sure say worth ei…coz he only know eat sushi only…diu !!

• lanjan on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:36 am

As expected, still using old techs and not provide safety feature VSC which is becoming the norm, at least to the highest spec. It is funny to think that their motto is ‘moving ahead’.
    With 20K between base and high end variant, it is outrageous, should get bigger engine with that amount. Just compare with any D segment , 2.0 and 2.4,it is just about that much money but with more features/extras. It is not just a rip off but an insult.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 185
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Your face will look so hailat that mama won’t even recognize when Sam shows you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • dixytorjan on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:39 am

People will still choose vios because they want to show their richness.. Not making any sense buying this kind of car.. The price is not reasonable

• Aerro on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:26 am

No money you go buy Saga SV lah. Bising-bising here for what? Pathetic loser you ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Sparcov on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:50 am

I like the design
    toyota, can you upgrade the drivetrain too?
    Otherwise, I do not know whether i should trade my preve for this.

• Obsev on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:11 am

Too much comments….lets face it realistically, Malaysians majority can only afford medium cars like vios city

• azrai on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:29 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 132
  • Chris 7speed on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:55 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 163
  • omanjedi on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:53 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 195
  • Rojak on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:23 am

I really can’t accept the bumper design, sticking pieces here and there. It didn’t look any good design as from now compare with other maker. If they make it full pieces bumper design then it will look nicer. It have many model since Altis & Camry launch, but Toyota still never realize it is out dated design. Sound to me, they thought their sell still strong, and reluctant for the change.

• Heskey on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:44 am

Wow…… Just wow

• Racerace on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 225
  • Jieqiang on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Why never turn on LED/DRL?

• So shame, engine only puny 1.5l also want to put DRL, lol. This is joke of the year.

• HYUNDAI on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:40 pm

WAH, SO MANY PPL HATE IT, BUT…..WHAT EVER YOU SAY, LOVE IT OR HATE IT, IT WILL STILL SELLLLLL LIKEEEEEEE AAAAAAAAAAA HOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT CAKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

AND IN COMING YEARS, VOIS STILL SELL WELL, DON’T HOPE FOR ANY UBAH. LAIN KALI TUNGGU LAMA LAMA LAH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Kakak Ipar on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:54 pm

I went to book this new vios , the SA said his quota of cars was fully taken , if i really wanted it , i might have to wait for the January 2014 shipment . After discussing with Abang Ipar , I decided to book it .But SA said ,” if you really don’t mind , I can secure a 1.5G spec for you from February shipment .” I was misled by bad hats that this car would not sell and tend to take my sweet time looking for a bargain.Now sales figure proves everything .Facts speak louder than words.BAD HATS, just get LOST ,will you ?

• omanjedi on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 144
    • What shipment? Unless your are from Sabah or Sarawak, there will be no shipment as Vios is locally assemble. Obviously the SA is either lack of knowledge or he is trying to cheat by saying Vios is an imported car.

• HighwayStar82 on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Was torn between vios and attrage but now we have fiesta sedan. hmm.. vios is popular(who cares abt the specs, it will still sell well).. fiesta is bigger than the 3 and it think has the best technology.. attrage is cheaper and very economical but 1.2l engine. I never considered almera coz its just too unattractive.

Tough choice. What would you go for? help me out here.

• Suprima S, loaded with gadgets plus 1.6l turbocharged engine and CVT gearbox, leaves all others behind, hahahahah

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:54 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, Sam will not show you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • We need keep complain ahhaha, later toyota will give VIOS VSA with rm17 increase ( just like Campry Case)

• 666devil on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 221
  • rationale on Oct 05, 2013 at 6:45 pm

smells like TEANA from the back…

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Wow a must buy car! Confirm excellent RV!

• bmw & audi on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:36 am

i only go for german made (325 & A4) …full stop…..VIOS CRAP..

• baik naik LRT kalau semua kereta crap!! on Oct 09, 2013 at 2:27 pm

your comment looks like you know how to produce a good car…meehhhh :P

• “You just don’t buy a Toyota Vios to go hard through every corner. If you did, then you’ve bought the wrong car.”

In my humble opinion, then they might have overdone with the car design of such a sporty look and the TRD badge on it. but its a free market. your choice (sushi, kimchi, nasi lemak, burger or whatever) Good to have different restaurants serving different foods isnt it?

• Aiya, I am thinking of trade in my poor 6 old years Viva for either this Vios, Almera, Suzuki Swift. Now see so many bad comments here due to “No VSC” lah. So confuse now. Please advise. My budget is within RM80K range.

• nicola on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:20 am

pick Almera……the price difference between highest spec Almera and Vios G is staggering and both are Japanese makes so RV and maintenance shouldn’t be a problem. With the savings that you get from purchasing Almera rather than Vios, you’d be able to afford good sport rims and quality tinting to make the car look better. Just make sure you order the grey Almera with bodykit.

Mitsubishi Attrage may have better fuel consumption than Almera but it has poor RV whereas ALmera’s fuel consumption is better than Vios and it still has good RV.

test drive Almera, Vios, Suprima and Attrage first before deciding.

• No Innovation on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:25 pm

1NZ-FE, 109ps, 4 speed gearbox… Well played Toyota, well played… Might as well save more cost by not reprinting the brochures as the figures will be the same… I really pity Malaysians who are still stuck in the herd mentality. It is such a shame to see ppl paying so much for so little. The RV mentality should be constant in what value the car brings and not merely based on the simple assumption that it is going to be higher thus making the price for it higher. Not to boast, but I stay in a well known PJ area and I dont see many vios or camry around. This is probably ppl are firstly rich and they are more aware that why should they settle for less by paying more. (probably what makes them rich in the first place) I especially despise customer who has an old vios and yet you get the new model. Is there any point if the engine isnt going to be any better but just the looks of it.

I urge fellow Malaysians to have a more open mind when making a decision in buying their cars as we all know car prices isnt exactly cheap here. Get more for less and not less for more.

Cheers.

• anuar on Nov 03, 2013 at 9:59 am

LOL you guys why so butthurt??

Yes I know this vios use the old engine and gearbox, does not have VSC/ESP, only 2 airbags. But bear in mind that, this vios has a really cheap maintenance and a very reliable car. At the end of the day, my 5 years old vios will still have a really good RV than your conti/protong cars. What is the point buying a car with good specs but willing to spend most of the time in the workshop? Waiting for parts that take months to arrive?

“I drive a VW/Peugeot/Proton/Honda which is miles better that your outdated Vios” LOL then lets see who spend most of his time in the workshop.

My advise is to buy a car that will give you less headache. thats all!!!

Cheers!!!

• no need VSC?..what a bull shit..

hear my story…

my wife drove previous Vios from Seremban to melaka..via old tampin road..On that time got heavy rain & road bit slippery..& what happned he just got accident during corner @ 30 to 40 khr this car rolll over 3 time end with up side down..Luckyly no other car from the front.. Now i really hate car without vsc.. really gimme lesson.. Peaple dont got accident will not understand till they face it.I care bout my wife rather than car..Now i bought new kia with more safety feature..TRUE STORY!!!!

• Nicholas on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:11 pm

I don’t get those people who are bashing KIA and Hyundai, people around me whom bought Korean car don’t have any quality issue with their cars so why keep bashing them? But I do agree they are not so refined compare to Japanese car hence the extra kit and lower price…

• nowaday jpanese car like dugong car better buy kimchi car look attractive…thanks to hyundai sponsor the world cup football 2014