RM40 per hour parking rate suggested to reduce traffic

singapore-parking

Traffic in the Klang Valley isn’t getting any better, which is no surprise when one considers that over half a million new vehicles are released into the jungle that is our road network every year. High density developments are popping up everywhere to cater for the urban population boom (six million people in KL now, set to grow to 10 by 2020), and I shudder to think what our daily commute will be like a few years from now.

Something needs to be done to ensure KL roads don’t end up like Jakarta’s, and the work-in-progress Klang Valley MRT project can’t come soon enough. But the MRT alone isn’t enough, and our city planners are thinking of measures to ease congestion. One suggestion is to impose parking charges of up to RM40 per hour, Business Times reported.

According to Khairiah Mohd Talha, a board member for the Federal Department of Town and Country Planning, parking charges should be raised to encourage people to leave their cars at home and use public transport. This measure has proved to be successful in other countries, she said.

kl-city-jam

She said that Australia and Singapore charge A$40 (RM120) and S$40 (RM100) per hour, respectively, while in the USA, cities such as Boston and New York also charge US$40 (RM130) per hour. High parking charges would also help lower carbon emissions and create a safer environment, she added.

Now, we’re not sure if parking in these countries are as expensive as quoted, but public transport in Singapore and cities Down Under are much better than in KL, without a doubt.

The BT report adds that DBKL is currently reviewing parking needs in the city, especially in areas accessible to public transport. Mayor Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal said the review includes reducing parking lots as public transportation “rises”.

Reducing parking lots and charging high fees for limited spots, do you think this measure will be successful in helping ease congestion? Bear in mind that the MRT will be ready soon, and coupled with the existing LRT lines (extension underway) and KTM Komuter service, Klang Valley will have a decent rail network in terms of coverage.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maybe..but i doubt it will be successful since boleh people type that hard to crack in changing attitude..if MRT or LRT stop in front of house of all living soul in klang valley it can success

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 266 Thumb down 2
    • Roger Tan on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:26 am

You have a point there

Our park-right-at-the-doorstep culture has to change first

So often people choose to double park even if there is available parking a few minutes’ walk away

Their excuse? Sekejap saja! This is small town mentality that needs to be changed before the double parking menace is eradicated

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 1
      • Vote them.. yeah on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:54 am

DBKL is under state gov is it?
        So this high parking charge will benefit the state gov rite?

I cant imagine how expensive to live in Malaysia if they are going to rule the country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 87
        • Chris on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:37 am

I guess things will be more expensive for selfish and ignorant people; Less so for socially responsible ones.

I’m no saint, but I do think our boleh attitude need to change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • The TRUTH ABOUT JAMS on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:15 pm

This what happens when you allow incompetent people to give suggestions. The board member cannot understand basic things. I am a regular in city centre and I can tell you why jams happen. Nothing to do with volume of traffic. It has SOLELY to do with Yellow Boxes. Nobody respects the yellow box. Thus, when your right of way turns green, you have either a car or a bus in front of you blocking the way. This causes gridlock and the backlog can go ALL the way to PJ. This highly paid Board Member should just a trip to KL and see this for your self. No wonder traffic cannot move. London has more cars than KL and yet traffic moves. Why? There is enforcement. You don’t have police officers and DBKL officers just sitting in cafes and chit chatting.

Enforce the yellow boxes instead of sitting in cafes and chit chatting. Just like water flowing in the drains and rivers, traffic will flow smoothly. You don’t need highly paid town planners who waste public funds. We all have seen with our own eyes, when the traffic light turns green for even 1 minute, sometimes, only 1 or 2 cars can go through because the yellow box is full of cars. So, the same thing happens on the other traffic light when they are given way in a four way junction.
            This causes massive gridlock in the mornings and evenings. Besides cars, culprits are also the busses who block the yellow box.

You don’t need analysis or hundreds of thousands of ringgit paid to Board members to come up with meetings and analysis. This is simple ABC.

Another thing, make sure your polis and DBKL officers enforce the yellow boxes. the problem with Malaysia, even if enforcement is implemented, the Polis and DBKL officers when they catch you, all boleh “settle”. This will pose a major problem. So, what to do? We have to suffer with jams because we have no proper enforcement.

Let me reiterate again, ALL jams in KL are SOLELY caused by ONLY the yellow boxes in Kuala Lumpur. Honour the yellow boxes and you will see, traffic will flow well like Singapore and London. Yes, there will be volume and traffic will move slow, but at least, it will move.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 231 Thumb down 8
          • Mustapha on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:44 pm

This lady gets paid over RM20k per month to give suggestions like this? She does not even consider the GDP per capita of people in Malaysia. She talks about Australia and Singapore but do you know that the GDP per capita of the Singaporean and the Australian and the British person is about 5x more than the GDP per capita of Malaysians. What this means is simple, The Singaporean earns 5 times more than the average Malaysian. His spending power is 5 times more.

If our spending power is so low, this more will burden people even further. How she became Board Member? When she does not consider all the other facts about cost of living? Also, half of our money goes to paying our car loans because our car prices tak masuk akal. The Mat Salleh can pay RM40 per hour because, for example, his Toyota Camry 2.4 is only AUD$29,000 in Australia. And he earns about AUD$4000 to AUD$6000 per month (normal non professional jobs). He can pay off his car in less than one year. We need 7 years to pay off our loan because our Camry is RM180,000. In Australia, even the kuli or office buy gets AUD$30 per hour.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 6
          • andrewk on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Though I won’t totally agree with The TRUTH ABOUT JAMS being the SOLE contributers, but yellowbox offenders are most certainly one of the MAIN contribution to traffic congestion in the city.

Case in point, the 3 intersections of Jln Sultan Ismail, Jln P. Ramlee and Jln Raja Chulan – or what I like to call, the “Bermuda triangle of traffic jam”. All it takes is a few inconsiderate drivers to clog up ONE intersection. Then, all hell breaks loose (or in this case, shuts down).

The other contributors to traffic jams are illegal parking in the city. Blocks up one lane in an already congested city. Sometimes, I wish I drive a sherman tank… just plow thru all these illegally parked vehicles.

The other thing is also the busybodies who slowdown to look at accidents or cars breaking down. Sometimes, all it takes is one accident /car breakdown along a key road and jam can go back a few KMs…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
          • lithium on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:22 pm

adding to what “The TRUTH ABOUT JAMS” commented, the police are also part of the problem. i travel from jln tun razak towards smart tunnel everyday and our very smart police thinks it is a good idea to block the traffic lights at the rain tree club entrance to allow traffic from bukit bintang to turn out for a good 5mins or to block all the lanes in the tunnel underneath for 5mins even though the road ahead is empty. this cause traffic to back up all the way to ampang park and becos of this the traffic light doesn’t work becos cars are stuck at the yellow box. the same can be said for the area near pwtc……

half the traffic issue in KL is caused by the police. install smarter traffic lights and let them do the job – police and just ensure the cars obey the lights and yellow box.

raising the parking rates – hahahahaha. that will be the end of shopping district in KL. who would want to go to bukit bintang and pay rm40/hr parking when most of the shops can be found in outskirt malls? people might as well go to midvalley or pyramid or curve. ridiculous! when our public transport reach the level of sydney or singapore then you can do this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
          • Yeah but you forget both singapore and london enforce charges driving your car into the city area. In singapore you have the ERP tolls and London you need that coupon to drive through central london during peak hours if im not mistaken.

We need to properly plan our bus systems and have proper bus terminals not some half baked one taking up space on public roads.

Yellow boxes are one thing but i also work in the city and have to bloody go through tun razak everyday. RSGC traffic light to ampang park takes half an hour sometimes. The jam goes past PWTC and there’s really no yellow boxes in between it.

• If were to compare M’sia with SGP, AUS and US… Please make our public transport MRT/LRT more convenience or parallel with their standard then only think about rising parking. Those country living standard are lower than M’sia. Almost everyone are FORCE to drive here to work.

• 1st of all.. please make decent parking spot at lrt stations. then i have no problem using it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • JasonTan on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:03 pm

The Truth About Jams is right. There must be strict enforcement on the roads and drivers must behave. Most of the time, drivers that don’t queue, overtake from left, stopped at yellow boxes and weaving in/out of traffic causes the jams. When I was in Seoul, at evening though traffic is bumper to bumper but it moves because most drivers behave and follow proper queues. They will let you join the queue once you signal and drivers there don’t overtake from left or right but will always follow the right lane.

About the $40/hour parking charges in Singapore, I have been driving for 3 years in and out of Singapore but have not encountered any parking areas with SGD $40/hour. The most expensive is in Financial district and charges can be around $8 – 10 hr which is already quite high. In Singapore and HongKong charges are high because of lack of space not because of traffic. Singapore control traffic by ERP charges. When traffic volume are high, their LTA (authorities) will raise the charges and the highest so far is $6 per entry.

Controlling traffic by imposing various charges are good moves but the authorities must first ensure good public transport system are in place otherwise it will cause hardships to the rakyat. For example in Singapore, you can download an app into your phone with gps, it will be able to tell you the arrival time of the next bus or other buses. Bus and LRT companies have been slapped with fines for schedule delays and breakdowns. This year alone, read in the news $ 1.1 million in fines was imposed on train operators for breakdowns and delay. Whenever there is a breakdown of train services in Singapore, the operator will immediately provide alternative bus services to its commuters.

I think for a start the authorities should imposed on cars to pay on a monthly basis say additional entry fee of RM 150 for those entering CBD in KL. Those cars without the proper payment stickers will be fined if found inside the CBD. The authorities can always increase this charges whenever if traffic still is bad. Parking operators can also double charge those cars without CBD entry permits.

• DBKL is under Federal Territory KL which is under Pakatan. However that lady who suggested this stupid idea is not from DBKL. She is from some sort of department, under some sort of a federal ministry. Check your facts before making a comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 81
          • Good idea, if knowledge cannot change Malaysian attitude, so let their pocket money work on it..

• It is true that 9 out of 11 Parliament areas in KL is under Pakatan.

But to say that DBKL is under Pakatan, I’m sorry that DBKL does not work that way. DBKL is under Federal Territories Ministry, Headed by Umno’s Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 2
        • vk9545 on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:53 am

Yo bro which state government are u talking about? Kl is a federal territory under the control of putrajaya. Your from malaysia or any other country? Dont try to be brilliant and die hard support anyone.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 8
        • bystander on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:58 am

DBKL is under Federal Government as KL, Putrajaya and Labuan are considered Federal Territories.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
        • Bro, this isn’t about politics. We have to work together to solve a problem all of us are facing. I don’t think a change in government can reduce the traffic problems. I think its a good idea but it should be improved. Maybe a create a big parking space outside the city and have bus and mrt services from there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:07 am

IT IS about politics. Who runs public transport if not the government?

Our politicians’ lack of will to manage public transportation had left us in pathetic state, the majority of us simply couldn’t rely on it.

This force us to get car or motorbike. Motorbike is still not an option for most who treasures safety.

So car is the most practical option for most. But is it the best? No, theoretically, an efficient public transport is.

PR’s manifesto include allocating RM2 billion for purchase of bus, but noooo… nak juga undi BN, nah kau, minyak naik 20sen, bus network is still shit, tapi syukurlah negara aman. Terima kasih BN!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • Kemal Haleem on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:02 pm

DBKL/KL is under which state? Do you know what federal Territory is? Do you know why there is a federal territory? Do you know why KL mayor is not directly elected? Do you know anything at all about this country?

• flat_tire on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:54 am

DBKL is under state gov..? which state are you referring to..? the state of KL..? lol.. you must be a foreigner who had just received your IC biru not so long ago..

• anonymous admiral on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:13 pm

KL? State govt? Are you from mars??

• Metrobus - King of KL on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Khairiah Mohd Talha, sort your DBKL officers first. Metrobusses park anywhere they like and 2 lanes become 1 lane. But nobody dare touch the busses or saman them. Why? Are they owned by some Minister’s relative?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • Aaron on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:10 pm

If you look at things with different perception, one of the reasons Malaysians came up with the “park-right-at-the-doorstep” culture is partly because of the safety in Malaysia. Most people are afraid and prevent walking on the streets. It’s always unsafe and safety in Malaysia really does bother us.

So if the governments wants to alleviate this issue, they have two major things to improve on:
        1)Better public transport system
        2)Better security and safety

Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:05 pm

In developed countries, they bring buses, trains to your doorstep.

But ooops, efficient public transport bukan budaya kita. tak suka boleh keluar. Terima kasih pengundi BN for voting these incompetent goons!

• Aaron on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:11 pm

If you look at things with different perception, one of the reasons Malaysians came up with the “park-right-at-the-doorstep” culture is partly because of the safety in Malaysia. Most people are afraid and prevent walking on the streets. It’s always unsafe and safety in Malaysia really does bother us.
        So if the governments wants to alleviate this issue, they have two major things to improve on:
        1)Better public transport system
        2)Better security and safety

• megatron on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:53 am

true that…the young generations nowadays – their mindset is they want everything to be convenient

• Black Dog on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Actually all these congestion is created by DBKL, State and Govt themselves. They blatantly approves multi-million projects without a care about the traffic impact.

Malaysia is NOT Singapore, Hong Kong or New York. We have plenty of land. Just build further away from the city, why have to cramp all in one place? (possibly some kopi-o involve here). They even try to take over any park, forest, reserve land; whatever they can lay hands on to built more and bigger. I dread to think what will happen when all those multi-billion projects come on stream.

A lot of cities in Australia practise density management for a better quality of life. NOT TO PACK EVERYBODY IN SARDINE CANS!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
        • khairulx19a on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:45 pm

agree, not only KL, i think around Klang Valley suffer the same problem also…

• RosmahMansuri on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Mama kalau parking mahal, mama tak guna kereta..
      mama naik basikal, usung naik LRT.. lepas ni mama kasi MRT untuk uols… chill ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • tricycle on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Why not make it RM400 per hour or RM4,000 per hour. Make more sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • vyseus on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:22 pm

As a frequent traveler to KL. I would not mine to park and take the public transport, if the service is up to par with those country she mention. I really do want to save my money than pouring it to the government to spend it on things that are not a necessity ( you get what I mean ). Anyway, our public transport is quite horrible most part of the area. Not to mention people who live 30-40 KM away from KL and have to work in KL. Their side may not have a reliable public transport service.

Someone should serve up these people with their tail stuck between their leg. Than they will know why we have to drive to work.

on the other note. Who here buy a 5000 Ringgit worth of scanner for 100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • anynomous admiral on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:26 pm

vyseus.. I want to give you 1,000,000 likes if I can!

• Hameed Koyakutty on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Aku memang setuju sangat…..lagi cepat kerajaan sekarang pergi jahanam!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Greedy 1M on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Make it simple, Government can build alot of cheap flats/studios only for rental RM100 per month contact “whole life” all over Klang Valley that near ppl offices with MRT & LRT, then even solve problems like resale value and traffics. Government pls use our money wisely and not into your own pocket!!!

• Ahmad Zafir on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:15 am

Get rid of those damn Metrobusses, and all other bus service that smog up the road, let the good new busses service the entire klang valley, speed up their services, and we will having something like brasillian or rio where the bus service is that efficient. They got rid of those bus-mini, they surely can get rid of those smog busses.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:52 pm

I have no objections provided always that the public transport system is superb so as not to bother the common public.
      I always say that you can charge RM10 per entry for premium toilet which is always clean and hygienic for me to sit on.

• Jimmy on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:49 pm

I have no objections to RM40 per hour parking fee provided that the public transport system is superb. I like to drive freely and willing to pay, not like others who like to drive but are reluctant to pay, and certainly not the ones who are forced to drive and unable to pay.
        The public transport must be improved first.

• I’m proposing to the G to instruct all government officers including the higher ranking officer to use the public transport to go to work and leave their car at home.

The G must start first and show example to the public. I suggest the lady that proposed to raise up the parking fee to start first using public transport to go to her office.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 239 Thumb down 2
    • See escort, kick them off the bike on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:45 am

And removing the escorts which are paid by the taxpayers, and let them experience what is like travelling like every other citizens in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
    • ABTguy on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:00 am

Ya man, our G hired so many “civil servants” but they instead make rakyat the servant for them.

Highly recommend this, so that we have 1.4 million less cars in all cities !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
      • Hondaman on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:26 am

Err with the current gomen staff salary and high living cost, most of them can only afford motorbike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Out of 3/4 of that 1.4 million civil servant oni use motocycle or using none all…eg army, low ranking police officer, low ranking civil servant…the one use car is the one who r at middle ranking to top ranking..they r only small portion of civil servant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
        • dirtyoldment on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:40 am

Where is the source of your statistics?Typical BS from KZM. PTO self-appointed racist troll!
          I work in close to Putrajaya, so please la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
          • opaixxx on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:43 pm

dont be so kiasu la bro. out of 1.4 mil, 300k in military, another 400k are teachers, scattered all over Malaysia, and most central G servant working at Putrajaya, nothing to do with KL traffic, and this article is about KL traffic, so do your study la instead blaming other. and if this 1.4 mill G servant not exist, u think business can flourish and your company can sustain? stop blaming others. we always need each other.. stupid kiasu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Y do i need statistic?..type of position we know that they don drive to work or just use motobike…army obviously they sleep n work inside army camp, police many of them live in police quarters not far fr police station…. n i believe thats y there is need to separate gov ministry n commercial centre to reduce congestion in city centre

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • like it or not, it is our government to be blame, it should have strengthen LRT MRT or what so ever long time ago, but develop the highway instead while LRT, MRT is much cheaper to construct! why? because our car is damn so pricey, people wont buy car and pay highway tol. This statement from some minister is only desperate measure because it is so close to year 2020.

• dirtyoldmen on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:08 pm

KZM “facts” is “Out of 3/4 of that 1.4 million civil servant oni use motocycle or using none all…” i.e. EXACTLY 75.000% or 1.05m. NO MORE NO LESS. Are the numbers lying… or you?
            “Y do i need statistic?..” Your opening argument started with those numbers! Now show proof! Not dance around with more generalisations AKA lame excuses.
            A normal person collects data, analyses, performs tests before making a conclusion.
            I put it you that you’ve already formed your pet theories BEFORE analysing any “data” AKA Prejudice.

@ OPAIXXX. Can you follow the logic?…or do you need me to draw out some sketches?
            How you arrived at “.. if this 1.4 mill G servant not exist, u think business can flourish and your company can sustain..” ???
            Sudah keluar tajuk. Ada lepas SPM ke?

• I still don need to give statistic…common sense..don u feel odd if there is company of 100 with 50 higher rank 50 low rank worker..it just don feel rite…same apply in gov sector

• Ahbengs are the culprits tht cause traffic jam. How many ahbeng ride on motorcycle in KL? Worry of getting sun tan?

• Megane on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:28 am

Hahaha …how true bro . It’s an interesting observation .

• Exactly! This is the comment of the day. I want to give u 10000 Likes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • How to ask the government staffs to use the public transport. Proton Accord’s gonna be given to them soon wat. Of course you and i have to pay RM40 per day in order for them to drive happily

• “Bear in mind that the MRT will be ready soon, and coupled with the existing LRT lines (extension underway) and KTM Komuter service, Klang Valley will have a decent rail network in terms of coverage. ”

As it is, as a frequent user of LRT and Komuter, the current services has improved tremendously over the last 5 years.
    With LRT extensions and new MRT lines, I am very positive about KL public transport. (No opinion on Rapid buses as don’t use their services).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 3
    • with the extension of Ampang line up until Putra Heights and the introduction of MRT in few years time, i really think that the congestion problem can be resolved step by step. It’s just the mentality of our people that “rich people drive to office” has to be entirely reset.

*i’m one of the engineers for Klang Valley MRT, and i look forward to serve for the community.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Ucantseeme on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:47 am

Will the MRT project keep on being delayed like the case of KLIA2 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • MoFaz on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:41 pm

well, should check whether the delay caused by valid reason. for example KLIA2 delayed due to amendments to add more space to cater more passengers than was originally planned, and also due to additional runway, and also changes requested by AirAsia and so on… MRT might delay if they can’t resolve legal issue or court actions by land owners.

• opaixxx on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:47 pm

this guy offer his willingness to serve ppl and you gv this kind of comment? wtf.. shit cybertroopers aka keyboardwarriors.

• vyseus on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:10 pm

My only Request for you or the one to take care of the project once it is completed, is please please please make the service highly time abiding. I only need better service, yes Putra And STAR LRT and KTM has improve in recent time, the only issue left now is make it sustainable.

Time to time the service just go downhill…As for buses, the only issue is the driver attitude, I dont mine to give way for you to come out into my lane. at least fix the deng signal lights and give signal.

Please ATP if you can educate them to provide great service, I know a lot, really a lot of people will really use and appreciate the service.

• kambinganas on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Two main problems with LRT and upcoming MRT:
        Poor network of feeder buses and lack of bus schedules.
        Lack of efficient interchanges between LRT, MRT and Monorail.

While it is unreasonable to expect access to LRT at our doorstep, there must be sufficient buses with good coverage so that people are able to leave their cars at home or at least reduce the need for them to drive long distances to the LRTs. Currently this is not possible and with poor bus schedules, you could easily end up waiting for a bus up to 2 hours if there is even. How do you expect people to use such services for time sensitive journeys like going to work?

Currently, except KL Sentral and Masjid Jamek, most interchanges are far away and requires passengers to walk significant distances, unsheltered from the elements to switch from one train service to another. This makes it impractical for the elderly, children and the disabled. An example of this would be the interchange between the monorail service and LRTs.

I believe if the above issues are given good solutions, it will encourage a lot more people to take public transport. Also there needs to be better enforcement by the police to prevent crime so that people are not afraid using public transport.

• Roger Tan on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:21 am

I agree BUT public transport and out-of-city parking must be up to par first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • I think so too.

We should focus on the efficiency of the public buses from/to the surrounding suburbs of KL.

having studied/worked in london,singapore and melbourne for a few years. One of the biggest difference is that almost no matter where you stayed (i’ve moved houses alot), there would be a bus/train/tramp stop within walking distance and to me this is the biggest difference between our system and the ones overseas.

For me back in kl now, i live in desa pandan and work in plaza mt.kiara and there’s no way i can use public transport without swapping buses,trains atleast 3 times and even then it doesn’t get me to my neighborhood.

My 2sens, have a huge bus terminal (if possible near mrt/lrt station too) with a huge(and secured) carpark around highly congested suburbs e.g cheras, pj, ampang, sri petaling, etc making it easier for everyone to just park their car and commute into the city. Settle these areas first and then focus on the ones abit further, subang, ttdi, putrajaya etc.

Otherwise, we should start to decentralize, slowly move offices towards putrajaya or klang. Because now, developers just want to profit from the insane demand property in the city can command.

• Proper rail network, covered & SAFE walkways, bus network, taxi tat dun overcharge.
    If we have these, d high parking rates r great for reducing traffic.
    Can we also have lower car prices so every1 can hav newer low emission car for travel during balik kampung.then we will have 1-quality-car/family instead of d current condition of 1-lowQuality-car/person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • kenny on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:21 am

it really stupid, how about those motorcycle? and also low income people? so all car keep in house and keep serve the loan? they should do something to improve our currency rates, very disappointing with the stupid government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 40
    • Chris on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:42 am

How about sell your car to someone in a less congested state? Keep just one car per family for those groceries run or family outing to Cameron Highland.

We can’t forever act like we’re still living in kampong when we live in big cities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • magnificolo on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:24 am

Definitely not in near future.. Without a car, basically u are handicap.. Even though when the mrt is completed, it still remained to be seen on their efficiency and effectiveness.. Sorry to say i don’t have confident in the ppl who run the job, just look at the existing public transport..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
  • SugarGlider on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:29 am

RM40 per hour. let say 8 hours per day = RM320 per day and let say 20 days per month = RM6,400 per month. Seriously? i can even buy a house average RM300k – RM400k, a car range RM80k-RM120k and spent others on family expenses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • farghmee on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:58 am

diorg ni ckp ikut kepala lutut.
      skola xabes.

rm40/hr?

buatla kalu berani.

dh la gaji takuk tu juga, rege myk naik.

kalu public transpot tu superb, org xkomplen byk.

feeder bus ada? timing macam mana?

g US tgk US cmna, terus nk tiru.
      tp xkaji abis2. xfokus betul2.
      jumpa mark zuckerberg kt twitter hq.

well done, sir!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
      • abuya123 on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Diorang cakap ikut kepala lutut atau ko yang cakap ikut kepala lutut?

Cerita nak naikkan tarif parking untuk reduce traffic bukan cerita baru ngok! Sejak early 1990’s lagi.

Ko byk sangat komplen! Relax bro, ko pun bukan perfect pun. Mereka sedang improving, bukan do nothing. Ko perasan jem 3 tahun yg dulu sama je cam jem skrg? Padahal dalam 3 tahun berapa byk dah kereta bertambah kat KL ni. Kalau mereka tak buat kerja, skrg traffic lagi worst dari 3 tahun sebelum ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
        • farghmee on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:27 pm

ye aku ckp guna kepala lutut.
          aku xperfect.

sejak 90s lg, tp apa improvement?

tp aku xde ckp diorg xde buat keje kn?

jgn twist statement aku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • abuyabodoh on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:00 pm

diorg ckp pakai kepala lutut, abuya ckp pakai bontuuut.. puiii

• I went to US, Anaheim to be exact, a couple of time…i think the bus schedule suck…kind of like malaysian punya standard…if UK underground i do salute…punctual like those brits…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
        • “Punctual like brits”? You must be joking, Britsish rail is the worst and least puntuall railway service in Europe. The London bus service is always late. Subways trains never arrive on time! I suggest you mention Switzerland or Germany – these countries have the most punctual public transport system in Europe.

note: I livd in the UK for 10 years and another 15 years in Continental Europe. Thats why i can tell you that your comment about the UK is totally wrong!

• tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:52 am

It’s true EU mostly have better public transport, but London isn’t catastrophically bad like ours.

During my recent visit to London, I can still get to almost anywhere, and even if I barely missed a bus, the next one rarely comes any later than 10min for most routes.

And I loved the Oyster card concept giving cheaper rates than cash. Also, it also caps your daily rate. Eg a bus trip costs £1.40, capped to £4.40/day. Which means 4th trip costs 20p, 5th onwards is free. There’s even weekly, monthly, annual pass rate, which is even cheaper.

Here, our bus is laughable, and rapidpass is a failure with no incentive unlike Oyster card at all.

• Anonymous-L on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:30 am

Comparison to high income and better infrastructure countries is rather naive. Reducing parking spot is also not a great solution, it’s like increase sugar price so RAKYAT will consume less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Jilbaber on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:34 am

I suggest this “Khairiah Mohd Talha” aunty go ahead and take a bus or LRT to her office for a week and see herself how miserable rakyat marhein confronted everyday to run this country’s economy (and yes its rakyat not politician)…otherwise she should just shut her mouth and never speak anything related to ‘raised’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • Kok Chi on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:35 am

I go to Singapore quite often and I can tell you that the SGD40 an hour rate is nonsense.

I live in an area which has no access to LRT or MRT hence public transport would not be a viable solution. Buses do not follow schedule and are usually packed like sardine cans.

It will take probably another 40 years for our transportation services to be on par with other countries and I’ll probably be dead by then.

And it’s especially not viable for people who rely on their car for business purposes. As usual… Never think before talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • abuya123 on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:14 pm

40 years to be on par with other countries. What country do you mean? Your lovely singapore, US, GB? or India, Thailand, Brazil?

Why you live that area with no access to public transport and later complain? Pretty stupid are you.

Pack like sardine? Haha…. You think other Malaysian never go to US, GB or even Singapore? Similar dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 66
      • farghmee on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:28 pm

“Why you live that area with no access to public transport and later complain? Pretty stupid are you.”

arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Macai BN.. oii.. u talk so much but in kampung u dont pay for parking. U just park the shit out of the parking lot.

• abuyabodoh on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:55 pm

abuya ni macai bn, kepala kosong, otak xde, tahhhi je ad.. puiii

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:48 pm

yes, i work in Sg. I’ve never heard there’s SG$40/hour for parking in Sg.

• These people use their knee to think. If given a choice, who wants to stuck in a jam day in day out? And with your public transport like LRT that requires user to cross road to change lines?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • gineto on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:49 am

Agree, look at the ktm or lrt efficient now…still left behind other 10 year…but charger always on par…once you ride it then you know…I rather ride a motorcycle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Pls try to commute using the public transport for at least a month first, then only make comments. Other countries do indeed have better and more reliable public transportation system in place. Not forgetting the cheaper car prices which compensates for the exorbitant car prices…

• when it comes to profitting from the Rakyat, all sorts of justification can be given. what happen to the billions of Ringgit you swindled from the Rakyat with promise of better public transportation in the first place? start it off right then only imitating developed country good practice please.
    all of those brainless policy makers talk c*** only and then expect to be escorted by traffic police opening roads for their luxury cars in heavy traffic.
    yes i am angry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • abuya123 on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Why you angry? If you are Najib, or even Guan Eng, you also will have that and probably say same thing like them.

2×5. Dont talk holy, we knew what is in your heart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 47
  • heybadigol on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:43 am

Car traders are not going to like this proposal one bit. Meanwhile, bike and bicycle traders will see booming business, since pedal power will be cheaper.

Anyways, if it costs RM6000 to park a month, one might as well hire a driver to drive them to work and back (no need to park), or take a cab to work, if one does not feel like taking bus or MRT/LRT.

One hopes Malacca doesnt try to implement this kind of rate with their proposed 24 hours parking. Yikes!!

• No problem, provided that I don’t get robbed and murdered walking to and fro the LRT, MRT and whatever not. And also not rammed to death by those mad Metrobus drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Supramaniam Sinawan on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:50 am

are we taxpayers paying salary for people like this to plan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Pontiac on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:06 pm

U pay tax?

Oh i forgot. U only pay tax for mcD and KFCs right? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
      • pontianak on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:54 pm

U don’t pay tax?

Oh i forgot. U only spend your parents money eating in mcd and kfc everyday right, and failed your economic course? LOL

• pontianak on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:56 pm

if you think you are better than them, go for election, see who vote for you.

• Ez Sin on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:51 am

I live in singapore and I have never seen any are that has a parking of SGD40 per hour. Thats even in the CBD and downtown area. Where on earth did they get their info from?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • The S$40 parking per hour is full of crap! I always parked in Singapore CBD area, and max per day is S$40, not per hour.

Perhaps the minister can walk the talk by leaving his car at home and take public transport. If he does that then I will follow, else …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Eason on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:54 am

I’m sorry but this woman is BS. There’s no such rate as SGD40 per hour.

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/parking/parking_rates.html

NOT even in HOTELS, Orchard Rd, Attractions and CBD areas where traffic is what they want to curb.

• gavin on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:55 am

EVen with MRT and LRT, connectivity remains extremely poor in malaysia, MRT and LRT only works up to the station, after you exit prepare to walk kilometres

• rakyat on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:55 am

I am glad she brought up singapore as acomparison because normally they refused to be compared against singapore.

I have stayed in singapore for some years. I have never paid S$40 an hour parking before. what bullshit is she talking about?

In singapore, I don’t even need a car (although I have 1) because the public transportation is so convenient. I can get a shuttle service right in front of my block every 5 minutes to the MRT station. From the MRT I can change lines without going out of the station and practically reach where i want to go. Most of the time, I travel using a combination of buses and MRT.

Here, it is such a hassle to reach the LRT station. I cannot drive my car to the station because there is no parking. I can wait endlessly for a bus which comes whenever they please. There is no shuttle service to the LRT station. In addition, when I change lines, i need to exit the station, cross the road in the rain, queue up to buy ticket again before i take another LRT and then repeat the same process again for the monorail (which has only 2 coach crammed with tourist). From the station, it’s another long walk to my destination, sometimes in the rain.

To top it off, we did the LRT 20 years AFTER Singapore started the MRT. What happened to those millions spent on overseas trips to do field study? And the result that we get is this mess of the LRT system. We saw how people did it and we still manage to screw it up big time. I have travelled to many countries and used their subways and MRTs but so far, we are the WORST.

Before you talk about raising car park fees, make sure there is an alternative for people to travel.

1. Have ample parking lots at the MRT/LRT stations. Use multi level car parks if space is limited.

2. Have a shuttle service to the LRT stations that constantly runs. Not 2 buses that arrive at the same time after half an hour wait. (go to the end stations and observe the drivers near the mamak shop and see when they leave and you know what i mean)

3. The stations should be linked together to minimise exit and entry into stations or covered walkways provided between stations.

4.sufficient sitting space / coach provided so that everyone at the station can get into the monorail.

The only person who will benefit from increased parking is the parking operator (another crony?) and nobody else.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 2
    • Hiroshi on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:52 am

I like the people who see the big picture…I live in japan now…wonderful transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Critique on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:56 pm

A very sensible post from ‘rakyat’ for the Rakyat! (pardon the pun) hehehe.

I also agree that ‘Khairiah Mohd Talha’ was thinking with her kneecaps, making statements worthy of a troll! :)

Regardless which side of the political divide you’re on, Competence should be a requirement for public office.

Fix the state of the public transportation network first, then we’ll talk abt raising parking fees in the city!

• kambinganas on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:32 pm

I like your comment very much. If only we can get rakyat like yourself into the civil service. As long as people need to be politically connected and with the ‘right’ kulitfication for such positions, everything will continue to go to the jamban.

• Well not all can be copied. We have our own culture but everything start from top – if the authorities demonstrate good governance then in become leader for change. Never follow blindly it otherwise it become new source of income for one to be a millionaire!

• taboogen on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:56 am

not a problem to me.. i ride a bike.. i car park can park min 5 bikes.

• Datuk on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:57 am

stupid idea i think, if our public transport are like Japan public transport system, yes people will use more public transport. Even right now, RM5 per hour also people feel its too much.

• RantingMonkeyForOwnFrustration on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:58 am

Now another monkey get loose and ranting all the frustration to low income rakyat just to create traffic free environment for herself. She should just rot in hell for god damn sake.

• Good Gov on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:59 am

How is this any different from increasing petrol prices to prevent smuggling? Or guns falling into the sea? Please keep the excuses coming, definitely endless possibilities.

• james on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:59 am

if they implement it, Proton and Perodua bankrupt sooner since they will not be able to sale their car..G will think again??

• No they dont charge rm120 in austrlia….more like half of that. Further, i can earn atleast Rm50 an hour here working as a cleaner.

• hantu on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:02 am

Gov should build prak-and-ride at the housing area for the worker working in KL take a bus..

• Onanimous on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:15 am

If aint mistaken there are Park-and-Ride facilities in Putrajaya – how’s the response (coz rarely been there)?

If poor, then there’s an attitude problem with the people.
      If good, then this is something that doable in other places.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:03 am

‘She said that Australia and Singapore charge A$40 (RM120) and S$40 (RM100) per hour, respectively, while in the USA, cities such as Boston and New York also charge US$40 (RM130) per hour.’

Please tell me where on earth you get this figures? In Singapore I parked in Marina Sands for 8 hours it comes out to about 60SGD. Parking in Chicago is about US$50 a day in downtown. As usual brainless people talking nonsense to justify their proposals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Since when Singapore has such HIGH PARKING RATE, even parking at MBS only cost $6/hr, and it is only around AUD20/hr (Highest rate) back in Australia.

Ridiculous numeration there

• Reporting from Melbourne, 40 AUD per hour parking doesn’t exist in Australia.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Went to Melbourne, 8 hours for 70 AUD, not bullsh*t like 40AUD/Hour

• PHILIP AGREED on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:05 am

After imposing RM40 per hour parking charges in CBD (Central Business District), the following need to be added to ensure 100% effectiveness,

1. Daily CBD levy – RM 50.00 per entry, maximum 5 hours period.
    2. Maximum 3 hours per parking bay, even at RM40.00 per hour.
    3. Minimum Fine – $1,000.00 per offence.
    4. Abolish all fuel subsidies irrespective of category, after all those subsided NEVER pass the savings to the consumers — eg outstation buses, lorries, fishermen, taxis, school buses etc.
    5. Increase car prices further so that marginal income people are excluded.

6. FREE FEEDER BUS SERVICES INSIDE THE CBD FROM MRT / LRT / MONORAIL / KVMRT.

• ben yap on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:07 am

RM40 per hour?

Our ministers and politicians will also need to pay RM40 per hour from THEIR OWN POCKET

• Shaekey on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:07 am

Why increase the parking rate? Got cronies in parking business? You increase the parking rate, people will still drive the car… they just don’t park at proper car park. Park at the side of the road, or have somebody waiting in the car at the side of the road. Road will still get congested with cars.

There are other better options to reduce traffic congestion in city center. Charges incurred for cars that enter the city center zone for example, like they did in Singapore.

With regards to public transportation, especially rail line services… we need better parking facilities around major stations.

• Altima SSS on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:10 am

While I support the idea of reducing the congestion, they should also consider there are many who live at “greater” klang valley who commute to work everyday to the city centre, like me. Whilst public transport within klang valley is improving, we can’t say the same to places like Seremban, where many work in KL. So if this happens, these people may just decide to stay in KL instead. Really something that needs in-depth study.

• tokmoh on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:10 am

Go F yourself!!

When wanna compare parking rate, can follow 1st world country la?!!! Anything related to korek our pocket can always compare with developed countries, RIGHT?!!

If complain public transport like sh*t, need to improve, then tell us jangan persoal, tak suka keluar, syukurlah we r better than Zimbabwe!! Haram jadah punya betina songlap knnccb!!

B*tch, cut your travel allowance, go ride only public transport then come back with your foul stinking mouth and tell us if RM40/hr is a good idea!!

Bodoh piang punya betina tak guna tak sedar diri. Wanna lower CO2 konon, then give us Euro 6! Then we can use modern diesel that’s much more frugal than Suprima. Any talk about going green is invalid so long they reluctant to upgrade our fuel quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • dewaSemut on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:12 am

Look at OTHER measures that those cities manages the traffic congestion.. Then, equipped KL with extensive and comprehensive public transportation first, ABUNDANT SAFE parking at commuter/LRT/MRT stations and whatever improvement you can introduce… then LASTLY you can talk about increasing the parking rate…

• tishaban on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:13 am

All of these aren’t really comprehensive in reducing traffic and emissions in the city. To be comprehensive a proper solution needs to have:

1. alternative modes of transportation:

SG, NYC, London etc. all have pretty comprehensive train systems, but also enough parking at the major train stations. Have you tried parking at the Kelana Jaya LRT recently?

2. encouragement

Singapore for example will let you ride the MRT for reduced fare or even free if you leave early enough eg. before 7am. Can KL with privately owned and profit minded bus/LRT companies (as opposed to govt owned Singapore MRT or NYC subway) actually do this?

Some companies in Malaysia have tried things eg. flexible working hours but they’re still a minority.

3. discouragement/penalties

High parking rates, congestion tax in London, ERP in Singapore etc. The money collected is used to cover #1 and #2. However again the question remains, with privately owned profit minded bus/LRT and now parking companies in Malaysia, can there ever be a comprehensive solution?

• GeneHarn on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:17 am

I think depending on how we look at it, some can easily say public transport sucks, and stucking in the jam also sucks, while they are also part of the jam, and some of them can say public transport sucks when they didn’t even try it. Some just don’t take the initiative to carpool when it’s possible. It’s good that parking raise the price, when the public transportation is ready there. There must be a Push and Pull motivation factor to make this happen. At this stage, i hope that GoKL bus can maintain it’s servicing time, but i do agree Prasarana has a lot to do with RapidKL buses. and SPAD also in catching taxis who aren’t using meter. It’s a complex issue to talk about as it involves different level of governments and policies and individuals in the government for clash of interest.

Face it that KL is facing massive urban migration from the other parts of Malaysia. I am not totally well versed with GTP ETP yet but the idea of National Physical Plan doesn’t seem to be there when you have almost everything centralized in the Greater KL/Klang Valley plan, this traffic congestion idea should have seen to come. We have massive brain drain inside the country to KL, that’s another whole issue before you talk about brain drain to other countries.

• Without good public transportation she tried to discourage us from driving? I don’t think she is into drug but whatever she suggested here were sign of drug abuse.

• magpie on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:20 am

I propose that all Putrajaya building & offices to start charging parking rates. Encourage those who work in Putrajaya to take public transport. Currently, all cars over there parking bersepah.

• andrewk on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:27 am

I dunno where she pull those numbers from but lets compare:-

for Australia, lets take the 2 most expensive cities, Melbourne and Sydney. I’ve lived in Melbourne and I know parking in Melbourne CBD won’t cost AUD40 per hour. Just google “parking in Melbourne CBD” and you can find parking along Bourke St, which is pretty much the middle of the CBD, for AUD19 per hour. If you have early bird parking (i.e. enter before 9.30am and leave after 3pm, the same place is only AUD19 flat. Park a few streets out, and early bird can be as low as AUD10 flat. Sydney is almost the same, a few dollars more. But no where close to the AUD40 per hour. Lets not forget the abundance of cheap and efficient public transport network there (busses, trams, trains).

Singapore? Check this out:-

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/parking/parking_rates/parking_rates.html?strCategory=1&TextBlock=Orchard%20Area%20Rates

Where got SGD40 per hour? Let’s not even talk about their MRT network.

Dont compare NYC with KL till you have subways all over the city. Plus they have efficient interstate trains that reaches out to the suburbs outside of Manhattan island and NY burroughs.

Please la, want to compare also be a bit smart la. These days, got internet. Ppl can tell if you are bullsh***ing…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Critique on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Haha, apparently she’s not heard of “Fact-Chk”!

• no_brain_lady on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:37 am

such no brain talk, RM40/hr only will make the parking land owner getting richer and richer and people become poorer and poorer. if the public transport is as advanced as SG/HK, i would use it as well but it is not in MY. do you think i like to stuck in jam for few hours everyday to go to work and back to home. other countries public transport is superb advanced, but she never think to mimic from them, only know to follow other to increase parking rate. such useless women and no brain talk. if you encourage ppl to use public transport pls make sure it is possible first. in MY, many places public transport are sucked and you can go no way without ur own transport!!!

• EDDIE on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:44 am

I pay $5 to $18 per day here in Australia to park in the city per day…Minimum Wage $18…PUBLIC TRANSPORT IS NOT THE BEST BUT IT IS WAY BETTER THAN THE ONES IN MALAYSIA…RM40 per hour? HO LEE SHEEET

• jayjay on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:44 am

don’t play play
    she’s traveled the world so she knows what she’s talking about

http://25th-anniversary.fotopages.com/

• Roundy on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:50 am

At RM40/hr for 8 hrs/ day for 20days/month – the would-be parking cost is RM6,400. People will hire a driver at 1/4 that cost. THEN, all the drivers will be parking along the road side. Did the authorities/ planners anticipate this? Duh…

• Henry on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:54 am

Only a cuckoo can come up with such a suggestion. Many of the people go to KL to work and not for fun. Improve the public transport first, lah.

• fridzmax on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:59 am

Owh…if fuel price, compare to Zimbabwe. Parking fee compare to Singapore/Australia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Jenny How on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:01 pm

but there is a need for bigger parking space in LRT / MRT station… as most of the parking are full by 9am… so people have no choice but ended up driving. Our MRT / LRT stations are not within walking distance from residence like in Spore.

• Full by 9am? Kelana Jaya LRT is full before 8am. You will be very lucky to even get a spot at 8am.

• Jejambu on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Even if the MRT/LRT/Monorail are on par with other cities, one must also compare the feeder bus services and inter-connectivity. Even our LRTs are not conveniently interconnected between Star LRT and Putra LRT as one has to get out of the station of one line to board another line! Monorail is even worst as you have to get out into the open, brave the traffic to board the LRT at Sentral. Feeder buses are not up to par with the technology we have put into our rail system. Drivers don’t follow schedule and even the ROUTE! Plus, please do not convert the city parking charges of other cities into MYR and say its reasonable. Its incomprehensible….. Perhaps we should also compare the intelligence of our ministers here with those in Singaproe, Australia… etc…..

• fabalan on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:08 pm

can we get better taxi. i mean with fair fare.

• blursotong on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Yes good idea to charge RM40 surcharge so that our roads will not clog up with Myvi, Viva & Saga as owners of such cars definitely cannot afford to pay. People with Merc and BMW with driver will find their lives easier and have the road to themselves just like it should be…

• Samsung on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 106
  • I was a regular user of public transport (mostly taxi), but today I am forced to drive.

My main concern is crime. How can our government and JPJ expect people like young adults, women, the elderly and the disabled to use public transport ? These people are the most vulnerable to crime.

Why is the PDRM and JPJ so enthusiastic about collecting AES saman when the real root of the problem has nothing to do with the average rakyat, who only drive to and fro for work purposes ?

Until the JPJ works together with the PDRM in solving the violent crime and other forms of serious crime, I will refrain from using public transport.

Speed doesn’t kill, people with parangs and guns do.

• vroom vroom on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:34 pm

what you’ll expect? dumbo at work!!

• udasalleh on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Higher parking rate may be a slight deterrent or it could mean cars are still on the city roads more times than they are parked. Carbon emmisions are still high in city centres of S’pore & NewYork. Along with the MRT in improving public transportation… GREENer taxis, busses and trams too must be a priority consideration as a multi modal transportation solution since they operate longer on the roads.

• Opss Noname on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:01 pm

After thinking for awhile, maybe tomorrow this lady comes out and saying:”Sorry, I’m just joking! Peace!!”

• If they can provide really efficient public transports, w/out crime and in a timely manner, and with enough parking space for public transport users, then they can allow this.
    Otherwise, its a TOTAL BULLSHIT! Dont dare to compare with other countries when the service you provide sucks to the max!

• salam 2-0 on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:22 pm

reasons why i prefer to drive is:
    1.too many boyans and bangla in metrobus.
    2.the bus’s condition was superbly awesome,equipped with fresh air freshener and ogawa massage machine(even when you are standing) .
    3. the conductor’s and driver’s attitude are well pleased and berbudi bahasa(should be awarded).
    4.the public trans timing is frequent and accurate.
    5.its too secured to take the public since there is no pickpocket .
    6. the stations are right-in-front my door step.

• N theefore any proposal made they should look into few factors compare to cities like New York & Singapore. First is our public transport system able to meet the needs of the road user ? Even with the completion of the MRT & the extension of LRT, there are still a lot area within Klang Valley is not properly covered. There are still alot of people In certain areas can’t benefited with the improved system. Secondly we have to look at our income level as compared to these cities. Thirdly are we feel safe while walking to the public transport station.

• rm40 perhour means rm10 going to land owner and rm30 going to government pocket. They just want people’s money only

• hadi75 on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:38 pm

What do you expect…..rakyat didahulukan….meaning rakyat kena dulu…..

• Let impose it, let it be, RM40 per hour, is good proposal, RM8,000.00 per month only, if Rakyat suffer on this, who will be a loser? think for it, for the “intelligence” lady who proposed it, compare our GDP income first before compare to Australia, Singapore and so on, maybe she got a other part time job who can let her spend easily.

• Guan Yin Ma on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:44 pm

So sad malaysian got so many stupid politician. 1 word , STUPID.

• Damn these ministers. Everything also wanna follow 1st world country. U can when our country is 1st world standard. Crime is low, high salary, cheap car, good and efficient public transport. Ppl mentality is 1st world. Otherwise, please don’t compare with a 1st world country. The above mentioned countries all are 1st world. Top among the world. Us? nah.. stick bak to normal rate will do. Once u curb our no.1 prob = Crime. Then only talk.

• bad roads on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Dont know much about this city planning science. But i do know, that KL city have VERY bad city planning, as evidenced by the VERY BAD traffic jam, the double and sometimes triple parking phenomenom and also the big difference between the kota raya section and the sungai wang section. I think that imposing that law wont help much, it will only be helpful if KL city already have a very good public transport system like in Singapore or Hong Kong. I think right now KL city road infrastructure is already very badly jumbled up like a huge ball of jumbled up strings due to unplanned or poorly planned city developement. So i think right now, if the government can somehow bring up some other city like maybe Seremban, Ipoh, Taiping, Melaka or watever, that would help divert the traffic to those area and would greatly reduce the jam and when that happen, this would give the givernment some opportunity to properly rectify KL city’s roads. Just my opinion :-P what do you guys think ?

• Baziran Nasional on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Upgrade the public transport first, those countries you compare to have excellent public transport system. Are we on par with them? Also, the VIPs also must use transport, not take advantage of police escorts and make it worse.

• Alson P on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Just do it what they are suggested…. Maybe 10 to 20% will use the public transport…. Then upgrade 200% services of the public transport…. Problem still not solve but at least 10-20% will change to the public transport….

• iluvmyself on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:04 pm

She forgot those rate were her “overclaim” parking fees from her trips?

• noevidence? on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Australia parking per hour is around 2-4 dollars per hour but limited to time period of 0.5-4hours and there isnt one with 40 dollar an hour.

I live in Melbourne

• jimmy on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:20 pm

nonsense! A$40 per day is considered rather expensive in Australia. Note, it’s PER DAY, not PER HOUR. These jokers seriously have no brain

• realtrav on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:33 pm

for starters, i doubt the b*itch regularly takes the LRT/Komuter/Rapidbus/Metrobus AND/OR pays for parking at work!

so the question is, how did the effing RM 40/hour rate came about? it may be revealed in the link below.

http://25th-anniversary.fotopages.com/ (found from above poster)

so it seems, the b*tch was “inspired” by her international travels which seemed to be “perfect” – walking and cycling together with public transport.

but like some deluded people on holidays, all of the above conditions are always nice – unless the weather permits, you live there or traveling to another location and then a car will become necessary at some point!

so all in all, i think the b*itch is beyond delusional that she hates missing all these “perfect” conditions and coming back home after these trips.

and whaddya know, when she’s home, the b*tch is so pissed off that the “perfect” hourly rate idea practically came out of her knees. taaa-daaa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Tony Fernandez on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:44 pm

I go downtown KL by LRT. I dnt have a driver, I don’t need a second car. And all the money I saved from driving in kl makes me the richest men in Malaysia. I pity you all malaysian but serve you rite for not taking public transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • kambinganas on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:40 am

You bukan kaya sebab sedut duit daripada MAS atau Air Asia ke?

• It is successful in other countries because they got excellent public transport system. Their minister do stuffs not talk only.

Gov should just encourage business to allow employee to work from home. give allowance to business who did that.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Absurd ! What they need to do is build more parking complex near LRT/KTM/MRT stations. How do you expect people to use LRT/MRT/KTM if there’s no sufficient parking space. In addition, some people refuse to take buses due to their poor timing.
    What I’m seeing now is MRT stations are being build everywhere, however, how are they going to arrive there is another problem. Somehow, they’ll have to drive there (if they don’t use public transport).
    Build parking complexes near the stations and people should get into cities by the public transport to reduce congestions.

• yea….our country is full of people who like to impose charges to solve problems. Why not just tax us so high until we all starve and drop dead then a lot of other problems will be solved too!…Fark this country run by stupid people. Always comparing with other countries at their convenience.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Improve our public transportation first then we shall consider okay ?? If not, most Malaysians need at least ONE mode of transportation i.e. a car, to get us around. So fikir-fikirkan lah before doing something. Instead of convenience, those improper planning would become a burden.

• Night on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Aduh… Kenapala kita banyak sangat orang yang “pandai” kerja kat government…..

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Another hair brain suggestion from our Government department.

Great, go ahead and charge 40/hr. And watch your City die. Watch all your goods and services rates skyrocket. And if you have a business, good luck in find anyone work in KL City…. you think average business can stomach 6000/mth on parking for each employee, let alone each private individual?

Of course you will ease congestion… when there is no longer anyone working in KL.

The only people that can afford to work in KL are those living in KL, but Condos here are running upwards of 1000/sf. How to afford to live here?

She is akin to suggesting chemotherapy so lethal that it kills the patient along with the tumour. Sure problem solved. No more tumour… but also no patient left alive.

there are 101 ways to ease traffic congestion, and this idiot of a person suggests to implement method #1001 first.

1) improve public transportation
    2) more (FREE) parking at MRT/LRT/Monorail/KTM feeder stations
    3) fix the screwed up road infrastructure, where all your roads are messed up.

Silly idiot forgot why people all go to work in KL in the first place. Thats because thats where all the work is. Why doesn’t she make herself more useful and suggest developing other parts of the country so there will be more opportunities for people to work instead of cramming themselves into KL.

• guest on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:00 pm

If this is really put into action, I’d imagine jobs which require frequent travelling from site to site such as sales, engineering etc etc will be hit hardest. The government conveniently forget that not everyone’s job involves sitting in office from 9-5.

Anyway the most obvious reason behind this has definitely nothing to do with saving the world by lowering emissions, and reduce congestion etc etc but more likely to enrich the cronies who monopolized majority of the private parking in KL. Secure Parking, Metro Parking gonna rip everyone’s head off in broad daylight. Oh yeah!!

• nobody mention about school at lingkaran syed putra, cause unnecessary traffic jam. Should be relocated elsewhere.

• guest on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Brader, tell me which school doesn’t cause traffic jam? St John? Convent? Victoria? By your logic, there would be no school in middle of KL just to ease traffic.

Btw, dont just target school la. Might as well you say robohkan the entire MidValley mall because people queueing up to enter also causes congestion on federal highway. In fact, robohkan any building that attracts crowd. Crooked logic at show here. Pfft.

• I mentioned that school bcoz it cause a major road aka highway aka main link to jam, hard to figure out altenative route or making u turn is impossible, unlike congestion on minor road. Federal Highway meh..spinal cord of klang valley.

• guest on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:49 am

Dude, fact is our road systems are not ready to cater this much vehicles. Doesnt matter whether you move schools/buildings around, you will still get congestion. The amount of cars on the road keep getting more and more. Just see our gov here desperately popping up new highways and still you get congestion

The best way to lessen congestion is to implement a system to scrap cars of certain age, at least it will keep the amount of cars on the road in check, instead of just increasing every year.

But then this cannot be implemented, because it will cause a lot of poor people to go on a rage, and it’s these poor people that UMNO/BN need to please because they need their votes.

• paparadzi on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:27 pm

RM 40 per hour parking charge in KL? Go ahead.

Those who works in KL will probably be better off quitting their job, rather than have all their income going to parking. More importantly, nobody will want to go for any business in KL. Businesses will die, KL will become a ghost town.

Yes sure, no congestion. No traffic. So go ahead and do it.

• totti on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:32 pm

If the suggestion provided by the NEP Product/profesor, you better dump it because they never use their brain to find the root cause of the problem.

If this suggestion can solve the problem then he should suggest the following also :-

1) Rise the fuel price to RM 4.00 per liter

2) Block all the road to KL/PJ and turn all road to become pedestrian street.

3) set the car price with a minimum of RM 80,000.00

I am sure the road will be free from jam.

These suggestion is from my 4 years old son, do you think the above proposal can solve the traffic problem?

• Romzee on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Stupid damnshit suggestion from government. Don’t compare Malaysian people with Australian and Singaporean. Both countries people income per capita 30x times more than Malaysian…arghh..

• Ridiculous shit.

• I live in Perth now for expatriate assignment. The CBD area parking rate is at most 5 AUD per hour, for weekdays and some inclusive of Saturday, from 8am to 6pm. I earn 6k AUD here. The CBD is services by various free transit zone busses so it is convenient to travel around..

If I return to Malaysia, I will earn 10k MYR but pay RM40 parking rate? That is ridiculous. If i were to rely on public transport in Malaysia, then I need to live beside LRT station…too much.

• Fitri on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Please improve the taxi service and reduce the taxi rate as well

• mr_em on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:42 pm

This is what happen when you put somebody who lacks competency to do their job properly.

Let me see now, WE ALL pay road tax and now she wants to make the city roads only for the riches, VIPs and all those FAT CATS!!!

There are so many ways to reduce congestion such as congestion charges etc during peak hours ONLY but why suggest parking rates as a potential solution, IT IS NOT A CURE TO THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE ACTUAL PROBLEMS!!!

Another thing about the Singapore comparison, I have been to Singapore recently and the parking was never SGD40 per hour, SGD40 per day may be or may be she only went to Universal Studios/Sentosa Island where things are never in touch with reality…. please ‘lah’ only open your mouth when you have a real solution to the actual issue/problem… otherwise best to keep quiet and do your work.

• Nicholas on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:38 pm

1) we need better public transportation
    2) we need better public safety environment
    3) other countries have 4 season, we have either rain or hot weather only… Good luck walking to your nearest bus stand and wait for 30 mins there

• Night on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Even worse, stand surrounded by foreign workers(no discrimination intended here) and wait for 1 hour, and couldnt get into the transport after waiting for so long.
      Pffftt… I dont even want to remember those days.

• fatchicken on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:57 pm

i strongly support the idea, 40ringgit per hour ll solve the problem, let’s trial for one year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • cheeweng on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:55 pm

BULLSH*T!!! I’ve been to both Singapore and Australia. In Sydney near Circular Quay, the most expensive rate is merely AUD30 per hour. But those are really high class parking bays. You can easily find cheaper rates of AUD26 per hour. Not to mention roadside parking are sometimes free provided they limit the time period you can park your car there, ranging from 5 minutes to half hour.

Same can be said for Singapore. The most expensive rate are merely SD25 per hour and despite no roadside parking, they have parking bays that usually only costs at most SD2 per hour.

Needless to say this suggestion is another one of those crooked ideas to make car park operators richer, which undoubtedly is partly owned by most of those cronies Barisan MPs.

Please people, don’t believe what the govt tell you blindly. Do some research. Ask people who have been overseas. Even you add more public transports like bussed or cabs, the road will still be overcrowded eventually. Clearly, this is not a long term solution. Best way is to improve our train systems. Build more mass railways that can carry bigger volume of passengers. Adding more busses on the road but not building new ones won’t solve jackshit.

• amir asraf on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:55 pm

the main contirbution for this problem is the lack of efficiency of public transport including trains and buses.. since our public transport served very limited areas and not efficient, that’s why people prefer to use their own cars despite of traffic jam, toll, increase in fuel prices and high car prices.. and train always delayed and buses will crowded as shit during peak hours added to this people’s attitude to just using own cars.. my suggestion is what can we do for time being is reduce car and fuel price since we have no choice now and at the same time waiting for completion of MRT and LRT extension for another 4 years and then fuel and car price should increase back and maybe raise parking charge up to rm25 instead of rm40 per hour..

• Manny on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:58 pm

This girl must be UiTM graduate,half baked ideas. Talk only can ah. Tongkat mindset.

• Megane on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:40 am

And you must be from Jinjang Kepong(sarcasm) ? Wow such a racist deduction . We dont need people like you in 1Malaysia environment .

• huhahuha on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:19 pm

So, instead of using the tax money from the rakyat to improve public transportation, the govt is going to charge the rakyat some more? Terbaekklaa…

The public transportation can clearly be improved. If you suddenly charge the rakyat expensive parking fee, you’re hindering them from using cars, which then they turn to public transport. Is our public transport system capable of handling a huge number of users all of a sudden? I somehow doubt it.

Second, why are there no town planning in place? If you design the development in such a way, there will be less jam. Instead, you approve every super duper mega development, so close to each other, of course jam la. Try to spread out the development, don’t put everything in KL. The nearby state can benefit from some development. Malaysia is not only in KL, you know.

Why so many dumb people in the govt. They should put stricter requirement for someone to be a politician.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Dear Khairiah Mohd Talha, may I ask have you ever been to SIngapore.

No where in Singapore is the parking rate SGD40 an hour not even during the National Day Parade. That was only SGD 26 an hour. Please get your facts right before quoting others. What sort of fools we have as board members

• fatchicken on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:34 pm

my cousin bungalow in sing is charging sgd40/hr as side income, covered parking for 10 cars on contract basis.

• Kenneth on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:50 pm

The parking rates in Aussie are very very expensive that a lot of people make it an investment, but the high rate is only in city, which encourage people to drive outside around the suburb but take public transport to the city to avoid congestions. Malaysia’s public transport is still a far cry as compared with Australia. MRT, LRT and KTM stations are not within walking distance from the housing area like those in Aussie. Though it is impossible to cover all the housing area with trains, there are usually buses around, helping people to get from their homes to the nearby train station.

• Whynot on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:50 pm

That is the problem why capitalist make money out or thin air. This is the problem of not using EEV and bad township management and state progress diversification. Always learn the bad thing from others and not the good ones. Syabas Malaysia boleh brankrupt juga!

• paanjang16 on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:06 am

I suggest they go ahead with this RM 40 per hour suggestion. Then wait and see which office or shopping mall dare to do it. Not even KLCC or Pavillion will do it for fear it will drive customers away.

Unless those places want to be super high end where only the really really rich can park at their place.

My office in Jalan Bukit Nanas/Jalan Gereja/Jalan Ampang also if park 1 day max cannot reach RM 40. Outside the open air parking also max RM 20 per day. This is the area where congestion is very bad during peak hours and the parking charge is not as ridiculous as RM 40 per hour yet alone per day.

• I’m a youngster and as a college student that commutes around KL for the past 3 years living here, there are a few problems that needs to be addressed.

1) A more complete public transport system. This includes bus routes to housing area.

2) More accessible parking bays by the LRT stations. Currently, the only “decent” station that actually encourages drivers to use the public transport would be Gombak LRT. From the top of my head, Kelana Jaya, Wangsa Maju, Taman Paramount, AsiaJaya all have either too few or no parking spaces for people to park their cars even if they wanted to.

3) A safer community. I live in Setapak area and already a handful of my friends have been robbed. Male/female, day time/night time. It happens SO frequently that my friends would dare walk to the bus stops even.

• Megane on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:50 am

Malaysians love to complain and complain endlessly while at the same time blaming others . Yes nothing can beat the convenience of driving your own car to work . Get that point . Once you step out of that zone i.e using public transport of course there’s inconvenience . The government does not owe you public-transport -in-front-of-your-house thing . If you are not willing to sacrifice then …well screw you lah . I’ve stopped driving to work for more than 1 year now . i use a motorbike well a maxi-scooter exactly which is like superconvenient . What hot sun ? You mostly travel in the morning ( no blazing hot sun ) and go home in the evening ( no blazing hot sun ) .Rain ? …use a rain coat lah . So stop being a wanker complaining this and that while we are not willing to sacrifice. And dont trust this government to help you . They have not done much for you anyway . Stop hoping . Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Megane supporter on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:15 am

Rightly said. People will choose private transport over public transport anyday. The complaints you hear are from the entitlement-mentality group. Have they ever done a honest day’s work in their entire life?

• Joon Ian Wong on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:53 am

Read my analysis, based on the work of parking economist Donald Shoup. It’s not just about raising prices, although this is undoubtedly necessary. It’s also about which types of parking have their prices raised and how the prices are raised: http://joonian.net/2013/04/27/donald-shoup-on-people-parking-and-cities/

• Hermin on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:41 am

Well as we know that the LRT station that we have don’t stop right at our door step so we still have to drive to the station and park the car there. And the charged like rm 3 per day so the question is would they raise it to rm 40 per day too once the rm 40 per hour is enforce.

• Megane on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:56 pm

One option is to use your bike to travel from your house to the LRT station if you’re too afraid to ride on main roads . Bike parking is super easy . I really don’t understand people who get stuck in traffic for 3-4 hours a day and yet the solution is standing right before your eyes . Life is less stressful now with the bike transport . By the way ride carefully . Cheers

• tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Inb4 msia crime rate so high, bike will get stolen

Inb4 no proper place to park bike, will get stolen.

• Wahhh, so many share their living experience in US, UK, Australia, etc.

Even so many are really expert with the transportation used in other country.

Poyo, poyo…

• anynomous admiral on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Benz, what’s your problem? People are giving their opinions based on their experience, which they should!

Ko jeles sebab ko tak pernah sampai ke?

• tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:03 pm

what to do, he crony middle income with benz, banglo and rm2,3mil assets mah. Go everywhere got escort, of course never know our pain.

Their typical mentality when hear better thing is “They are developed country, of course better. We must syukur we better than Zimbabwe. Tak suka, keluar.”

• DonMe on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:59 pm

What a bullshit of $40SGD/hr parking in SG. Even in US, it is not 40USD/hr. Get the facts rights first. Malaysia gov seriously sucks and blind.

• jimmy on Oct 05, 2013 at 7:12 am

rm40 per hour? I guess i will just illegally park at the road side.. saman by dbkl only rm80 for whole day.. haha

• Even if public transport does improve, what about safety? Crime rates are too high especially to women walking home alone after taking public transport.

• Try to park at kl sentral.. U will see why people dont use lrt!

• Einstein on Oct 06, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Show me which Minister or Royalty that uses public transport. They should lead by example first!

• Improve our public transportation dulu la makcik!

• chekarooz on Nov 12, 2013 at 5:57 am

AUD40? Wonder where that parking area is. Possible solution is to build a lot of sheltered car parks like those in Melbourne where at every street there is car park areas within the building behind the shop row and even you hardly notice the entrance (camouflage among the shops). The idea is to make cars off the road fast. People use car to get to a point but not to go around and around looking for car park.