GALLERY: 2012 and 2013 Toyota Vios, side by side

2013_Toyota_Vios_new_vs_old_ 002

You must have 2013 Toyota Vios coming out of your ears by now – but here comes more! The car of the hour, also our country’s best-selling passenger car from a non-national brand and one of the most significant vehicles to be launched this year, has put six out of every ten Malaysian B-segment buyers on wheels since its birth in 2003.

Never mind that it isn’t the fastest, nor the most technologically sophisticated, nor the most generously-equipped choice you can make for this kind of money – the fact remains that Toyota clearly has a pretty good idea of what the majority of its target market want, or don’t want. You only have to look around you on the roads to see how many of them there are.

Therefore, in an attempt to study the buying trends of the B segment – which, with around 19,000 cars sold per month, accounts for nearly two-fifths of the Malaysian passenger car market – the Vios is as good a lab specimen as any. We park the just-launched 2013 Toyota Vios and its immediate ‘2012 update‘ predecessor alongside each other, go crazy with the camera and give you a summary of the changes.

2013_Toyota_Vios_new_vs_old_ 019

For a start, the all-new sheet metal is pretty obvious. A more angular shape overall makes the third-gen car look bolder, leaner and more athletic than the bulbous second-gen model. The windscreen and rear window are now less steeply-raked, making the side profile look longer.

Available for the first time are projector headlamps (G and TRD Sportivo only), LED DRLs (standard on TRD Sportivo, optional as part of an aerokit on all other variants) and rear fog lamps. All headlamps, including the J and E’s reflectors, now get a manual levelling adjuster.

The 2013 Toyota Vios is 110 mm longer and 15 mm taller overall than the outgoing car, but weighs between 10 and 30 kg less thanks to increased use of high-tensile steel in its structure (56%, compared to 30% previously) and a thinner roof that Toyota says does not compromise on strength.

2013_Toyota_Vios_new_vs_old_ 004

New additions that help aerodynamics are a ‘catamaran’-shaped roof, redesigned door mirrors, aero stabilising fins on the tail lamps and the base of the door mirrors, plus smoothened and sealed areas and gaps, including on the underbody. The drag coefficient has been reduced from the old car’s 0.29 to 0.28 as a result.

Making an entry on the new car is a three-layer acoustic windscreen (G and TRD Sportivo only). It also gets a redesigned engine mount, more optimally-positioned insulating materials, an insulation pad on the underside of the bonnet, revised door seals and increased use of asphalt sheets around the floor to improve cabin refinement.

Boosting rigidity is a higher number of spot welds (increased by more than 100) around the door openings and the bulkhead cowl, and the new car’s Impact Absorbing Body Structure features reinforced sides and door beams all round to comply with UN ECE R94 and R95 safety regulations, which took effect in Malaysia from July 2012.

2013_Toyota_Vios_new_vs_old_ 025

The stopping distance from 100 km/h has also been shortened from the previous 44.3 metres to 42.4 metres – no doubt mostly due to the weight loss, since the brakes haven’t changed. The suspension, although the same MacPherson-front, torsion beam-rear layout, adds a rear stabiliser to complement the existing front unit.

Yes, the 109 PS/141 Nm 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE four-cylinder engine with VVT-i, the five-speed manual and the four-speed auto aren’t new, but Toyota claims a 5% improvement in fuel consumption over the previous Vios – the new car is, after all, lighter.

Also contributing to the claimed improvement in fuel economy are engine bay components that have been redesigned to be lighter or more compact, including the engine’s air cleaner housing and related parts.

A new, more upscale-looking interior (helped by the Piano Black dimple grain dash trim and the pseudo-stitching?) sees the relocation of the instrument panel from the middle of the dash to behind the steering wheel – itself featuring a new design with new audio buttons.

The old car’s cubbyholes on either side of the centre stack make way for a single console tray with a rubberised surface that’s located more conventionally ahead of the gear lever, and the doors now have three opening stops so as to avoid hitting another car or wall by the side.

A multi-info display is now standard across the range, with the instrument dials on the current TRD Sportivo getting a sporty outlook to differentiate from the rest. Also on the new car but not offered on the old are an Eco light (except J manual) and keyless entry and start (G and TRD Sportivo only).

The front seats have increased seat-to-body contact and thinner backs, yielding 75 mm more legroom and 44 mm more knee room for rear occupants. The horizontal adjustment range of the front seats has been widened from 16 steps at 15 mm intervals to 26 steps at 10 mm intervals, while the driver’s seat has a 15 mm-higher lifter range.

The boot can accommodate up to 506 litres of luggage (J variants, which do not get folding back seats, hold a little over 500 litres). This represents an increase of 31 and 28 litres respectively over the old Vios. The boot opening is also slightly larger, and the sill 21 mm lower, making loading even easier. Remote boot release is now standard across the range.

Folding the 60:40 split rear seats is now done more easily through a push of a button – you had to pull up a knob in the old car to release the seat back catches. A three-point seat belt is now available for the rear occupant in the middle (previously lap belt) and there are now Isofix points for child seats.

Look up and you’ll notice the absence of a central ceiling lamp in the new Vios, when the old car had it. The utility hook has also moved from the back of the front passenger seat to the headrest (you now get two retractable hooks). The cupholder on the centre console is now open, as opposed to the previous car’s foldable lid.

Of course, there are new wheel designs, with alloys now standard across the range. There’s an eight-spoke for J and E cars, a multi-spoke for G and a ‘dynamic’ five-spoke for the TRD Sportivo, with TRD logo in the middle. Previously, we had a 12-spoke for J, E and G (dark silver for G Limited) and a bronze seven-spoker for the TRD Sportivo. All mentioned are 185/60 R15s.

As for body colours, in comes Quartz Brown Metallic and out goes Deep Amethyst Mica Metallic. Medium Silver Metallic, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black and White continue as is.

The 2012 update also offered a choice of two optional DVD-AVX and DVD-AVN touch-screen systems with reverse camera, but the new car adds SD compatibility to both. The higher-end DVD-AVN system now has a 7.0-inch screen compared to the previous 6.1, and introduces Voice Recognition and Smartphone Link.

The TRD Sportivo continues to be the top-of-the-range Vios. It obviously can’t offer a honeycomb mesh grille like the old one did, since there’s no real grille to speak of this time. But the TRD Sportivo suspension upgrade (coil springs and dampers with revised rates; tuned by TRD Asia for local conditions; lowering ride height by 10 mm), previously specifiable as an option on all variants, is nowhere to be found – perhaps it’ll crop up in the future.

2013_Toyota_Vios_new_vs_old_ 007

So you now know what the 2013 Toyota Vios has over the outgoing car. What does it still not have? VSC, more airbags, auto climate control and a front demister are some of the things a few of its segment rivals have that it has yet to offer.

Finally, the price difference. No change for the J variants, which cost RM73,200 (manual) and RM77,300 (auto), while E, G and TRD Sportivo are now RM600, RM1,187 and RM1,187 more expensive at RM82,900RM88,500 and RM93,200 respectively, on-the-road with insurance for Peninsular Malaysia. Read our preview drive report here, and our launch report here.

2013 Toyota Vios

2012 Toyota Vios

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Aerro on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Vios will always topple Preve, Suprima sales in the past, present and future forever. Bravo in advance to UMW Toyota!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 275 Thumb down 331
    • ktard on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 208
      • VSC VSC Where Are you? on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 702 Thumb down 1154
        • Kelvin Tee on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:26 pm

2012 Vios vs 2013 Vios?

Same shit. Different flavor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • Malaysian stupid buyer on Oct 07, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Stupid car for stupid malaysian buyer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
          • Wisdom on Oct 07, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Let the sales rampant begin..

Please dont blame the G or the dealer later if car prices in malaysia continue high..

• VSC VSC Where Are you? on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 577 Thumb down 1040
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux (again) on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:27 am

Given the no. of cheap kimchis in Sam’s yard, I asked him if I should get one of the pre-owned ones.

He said yes and no.

Yes if I want to have a high spec and low CAPEX car

No if I don’t want to be shown the Hilux again.

He told me that kimchis will even devalue further as they are not made to last, spares will be scarce after 5 years and the car will break apart under the hot Malaysian sun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 37
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux (again) on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:23 am

I got to confess something. Over the weekend, my son met with an accident. I realized I am doing wrong and in sin. Sam Loo and I work in Toyota and our sales have been so bad. Toyota has been losing market share badly to Koreans. And we at Toyota, even our UMW comrades have been going out to condemn Korean cars to the max. I am sorry for this.

• kim-hyunho on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:00 pm

this n polo which one better? considering the polo now, but new vios faster rite n looks alot better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 203
    • Anonymous on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:25 pm

I agree, because many people will blindly buy Vios to get to get a ‘driving-a-foreign-car’ prestige. They are too arrogant to admit that Proton Preve and Suprima is much superior in terms of specs, safety, power output and value for money. Come on, 93k vs 75k, but you get less when paying more expensive.

That is not a good decision; common sense will tell you. And that is why the sales of Vios will topple Preve & Suprima, because many people still fail to see the awesomeness of Protons.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 1182 Thumb down 1274

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 244
        • Russiaguy on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Oh man, you are wrong! A lot of my colleagues drive Protons to hospital for the sake of workplace transportation. And most of us own better cars at home. You are too biased!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • thanks for supporting my point.
            you have better car but drive proton for rough use.
            what else is proton if it is not cheapo car?
            even if it is dented , knocked, scratched,no big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • thanks for supporting my point that proton is cheapo car.
            even you own better car,still proton is for rough use, coz if get knocked, scratched, dented,also not feeling sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • vivian on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:39 pm

That was what T decades ago. A cheapo brand for rough usage. But now, it turns to death and money machine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • berombon on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:01 pm

I kinda of disagree with you. I was a former proton owner and I find a lot of issues with the car and the service centres said “biasa la bang”. So for me, no turning back to them for my subsequent cars…I agree that my other cars also got problems but the service centres will try their best to resolve it for me… That is the difference between them and other makes in my experience but I do wish all the best for proton tho….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 14
      • Bob__B78 on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:26 pm

I would to see how many dislike im gonna get when i say Vios ride and handling is no where near preve/suprima. If ride n handling is your main priority, preve/suprima is the most bang for buck in this segment. Other than that, japanese/korean would be your choice. Btw, i dont own any proton anymore. I moved to C segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
        • feindf on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:34 pm

preve/suprima is in C segment. overpriced vios is B segmenter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:28 am

Interesting to see that Proton C Segment, KImchi D and C Segment owners getting worring about a B- Segment sushi affecting the RV of their cars.

THis is another reason for me to push down the trade in prices of kimchi.

I don’t deal with Protons, so they are safe for now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 219
          • gillt on Oct 06, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 141
      • Ah Beng on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:33 pm

If proton is so superior, why do i see more proton on the roadside with emergency lights on?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 44
      • cardealer on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:19 am

proton salesman detected !!!

kamonlah… !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
      • kahkahkah on Oct 05, 2013 at 2:47 am

Failed to see proton’s awesomeness?? Seriously??…Toyota buyers choose Vios over Preve/Suprima is because QUALITY…they want a fuel efficientcy VVT-i rather than the fuel thirsty CamPro that always leaks…they also dont want to own a car that will hv sounds appear elsewhere in the car after using sometimes (or even just few days!)…and we all knowed that how bad is proton’s service centre…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 45
        • yippy on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:37 pm

I’d rather get more powerful turbocharged engine than underpowered outdated 1.5l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 16
        • kahkahkah, fuel efficiency are based on our foot most of the time. you press hard then consume more fuel. watch top gear where bmw m3 crusing while toyota prius was revving. result, m3 consume less fuel.

• Littlebear on Oct 05, 2013 at 7:29 am

Most people buy a toyota vios instead of proton is to spend less than in work shop. Proton might excel in spec wise but in terms of reliability, i believe this vios will pawn your preve or suprima.

Most working Malaysian have gone thru the age whereby they are forced to buy crappy cars from proton as they’ve got no choice back then. Now with preve and suprima priced around the same as a toyota.. It totally make sense to get a vios than a proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 35
        • Proton cars are more reliable nowadays. Blood sucking T is nothing left, only pathetic badge. If T owners have problems they just don’t talk it loud. At the end of day T reliability is more or less same with most cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 17
          • Proton cars are more reliable “nowadays”? Reliable-ed for how long? 1 week? 3 months? or 3 years only?

Wait till your Proton is as work-shop-free as the Toyota Vios in 2023 then come back say again loud.

I was a Proton owner (first hand). I thought my wira was “reliable nowadays” and next day I need to change this and that. After all, I had changed everything except the engine, BECAUSE IT WAS NOT PROTON MADE!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
          • Other cars also not 100% made by the respective automakers. The gadgets like airbags, VSC/VSA, traction control, Head Unit etc are made of the vendors. You should blame them instead.

• Yea, then i should blame who for the engine radiator, air cond radiator, water pipe, gasget, clutch, water pump, clutch pump, brake pump, suspension, engine mounting, air cond condenser and cooler, radiator fan, dashboard, speedometer cable(x5), brake cable?

Vendors may make unreliable products. But for Proton, everything made by them or their vendor are not reliable (excluding it is from Mitsubishi).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • flykite on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:44 am

You just bash blindly here. Any source? Any stats of proton defects rate? lol

• Anoinymous on Oct 05, 2013 at 7:58 am

Vios = For Winners!

Preve Suprima = For Losers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 105
        • nobby on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Blind bashing is from a loser!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 32
        • It is very wrong in the first place to compare Vios with Preve Suprima.

Vios is the cheapest Toyota and Preve Suprima are the most expensive Proton. Is it fair?

Compare Preve Suprima with Altis Camry! We all know which one better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:53 pm

For Kimchi owners, I will show you the Hilux

And also, mind you that all kimchis comes standard with VHL system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 42

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 169
      • True guy on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:51 am

Yes Preve and suprima far better than this 4 torque converter but malaysian biasalah … blind always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Car enthusiast on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Proton more features, less reliability. Vios less features, more reliability. Which will YOU choose?

• fair compared on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1022 Thumb down 1166
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Not a fortune teller, but definitely someone that has been shown the Hilux by Sam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Littlebear on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Bro, your ford is a food car. No doubt about it but when you need to replace spare parts or when u got into an accident, thats when all hell breaks lose.

Ford is notoriously known to have lack of spare parts and you might have to wait for months before you can get your hands on them. Till then your Ford will have to be stranded in thw workshop. That is why a lot of people still prefer reliability and spare parts abundant japanese cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • maserratiShameLoo on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 403
      • jeremy on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 320
      • Anoinymous on Oct 07, 2013 at 7:53 am

Better buy Mitsubishi Lancer lah. The original and genuine stuff. No need to pretend yourself with Inspira the fake Lancer HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
        • caprico on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:46 am

shooh.. shooh.. this is not a place for a little boy playing with his hotwheels…

• flykite on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:47 am

If like that then I could say vios rear is fake waja and front is fake china made car. It’s waaayyyyyy ugly, haha!

• Proton improves the Lancer ride and handling, you cannot say it’s fake because it’s improving, not to mention rebadging is common business among automakers.

• dino years on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:17 pm

another fortuneteller like me

• Walau forget about those preve or sup lima! they r not suppose to be a car! Vios at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 203
      • AripSpm on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:00 pm

I am looking for this kinda post actually!

Last time Dugong; this time takkan “Vios Transformer” kut…

please…

• Nissan on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Why choose vios over proton Suprima? poor after sales service lor.

• axel_stig on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Vios = iphone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 82
    • Wan Malaysia on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 258
      • vishu san on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:26 pm

i think what he meant is, Vios = iphone because people will just ended up buying it, blindly following the trend without further research.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 266 Thumb down 334
        • Gracke on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 169
        • axel_stig on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:32 am

smart!

• Wan Malaysia on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Wow, it’s so impressive you can read minds and know what and how these Vios owners think when buying a car. I say you must be very unique and driving a really super special car. I want to be just like you, women want to have your babies.

• MrDDR on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:47 pm

How steve jobs can read his post? they buried him together with i-pad? even then still got coverage in his grave?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • axel_stig on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:33 am

not so smart.. steve jobs must b coming out from his grave and give ur not so smart face a slap!

• cakehot on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:01 am

vios = bette milder with corset and heavy make-up.

• Peter on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Side view:
      Vios 2012 looks like Almera
      Vios 2013 looks like Proton Saga FLX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • drBirdie on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:46 pm

vios = durex. the truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Beetle Nut on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Love that wrap on the steering of the old Vios :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 22
    • Aaron on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 218
      • If everyone has the same liking, I would love to marry your wife only!

• that’s aftermarket wrap.

not from Toyota.

u can buy it at accessories shop.

• drBirdie on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:52 pm

i couldn’t agree more! it’s the same wrap ter used on Li Dan racket !!! expensive material !! new vios dun hav this meh?? cost cutting again..damn..

• roxas on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:11 pm

lol author love vios alot..? theres aredi so many pic in the prev topic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • ntah la.. skali tgk memang menarik.. tp dua, tiga kali tgk.. last choice kot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
  • i really hate vios from a to z coz such lousy overpriced car can top the sales.
    but i have to admit the 3rd gen vios is much better than 2nd gen in term of cosmetic aspect.
    and will give those poor chap a feel like they are driving a camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
    • cardealer on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:22 am

usually those who bash vios are those who are poor, uneducated, low income and can’t afford to buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
      • Your source please or you blind bashed

• I bashed Vios extensively. I got a degree from University of Nottingham in mechanical engineering, major in manufacturing. Graduated last year, July 2012. My income is….quite a lot in this KVMRT project as an engineer.

And…more importantly, I own a Peugeot 208.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 131
        • Pijot only ka…kah…kah…kah. tak mampu ka brand lain.

• I believe you have Honda

………

…..

……

Honda Wave, hahahah

• no need to brag lad.. your qualification n your job is nothing special..

• Dr. Cap Ayam on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Wow… You must be the most successful person I have met on the internet. I can’t wait til you get knighted by the queen.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 191
  • _xXx_ on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:36 pm

should be nice without the transformer-look-alike front skirt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • TurboMax on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Good effort in comparing both cars

i hope the readers will be matured enough to compare the cars advantages and disadvantages in a more thoughtful manner.

This is Malaysia and sadly we only have a a handful of people movers to compare. Unlike other countries where the choice is vast, from Japanese to continental cars.

i used to read all the comments in Paul tan , but now days i just skip the comments section.

Why? its because of the blind bashing.
    So stop bashing blindly, argue the facts .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 22
    • guest on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 430 Thumb down 826
      • jeremy on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Wow, Toyota fanboys really making use of the refresh button….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • habiz on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:25 am

What blind? If they want to sell crap old engine car with crap old gear box, please go back. They should value our money more than before.

• RedCRZ on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:41 pm

add VSC, more airbag & update transmission then we’ll talk biz. i can live with the dinosaur engine still

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • vee-oh on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:42 pm

thinner roof, smaller air filter box etc…in short this new Vios is about better looking and much cost cutting.wow that sounds like a Toyota!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 19
  • sonyman on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 228 Thumb down 365
    • Vios for life on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:26 am

Your comment really tickles me …now no more Beng Beng lian lian la …only Brian & Lucy lol

• yes so cheap, with that price I can buy 3 saga!

• wewanfair on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 278 Thumb down 443
    • Maserati(Official) on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:17 pm

hahahahha…

maybe if Fukushima’s leftover uranium breeds godzilla which destroy and flatten Japan

otherwise, dream on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 553 Thumb down 190
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Kimchi is already No. 1 in lowest resale value. It was the same 10 years ago, it will be the same 10 years from now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 39
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:44 pm

As an ex kimchi owner, I can tell you that Korean Cars are already No. 1 in Lowest Trade In value 10 years ago, and will continue to be so 10 years from now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
    • trident owners club on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:08 am

More precisely PRC car industry is going to take over japanese auto industry soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
    • 10 year later? Then by that time i can get a korean car by trading in the Japanese car… so for now still stick to Japanese car! XD

• alldisc on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:00 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 170
      • mirtc on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 174
        • HarpArtist on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:05 pm

they improved by giving us look

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:21 pm

The japs did not give you lousy specs. It is the jap-ball lickers like UMW that is stripping of the better Jap specs for you poor saps to die in…

• Thinner roof..
    Adkh kalau hujan bising bunyi hujan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
  • Mahu B.N dan Najib turun on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Why no mentioned story of the soundproof quality? the LED at sportivo G version look cheapo and like accs shop quality & sizes.come on, opps they did it again “same engine”! the exterior is like evo x kisses with preve. Syabas, anak of PREVEPIRA is born in 3rd Oct 2013.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 15
  • JohnDi on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 165
  • Biasa on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Many hates and some love. It’s simple for some one to choose this car:
    1.) If I want from point A to B without ease
    2.) Do not want to drive a locally made car
    3.) Spare parts all over the place
    4.) Simple maintenance and service
    5.) Good resale value
    If you ask me, I won’t buy it. Cause it was not my choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
    • it is still a poor people car.
      you are just better than those in proton and perodua.
      you can be proud of getting yourself out from those rubbish and into this garbage.
      congrates.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:56 pm

I’m sorry but Vios is a locally made car. Only engineered by our neighbour country.

• cardealer on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:23 am

“not my choice” = “no money to buy it”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Good summary.

• W111A on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:36 pm

The new Vios is a winner in every aspects. While the outgoing model looks like a dugong, the incoming one resembles an arowana which is acceptable to many people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 45
    • levinguy on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:10 pm

dugong looks nicer.. lower the spring.. put 195 tyre… put trd bodykit… then u will see it….

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 177
    • What? Arowana? lo l lol lol ol
      Go check your eyes

• even Rm93k Vios car…still can say is kosong car! 2 air bags, No Vsc, No reverse camera, No memory seat, No paddle shift, No auto cruise, No front sensor,old engine and gearbox, manually air cond control, 3years warranty only… hehe, i am Kia K3 owner…

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 253 Thumb down 328
    • Go back to your Korea land already and sing K-poop and do lots of PLASTIC SURGERY TO YOUR DAMN KOREAN PLASTIC CAR !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • cardealer on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:25 am

your kia has low resale value

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 242 Thumb down 15
      • masakroti on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:33 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 160
        • dino years on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:35 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 199
          • merss on Oct 06, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 168

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 221 Thumb down 347
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux (again) on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:33 am

As an ex-kimchi owner, I would say that being so darn low on the society for being a kimchi owner, people will look you down from all angles

You will be driving with a hailat face all the time, and that will by default transform to poor driving habits.

All the VSC, ABD and ABS will not save a kimchi and its occupants from kingdom come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Correction. Kia has NO RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:47 pm

My God, you are the ultimate sorhai to buy Kia instead of Hyundai.

At least uncle Sam will show only 1 Hilux to Hyundai owners.

For Kia owners, its at least 2 Hilux, but recently, given the near zero demand for used Kia, he decided to lower the trade in price of Kia 15% lower than Hyundai. That is worth 3 Hilux for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • b sensible on Oct 05, 2013 at 8:18 pm

i agree with alex that the high spec vios should hv top of the class features as the price is RM20k more than the lower specs!

• Yea, a RM90k Toyota with VSC, reverse camera, auto cruise, climate control and RM60 can travel 650km and still you won’t buy it.

It is not about Toyota, it is about you. Why you have to bash Toyota to show you are KIA owner? Because from the bottom of your heart, KIA still not up to Toyota standard? Admit that, bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 94
      • tanny on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:56 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 128
        • You are eating kimchi and you expect it to taste like sushi.

For Vios, Altis, camry, prius, the handling of course bad simply because THEY ARE NOT DESIGNED FOR SPEEDING/RACING.

Please come back and comment about Toyota handling again after you test drive Top Gear’s Car of the Year 2012 – Toyota GT 86!!

• Only GT86? Proton has a lot of superb balanced car between handling and speed. From savvy onwards, they are all pretty good. It’s just the engine which does not have a lot power to deliver.

• Vios, altis and camry have never been associated with good handling. They are all have sampan handling. Only uncles and aunties don’t want to enjoy fun riding and they hog the fastest lane. Why? Because they syok sendiri they are fast, in reality, they are slow like snail!

• sonyman on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:18 pm

at least at 93 K you still get an engine, a gearbox 4 tyres and some seats.

You can just imagine if UMW sells you the Vios X Variant, comes with 3 tyres, 1 seat and engine and gear box are optional at RM 93K, i am sure someone will go buy this spec.

• Style on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Why does one use an old E variant to compare with brand new G variant?!? Cheap marketing trick first glance appear that the new vios has improved significantly, especially interior wise!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 288
      • lanjan on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:39 am

The difference may be the size, which one is the bigger dropping. The new one I think.

• sudonano on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Since there was a side by side for the Vios, can we PLEASE have on for the F10 and F10 LCI? :D

I think the wrap on the steering of the 2012 Vios is aftermarket. Looks odd imo.

• Toyolta on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 122
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Now that so many ppl are buying this car, the supply of used kimchis 1 year from now will be much lower.

Seems like more and more Malaysians are getting smarter after being shown the Hilux by Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 379
    • sonyman on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:21 pm

love your idea, can recycle engine some more, the environment is better. Sell the TRD frame only at RM 90K lah, pay another 3K to remove the old engine to the new body. I think this is a very good business plan for toyota and its owners.

• Peter on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:29 pm

It make sense. Good business plan.

• Vios always give good RV ! very good RV indeed .
    buy proton nightmare … buy vios sure sweet dream la coz good RV ……… take note bros :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • 2005-VIOS on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Just went to check up the new VIOS. Good looking, nice but… It didn’t give me the Uuummmph to upgrade my existing 2005 Vios to this new Vios.

Found that the “plastic” quality (internal) of the new Vios is not as good. Also my 2005 Vios has many “lubang” (compartment) to keep my thingy… but the new Vios, I have to keep them in the glove-box…

Sigh..

• vroom vroom on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 188
    • Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Why buy a new K3 at RM100k when you can get a 1 year old Elantra at around RM60k?

I usually accept trade in at RM50k. Gotta do some cosmetic works on it and some profit, plus the amortize the cost of the few Hilux I park around my kimchi car yard

• RodaEmpat on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 161
  • Onizuka on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:19 pm

My personal point of view ranking for the price RM70k-RM85k for Segment B

1)New Swift
    2)New Fiesta
    3)New Vios
    4)Peugeot 208
    5)Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:41 pm

But you should consider a used kimchi, less than 15 months old.

Very high spec and very resonable price.

Warranty is for the next 2 years or so

Always go for Hyundai. Kia’s RV and service will be many nightmares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • sonyman on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:29 pm

i think you are used car sales man it it? keep asking people to get a used kimchi. I also agree with you if i wanna buy used car i sure buy kimchi, but the new generation kimchi.

I understand liau lah, Sam Loo, used car sales man. If you wanna buy kim chi, buy a nice used one. If you wanna buy new car, buy continental, Japanese especially toyota is a waste of time and money, right mr loo?

• There’s definitely changes and improvement across, but spec wise,none is ever obvious and the most obvious(and potentially more important) safety and power plant spec bump is beyond me( you actually I have no prob. with that power plant,but the former) . As far aesthetic, personally it’s a big jump, and the interior is much better than before( shout out to whoever thought it was better to put the instrument cluster in front and not middle as before, and pseudo stitching). To me, it’s a good choice to anyone who ever wanted a Vios, it’s a much better car than before, but there are still better one out there.
    For me, it’s like saying looking at new toaster but now has aluminum finish, do I care? No, but it’s a damn better for those who like toaster.

• Heskey on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Cool looking front cupholders

• HarpArtist on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:11 pm

All superficial differences to me. Tukar muka then can get infinity new orders. Toyota sales and marketing team bravo x100. Toyota R&D department…*insert comment*

• torque king on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 250
    • b sensible on Oct 05, 2013 at 8:36 pm

why put the blame on people who want to buy the car?. they certainly hv a right! marketing taught us a lesson that consumer’s perception is important in sales. if the customer see the product is giving them more value than they actually paid for, they will gun it down. on the contrary, if they pay something & get peanuts, they might as well forget about it! so would you want to buy a product that give you peanuts or value? the choice is yours!

• sonyman on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:30 pm

thank you, we all know about this issue. Thank you again for reminding us.

• policeman on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 438
  • If you buy 77k vios J, the actual car price is about rm52k.Plus rm19k for excise duty and 6k for sales tax.So if want to compare apple to apple with other car, please compare it with Persona..

• jgn pikirin abg on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Teksi di indonesia…

• yusri on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Bilakah aku dapat memiliki mu vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • frenzyaustin on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:58 pm

For top spec Vios, rather go for Prius C, save more fuel, looks better, speced better, built better and everything is better. Or go for Jazz/Jazz Hybrid if want support Buatan Malaysia.

• blablabla on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 148
      • There is no perfect car, like you and me, never perfect.

Prius C can travel 650km with RM60. Can your car do that? 20sen increment on fuel price and you bising here and there. It is just a additional RM18 per month if I travel 2000km a month.

Prius c owner might need optician but you certainly need neurologists.

• vechczech on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:03 am

Beter buy Saga SV at 33k. Prius C is 90k. he money saved is 57k. If my fuel cost every month is RM300, I can use it for 190 months. THAT IS 15 YEARS!

Eco car? Puuuuiiiii

• If your saga SV is as reliable as Prius c then of course different story.

Your Saga last for 5 years and you have to change a new one, there is extra RM40k (it won’t stay RM33k forever). If you have no money to change, you need to spend a few thousands EVERY YEAR to change this part that part (including the engine). Over 15 years, you either buy 3 Saga (that is RM100k++) or spend around RM30k to maintain it. Plus the extra fuel you paying every month. When the fuel rise to RM3 then how? It definitely will be and this day will come soon.
            Prius C has no clutch, no timing belt, no gearbox, no CVT belt. The maintenance fee is so cheap. And it can run for at least 15 years. could your saga sv?
            When come to cost, think long term! It is very naive only consider the car price.

• vechczech on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:40 am

This is joke of the year. I think I heard someone saying proton is for rich people who have enough money to change car every 3 years!!! Hahahahahaha

And another thing, a lot of old saga “tank” are still the road, they are still moving despite having carburetor engine. Don’t say you never see one. You lied to yourself, pity. It’s just because of an outdated overpriced overrated badge.

Puiiiiiii

• Why Pirus C sucks?
            1.The Prius C has poor styling plus an interior that is nothing special. The Prius C has low engine output and poor performance. This was not a fun car to drive, especially since it was noisy inside.

2.It is TINY and very expensive. The only way to open the passenger side glove compartment is for the passenger to spread their legs so the door can open. It almost touches the edge of the front seat. The luggage space in the hatchback is also tiny and could probably hold two small duffle bags.

3. C actually stands for CHEAP! The seats are harder than a rock, are flat, and the head rest angle will put you in a doctors office. And yes the tail lights look like something from a mismatched box of Mattel toy car parts. Gas mileage is great but you have to be very very careful with the meager acceleration pulling out on a highway as an 18 wheeler can flatten you but QUICK.

Prius C is the suckiest car of the year!

• Although I am quite disappointed with the 3rd gen Vios, it still is a good car. Stop the blind bashing, haters. I believe most Vios owners who usually comprise of middle class people (teachers, office workers, students etc) can live with the dinosaur engine and transmission. At least it’s pretty reliable and does its job well (although I expected more innovation as it’s a car from Toyota, like hey Toyota man). However, on a side note, UMW Toyota should (must) put in VSC and some extra airbags, in the facelift or whatnot. And the idea of removing the auto air cond is horrible.

All in all, the 3rd gen Vios still is a great car, and has improved quite a lot compared to its predecessor. It’s just that there are some better cars with more value-for-buy out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:11 am

it still has modern EFI, DOHC, VVTI and ABS – enough to provide sufficient power to move, while being economical as well, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Abdeew on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:21 am

Dugong vs Thundercat..

• roxas on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:35 am

admin should revise the like n dislike to control the traffic, should limit to 1 IP-address 1 like only like it used to be. too many self refresh likes or dislikes now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • KILL THE PROTON FIRST.THEN WE CAN AFFORD TO BUY MORE CHEAPER SUCH AS OTHER COUNTRIES…WE ARE NUMBER 1 TAX PAYERS IN MALAYSIA AND THE OTHERS GET BENEFITS ENJOYING RIDING EUROPEAN CARS.FEEL LIKE SLAVE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • eterna on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:59 pm

The tax more or less the same with proton if the cars are assembled in ASEAN countries. Closing proton is not worth it.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 236
  • inderaloka on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:25 am

Mazda3 lagi lawa.

• Megane on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:31 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 181
    • alldisc on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:14 am

i dont think the white colour car is a test drive unit from UMW. but rather a car owned by an individual on loan for this shoot out.

• inderaloka on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:35 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 147
  • JohnDi on Oct 05, 2013 at 7:28 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 295
    • Bapak ikan keli on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:53 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 196
    • encik nescafe on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:34 pm

grin…

• John, the one who disliked ur post might have paid deposit for the new vios……heart broken, deposit stolen….

keep the receipt ya’ll….

• Ashraf on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:22 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 287
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux (again) on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:35 am

Don’t make the same mistake I did buying a new kimchi.

Sam will ultimately show you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Polis on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:33 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 479
    • Looks like those people disagreed with u had been paid booking fees for the Vios already….. Keep the receipt ya’ll…..

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 297
    • Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Consider a pre-owned Hyundai Elantra.

The 1st owner has lost an arm and 2 legs selling it off.

You will be surprised at what kind of bang you get with your buck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 269

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 162
  • Condemn about this car? *cough* there’s 8k units booked before launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux (again) on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Rats, 8k less new kimchis for me to show Hilux to their owners 1 year down the line.

Vios is definitely affecting new kimchi sales and accelerating the trade in rate for 1 year old ones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • JohnDi on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 159
      • JohnDi on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 121
    • bluebird on Oct 05, 2013 at 4:46 pm

wonder how many units Sup S booked before launch?

• Pls Keep condemning BUT vios will still SELL LIKE AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA HOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT CAKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. Mahu people Ubah? Lain kalilah dan tunggu lama lama.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Juz beat it on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Give this Vios a f break, its nice face the fact, or shove it off if you don’t like it nobody is calling it a bargain.

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:32 am

A pre-owned 1 year old Elantra is a bargain, and a Forte would be classified a steal.

Do consider used kimchis as alternative.

You get a non-national C-Segment at higher spec @Proton C-Segment prices than a new B-Segment Vios

• encik nescafe on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 179
    • lanjan on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 252

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 160
  • policeman on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 203

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 164

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 152
  • Mr Toyota, i know u are GOOD. BUT can u do it BETTER?
    Why keep maintain your status as GOOD only while others Car Company want to do it the BEST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 68
  • neo turbo on Oct 05, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Persepsi….
    Mmg proton akan kalah….bg la ape spec skalipun…

• bleukaizen on Oct 05, 2013 at 4:01 pm

main difference on tech is start stop engine….look inside out so so lah….compared with previous

handling no difference, same tyre size

• yapyw on Oct 05, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Without VSC (or ESP), I think the Ford Fiesta S will be nicer to drive. However, the Toyota brand speaks loudly on Quality and so will still runs in front of the competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • klaus on Oct 05, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 224
  • wchung87 on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:04 pm

FORD Fiesta better than both =)
    no offense…

• 666devil on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 179
  • coolcare on Oct 05, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 204

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 234
    • 666devil on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:10 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 267
  • lanjan on Oct 06, 2013 at 12:05 am

In Malaysia, Toyota is pushing the limit of people trust on its brand perception. Compare to rivals, toyota offered night and day specs. Profit is more important, no matter how crappy the product, people will buy. That is why they keep selling the same thing. I am not saying Toyota cars are bad but rivals are as good and as reliable. But most rivals are actually better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Please lar, people buy a Proton because THEY CAN’T AFFORD more expensive car.

I dare the government allows Vois to be sold same price as Saga (both also lowest specs in the brand) and see who would want to buy Proton?

Come on lar. Be realistic ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • No such thing as cheap Vios, even in Thai the City price is similar to Preve. If Vios is to be sold as same price as Saga, the Saga you should remove Saga tax too. At the end of the day, Saga is still much cheaper! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 147
  • Did the engine changed since it first launched? it is still 1NZ-FE since 2002. At least City changed to a 5 speed auto box. Guess Honda change the engine too. Toyota can do better….

• iluvproton on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:38 am

8k malaysians have given a big NO to tun ape name’s “kerete berkualiti”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Actually, choosing Proton over kimchi is definitely a smarter choice.

Pretty decent specs and built quality has improved from the Iswara and Waja days.

The much lesser taxes and duties means a larger segment car for the same price as kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • 666devil on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:59 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1138
  • 666devil on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:06 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 626 Thumb down 1204
  • Paul, think yr votes have been hijacked by T sales ppl. Anything slightly unfavourable is overwhelmed.

BTW, the new Vios is just the old Vios with new clothes.

• Devil on Oct 06, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 206
  • 666devil on Oct 06, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 147
  • 666devil on Oct 06, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 166
  • 666devil on Oct 06, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 167
  • bawakereta on Oct 06, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Aku terjumpa kat internet. Kereta vios model ni suspension patah masa test drive di Filipina sana. Sama macam Preve test drive yang patah suspension depan itu hari. Kesimpulannya usahlah dibanggakan sangat dan kemalangan tidak mengenal jenama.

• kusochon on Oct 06, 2013 at 2:48 pm

tiru lampu depan saga flx

• kusochon on Oct 06, 2013 at 2:52 pm

wow so many downvoting on negative comments. probably UMW using some auto downvote software..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 06, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Well, facts are facts. There are just far more people like me that has been shown the Hilux.

No one wants to lose and arm and 2 legs within a year because Korean Cars owners are deemed el-cheapo, untrustworth, low class and most of all, inferior and unambitious

Might as well get a Geely or Great Wall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • vios trd or inspira 2.0P? Hmm

• BLT CLUB on Oct 06, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Vios, City, Preve, Suprima, Elantra, Rio etc.. no point arguing guys. Just work hard and make this your stepping stone car. Use until pay-off loan, then use some more until you save up for a better car. Don’t bother about image la, brand etc. Entry level is entry level la.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 06, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Suprima,Elantra and Preve are C-Segment.

Why are they in the same basket as Vios, City and Rio?

• BLT CLUB on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Same basket cause they are all entry level. Whatever segment doesn’t matter. Use entry level as stepping stone to something better.

• B segment vios same price as other c segment on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:34 am

Salesman, u really shoot ur own foot with ur question.
        Simple, ppl compare them Bcoz b segment vios selling same price as c segment cars! Furthermore, it has the least features, and the most ancient technology. Heck I malu to admit even suprima better than it now.
        I know u r not ashamed, still pls don’t start talking about quality where u tried so hard to hide all the broken axle comments.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:22 pm

It is simple because a 13 month old C Segment kimchis will trade in for less than a 8 year old Vios

• New vios accident - pls check website or facebook on Oct 06, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 224
  • Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2013 at 8:04 pm

As I have mentioned earlier, this weekend was indeed a record breaking for me.

A 2012 Oct K5, traded in for RM49k
    A 2013 Dec Elantra traded in for RMM51K

There are some with higher prices, but that depends on how hailat the faces were.

Generally, I was really afraid for the safety of those that I shown 2 to 3 Hilux to, and they wanted to think about it. They look like they were in total disarray and disbelief that their cabbages has so low trade in value.

Anyway, it was a great weekend for me, another record breaking day to lower the price of kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Typo error, 2012 Dec Elantra.

But I have also sold many Sonatas at lower than expected prices, as more and more buyers realises that kimchis don’t last

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • "Click Here to See" below for new vios accident photo on Oct 06, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 331
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:28 pm

There is a very obvious lack of intelligence for Kimchi owners.

Cut and paste the same old fiction all over and expect admin not to whack you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • honda jazz on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 240
  • honda jazz on Oct 06, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 243
    • Test drive in rain listen zinc roof on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:04 am

That’s the beginning of cut cost. I thought my current gen Altis was spared from this cut cost measure. boy was I wrong. Now I know what salesman never allow test drive during rain. The rain noise is louder than my home zinc roof!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:25 pm

No amount of acoustic treatment can soften the tears dripping out and the 120dBm Hailat shout from kimchi owners when I show them the Hilux

• benzs on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Good looking n awesome curve! EPS included like P.myvi, so far as I know bout EPS is the steering feel very light n responsive. To test whether power steering or EPS, just twist ur steering during car is in park condition. Watch the rpm rise or not. EPS will not rise, T claimed 5% more fuel saving is true. In P.Myvi as well. Good tech from Japan. No need maintenence n saving in steering fluid as well. Gambateh Japan products lover!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • ugley on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:49 pm

EPS is nothing to shout about while the engine and gearbox are from dinosaur era, LOL.

• OMG so cheap looking! Come on peeps, wake up.

• gulator on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Vios quality is somehow degraded much now. If not, how come the tyre became like that?

• it is normal practice for any G in the world to protect their local industry. But the willingness of some of us to pay a hefty sum of hard earned money over the more cheaper and better substitute is called stupidity.

• Anoinymous on Oct 07, 2013 at 7:56 am

Vios = Less time spent in workshop!

Any Proton = Lots, lots of time & sick leave applied wasted for workshop!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • More leave taken to service or repair toyota on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:16 am

Hello, u own a toyota before? I took the most leaves repairing a toyota. Weekends have to be booked at least 2 weeks in advanced. Service take 3 hours so they can charge u more labour fee per hour. Worst part, they don’t layan any repair request on weekends. Unless the wheel axle patah as in the widely circulated pic. Hehe!

• Sam Loo on Oct 07, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Kimchi = Hailat when selling

Vios = I dun wanna part with my car eventhough salesman offered me 75% of new price for a 3year old car

• Only sell on brand. Where quality? on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:11 am

Sadly with quality out the window, as proven by the pic and many owner comments, now salesman left with resale value to preach. But with ppl getting wiser and lesser sale, rv will keep dropping.
      Just don’t go trade in with toyota salesman, especially the salesman here. Stick to the other brands u have chosen regardless continue, local. They will give u high trade in for upgrade to the same brand.

• Sparcov on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:41 am

Let the buyer to decide what they want to buy
    Brand come first or spec. come first.
    At the end, money will come first.

Any new launch is the place for the Proton basher to complain.

I never heard a korean bash their national car maker. I don’t hear the German bash their car maker. I don’t hear Chinese bash their own car maker. Do you heard Japanese bashed their Toyota?

Actually nothing wrong with Proton and Please don’t compare previous proton. Try look around the latest Exora and Preve. Their Quality improve a lot. I’m driviing a Preve. So, why not ?

This is Toyota discussion forum. So Vios is no doubt a reliable car. Without those electronic also I don’t see any problem for those who does not play with it. 1.5 engine vvti proven more than 10 years on the road is sufficient to say that vios is a good car.

you like, you buy, you don’t like you go for korean or malaysian car. If you have more money, go for german maker.

Toyota do a lot of market research, they are number 1 car maker in the world

• Comment on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:04 am

good for paultan to recticfy the autoclick issue. Any car has good and bad. Why do you fear of negative comments? You should take it as the point for further improvement not try to hide it. If is a genuine dislike by majority, it is fine. But the dislike button has been played by some parties for their gain. Both good and bad comments are essential to inform the potential customer on the product. Final judgement is still by themself.

Vios is of course a good car, but there are still things consumers wanted to highlight or bring up attention to umw or toyota.

• hahaha on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:09 am

DejavuReminds me of a local car launch.https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1378169_10202204951074375_518691853_n.jpg
    Do me a favor, give at least 400 dislikes will u? Since u so free and the car cannot sell.
    Salesman do u know how to write a script to auto dislike? If yes, u r in the wrong career selling kosong cars!………..PASTE IT AS MANY U CAN

• miley mix with hilton on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:24 am

sales price so near to Kia k3 1.6, UMW, ask you… where VSA,LED head/rear light,6 airbag, 3 mode power steering, heater seat, parking assist, chiller compartment, 5 years warranty, sunroof, paddle shift, dual aircond, rear aircond diffuser, ans so on. Mayb toyota too emphasize in C segment and above model an forgot the mid/small size market. Anyway, the new model prove toyota is decending their design and sincerity. Coming altis and many model will proven more decending move.Syabas Anak PREVEPIRA.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:27 pm

I would ask the more pertinent question.

What is the trade in price of a K3?

• DKBOSS on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:53 am

I think would be wise to wait for the new Altis to be launched hopefully soon, if you’re gonna spend RM93k on a vios, adding a bit more for a different/larger segment car would be more worth it.

Anyhow, the new vios looks great apart from lack of safety features and even today’s news mention by year end, hybrid car prices are going to go up should our GOMEN not continue to offer the current incentives for hybrid cars thus overall UMW could have price the new vios in anticipation to counter this.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/10/07/Hybrid-car-prices-may-go-up.aspx

• We need to look thru those negative comments NOT look at it directly. If they post Vios Accident photo, it means that please give us more safety features. If they say Dugong, it means please give us a more stylist car. If they says low tech, it means please give us a better engine/gear box.

Car companies are monitoring blogs and web for their product feedback. If they are good company, they will listen.

So, we may need to thanks those previous and current Toyota bashers for giving you a better Vios this time around.

Positive Mind Positive Life.

• nananana on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:29 pm

vios : boring interior..got sleepy & easy to accident

• benzs on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Sushi better than kimchi. Accident is just nothing to prove this car is bad. It happen, never know when accident will happen so dont let down Sushi vios. Its still a great car. Just a little thing bout tis car ppl will bash it like no tomorrow. Come on basher, at least T brand put many effort for rnd in term of design. Engine is old tech but very realiable, compare to P1 sure headache every year getting older.

• foxtrot on Oct 07, 2013 at 7:36 pm

if you watch the videos on Electronic Stability Program (VSC) you wouldn’t say that

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3m24bjkfg0

• Hey why u share that? on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Umw wanna keep it hush hush leh so their salesman can continue earning 6 months bonus…
        Malaysia no ice mah. If too heavy rain Malaysian smart enough won’t go out 1.so might well remove all these features so umw can have max profit.

• lanjan on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:17 am

What is little with a broken knuckle? On a busy road some more, just how fast can you go to have the damage to that extent? For me it shows just how reliable the new vios is. So much cost cutting to balance the effort in design. And compare how many good features from the previous vios gone missing.
      https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1378169_10202204951074375_518691853_n.jpg

• anonymous on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:04 pm

don’t care how bad being bashing..it still shows you high sales statistic..

it is a good pre-own car, don’t you think so?

• Sam Loo on Oct 07, 2013 at 6:41 pm

A used Elantra is a great pre-owned car.

A 1 year old Elantra sells for around the same price as a 8 year old Vios

• anonymous is toyota salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • anonymous on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:34 pm

nope i sell usedcar

• Sam Loo on Oct 07, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Wah, my competitor?

Now that everyone knows trading kimchi is so profitable, more will join the bandwagon

• not-my-name on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:40 pm

TOYOTA = The Outdated-spec Yet Over-price, This-is Awesome??

• AntiDugong on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:42 pm

I am always excited whenever Honda launches their new model. Even if the new car model uses the same engine, there will be much improvement over the predecessor. This T Vios only 5% improvement? Meh..

• another crap car with different shell wtf…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • SamShowedMeTheHlilux on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:34 am

So many ppl shown the Hilux recently, that’s why no many sushi bashers.

Think Sam is doing a great job making a fortune trading kimchis

• For T worshippers, is that all you have? You say it’s reliable so even 20 years with same engine same gearbox are ok?

Ok ok I know you all want to stick and worship those engine and gear, even until Proton and all other makers are using nano and quantum tech hahahahahahah

• carmark on Oct 08, 2013 at 1:49 am

Which one you want, impression or reality? Vios is full of impression because:

1.Fake luxury with long chrome design in front, Fake stiching and plasticky cheap dashboard

2.Fake sporty unfunctional bodykit and who-cares TRD badge which hint nothing special under the hood

3.Big knobs and almost no buttons seen on the middle parts.

4.Big tyres which reduce the acceleration with small 1.5l engine. Don’t say it’s better handling, most Toyota handling is suck to the max.

It tries hard to look sporty yet has nothing to prove it, in reality it’s so pathetic

Nothing wrong with impressiveness but then you will lose it at the end because reality rules!

• Cancelled vios booking on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:10 am

My colleague just cancelled vios booking and now considering suprima. Never in my life would imagine ppl start comparing proton with toyota now. I advised him to get city with vsm instead…
    With quality out the window, u can see the salesmen here only preaching resale value. What a sad case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:46 am

Ask Sam for a used Elantra. He has many in his yard now going like hot cakes at prices lower than you have ever seen

• Don't bother on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:25 pm

I won’t bother. Toyota is beyond compare. I already know toyo peeing in their pants Bcoz they can only compare with kimchi cars in all their comments, over and over again. Nobody else here is comparing with kimchi. They compare with ford and proton. I can smell the fear of salesman against kimchi cars Bcoz they have nothing else to compare except second hand value.
        I buy a car to enjoy it, not so that I can sell it. Not et buy already think of selling? That’s shows how poor the buyer is, and how they were forced to buy toyota. Pity…

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:23 pm

A used Elantra 12 months old, I accept trade in at RM50k. Nowadays, I very cincai coz I play by Volume. Just make RM5k will do.

On Average, an Elantra does not stay in my yard for more than 1 week. So, I would like to pass the savings to consumers.

To the fellas that still buy kimchis new, please continue to do so

• Still wanna go back meh? on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Those loyal toyota fan who felt betrayed by toyota for giving free upgrades after just 1 year new car launch, still wanna go back meh? Boycott for good.
          Crazy ask ppl who left toyota trade in back to toyota. Everybody know toyota salesman cut throat will only give high value to second hand toyo car.
          If I jump ship to honda, I would rather trade in back to honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Wanna be shown the Hilux?

Or I have shown 3 to you given that it’s a Kia you have?

• superdriver on Oct 08, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Hi Guys,

For the RM73K price range , this vios seem like a good car with a great design, but for the RM93K
    onwards I recommend you to try the new Cerato as well (priced around Rm100K for 1.6). I went to KIA in melaka to test drive the K5 but
    could not (the number plate taken by boss), so I tried the cerato instead. First look seem like nothing to shout about
    but once you get in its a whole new world inside.The gadgets and stuff inside will take you at least 2 days to use and learn.
    Really awesome goodies aside from the 6 airbags, ventilated seats and etc. The one that cought my attention is the steering mode for comfort, normal and sport.
    Comfort settings make the steering light like the new Myvi steering, normal abit hard and sport the harder for long journeys. The Flappy paddle is another plus which can
    be used for automatic and manual transmission.(Yes it has both!!). Keyless entry and tons of other stuff , really hard to believe its just a kia.The final thing that just blew my mind was
    that when my brother finished the test drive and turn off the car, the chair automatically moved back own its own for the driver to get down from the car easily. I was behind the drivers seat and was like in awe with wide eyes and gaping mouth.walau wei!! Engine performance pretty decent.

This feature explained by the kia lady that even in K5 need to press button, here automatic in cerato.

I am a fan of the first vios , the second not so much but this new one looks promising but for RM93K , just take a look at the cerato, go for the red color if your buying, very cun color.

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:20 pm

I would recommend a Cerato too, but a pre-owned one.

You easily get a less than 15 month old unit for less than RM55k

• Lie smarter la on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Pls la lie smarter next time. Pre own cerato 15 months? Hello it’s just launched 1 month ago.
        U asking forte izzit?
        Selling price new unit 70k only, still so high resale value?!! Wao thanks for slipping out the truth! At least now I know how lousy liar u have been all these while. Actually I know that already by researching motor trade forte resale value.

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Come to my yard and 1 will show you a Cerato.

I dun like Kia coz there is little demand. Hyundai is much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • SamFcukLiar on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Sam Loo, I feel shame for you when I see how you criticize Korean car, you dont run away your topic from RV, your stupid yard, you made money from selling second hand Korean car. What is your intention ? Does it make you feel good ? Please stop to be so dump stupid. Dont you feel shame yourself ?

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Well, I have 2 units of 2011 Cerato Forte. The owner got the additional Cerato sign in hope that the RV would be higher.

In fact, I gave offered them only RM30k for their unit. More hailat than Elantra.

I even asked them to leave the car without payment, coz i dun wanna take the risk of not being able to get rid of these rotten cabbages.

In Singapore, this cabbage has always been known as Cerato Forte all this while. Wake up

• Why I got the feeling the old dugong look nicer than the new vios 2013…

• The reason people prefer Toyota:

1. Quality – less problems, reliable, less repair means save more money
    2. Good after sales service – strong network, sa try to resolve any problems, good attitude towards customers
    3. Good resale value – car will be used for certain years only, after that still need to be trade in, theredirect strong resale value will result in losing less money
    4. Strong brand perception – Toyota have been around for so many years, though vios is locally assembled, people have strong trust to the manufacturing process pioneered by the japs

Just my 2 cent opinion…

• we put high expectation on this (T) brand ,even got problem ok no problem ma it is a (T) BRAND…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:17 pm

And I can assure you that kimchis have non of the above

• Annoynimous on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:55 pm

I am really pissed off with how they are shafting the middle leg area away, why must they go a further step ahead in making their loyal fanbase feel crappier?

it’s like they are putting a piece of crap (hole) there to proove that even if they did some BS shafting, M’sian drones will always come back for more. Well someone in the Toyota design team must have won the bets.

there are no additional, compelling features/improvements that will further push this 2013 model upwards and away from their rivals. It’s like the iPhone 5C of cars

• Omegared on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:27 pm

In the first place why should toyota hike up the price for this new vios? only cosmetic changes whereas the engine and transmission remains the same. so why so much price difference. does the cosmetics cost so much? there are no value added safety features as well. this new vios doesnt justify its price increase. toyota is more like a ah long company rather than a car company. simply selling their cars for cut throat price with a confidence that many ignorant malaysians will fall for their brands and buy their cars. too bad….

• Christopher on Nov 10, 2013 at 9:03 pm

after many years for waiting new model vios. end up toyota designed face-lift SAGA. so disappointed….

• x-vios on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:45 am

Br jual vios 09..dpt 13k lps tolak hutang..puas memakai..xda masalah cm krg aksesori sj..berbaloi..nk tukar selera ke civic fb..

• vios owner on Nov 11, 2014 at 5:03 pm

what type of vios u owned? thinking about selling my 09 too.. it still good for me..