Malaysian Automotive Association lobbying gov’t for Euro 4 fuel, hybrid tax incentive extension

klims-13-forum

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) is lobbying the government for an upgrade to Euro 4 fuel quality, from the current Euro 2, as well as an extension of tax incentives given to hybrid cars, which will end along with the year 2013. We learnt this at the recent KLIMS13 exhibitor round table with official media, the first time the show organiser had set up such a forum.

At the informal round table, KLIMS13 official media sat with MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad and several car company bosses as they talked about the Malaysian car industry as well as the motor show, which will happen this November 15-24 at the Putra World Trade Centre.

Aishah revealed that the MAA is confident that the projected total industry volume (TIV) for this year will hit the projected 640,000-unit mark despite a slow first half. Car buyers played wait-and-see in hope that prices would come down, but GE13 passed by without a change of government and policy. The resulting pent up demand meant that the second half of 2013 started strongly for the industry – July recorded the highest monthly TIV in four years.

052-cx5

She added that the launch of new models and players offering incentives contributed to the rebound. The year-to-date figure till August reflects over 5% growth already, so the auto sales train is on the right track.

A possible negative factor would be the recent reduction of fuel subsidy by the government, part of the administration’s long-term subsidy rationalisation programme, which led to a 20 sen increase in pump price for RON 95 petrol and diesel. Aishah put this into perspective, saying that in reality, an increase of 20 sen per litre is a small sum, compared to pump prices in other ASEAN countries. MAA is expecting a short term impact, if any, rather than a major setback.

Volkswagen Group Malaysia CEO Dr Zeno Kerschbaumer added that the fuel price increase “will put (consumer) focus on fuel efficiency and CO2 footprint, which is a positive thing.” We agree with him – petroleum is a finite resource, and by focusing on FC, Malaysian carbuyers are merely catching up with a worldwide trend.

fuel price sept

Consumers want the latest and most efficient tech, but modern engines require fuel that is better than Malaysia’s current Euro 2 standard. Aishah and the carmakers MAA represent are lobbying the government for an upgrade to Euro 4, although she concedes that it’s “a chicken and egg situation” as the government’s current priority is to reduce subsidies, and no one wants to pay more for fuel. “We can’t introduce fuel efficient models unless we have the fuel,” she said.

European carmakers are already producing engines capable of meeting upcoming Euro 6 standards, Thailand is selling Euro 4 fuel while Euro 4 diesel flows from Singaporean pumps. India is currently at Bharat stage IV, equivalent to Euro 4, and so is China. For a country that produces high quality crude oil, Malaysia is seriously lagging behind, but as Aishah pointed out, chicken and egg.

Another thing on MAA’s wishlist is for tax incentives given to hybrid cars to extend beyond the current deadline. Announced in Budget 2011, full import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrid cars below 2,000 cc was extended in Budget 2012 to December 31, 2013. Ever since full duty exemption was given, the hybrid car segment has seen a big boom led by Toyota and Honda. From just 332 hybrids sold in 2010, over 15,000 hybrids found new homes last year. 8,571 units were sold in the first seven months of 2013.

prius c hsd

Should MAA fail to convince the government to continue dishing out hybrid incentives, those sharp rising figures are set to come back down to earth – with subsidised fuel, pump prices aren’t high enough in Malaysia to compel the consumer to opt for a hybrid model, which would be costlier to buy than a regular petrol-powered machine without costly batteries.

It doesn’t make financial sense, as the price difference will be too big to recoup from the pumps, many would argue. A hybrid’s lower CO2 output brings no savings too, as Malaysian road tax is charged based on engine capacity alone. We suspect that most local hybrid car owners didn’t buy their cars for the love of Mother Earth.

The government may still dole out incentives, but in a different package. In a recent session with the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), we were told that the upcoming revised NAP will see manufacturing licenses and pre-packaged customised incentives given for energy efficient vehicle (EEV) production and investment. It’s like telling the car companies “if you want the tax breaks, come and make the cars here.”

Click here to read more on the upcoming NAP revision and EEV classification.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• komarad on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:24 am

too much chicken and egg issues…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • azrai on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:39 am

Eating chicken can get food poison like in Kedah one maa…Salmonella.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • MAA Drama for Rakyat on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Nothing will happen really. MAA is nothing but a government puppet. This is all drama for the auto industry to keep it excited and hope for. MAA’s priority should be pushing the government to honour their 30% reduction is fuel subsidy. That is more important than all the other lobbying they are doing. It is the price of cars that have heavy impact on ALL Malaysians. Yes, cleaner fuel is also good to have but the price of cars are causing a heavy burden for Malaysians.

It seems MAA and MAI like to blow hot air and cakap besar. But in actual fact, they themselves know, nothing will be done because they in the first place, are told by the government to blow hot air to excite the public and automotive industry. We all know MAA and MAI are purely Pro Government and will never do anything to jeopardize their healthy coffers.

As to Hybrid cars, what is there to lobby? If a government does care for its rakyat, it should be a natural thing for the government to do ie hybrids save fuel and money for the rakyat. Why should the rakyat plead and beg the government to save money? So, all this lobbying is nonsense. Like I said, looks like drama to excite people and the automotive industry.

As to cleanliness of fuel too, why should there even be any lobbying? The government should know better about maintaining the environment. Why should people beg the government to promote cleaner air? Isnt this a natural thing for most decent governments to do?

Isn’t it a natural thing for any government to give us Euro 4 diesel which emits very little emissions. Why must MAA lobby for this? Today’s lorries, busses emit thick poisonous sulphuric diesel smoke into the air which suffocates the rakyat. The government knows this. The ministers know this. They need not be told. The Environment Minister himself should be insisting on Euro 4 fuel so that the rakyat don’t get choked with dirty diesel fumes.
      But it seems, the rakyat of Malaysia must beg the government for the right to breathe clean air. This is utter nonsense.

After all this drama, you will see one thing, nothing will happen. We will still be having dirty diesel and we will still be seeing thick black smoke emitting from our busses for the next 10 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 5
    • MAA Drama for Rakyat on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:30 pm

sorry, first para, 30% reduction in car prices, not fuel subsidy. Typo

• Odometer Checking on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:06 am

MAA is good for nothing. They know two blatant things that cause consumers a lot of problems but they keep silently scared. Firstly,

1) Our AP cowboys under declare cars. For example, they bring in a 2010 car but declare to customs it is a 2009 car. So they pay less tax. Quite a lot of AP cowboys do this. It becomes a big problem when you, as the consumer, want to sell your car later. You cannot!. MAA know this but, as usual, silent as a mouse.

Secondly, because of the AP and crony system, we consumers have to deal with these cowboy AP holders and 2nd hand dealers who tamper with the odometer. Its no secret, 90% of used cars dealers and also grey importers bring high mileage cars in and then tamper with the odometer to show very low attractive mileage.

MAA knows about this but does not think its worth lobbying because for fear they step on so many cronies bowl of rice. So, keep quiet like mouse.

The government must ensure that all 2nd hand cars and grey imports come with service booklets that indicate clearly the service history of the given car. And it strictly must enforce that if a car has zero service history, AP holders must not import the car in and must strictly adhere to this ruling.

The problem with the whole situation is that the Government gives all the AP’s to their cronies and it is the consumer that suffers with dodgy importers.

These AP holders make a huge profit. Because in overseas, high mileage cars are sold dirt cheap. In UK, the price of a car is based on the mileage on the odometer and NOT the year of make. For example, a 2009 Mercedes E250 with 10,000 miles clocked on it is very much higher in price than a 2011 Mercedes E250 with 150,000 miles on it. The price difference can even be about 20,000 pounds. Unlike Malaysia, it is terbalik.

What our AP cowboys do is very simple. Besides getting hundreds of free AP’s, they buy these high mileage cars, mostly ex-rental cars that have been trashed and bring them to Malaysia, and then clock down the odometer to say, 8,000KM. And then sell for a hefty sum telling you the cars are hardly used or showroom cars in the UK. In reality most of these cars are ex-rental cars that have been trashed over the years by people who rent them and have clocked over 150,000 miles.

Ask any used car dealers or AP dealers and 99% of the time, they tell you the car has no service history or service booklet. Even if the car is a 2012 model and is still under warranty in Japan or the UK, they tell you got no service booklet. Surely if it is still under warranty in the UK or Japan, the owner must keep his service booklet and warraty card to service his car in the UK. Bear in mind most cars in the UK have 5 years warranty. So, if the owner in the UK does not give the warranty booklet or service history, something smells fishy.

Bear in mind that most of the AP holders and 2nd hand car dealers buy these cars so cheaply and their profit margin on these cars are nothing less than RM100,000 per car despite the AP holder paying the government duties and taxes. And these AP holders get hundreds of free APs per person.

The government also must ensure that the buyers of these grey import cars are able to contact the respective previous owner in Japan or the UK to verify the mileage claim and service history. Because of the Data Protection Act in the UK for example, even with your VIN or chasis number, the dealership in the UK will never reveal any information on the car you newly bought in Malaysia, despite you being the new legal owner. And the AP holders know this. AP Holders themselves most of the time don’t tell you who they bough the car from.

This, MAA don’t do anything. They should be lobbying

1) Ensure ALL grey imports and 2nd hand cars come with service history and their respective service booklets.

2) Enable the owner to verify the mileage claim on the odometer with the UK counterpart or directly with the UK owner. Here, the AP holders in Malaysia is merely a middle person or an agent assisting you, the buyer buy the car from the seller in the UK. If it is a 2nd hand local car, the buyer must be given the full service history. As mentioned above, it is not just the AP cowboys who tamper with mileage but our 2nd hand car dealers also do the same. It is so alarming because the majority do tamper with odometers. And MAA knows this.

Bear in mind that a car that cost RM300,000 may cost you an additional RM100,000 in parts replacement if the parts are worn out if the car has already done over 100,000KM. And in most cases, the parts have already worn out badly. But you thinking it has done only RM8,000KM on the odometer made you decide it was such a good buy in the first place as you thought it was hardly used.

So many people have fallen for this trap. After few months, gear box rosak and the they have to cough out another RM100,000 to replace the gearbox.

Most AP holders send the cars to the AutoSpa and refurbish the cars to a brand new state. No matter how bad a car can be they just change the tyres and let the AutoSpa work magic. The next thing you know, the car is so shiny and brilliant despite having clocked over 150,000 miles “secretly”.

Many owners of luxury cars here get a shock when they send their cars to the authorized dealership for that particular brand for service. For instance, Porsche. So many owners get a shock when they plug in the propreitory Porsche diagnostic machine into their newly bought Porsche and they see the car has clocked over 150,000 miles when in actual fact, the AP cowboy told them that the car only clocked 10,000 miles only. There have been cars even showing to clock 300,000 miles on the machine even.

Most owners usually don’t send their AP bought car to the respective dealerships because either the brand dealership don’t recognize grey imports or if they do recognize grey imports, the Welcome Package is too expensive to pay.

These are more compelling issues MAA should lobby for. They know about such issues but chose not to do anything about it. Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Anoinymous on Oct 05, 2013 at 8:13 am

What MAA should lobby for:

1. CO2-based car excise duty to better reflect the current trend of promoting more fuel efficient cars. The present system of slapping flat rate 75% excise duty for cars below 1800cc is outdated and irrelevant. The higher CO2 emission the higher the car tax, but give rebates to low CO2 emission cars.

2. Impose minimum 10-years car warranty (entire car parts) and 10-years free car service with unlimited mileage coverage. No question asked policy.

3. Impose minimum car safety features: ABS, Traction control, 6 Airbags, ISOFIX etc.

If MAA do nothing about it, then it’s true MAA only serves the automotive Cronies and not car buyers interest.

• rally_fan on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:21 pm

actually.. although i agree somewhat with some of your suggestions, you’re barking up the wrong tree.. MAA is and does exist to look after the automotive companies. They are not a consumer association.

• longjaafar on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:39 am

Euro4 diesel is a must. The car companies must work harder to make it available,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Datukship on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:53 pm

MAA used to be good in the late 90s. They used to fight for the rights of the auto indsutry. Then the government got clever. As with any NGOs who rebel, give titles and rewards and see magic happens. In the case of MAA, you could see MAA towing the line now and playing to the government’s tune. Their approach now is always slanting towards the government.

MAA should be pushing for the abolishment of APs, cleaner fuel, cheaper cars, better roads without potholes etc. But they don’t do all that. You and I know why. Might as well absorb MAA as a department in the Ministry and make it official that they are a government body. The AP nonsense is even dirties than any dirty fuel but somehow the AP system is maintained and flourishing enriching just a handful of cronies. Why isn’t the MAA lobbying against the crony AP system? That hurts the rakyat far more than any dirty fuel in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • bagero on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:42 am

I bet those anti-lynas or greeners would love to see increase price of fuel. I bet they all driving hybrid cars for the sake of mother f*cking earth..

*sarcasm hypocrite mode*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 78
    • tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:36 pm

And I bet you’re a crony with much vested interest in lynas. You must be convinced your factory is harmless like a kicap factory. Gratz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
    • Chris on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Someone give this guy a medal!

I notice a lot of people don’t even know the relation between rare earth metal and batteries.

• Anti-Lynas Yes I am on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Yea, why would my tax money goes to subsidize your petrol-hunger engine while you are posing danger to all road users with your mat lempit style?

When you are going to sell your car after 10 years, I am still smiling here because my hybrid engine only tear and wear for 5 years and I can wait another 10 years. I might need to buy a new battery, but still way cheaper than your new whatever car.

• Chris on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Are you saying you drive a hybrid and you’re anti-lynas?

• Anti-Lynas Yes I am on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Is there a problem? I anti LYNAS IN MALAYSIA but not anti rare earth mining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Chris on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Yes. I have a problem with that kind of thinking. The kind that just cover one eye as long as the problem is not theirs.

That’s also why I said Bagero deserves a medal.

Some of my friends are anti-lynas. They still are, but after some simple explanation they are anti-hybrid cars now, just for the sake of not being a hypocrite.

• tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:12 pm

@Chris: Then having at least Euro 4 will please them. Modern diesels can rival, even best hybrid’s fc, yet not as earth destroying to manufacture as a hybrid.

• Opaixx on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:15 am

Kiasu type thinking.. Selfish

• Anti-Lynas Yes I am on Oct 05, 2013 at 2:24 am

Then your friends should give up computers, monitor, TV, mobile phone, Astro, all kind of electronic devices and batteries. Because ALL OF THEM contain rare earth material and some of them are from Lynas too.

This kind of “anti lynas” behavior shows the real hypocrite. Lynas won’t close down also if the whole world stop buying hybrid cars.

And i also doubt if all hybrid car manufacturer purchase rare earth material from Lynas?

• Chris on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Some did! Those hardcore environmentalist people, they cycle and they recycle, fix instead of replace.

They always try to preach me, telling me that I’m a car person at least I should get a hybrid. I told them hybrid batteries come from plants like Lynas, and they take back what they said.

I’m a car person, a gadget person, I strongly believe pollution comes together with progress. I’m not anti-lynas, though I am worried if they will operate the plant safely. People need to make a stance, and that is my stance on this issue. I’m perfectly fine with people disagree with me.

• valjean on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:45 am

Its easy lah….. Just provide Euro4 ALONGSIDE Euro2. One is subsidised they other is not. Let the consumer choose lah…… Want to have power and clean engine (esp diesel) pay lor.

These policy makers stupid is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
    • MoFaz on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:02 pm

to add another tank in petrol stations is not cheap, some doesn’t even provide Ron97. So if there’s Euro2 and 4 diesel together, do expect that Euro 4 will be hard to get. plus, the Euro4 sales volume will be very small, the costs to refine and provide another tank in petrol stations would not be justified by that small sales volume. not profitable enough.
      so, the easiest is to upgrade everything to Euro4 diesel standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
      • Shut down p1 and the country will be a better place to drive on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • oil worker on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:47 am

NO! how does this is chicken and egg issue? if u have a chicken or an egg , both can continue living on its own without the other one… engine needs fuel!.. fuel does not need engine… EURO4 can definitely be used by older engines but not the other way around…. SO START WITH THE F***ING FUEL FIRST!!! I dont mind paying unsubsidised higher quality and higher efficiency fuel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • MoFaz on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:07 pm

wah.. you said you don’t mind paying higher fuel price? most people will say they don’t mind lower quality as long it’s cheap. and imagine all transport companies need to pay more for diesel, we’ll end up paying more for everything we buy due to the increased diesel price too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:43 pm

So be it. It’s not like we’ve never experienced what it’s like to pay rm2.70/L. We’ve braced through that, and we’ll brace it again IF AND ONLY IF Euro 4 fuel really comes. BRING IT ON!!

Because by then, car makers will finally be willing to bring in the modern diesels that’s 3X more fuel efficient than Sup Rimau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Aerro on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:58 am

Sorry lah, Proton said no money to re-design new engine for Euro 4…

So everyone else must wait for Proton first OK…for how long, just wait lah tick tock tick tock tick tock……zzzzz…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 30
    • Sparcov on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:21 am

Please get your facts right.
      Proton Preve are Euro 5 compliance. Is your fuel not up to standard !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 18
      • glaze on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:29 pm

I think what it means here is Diesel not Petrol and it is about fuel not engine.

Euro 5 compliance engine is about the CO2 emission not the fuel.

• Mat Sabu on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:53 am

What a dumb ass..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Proton staff on Oct 05, 2013 at 6:58 am

Euro 4 fuel does not need ‘new’ engine to work. Campro can use this type of fuel no problem.

Campro CFE/NFE is rated Euro 5 emission/Co2. This however not related to fuel quality it can accept. This is the emission it produces. Bare in mind that most import cars here having euro2/3 Co2 emission. Even honda hybrid engine produces higher Co2 than campro CFE.

As for fuel quality, Euro 4 should be the minimum standard. One of the reason why Campro CFE does not come with direct injection like other small turbo charge engine, is because indonesia fuel quality is low, that is why CFE does not come with it. Indonesia is one of Proton export market. Else, CFE will be fuel efficient like TSI, Ecoboost, etc.

• Autoexpert on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:41 pm

That is a stupid and lame excuse for Proton in not having a direct injection Campro engine since Indonesia cannot have one. This is why Proton already failed in Malaysia which is its biggest current market (for what it is left). I have never heard of a company with such stupid and short sighted marketing strategy to serve other markets which is not even there yet before its biggest domestic market!
        Why don’t you target a lower spec engine for Indonesians, instead at the expense of our country’s higher subsidies for petrol due to higer FC of current engine? There is no free lunch here and think of all the savings for the rakyat and country! Stupid Proton!

• dammit on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:02 am

pls describe it in detail better than to say chicken and egg? lame…

• Johnny on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:06 am

From the amount of cars I see on the road. Not to mention getting stuck in traffic jams everywhere I go in urban areas. I think it’s a good thing that car prices don’t go down and petrol prices stay that way (although I would love to own my dream car, looks like I’ll just have to work harder for it then). Because if car prices were to go down, only the rich will be getting more cars. We poor people will somehow survive life with our Protons. But I’m sure most of you will have your arguments like-public transportation sucks la, car price overseas so much cheaper la..etc..but I’d rather be driving a Kelisa on not so congested roads, rather than a BMW in a massive jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
    • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:58 am

You don’t see the main point of car price reduction ..most Malaysians demand price reduction so that we get the latest engine tech that is fuel efficient and well equipped with safety features with low price. The car reduction price won’t reduce the congested traffic, one person can drive one car at a time. If rich people buy 10 more car due to low price, they can only drive ONE car at a time, not all of THEM. Therefore your argument on car price reduction will bring more traffic is not really strong here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • MoFaz on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:14 pm

but you didn’t count all those people who can’t afford a car before. imagine all students suddenly drive to college… all mat rempit also upgrade their motorbike and now rempit in cars… i’m with you about reducing the car price. but a certain measure needed to control the amount of cars, perhaps only 50% loan and limit to 5 years only like Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • oilworker on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Its funny how you attribute all mat rempit in the city as people who cant afford cars. try to talk to some of them and they might be having a more expensive cars than yours…

• Johnny on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Agreed. Another solution is to reduce car prices (so that people can get the latest tech) but at the same time raise petrol prices so that people would think twice about driving. However, an example is Thailand as cars there are cheap while petrol prices there are about RM3 per liter of RON95. But have you seen Bangkok’s traffic condition lately?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:23 am

I think what she mean was too many protocols & blueprint. Well I don’t have any comments coz I feel is “USELESS” coz we “nation” voices are deaf to the “top” ppl. They should far better “what is happening” or “what must be done” and if they really blind/deaf then I guess “they” are not fit to lead our country! Secondly if tax exemption only “if want tax exp” make cars here, also stupid coz car maker hv so many choices to setup around our country. I think more like we beg them rather than they beg us.

• with euro car makers already made their efforts to produce euro 6 compliant vehicles, and Malaysia is still ‘considering’ whether to bring in Euro 4? Are you kidding me?

• langit hitam on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:48 am

With increase in EURO standard,we will have less sulfur contents in a fuels.I hope by end of this year we can have new fuel in market.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:51 am

Be careful Aishah..your ass might be conned by the Bee End gov..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Datuk Ahmad Maslan tau ke apa itu euro 4?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Sparcov on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Please, if anyone can correct me.

I think the production cost are varies for every step of euro standard based on the downstream process.

From Wikipedia:
    The legal framework consists in a series of directives, each amendments to the 1970 Directive 70/220/EEC.[11] The following is a summary list of the standards, when they come into force, what they apply to, and which EU directives provide the definition of the standard.
    Euro 1 (1993):
    For passenger cars – 91/441/EEC.[12]
    Also for passenger cars and light trucks – 93/59/EEC.
    Euro 2 (1996) for passenger cars – 94/12/EC (& 96/69/EC)
    For motorcycle – 2002/51/EC (row A)[13] – 2006/120/EC
    Euro 3 (2000) for any vehicle – 98/69/EC[14]
    For motorcycle – 2002/51/EC (row B)[13] – 2006/120/EC
    Euro 4 (2005) for any vehicle – 98/69/EC (& 2002/80/EC)
    Euro 5 (2008/9) and Euro 6 (2014) for light passenger and commercial vehicles – 715/2007/E

The question is, do we (Malaysia) have such timeline and plan to lower down the CO2? If yes, are on track?

Our Neighbour country, Thailand are running Euro 4? diesel? or 5? whereby you hardly see any smoke from their diesel car.

• Black Dog on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:11 pm

All these talk about Euro only. Danny, what fuel are Americans using now?

• abdullah on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:23 pm

“if you want the tax breaks, come and make the cars here.” This is not free trade!

If other countries apply this to Proton it means
    Proton can only sell cars (low or no tax) only if
    it build a factory in that country.

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:08 pm

that’s what Thailand did. they ban import of cars and van in 1980s so the manufacturer are forced to build their factories and produce cars in Thailand. there’s no way everybody will just play fairly. go ask Thailand to remove all incentives they’ve been giving to car manufacturers.

• sell euro 4 fuel at fully 100% follow market price.. no subsidy at all

and sell euro 2 at 3/4 the market price!

• sell euro 4 fuel at fully 100% follow market price.. no subsidy at all

and sell euro 2 at 3/4 less the market price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • iluvproton on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Bcos euro 4 more expensive to be subsidised?

• ss427 on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Ermm.. your article is not entirely correct.

SG gas stations are already selling Euro 5 diesels. All new diesel vehicles sold in SG must be Euro 5 compliant come Jan 1 2014.

Our gasoline are Euro 4 complinant already.. Else we couldn’t possibly enjoy Hyundai/Kia’s wonderful GDI engine range and other Direct Injection engines from other manufacturers. SG market is slated to go Euro 5 for gasoline sometime in end of 2014 or early 2015.

Actually what’s the big fuss about reducing gov subsidies for fuel?? What do u guys want? Pull you gov down towards bankcruptcy just to fulfil your selfish desires for cheaper gas or should you take more responsibility in your monthly financial planning and spend what you can actually afford?!

Asking your gov to help you pay to fuel your beat up, highly pollutive Proton and Perodua instead of junking them for a brand new fuel efficent car from reputable brands is certainly not doing any favors for your country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Long time no see, dear Singaporean. Missed having your insight from tiny red dot.

The thing about subsidy is… quite complex. Put simply, if we’re told to pay market rate for fuel, we should be able to pay market rate for car.

Yes, you may say our car price is cheaper than yours, and we should syukur we don’t have anything as draconian as COE, but take factor that you’re fortunate you have viable alternative ie efficient public transport. We don’t. Car is a necessity, not optional like in your country.

Be aware there’s a lot of incompetent cronies in Proton and Perodua, so the govt will never allow them to fail. If we pay market price for car, Proton and Perodua will collapse in an eyelid.

And another thing, we’d rather our country’s resource used channeled to us directly via fuel subsidy than into pockets of incompetent, unproductive cronies.

Cheers

• RVP20 on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:25 pm

#thatawkwardmoment that you realise that hybrid cars price is much higher even with the tax incentive and low interest rate

• Arcee on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:42 pm

If our Government wants to pay lesser subsidy, make Euro 4 diesel available at pumps so that car makers can bring in the latest diesel vehicles into Malaysian market (for eg.Mazda CX5 – diesel). It’s a known fact that diesel vehicles provides better FC compared to Hybrid cars (58L for 1100km, outstation drive). Thats easily a return trip from KL to PG (inclusive of 3 days of driving around PG island)with a quarter tank left upon reaching KL. More mileage over a litre of fuel = less fuel used = less subsidy.

Again to those who think diesel cars are slow, mine is chipped and can do the century sprint @ 6.5s. Thats above aveage numbers for a diesel sedan & yet it returns 50% more mileage compared to my previous petrol car of similar engine capacity for the same journey (repeated this many times to alot of people because majority still have the mindset that a Diesel car = old lorry/taxi).

• HighwayStar82 on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Well, the Gov cannot be subsidizing fuel forever. The gov must encourage hybrid and eco cars more like setting target emission targets. Thailand is a very good example.

Eco cars like Mitsu mirage are designed to save fuel and compare that to any proton car you will save almost half tank for the same distance. less fuel you pump for a distance the money u will save despite the fuel price hike. Thats the direction we should go. What is the gov waiting for? Proton?

• Sag BeLum Masak on Oct 05, 2013 at 8:33 am

I’ve asked Proton Technical Personal at COSE last month about high FC on all Proton cars and what they can do to lower the FC. The answer is NOT IN THE NEAR FUTURE.

Well, that’s Harakiri for them.

• seancorr on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:09 pm

I’m willing to upgrade to Euro 3 first then later to Euro 4. At least fuel not so expensive yet and our cars produce lesser pollution and gain better mileage & power. In all looks like a step in the right direction.

• glaze on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:10 pm

I hope but it might not be happening any time soon which is a tax restructure.

Environmental friendly cars are not just limited to hybrids. The diesel, direct injection forced induction cars are very green too. The tax should not be based on car displacement which is already a past.

Modern engines with higher engine displacement can save more fuel and lesser CO2 compared to lower displacement engine.

Example:
    Proton Suprima S with 1561cc CFE engine
    Combined fuel consumption: 9.1L/100km
    Power: 140PS/205Nm
    CO2 emission: unknown

VW Golf GTI mk7 with 1984cc TSI engine
    Combined fuel consumption: 6.4L/100km
    Power: 220PS/350Nm
    CO2 emission: 148

Mazda 6 with 1998cc Skyactiv engine
    Combined fuel consumption: 5.7L/100km
    Power: 155PS/200Nm
    CO2 emission: unknown but claimed to be low by Mazda

BMW 320d with 1995cc Turbo engine
    Combined fuel consumption: 4.5L/100km
    Power: 184PS/380Nm
    CO2 emission: 118

Lexus CT200h with 1798cc Hybrid engine
    Combined fuel consumption: 4.1L/100km
    Power: 135PS/207Nm
    CO2 emission: 94

Yes, cannot deny that hybrid is good for environment, but the diesel is not far behind not to say that it is a Euro 2M tuned diesel engine. If we get the Euro 4 diesel, we can get the better diesel engines like newer BMW diesel, CDI, TDI, etc which are also very good for environment and save fuel.

The tax structure should be changed if we are really looking for environmental friendly vehicle especially our government loves to think green. I am fully support on that if this is the case.

Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Arcee on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:45 am

Just to prove a point. 2 weekends ago, i did a trip from KL – Cherating. I recorded my FC at 4.9L/100 km. Possible range from 58L of Fuel = 1100km on my OBC. This is near manufacturer’s claim. How many petrol cars can achieve near manufacturer’s claimed FC? And yes I drive a diesel sedan that runs on 5% biodiesel. A little more friendly on d environment & uses lesser fuel. FYi, my fuel bill rarely exceed RM300/mth now. Previously was a struggle to keep it below RM500/mth & RM600 was a more realistic monthly fuel expense.

• Anti-Lynas Yes I am on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Actually I support the abolishment of fuel subsidy, it only benefit the rich with big engines.

It is fair to everyone that you pay for what you spent. Why my tax money has to subsidize your 3.5L engine?

The fuel subsidy money can do a lot of thing (e.g. closed down all the toll, better road maintenance etc), PROVIDED OUR GOVERNMENT SPEND IT WISELY.

• Chris on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:36 pm

While I disagree with you regarding Lynas, I strongly agree with you regarding abolishment of fuel subsidy.

Overuse of petrol/diesel is one of the source of pollution. Why would we even want to subsidise it in the first place? Increase the price (remove subsidy) and people will automatically be more frugal.

If the government says subsidising the petrol is to help the poor, then use use the savings to create some program to raise the minimum wage.

• agreed. Abolish tax for fuel then ppl will limit their time on the road for nothing. Sit tight at home watch out the family. U see now..even 12 midnight road still congested.

• sonyman on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Talk only, action lah. MAA, whats the point of your association, Publicity ah? Make things happen if you are so capable of talking about it.

Hybrid, diesel electric and even small efficient engines are welcome. TAX on Carbon emmision rather than CC of the car. Learn from Ireland, they got good TAX system. Here we pay all the same tax.

• Gomorrah on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:09 pm

So inadvertently the MAA has let the cat out of the bag – The federal government keeps harping on about how cheap our fuel is vs global prices but can it be a fair comparison if you compare the price of Euro 4 fuel in other countries to the price of our Euro 2?

• Sky pirate on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:03 pm

The first piece of the puzzle would be to have a good public transport system up and running. After that, dismantle the fuel subsiding system, then the government will have more incentives to introduce higher quality fuel, since the government will not need to foot the extra cost of higher quality fuel. Lastly, do away with the taxes and duties charged on foreign car brands and introduce a road tax system based on emission of vehicles.

All of these couldn’t be done if there’s no competent public transport up and running. I have been hearing that the governemnt’s gonna improve public transport since Badawi’s era, and only up until Najib’s era they are finally making progress. Let’s see where the MRT system gonna bring us.

• Motorhead on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:07 am

And while you guys from maa are at it, how about lobbying for the introduction of the “lemon law” for your customers for once. That is, if you sincerely really care about customer’s satisfacion.

• sonyman on Oct 05, 2013 at 8:29 am

i dont think this person “Datuk Aishah Ahmad” understands about cars. What you think?

IF she does, she probably has done many things already. She is just there to smile and hello.

So MAA, whats your action plan, if you ever know
    paul tan website ever existed. Probably she reads kereta magazine, rather than read our concerns.

• jobby on Oct 28, 2013 at 8:50 pm

this is radicilous how many ppl affort to buy hybrid car cheapest prius c also abt 100k pls MAA please think widely