Accident Assist helpline set up – 1-300-22-11-88

Accident Assist

Persatuan Insurans Am Malaysia (PIAM) and the Malaysian Takaful Association have established Accident Assist, a helpline for motorists and members of the public seeking immediate roadside assistance in the event of a road accident. The number to dial is 1-300-22-11-88.

Operated 24 hours, seven days a week by Telekom Malaysia, the service aims to improve the overall process following a road accident by offering road accident victims timely roadside assistance, including help in obtaining towing services to approved workshops, and objective guidance on making a motor insurance or takaful claim.

Accident Assist currently only serves private cars within Kuala Lumpur and Selangor, but the pilot programme will be extended nationwide later this year, The Star reports. The call centre was set up following consultation with the police, Health and Finance ministries, the Attorney-General’s Chambers, the judiciary, consumer associations, Bank Negara Malaysia, the Malaysian Bar Council and the transport operators association.

Comprehensive policy holders, whose roadside assistance services are free-of-charge, will be redirected to their insurer when they call the helpline, while third-party, fire and theft policy holders who do not have accident assistance will be offered towing and repair services by PIAM’s approved workshops, the daily reports.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• That’s why I got Etiqa for this.

• AAM the Best! on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:23 am

I hope the line does not become like AAM. I was a member and few times involved in accidents and breakdowns. They don’t answer their phones. Sometimes, only after 30 minutes later they answer.

You think you can wait 30 minutes in an accident scene for someone to answer their phone?

My last incident was when my car broke down at 9am in the morning. After trying so long, they answered the phone and promised a tow truck. I waited and waited and waited. Every hour I will call AAM and they guy would say tow truck on its way. I waited waited and waited. On a few times, they told me tow truck sibuk but on its way.

Finally tow truck came. At 6 pm. It was not in a remote location. It was in Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur.

I dread to know if I was a woman and I was stuck in the middle of Karak highway in the middle of the night. Sure would have kena rogol waiting for the tow truck to come.

So I hope PIAM do a better job. Don’t be like AAM, collect so high yearly fees but give toilet service to its members.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • bvc100 on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Agreed. Had roughly the same experience on their bad service.
        Ended my AAM membership there and then.

• just wondering how long this could persist..
    if i could show my sinister face expression here..

• Allen on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:57 am

Allianz, Etiqa – Mondial Assistance

Honda Insurance Package (MSIG, Tokio, UniAsia, Berjaya) – Asia Assistance

Suzuki Insurance Package (MSIG, Tokio, UniAsia) – MASA

Not all comprehensive policies provide free towing/road-side breakdown assistance.

• Annihilated on Oct 07, 2013 at 1:58 pm

for the sake of the news, this should be a good step forward after all.

*sarcasm start*
    then also.. this got consultation from Malaysian Bar Council also.. must be very good!

nowadays, the Bar council is very good, very vocal, very public. but why la I heard their members complaint about too much politics and lesser attention to their true objectives.
    *sarcasm end*

• abuya123 on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Karut! Aku eksiden kereta terbalik, keluar je dari kereta, callman dah ada, paksa2 aku suruh amik servis dia

• tuahmengarut on Oct 07, 2013 at 4:06 pm

yg atas ni pasti kes sabotage… cari makan maa…

• Frank J on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Sounds like car crash *PiaM*
    or face Palm(Piam?).

Just saying.