2014 Peugeot 308 to feature new engine line-up

2014 Peugeot 308

The C-segment new 2014 Peugeot 308, built on Peugeot’s new EMP2 modular platform, will come with various engines. Some are familiar, and some are all new.

Petrol engine choices will include a 1.2 litre VTi three-cylinder producing 82 hp, a 1.2 litre e-THP turbocharged three-cylinder producing either 110 hp or 130 hp, and a 1.6 THP producing either 125 hp or 156 hp. Diesel engine options include a 1.6 HDi doing 92 hp or 115 hp, or a 2.0 litre BlueHDi producing 150 hp.

The 1.2 litre e-THP with 110 hp or 130 hp outputs is new and this will be the first time it is used in any Peugeot, with the ‘e’ in the engine name referring to a stop/start system. We notice the 1.6 VTi is missing from the line-up, so this could mean that it has been phased out, at least for Europe.

This means a two-variant Peugeot 308 line-up for this generation in Malaysia similar to the current VTi and Turbo line-up could likely exclusively use turbo engines – either 1.2 litre three-cylinder or 1.6 litre four-cylinder, unless Peugeot re-introduces the 1.6 VTi for Asian markets.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jeremy on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:46 am

I really love to buy this car, to me the only real alternative to Golf in terms of price and quality…but reading about all the reliability issues with Peugeot just scares me away from buying one! So, is it all just perception (our Gomen’s favourite word) or is it reality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Stay away from 1.6 THP engines. I dunno if PSA has fixed it or not, but there are too many cases of THP engines with broken timing chain, turbo leak and stupidly quick carbon buildup in the engines.

And all of these can happen under 50k mileage! 3 month old engine suddenly become like 10 yr old engine loool.

So, unless you can take care of it like your mother did to you and understand the risk/running costs, just stay away from it.

I’d rather have the cheapass Campro Turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
      • lamanblog on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Saying like you own one. Even as Pug owner myself I don’t complain anything. Funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Then PSA must’ve rectified it. These problems are very common on pre-facelift 308s and Minis.

• steve on Dec 29, 2013 at 10:24 am

I myself own a VTI 308, but yes I do have friends who get a THP which have break down issue while some have zero issue. It could be quality but it also have to do with how we maintain our car.

knowing these car have so many plastic part… this car is quite delicate. I used to drive a Vios and I ignore proper way to maintain it but for my Pug, I take better car. For once, I use 5000km service interval as the car need to go for daily commute to Cameron Highland which many might not do so and keeping 10k cycle. Seriously, if we have the same first class facility and third class maintenance mentality like our gov. Even you drive the most reliable car in the world. I will still get into trouble.

• mayfore on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:53 pm

@mim

Sorry mim but dun kang chong la..

Something must be wrong…i know alot of peugeot owners in pj and only some cases have problems…the reat found the car more reliable than other makes

• i own one and it is a decent car with reasonable price.
        safe,style,swift,stable,save for the specs.
        just no resale value, but who cares?

• danny on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:30 pm

owned and driven 1 for 42,000Km. No problem with engine or the AT6 Aisin box.

• Very interesting, but need to know more about Peugeot reality…

• yoolang on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:11 am

very nice the car

• Anoinymous on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:02 am

Very nice car…but surely Naza Peugeot will be forced to be price it higher so that Suprima can appear cheaper better buy….

That’s how funny and pathetic car industry here…indirect form of protection…forcing other competitors to put higher price….HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
  • JustWannaSay on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:38 am

it’s sad when this type of car and any other car equiped with new Tech and so on…but in the end the Rakyat’s still prefer the Vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • JustWannaSay on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:15 am

No matter how highly new tech the car is equipped or any other car. . . the Rakyats still prefer Toyota especially the new one coming out. . .The Mighty Vios! haizz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • I’m also bashing the new vios but have to admit that UMW did very well in expanding their 3S centres..even u can find more than kedai KR1M.. that’s hold their advantage. sad but true.

• Because some people just want to use the car, not passionate it ;)

• Vincent Tan on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Ehhwww….dont drag the ugly cheap vios into the discussion here pls.!

• Wilson on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:31 am

People tend to buy Vios is because of its reliability and affordable compare to other import cars and local made cars. Frankly speaking, if the car price is cheap here, I would try out European car instead of just Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Oii why u double entry ahh. Kiasu ahh??!!

• JustWannaSay on Oct 07, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Not Kiasu la…just now enter see my comment not in list..then when i enter the 2nd one…suddenly the 1st comment also in..the net got delay..sorry la…why u Kiasu me arr?? hehehe

• If the price is about RM150K, its better to try citroen DS4…coz I heard that the current price RM165K will be revised and to be lowered to about RM150K only…well, citroen is good also…

• I’m starting to like the interior of Peugeot now..well done.

• Hino truck on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:43 pm

There is something special abt those who buy French or Italian cars. They have distinct taste. It’s not abt the price, it’s abt what you want to own and the decision to purchase is made based on how good, how attractive, safe and technologically advanced the car is vs resale value. This applies to those who owns or likes conti cars too. I am not saying all VW, BMW, Citroen drivers are smarter, but they are definitely one up against those who blindly buy Camry, altis, civic etc. Even the Koreans look up to the conti cars for inspiration. I don’t hate Japanese made products, they produce one of the best electronics. But when it come to cars, its nothing special.They make better trucks actually.

• Vincent Tan on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:08 am

European Car of The Year 2014.
    Congratz Peugeot & 308.

• My first car is Peugeot 306, 2nd is 406 and currently also own 207. When drive Japs car I just feel like the car has a broken knee. In Malay rasa macam lutut lembik. hahaha. Cannot drive car made from Ultraman’s Country