Toyota Camry Hybrid – local assembly being mulled

camry-hybrid-jdm-1

Here’s an interesting aside from the launch of the Lexus ES this morning in Kuala Lumpur – UMW Toyota intimated it was mulling the idea of local assembly for the Toyota Camry Hybrid. It’s not the first time this talk has come about – earlier in the year, it was reported that the company was in talks with Toyota over the possibility of setting up a CKD hybrid production plant here in Malaysia, but no model was specifically mentioned previously.

Today’s announcement was made by the company’s deputy chairman Takashi Hibi, who added that the Camry Hybrid could be just slightly more expensive than the Camry 2.5V. The pricing – and indeed, the plan, of course – is pursuant to how the incentives for hybrid vehicles shape up past the end of this year.

At present, hybrid cars with engines displacing under 2,000 cc and electric cars enjoy full exemption on both import and excise duties, but the current set of tax incentives – which were first announced in Budget 2011 and then extended in Budget 2012 – is set to end on Dec 31, 2013.

It was reported last week that the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) was hoping to see the tax incentives given to hybrid cars extended beyond the current deadline. Ever since full duty exemption was given, the hybrid car segment has seen significant growth, led by Toyota and Honda.

camry hybrid 1

In 2010, just 332 hybrids were sold in the country. In 2011, this jumped to 8,334 units, and last year, an 84% increase came about with 15,355 units sold, of which 8,712 were Hondas, 5,653 were Toyotas, 979 were Lexuses and 11 were Porsches. Meanwhile, in the first seven months of 2013, 8,571 hybrids were sold in the country.

The upcoming Budget on October 25 should see the continuance of exemptions for hybrids, but rumours abound that the current application is likely to be revised, with the possibility that import/excise duty exemptions will be granted to locally-assembled hybrids as opposed to that in effect now.

Our previous report mentioned that the government might still dole out incentives, but in a different package. In a recent session with the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), we were told that the upcoming revised NAP would see manufacturing licenses and pre-packaged customised incentives given for energy efficient vehicle (EEV) production and investment.

Which would then fit into the scheme of things for the Camry Hybrid, which never arrived here previously because its engine displacement runs well above the 2.0 litre limit ceiling covered by the current tariff scheme – it’s powered by a 2.5 litre 2AR-FXE Atkinson cycle unit, the same unit as found in the Lexus ES 300h. Currently, the only hybrid being assembled here is the Honda Jazz Hybrid.

The answers soon, then, hopefully, and also that of the much-awaited revised National Automotive Policy (NAP), which was supposed to have come about for some time now.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• lanjan on Oct 07, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 233
    • We prove you right, so what, no money don’t buy lah.
      Car price high is because your gov, but every time you Korean fanboy act like is our fault. Please learn from Sun Tze art of war, do not use the same tactic too many time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 80
      • lanjan on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:03 pm

I am a fan for all makes, except UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
        • That is your choice don’t need to tell us we are not interested on that, go ahead and get yourself a Korean Junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 47
      • keris lawak on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:41 am

“We prove you right, so what, no money dont buy lah”
        Wow, so arrogant. Arrogant brings you no where.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
        • Then, you think come here and spread lie will bring some where.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • keris lawak on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:54 pm

So UMW, u admit that Toyota price will be sky high even if incentive granted. Truly a blood sucking company. Thanks for being honest.

• Hybrid car is for girls, slow and steady. non turbo is for old lady or gay! hey gentleman drive turbo car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 96
      • not cool mate. not cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • BWMLady on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:10 am

Turbo car is for freaking mongoloid like you…

I own a BMW CX5 and you will going to eat my dust if happen to meet you on the road but I rather drive slow and steady than endangering others people’s lives…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
        • BWMLady on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:12 am

Correction X5 not CX5…sorry type error…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
          • _xXx_ on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:12 am

haha, obviously u dun own CX5 or X5…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • _xXx_ on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:12 am

I own a swift sport but I will never spell it as swift spork…hehe

• ShanLee on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:25 pm

I own volkswagen but sometimes I spell it volkswagon…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Watch out for the DSG

• private on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:12 am

Hybrid car is for natural lover. Non turbo is for family person. Turbo car is for spoilt child. Turbo is a non practical car, easily spoil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
        • So around 80% of all Europeans drive a non-practical (turbo) car? ;)

• glaze on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:13 pm

maybe including the uncle that are driving Hilux or other pickup? Are you sure that is non practical and easily spoil?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:39 am

This. Hybrid will be the next car most K5 and Sonata buyers go for after trading in their rotten cabbage.

They would have shouted Hailat so loud and will not have money to pump petrol but still wants a big car that does not depreciate by 50% in a year like kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • This one is for you…

http://us4.campaign-archive2.com/?u=ffe6111f18a3ec280b43455eb&id=979b6e7255&e=685eab0bdf

Let see how the so called oldbrid technology (count in the dugong/ikan keli) perform in the market…

• sonyman on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:02 pm

i wonder this can travel more than 1500 KM per full tank?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Oct 08, 2013 at 5:41 pm

be realistic. even ford focus or jaguar 3.0 turbodiesel struggles to achieve 800km per full tank.

but a prius C is capable of easily 700km per full tank of 40 litres (city drive+some city highways and sub-urban). imagine is it has 60 litres.

• if u drive mostly in stop start city traffic jam, a hybrid will be more efficient & frugal but once u reach open road, a turbo diesels is way more efficient. Hence, choose which suits you more (based on ur daily usage). guess, its sorts of correct that to get the most of a hybrid, u need to drive slow & maximise the battery usage while if a turbodiesel, u can go fast (huge amount of torque) but still be efficient but will drinks more than a hybrid wt its batt advantage/EV mode during traffic jam

• If REEV tech maybe can..full EV with engine to charge battery OTG

• the government should come up with the incentive scheme for all EEV. not only covering the hybrid car but also extend to the car which is labelled under the category of energy efficient umbrella.

why the government never think of a car can be carrying a sightly big engine but the CO2 emission is considerately low as compared to smaller engine? and just simply imply heavy tax on it.

should they go to college to learn about science and understand the basic? or they simply want the tax from us? how about the government implement tax reduction for the car which is significantly safer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • looking from another point of view, these “efficient” cars are expensive. not fair to normal rakyat who only can afford super value brand, with super fuel consumption.

other country can promote emission based tax as their low emission vehicle are as affordable as normal cars. most of them at least

• Its is for EEV dear

• got,they have fake college degrees kept at home for remembrance.
      Quality of those people who are making policies, be automobile,education,financial…all from the same categories with many degrees duplicated and kept at home!
      Mati tak?(direct translate from Cantonese)

• drMpower on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:15 pm

so no tax, then priced higher than 2.5 camry
    hurm
    humm hummm

• Hondaman on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Umw toyota, the cuthroat company..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Prius C on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:10 am

Ooi! Tax incentive is applicable for engine capacity below 2,000cc only. Unless the Prius 1.8 Atkinson-cycle engine is used in the Camry Hybrid.

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product-detail.php?model=camry&opt=grades

“The performance-tuned Camry SE with the available 268-horsepower 3.5-liter V6 asserts itself nicely. Camry Hybrid’s 2.5-liter 4-cylinder Atkinson-cycle engine delivers 156 horsepower—but when combined with the electric motor of the Hybrid Synergy Drive® system, total net horsepower jumps to 200.”

• Feed-in tariff incentives!?? I think the writer got mixed-up with the feed-in tariff scheme for renewable energy producers selling power at a premium to TNB.

Quite an embarrassment coming from a reputable website such as this. Sorry … just being honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • erwinkarim on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:34 pm

the government should apply to call energy efficient vehicle.

what most people don’t know is that diesel engines from european countries are as if not more efficient than those japanese hybrids.

even german guys are making hybrids supercars that have mind blown performance in both acceleration and fuel consumption..

• talk talk on Oct 07, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Camry Hybrid not interesting. I wish for the Honda Accord Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • carlies on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Honda’s “hybrid”? haha. You kidding me. Too far from Toyota. It’s just like kids toy car with battery / IMA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • Carnut on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:24 am

The new Honda Accord Hybrid recently named the most fuel efficient hybrid in the US. Get your facts right.

• If Camry hybrid realt comes to Malaysia. I’m sure accord hybrid will be here very soon too~~~ since Honda hybrid ride is a hot cake in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • carlies on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Coz Honda’s “hybrid” is not really a hybrid but just ordinary and conventional vehicle with so called IMA???? haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:26 pm

The thing is, buying the Camry Hybrid won’t make that much sense.

1. VW Passat/Ford Mondeo has better value, with the Turbo engines, also give good fuel economy, and cheaper road tax (RM378.50 for a 2.0l vs RM878 for the 2.5l engines, which is used in the Camry Hybrid)
    2. CVT transmission.
    3. The Mazda6 SkyActiv gives good economy with a normal engine.
    4. UMW is famous for stripping down specs on CKD models. Only the Japan made Prius C and big Prius and the 86 still maintain the same safety and toys as their international counterparts.
    5. Most importantly, price. The thing is, you need to travel a lot before it makes sense.

Simple example, in the UK market, using the Auris and Auris hybrid, you need at least 5 years/60000miles before you save. That also, your savings is about 1k pounds only after 5 years. This applies in MY if the Camry Hybrid is more than the Camry 2.5l, just like in the case of the Auris and Auris Hybrid. More so, with the lack of any grants from CO2 emissions for the hybrids here, it is more of an eco-statement, than anything else.

Probably the best is the Mazda6 in terms of efficiency. Or get a diesel sedan, like the 508GT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Diesel make no sense in Malaysia, unless you want to keep sending your car into workshop and giving black smoke like a lorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • sudonano on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:28 am

Actually diesel here boleh tahan la. Sounds like lorry no doubt, but I have had a Korean diesel for 85k km. Besides the early morning smell and the sound, it was reliable. Never broke down. Smelly no doubt.

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:20 am

Love the Mazda 6 too.

The only doubt is Berjaya being distributor and Service Center Operator

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Compared to umw? on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:17 am

What? Compared to blood sucking umw who sell Kosong car at exorbitant price? Then 1 year later give us free upgrade to vsc and 7 gears?
        Any day I will go with bermaz thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Do consider a pre-owned Sonata or K5.

They are really great value for money, especially the 10-15 month old units

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Buying a used 1 year old K5 or Sonata makes perfect sense.

You get all the high specs stuff for the price of a 8 year old Camry.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Delaying Euro 4 already such a long period! But is good “if” or “cross finger” EEV is the answer! Coz we M’sian is too DISSAPOINTED by “over promise”.

• if camry hybrid really come to our shoe, i believe accord hybrid will be here soon also~~~ lets see whats their price it is

• carlies on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Honda’s hybrid will definitely cheaper than Toyota as you can see from the market now as they don’t have the confident to fight with the real hybrid car. That’s the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Fahmi on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:59 pm

FYI, Accord Hybrid is “full hybrid”, not mild hybrid like current Insight, old Jazz Hybrid and Civic Hybrid…

• UMW balik era dino lar on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Are they mad? Nearly 200k for a CKD Camry Hybrid? I think 200k should be getting us a full spec CBU from japan unit, WITH tax! Please don’t bother to set up operations here, you are just sucking the money out of our hardworking but no-time-for-spec-comparison brothers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Fahmi on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Lets see how Honda Accord Hybrid fares with Camry Hybrid.. Accord Hybrid is eligible for tax cut (under 2000cc), unlike the Camry Hybrid so it should be pretty interesting…

• glaze on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:37 pm

I hope the accord pricing will give UMW a lesson and they can price the camry hybrid “wisely”

• Terence on Oct 07, 2013 at 10:41 pm

I guess honda will only bring in its accord hybrid if NAP willing to extend tax free for hybrid car.

• The gov only cut the tax on hybrid up to 2.0 ( if not mistaken ).

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:18 am

Camry Hybrid was named car of the year in Australia.

Just a matter of time it makes car of the year in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Arun 12B on Oct 08, 2013 at 1:20 am

Always 508GT is a better car in all aspect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • This new Camry is really horrible looking. Look at it’s crash test videos as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • yoolang on Oct 08, 2013 at 3:34 am

toyota is just open new factory now consider for open another one? they very generous in the invest malaysia local.

tomorrow after is can have time when all got for factory when not see the outputs is make sure level is a market sells. after other car company bring also.

• What to do? on Oct 09, 2013 at 10:09 am

What to do? Here got so many loyal fan buy kosong car with exhorbit price wor… Some more 1 year after launch can get free upgrades ;)

• UMW Toyota Motors, please do consider also to have Vios Hybrid for our Malaysians as well. Thanks.

• shawal on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:12 am

ckd, cbu ,
    doesn’t matter
    whomever s responsible behind these closed doors of our automotive policies, industry, are directly, or indirectly involve / responsible for the countless lives we lost on the road d/t poor infrastructure, implementation, lack of access to safe mode of private / public transportation…
    whatever wealth they acquire through these negligent actions hopefully will befall to their loved ones so they might consider turning a new leaf

• Let me guess, based on past histories, 1st year launch, no vsc.
    1 year later, free vsc Bcoz car cannot sell. Screw the early book loyal fans.
    BRAVO umw! I don’t think u will ever learn. Happened since 9th gen Altis.

• Poor umw on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:48 am

Nowadays whenever Paultan post a toyota related article, we see endless criticsm comments. Only 1 or 2 toyota salesman here syok sendiri. Poor umw. They remind me of their current bad name like bn. Note that global toyota brand is still good, only the umw is at fault here. So pls set the target right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • helmi on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:24 am

UMW??? Please..please..please Toyota, not under UMW again. Blood sucking greedy sucks hopeless company.. only know $$$$$ with sub spec car and try to profit from Toyota fan as much as possible. UMW really tarnish Toyota name here.

• keris lawak on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:51 am

the interior of camry is so apek, cheap plastic everywhere, look n feel worst than china car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Accord lg baik maa dari camry!! pay more for camry but get less..

• dugong on Oct 09, 2013 at 1:28 am

Biasala. With UMW ppl always pay more for less. But still got plenty of market to scam. Just like nigerian scam. Easy money!

• huehue on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:32 am

If CKD hope dont put the safety features to the dustbin.. Later expensive car with only 2 airbags and ABS..

• Hmm why no see salesman post? on Oct 09, 2013 at 10:07 am

Hmm, why no salesman come talk about resale value yet? Where Sammy and maserati? Wait they are the same person?
    “ckd hybrid 200k,after 5 yrs an still sell 100k leh! Good resale value? ”
    Wait, who wants to buy second hand overpriced local assembled hybrid and also pay for battery cost in 7 years? Kantoi

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 11, 2013 at 3:37 pm

When a car has great resolve value, there is no need to mention about it, unlike kimchis