Hybrid Honda Jazz Type R to emerge in 2015 – report

2014 Mugen Jazz-09

Here’s a hot piece of rumour, but we can’t yet vouch for is legitimacy. Apparently, a hybrid Honda Jazz Type R is in the works for a 2015 debut, as intimated by Australian-based site Motoring. It will be based on the third-generation Jazz and could take aggressive styling cues from the hatch’s Mugen parts bin.

If true, that would grow Honda’s Type R portfolio back up again, positioned under the 280 PS Civic Type R that has been confirmed for 2015. Unlike its turbocharged sibling however, the smaller Type R is rumoured to use hybrid propulsion to give it a performance boost.

The Fit/Jazz RS that is part of the third-generation launch lineup in Japan is powered by a 1.5 litre direct-injection DOHC i-VTEC engine with around 132 PS. A petrol-electric combination on top of that motor could boost power up to 190 PS, while maintaining an efficient 27.8 km per litre.

2014 Mugen Jazz-08

Not only will it be the first hybrid-powered Honda Type R, the hot Jazz is said to feature the new one-motor Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive) system employed in the current range-topping third-gen Fit/Jazz Hybrid. That means it will have a two-pedal DCT drivetrain.

With the next Civic Type R already confirmed to have a turbocharger, these are yet more deviations from the classic Type R formula. We will have to wait and see if they could survive the wrath of the sceptics and Type R traditionalists.

As it is, Honda isn’t the first company to turn to hybridisation for extra performance. The latest hypercar trio from Ferrari, McLaren and Porsche are all hybrids, and both the Nissan GT-R and Toyota 86 have been rumoured to get electric assistance too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Chris on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Hope Honda make this a reality. It does sound like the future, not another reliable, but sort-of boring Japanese car we seen in the last few years (counting only models affordable by the masses at least).

I have a weird feeling that by the time it happens and reaches our shores, the hybrid tax exemption thingy might not exist anymore :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Not bad, at least it’s better than Myvi Extreme!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Hameed Koyakutty on Oct 09, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Yeayy…..all future Honda “Green” model will be build in Melaka Plant….

Yuhuuu….kudos Honda, kudos Melaka gomen, kudos Ali Rooster…..

nak harap MIDA and MITI lembab nak mampus……

• Heavier on Oct 08, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Extra power and better mileage will always be welcomed but the battery pack will certainly add more weight. More weight=blunt acceleration=dull handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Carnut on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Don’t worry. If they are going to put a type R badge on it I am sure the engineers at Honda will make sure all that will be taken into account. New generation of sports cars are all about eco and performance now.

• Fahmi on Oct 08, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Who says eco car have to be boring and dull?? Honda, Porsche and many others have proven it… Performance, fun plus good fuel economy and low emissions…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • tikus on Oct 08, 2013 at 3:53 pm

you are comparing honda with porsche? purffff… unreliable IMA system lagi banyak cakap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • u kepala sakit on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:10 pm

IMA system for Honda already no more. New Honda Hybrid system Change to Sport Hybrid I-DCD( new jazz), Sport Hybrid AWD (new nsx) and Sport Hybrid MMA ( New Accord )

• namanama on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:07 pm

why cant compare?honda got NSX.you can also put nissan&toyota(lexus)to campare with porsche.when talk about honda,nissan,toyota I guest you must be thingking about city,almera and vios right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Wow.. That’s something…. Can’t wait to see it become reality.
    I agree with what Chris says about tax exemption for hybrid. Fingers crosses that they will prolong the tax exemption….

• Chris on Oct 08, 2013 at 2:22 pm

From what I read so far here in this blog, seems like future hybrids might only get tax exemption if it’s CKD.

Of course, I could be very wrong and hopefully I am. Just a guess but I doubt a Type R cars will be assembled in Malaysia.

• conceptkenacon on Oct 08, 2013 at 2:19 pm

lagi power lagi best, honda myvi R

• TS.Lim on Oct 08, 2013 at 5:29 pm

When Myvi comes with Myvi Extreme R? With turbocharged 1.5 liter, super lagi power, super lagi best, sounds sweet?

• Lol i bet even if gomen extend the tax exemption, manufacturer sure will increase their profit margin cos if not will kacau other car price structure.
    damn uuu capitalist!!!

• kelso on Oct 08, 2013 at 3:01 pm

lets all chant… Build it, build it, build it… give the fiesta st a run for its money…

• Ahh Bii on Oct 08, 2013 at 3:20 pm

New Honda jazz hybrid only with 130hp, 0-100kmh in 7.87sec already beat preve and suprima soft turbo lol, the link for New Jazz hybrid http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPryI2SscrY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Sup rimau on Oct 08, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Hmm… ok it’s would fast for 1.5l, I think it’s also beat NA 2.0 litre lol in 0-100kmh ….preve and suprima was good and affordable for it’s price, but 0-100 9.9sec is disappointed, so waiting launch New jazz here and See the price fiz. Wat i know new Jazz in was popular and is come many features and spec, Hope Honda Malaysia don’t cut to much

• Nothing to shout about, electric motor gives the torque almost instantly. Btw jazz is not a cruiser, preve/suprima has much more comfortable ride and handling

• Why even bother to compare between 2 different category of car platform. Should compare apple to apple. In this case, This Jazz is based on a 3rd Generation and since the first generation’s debut. It has sold more than 3 million. It has a strong reputation across the world. Preve and Suprima still has a long way to prove it’s existence. I wonder if the 2 Proton model would have a 2nd or 3rd generation.

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Even though i’m T supporter, to be honest, i have to say this is not true. Remember that those turbocharged engines can get big performance & fuel consumption improvement after remap compare to NA. Plus those battery on Hybrid cars are always a time bomb after 8 years down the road or after the warranty expires. If it can run solely on gas after the battery failure, then it will be different story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Preve with racechip already 7.6 secs maaaa….LOL

• frenzyaustin on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:11 pm

That’s really fast for a hybrid supermini!

• sudonano on Oct 08, 2013 at 5:10 pm

build it. enough said.

will give the Fiesta ST a good run for the money. And the Clio RS and 208GTi too.

• Kancil Fan on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:00 pm

This is something to cheer about. The lack of exciting cars for mass market in their line up in Malaysia in recent years was somewhat depressing. Hope this news will materialize.

• Hybrid vtec?

• seilo on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:32 am

preve ? mana tak namapak pun .

• Benny on Feb 21, 2014 at 5:10 pm

bt its completely different to the original jazz..nw thats weird..should’nt it be an upgrade of the original jazz or a modified jazz?