Mitsubishi Pajero Sport GL and Pajero Sport VGT enhanced for 2013 – priced at RM156k and RM177k

mitsubishi-pajero-sport-enhanced- 041

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has launched the enhanced Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT (4WD) and Pajero Sport GL (2WD) in the country. The event took place at Oasis Square, Ara Damansara this evening.

The enhanced Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT is powered by the VGT-equipped 2.5 litre four-cylinder common-rail turbodiesel. The engine produces 178 PS at 4,000 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm.

The GL’s motor, although still turbocharged, does without variable geometry to develop 136 PS at 3,500 rpm and 314 Nm at 2,000 rpm. Transmission for the VGT is handled by a five-speed INVECS-II auto; that for the GL by a four-speed INVECS-II auto.

mitsubishi-pajero-sport-enhanced- 003

Both enhanced Pajero Sport variants ride on a double wishbone setup up front and a three-link setup out back; both with stabilisers. Brakes are ventilated discs up front and drum-in-discs out back. The VGT tips the scales at 2,040 kg; the GL at 1,895 kg.

The VGT’s Super Select 4WD (SS4) allows the driver to select between 2WD High, 4WD High, 4WD High with locked centre diff and 4WD Low with locked centre diff modes. The transfer case selector is located beside the gear lever. In the GL, which doesn’t have four-wheel drive, this is replaced by a deep storage cubbyhole.

Both get a new front bumper and double-bar grille. Alloys are 265/65 R17s on the VGT and 245/70 R16s on the GL. The new variants also come with white turn signal tail lamps, colour-keyed side mirrors with indicators, an integrated side step and roof rails.

The VGT gets magnesium shift paddles, a Hybrid limited-slip diff, a rear spoiler and security tinting, all of which are not offered on the GL. Standard safety kit includes ABS, EBD, dual airbags, RISE body, safety brake pedal and side impact bars.

Inside both you’ll find leather seats (Nappa on VGT) and an RV meter which displays data such as range, average speed and fuel consumption. The VGT’s instrument panel, floor console and doors are trimmed in silver and wood print; on the GL they’re trimmed in silver and black carbon print. There are seven seats – second row folds 60:40 while third row folds 50:50.

Standard on both are auto rain and light sensors, auto climate control for the front row, cruise control, keyless entry, front and rear parking sensors, reverse camera and a 2-DIN touch-screen system (with navigation on VGT).

Available colours are White Pearl, Quartz Brown Metallic, Cool Silver Metallic and Black Mica. Both variants are offered with two years’ free maintenance and a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage.

Accessories offered on both variants are a scuff plate (RM300), cargo tray (RM250), tonneau cover (RM1,100), rear garnish (RM900) and a rear spoiler (RM750). The first three items can be had in a single package for RM1,299. Prices include installation.

The enhanced Mitsubishi Pajero Sport GL is priced at RM155,500 while the Pajero Sport VGT is priced at RM176,980. Prices are on-the-road including insurance.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Pajero fall under wat category? 4×4 or Motorcar or commercial vehicle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • The Pajero Sport VGT is a 4×4 whereas the Pajero Sport GL is a 4×2. It’s a mid-size SUV.

• I ever sit on the current VGT version, this car has the power but very floaty especially 100km/h and above. Not suitable for highway drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • anak malaya.. on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:29 pm

you’re wrong..this car is very good for highway..very smooth and very good handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • hello on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:17 pm

guess you bought the wrong car, and had to resort to self satisfactory comment like this. heheheheh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Fahmi on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:32 am

Yeah handling and stability is not that good (body-on-frame limitation and high center of gravity) but I think it is supposed to be better than Toyota Fortuner… No comparison with Hyundai Santa Fe as that is a monocoque crossover SUV….

• nanashisan on Oct 08, 2013 at 7:22 pm

VGT is cheaper than GL. Hope it is not typo… :P

• Price for vgt is 177 and gl is 155, pls change
    The enhanced Mitsubishi Pajero Sport GL is priced at RM176,980 while the Pajero Sport VGT is priced at RM155,500. Prices are on-the-road including insurance.

• Hurah on Oct 08, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Whoa gl more cheaper than vgt??

• sick&tired on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:11 pm

why would anyone buy what is essentially a triton for an additional RM60k!? granted it has extra seats and all, but its still a triton!

while many would disagree, i would personally go with the santa fe. yes it does have only 2 airbags which is fked up, but other then that its a better SUV compared to the Pajero Sport (which is a truck)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • tired&sick on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:34 pm

The price disparity is because the triton is tax free… but suv like this and the fortuner is not.

• sick&tired on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:50 am

I know its because of our messed up tax system that the triton is cheaper, as it is classified as a pickup truck. but why would anyone buy a pajero sport/fortuner/everest when the equivalent pickup truck is cheaper? And why would it matter if its because of tax? The manufacturer probably doesn’t have any choice, but we as consumers do.

I don’t think its a bad truck, probably useful for those who need to carry people to remote places/farms/etc. But for town usage, the Santa Fe or any other SUV (not truck based) makes more sense

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:04 am

Unfortunately, the parts availability and cheaper price on this Pajero is better because it share the same platform as the Triton and is manufactured in Thailand. So this would essentially be a better buy over the Santa Fe.

Except for looks and higher torque, the Santa Fe is a worse choice. It doesn’t make good sense to pay extra RM20K for the Santa Fe when you are hardly getting anything better in return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • sick&tired on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:58 am

have you ever driven a santa fe before? I have driven both and the santa fe is a far better choice. And I am not even talking about the latest generation Santa Fe! Granted the Pajero Sport is a better off roader, however for town/highway use, the santa fe is a better choice.

What do you mean by getting hardly anything in return?? I got this from the Santa Fe launch post:-

“Standard across the board features include ABS, EBD, BA, ESP, Downhill Brake Control, Hillstart Assist Control, Vehicle Stability Management, dual airbags, rear parking assist, electric parking brake, Smart Key with push start button, 12-way powered driver’s seat, auto headlamps, third-row AC vents, steering wheel controls and cruise control.

Also included are locally fitted “Nappa” black leather seats and 18-inch alloys with 235/60 tyres. There’s also an aftermarket “safe drive recorder” that records video clips of the view ahead.”

And this is only a partial list, there is even more!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • kambinganas on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:23 pm

A lot of those also have on the Pajero la. Please read the spec posted in this article.

This Pajero also come with Nappa leather seats. The Pajero also come with immobilizer. The Santa Fe ada tak immobilizer? The leather seats on the Santa Fe come in ugly brown and you have no option to choose a different color.

• Some correction there: the GL uses commonrail direct injection engine, same engine as in non-VGT Triton 2.5.

• All the engines are direct injection common rail 16v. Name code 4D56 DID. Only to varify which 1, 4D56 High Power is VGT Turbocharged. The Mid Power is the normal Turbocharged. 4D56 Low Power is the 1 use in Thailand single cab. Not our Triton Lite engine. Triton Lite engine is called 4D56 as well but not DID.

• policeman on Oct 08, 2013 at 8:25 pm

The interior quality is not there for Mitsubishi cars.

See that uneven part at the passenger airbag cover.

Not really visible on photos, most parts on the dash will have uneven gaps.

• Mitsu-Purotong on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:04 pm

I Still can’t forget my Lancer became Inspira and being called a butt hurt in this community.
    Anyone want to try?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • its all for business on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Mitsubishi is not in collaboration with Proton anymore. The previous-gen Accord owners will feel your sore when the new Perdana come out.

• Prominence on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Nice visible intercooler.

• Tak faham.. on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:18 pm

I thought ‘tonneau cover’ thing is use on those trucks to cover the trunk (or bed)? How does this thing being use on an SUV?

• downsys on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:01 pm

This is what I found:
      http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/639840-tonneau-cover-for-pajero-sport/

Hope that helps.

• Brian on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Sexier look than the current Toyota Fortuner xD

• Sam Loo on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:33 am

All I can say is that this SUV will outsell tucson and sportage by an easy 100 fold.

Why? Because kimchi vehicles are unreliable, breaks down, limited spare parts which leads to low resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • azrai on Oct 09, 2013 at 8:17 am

Look like those 2 girl didn’t have any ‘enhancement’ compare to the Pajeros. Do we need girl in every car stuff??

• ridwan on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:56 am

Great discount & freegifts waiting for southern region mitsubishi buyers !

• What is the difference compared to normal Pajero Sport??

• vee-oh on Oct 09, 2013 at 3:50 pm

drove this model before..the GS variant..not bad, comfortable and power just enough but much much better than the funny Fortuner

• omanjedi on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:20 pm

the two models are not attractive enough

• Dalkhaw on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:24 am

I am considering to buy one. But should I buy the diesel or petrol version? Pls help me decide the merits. Thank you.

• yazid on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:38 pm

I have my pajero vgt since Dec 2013 until then I need to changed with new fuel pump, new throttle body, new turbo and new GPS. Everything free since under guarantee. Latest early this year 2015 I need to change oil cooler. What the hell of this type of car. Anybody have similar experience to share as what has happened to me. Or I need to request replacement of new unit. Lucky the car steering still in workable conditions.

• leong on Nov 25, 2015 at 2:37 pm

I bought a Pajero Sport VGT 3 years ago and I am very happy for this 4WD car until recently where I travel frequently to Cameron Highland, One day, I found there was a problem at the gear box, during drive up to Cameron hill suddenly my gear automatic change to 2nd gear and can’t switch anymore. I need to stop at road side for a while before to continue my drive..i have consult with Penang Mitsubishi service center (JMS Auto) after I came back from Cameron. They’re not so surprise about the problem and said need to install an additional cooler, they help me send a report to Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia to claim for the cooler but after a week I got the verbal reply from them and also from HQ ,they told me my claim was rejected due to over warranty… I just want to ask, is this related with over warranty ? Is there anybody know about this problem without travel to Cameron Highland or Genting highland ?you’ll know this issue but you’ll not inform to customer until customer getting into trouble. I’m so disappointed about Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia. In fact, I did ask the service center about this issue 2 years ago but they are reluctant to fix the cooler for me. Now they are rejecting the claim by telling me this is over warranty.
    What kind of company is this? Is Mitsubishi ignoring and risk people life in continue to use the car without installing the cooler? How come there is no recall?

• azim ahmad on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:59 am

hi mr leong, i always experienced this especially when i drive up at Ranau & Kundasang hill. I make complaint to mitsubishi service centre, they just answer that was to protect the engine. i dont know coz i’m not technical background…any comment???