Peugeot 408 and 308 – special package for teachers

Peugeot408

If you’re in the teaching profession, this should be of interest. Nasim has teamed up with Koperasi Yayasan Guru Malaysian Berhad (KYGMB) to commence a special package on selected Peugeot vehicles for KYGMB members.

Valid from now until November 30, the special package applies to the 408 2.0L and Turbo as well as 308 Turbo and 308 Griffe models, and is available to all existing and potential new members of KYGMB. To enjoy this special package, teachers need to first become a member of KYGMB.

The programme will only be available through purchases from KYGMB, and KYGMB members who want to purchase the Peugeot vehicles will need to make bookings through a request order to KYGMB. No mention on what the benefits entailed by the special package are, so guess there’s only one way to find out.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• faraway on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:46 am

1.Should a teacher buy a Pug?
    2.Can Government reduce excise tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Deanio on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Nasim is giving RM11k cash rebate on Pug308turbo 2013 model and RM8k on 508. Call nearest dealer

• Ryan.C on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:37 pm

teacher drives turbo!

• ash burn on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Let me guess- a 12 year loan with zero down payment.
    I sincerely hope that a rational thinking teacher
    would avoid this ‘life sentence’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • yeah, another death trap where finally end up paying more than usual.so-called special package.

• Wan Malaysia on Oct 08, 2013 at 12:41 pm

High inventory, high storage costs, even higher deterioration under the sun. Easy, flog them off to desperate government servants. Remember Tiara, Waja 1.8, Naza Bestari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • go home teacher,you’re drunk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • sutheshkumar87 on Oct 08, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Oh well, not that surprising also. Have any of you seen what cars the school teachers these days drive? Damn hebat yo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • The teachers must have hard time to maintain these cars.

• edktr on Oct 08, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Having trouble selling them? Thought so…

• mantop on Oct 08, 2013 at 3:29 pm

teachers today drive camry, accord, crv n the likes…

• My mom is a secondary teacher and she drive a new Mercedes E class diesel turbo. Why ? Cause it is in Labuan and it only cost 250K, and of course paid by my dad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • You are jealous with what the teacher are driving. Their monthly income comes to about rm 6000 for 3 year experience teacher with degree holder. Plus extra tuition classes every evening brings in another rm 4000. They get to stay in government quarters for free. And you people working in the banks of senior management gets rm13000 per month but after tax is rm 7000. Who is richer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • powershot on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:18 pm

bear in mind, government servant pay lower income tax compared to private company worker. they are only tax on their basic pay (gross pay minus allowances) while private company worker are tax based on their gross pay.

• who said teacher work 3 years got 6K ?? it is around 3k++ plus elaun…. dont simply talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Arcee on Oct 09, 2013 at 12:12 am

You must be stupid. Someone earning rm13k less tax & epf still takes back a high rm9k plus. Get ur facts right b4 commenting

• 3 years got 6k? oh of course. but u need to be posted inside interior where no line no electricity no road. ah then u can get 6k, but that only if ur a semenanjung posted to sabah or sarawak

• my mum on Oct 09, 2013 at 1:09 pm

my mum teaching primary school, worked nearly 20 years as a teacher, degree holder = nearly 5k per month…

car = wira 1.5 auto, 3 speed, year 1996…

i bet those teacher u mention in ur comment must be bluffing with u when they talk bout their income…

• Excuse me, teachers do not stay for free at Gov. quarters okay…the rent is deducted from their housing allowance. And there is no way a graduate teacher with a first degree can earn up to RM 6k after just 3 years of teaching. If what you say is true, then there is no need for teachers to slave away their evenings at tuition centres. Most do it just to make ends meet…not to swim in luxury.

• lamanblog on Oct 08, 2013 at 5:43 pm

nuff said.

this is to clear 308 and 408 stock.
    new 308 is coming.
    new 2008 is coming to Malaysia.
    new 4008 is coming (mitsubishi asx based)
    208, 508 already here in Malaysia.

pug is making a move.

• Zakaria on Oct 08, 2013 at 6:21 pm

So what if they earn 6k or 10k.
    What is important is that they don’t waste their hard earned money on an expensive buy.
    Better to change car after 5 years than carrying a
    burden for the next 10 years.
    Pug model change is just around the corner and the current models will be obsolete by then..
    Think and decide rationally b4 making your decision.
    This is an honest opinion. Cos at the end of the day
    It’s your money. Peace!!

• Having a gf who is a teacher, it is impossible to get 6k with 3 year pangkat.

Most of the ppl driving this car just for the sake of so called passion or pride of driving it. As Zakaria, it is your money your decision!

Maintenance wise, just look to the comments in facebook or any 308/208 club, then you do the maths. eg latest comment (before they delete it)

Wong Chiew Siang: my 3 years old 308…. gear box got problem after changing ATF, aircon cooling coil leaked, two headlamps burned, changed 2 times battery etc ><

• wan jamak on Oct 09, 2013 at 2:32 pm

idiot bunch of people.

article is discussing about car and packages offered but these clowns talk about teachers and income. yet nobody knows about what the package are all about.

some more king of clown mentioned that tax for gov servant is only based on basic pay not gross pay. true idiot! have you checked?

• civicEK on Oct 09, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Semua salah gomen maaaaa..

• mizzuddin on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:56 pm

u all ingat kerjaya guru cikai ka..?
    always thinking and talks about money and income only

there’s thousand ways to earn more laa. click and mortar, dropship, u choose

• At least they have a scheme for the teachers. They are probably targeting those more senior and higher up in the teaching community. Not those who just started work.

• quasimodo3 on Nov 01, 2013 at 10:53 am

I own a Bestari and it’s the biggest mistake i have ever made. Lousy after sales service, expensive parts, poor quality (lousy material), parts hard to come by and most of all, extremely high depreciation rate.

I heard same characteristics goes for other Pugs. Something to prepare the teachers – be willing to spend skip school and spend more time waiting at service lounge, take 10 days in a month just to nurse your car and most of all, prepare a cash load of money for fixes, even if its new!!

Furthermore, Naza has reputation of refurbishing “old” cars so beware of the stock you receive. I brought them to tribunal court for the Bestari they sold me!!

• kenny on Nov 05, 2013 at 10:01 am

If the government paid teachers more, don’t you think we will get more qualified ones applying to be teachers? They are grossly underpaid by today’s standards. They were underpaid when my parents were still teaching anyway. Back then, it was a choice they made because of job security and also the benefits like loans, medical, pension etc. Today, well… we can only wish for better. But this plan, whatever it is, is definitely targeted to those higher up on the scale.