2012 and 2013 Toyota Vios: we pitch old against new in a fuel consumption and in-car noise level test

2013_Toyota_Vios_new_vs_old_ 001

So, you’ve read our full launch report, you’ve read our comprehensive review, and you’ve pored over every little difference between the 2012 and 2013 Toyota Vios. What else is left to know, short of us going out to buy one ourselves to tell you what the latest iteration of Malaysia’s best-selling non-national passenger car is like to own?

Well, two of Toyota’s claims for the new Vios kept eating away at us long after last week’s launch: that the car was quieter as well as 5% more fuel-efficient than its predecessor. Had all the relevant figures been officially given, we might just have taken Toyota’s word for it and gone home.

But they weren’t, and being the four curious cats that we were; armed with the old and new car, a sound level meter, a little money and an afternoon to kill, we took the opportunity to find some numbers that would prove (or disprove) those claims.

So we planned a route that would take us to Rawang and back through a good mix of highway-, trunk road- and city-driving conditions. Roughly halfway, we’d stop for coffee and then swap cars between the two drivers (Danny and I) for the return leg.

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 004

The cars were to keep in close convoy for as much as possible throughout to establish a degree of consistency in their behaviour and movements – any slip-streaming or drafting effects would be cancelled out as best as possible by each car taking a turn to lead. We were to drive ‘normally’, without coasting in neutral or turning the air-con off.

The day began at a petrol station in Section 17, PJ, where we brimmed the cars’ tanks to the first click (using the same fuel nozzle), zero-ed our trip meters as well as the new car’s average fuel consumption reading, and began our journey north. Each car carried two people, including the driver. Danny first led the way in the new car with Anthony, and I followed in the old car with Hafriz.

The outgoing leg was done via the Sprint Highway, Jalan Semantan, Jalan Parlimen, Jalan Kuching and then Federal Route 1 to Rawang, past Selayang and Templer’s Park. There was a fair bit of traffic at the start, particularly on Jalan Parlimen and Jalan Duta, where we spent nearly 15 minutes in stop-and-go conditions. The rest of the way was mostly smooth-going, although it wasn’t without its traffic light stops and sudden braking.

After a short coffee break at Anggun Rawang, we found a quiet stretch of road where we could do a test of the in-cabin sound levels for both cars.

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 008

The subject of logging the in-car noise level measurements of both old and new Vios came up during a discussion on the matter – Toyota says the new car is quieter, but by how much? Curious as to that, we decided to set out to measure the differences in an objective fashion – we’re not in the business of measuring in-car noise levels for a living, but a scientific approach always helps some.

Now, a better sound level meter (essentially, a true Class 2 IEC-standard device) than the Radio Shack 33-0099 – or the older, bulkier 33-2055 – would have been ideal, but the little RS SLM, intended for hobbyists, is a cheap, efficient beater to have. Despite a +/-2.0 dB-sound pressure level (SPL) overall accuracy, the unit provided us with a very usable impression of the differences in relative SPLs between the cars in a number of states.

All in-car logging was done with the SLM set to A-weighting (filtered range of 500 Hz to 10,000 Hz, effectively the human ear’s most sensitive range), set mid-forward in the cabin, with both fast and slow response measurements taken.

The logging was done over double runs over the same stretch of road, with four people in the car. Primarily, the idea was to find out what the noise levels were at idle, full bore and up to intermediate speeds, so we picked both 50 km/h and 80 km/h as speed markers.

2012-2013-toyota-vios-dba-table

Not much difference at a constant 50 km/h, the two dBA difference being minor in actual psycho-acoustic perception terms, but moving to the 80 km/h mark, the pick up in differences were audible subjectively; objectively, this translated to the new Vios being six dBA quieter. A level change of around six to 10 dB translates to a doubling of the sensed volume, so the differences were definitely noticeable to the ear.

Because we were pressed for time – and with the primary aim being to do the fuel consumption evaluation – a 110 km/h pass wasn’t done, but given that from the intermediate speed measurement, the quieter nature of the new car would have continued to shine, because at the national speed limit the differences were again audible. Under full throttle acceleration, both cars returned identical readings.

Likewise at idle, or nearly, with a one dBA difference, but this with the air-con off. With the air-con blower set to position two in each car, the surprise was how the new Vios had a three dBA higher level than the old car, until one of the guys mentioned that the new car’s air-con blower was stronger at the same position. Guess you can’t have something without sacrificing something else.

The return leg was done through Kundang, Sungai Buloh, the North-South Highway and the NKVE, with Danny and Anthony in the old car following Hafriz and I in the new car this time, the driver change to facilitate an even spread of driver-related behaviour.

While the new car’s multi-info display showed an average fuel consumption hovering around 12 km per litre on the outgoing leg, the decibel test, with its full-throttle blasts, four of us in both cars and many about-turns, had worsened the reading to around 11 km per litre. Again, we were faced with more moderately heavy traffic on the way back, especially on the trunk roads of Rawang, on the approach to the Damansara NKVE exit and the Sprint Highway thereafter.

Upon returning to our point of origin in Section 17, we once again filled up both cars to the first click (with the same fuel nozzle we used earlier), with the amount of fuel going in taken to be the amount of fuel used since the first fill-up, to yield the following results:

2012-2013-toyota-vios-fuel-consumption-table

Of course, had we more time with the cars, we could have driven a longer distance for a potentially even more accurate representation – but, as it turned out, even a sub-100 km trip was enough to more than substantiate the claimed 5% improvement in fuel economy.

The ‘2012 update‘ Vios used in this test was in fact delivered earlier this year, and had less than 5,000 km on the clock. The 2013 Vios was of course brand spanking new and its engine had not been thoroughly run-in, which means it could have the potential to get even better mileage than tested.

Some brief driving notes on both cars to bring us to a close – both do about 2,750 rpm at 110 km/h in top gear, but the new Toyota Vios is altogether noticeably more refined, with better road manners than the 2012 car. Those redesigned, more widely-adjustable seats do wonders for comfort.

As noted earlier, the new car’s air-con blower is stronger, and while it is louder than the old car’s from the second speed onwards, it does cool the cabin faster, upon which you can switch to the first speed, which is significantly quieter than the second speed. From outside, the new car’s air-con compressor is quieter in its operation than the old car’s – unless you’re really paying attention, you won’t notice it turning on or off.

The old car has a tendency to leap forward rather uncomfortably even if you so much as feather the accelerator after it slips into first gear at low speeds (after a speed hump or a slow right-angled bend, for instance, or when moving off from rest). The new car solves that – its throttle action is much more gradual, and the uptake lighter and more linear. The steering also feels a little more precise and better isolated from road surface undulations.

It’s so much more intuitive (for me at least) to look at the instrument panel through the steering wheel rather than having to steal a leftwards glance at the middle of the dash. Because the steering wheel isn’t telescopically adjustable, the dials are huge and in your face, displaying clear, bold number fonts that are very legible indeed.

But above all, we liked the upscale impression that the new cabin gives off. Yes, the hard plastics and pseudo-stitching mean the interior is better to look at than to touch, but it’s still rather a pleasant place to step into after a long day at work. The piano black dimple grain on the centre stack, coupled with the G variant’s ivory-coloured dash and upholstery, contribute towards making the car look more expensive than it actually is, which can’t be a bad thing outright.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• both old and new vios doing 11km/l for mix road conditions is more or less same with campro only, where got better FC?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 21
    • CFE in preve can get almost 13km/l you know!
      penjimatan vios cuma satu mitos semata2 :-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 50
      • yazid on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:29 pm

prove it. cuba buat cam kt atas tu, dgn kiraan smua. #antara vios dgn preve. aku pilih vios lah, sb pengalaman yang tak best dgn proton apabila berdepan dgn customer service after sales

#takmo la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 86
        • essesse on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Take that VIOS!

Preve CFE can get 10km/l in city. Vios only 11km/l. Where got so much different. What the heck people alwyas telling Toyota is very frugal while proton is very makan minyak?

I would prefer more powerful preve anytime. Test the car on highway, full load, in traffic jam. It will justify the real road condition when everyone goes fro and to highway during holiday season.

I bet Vios cannot pass with flying colours, LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 34
        • ko pakai proton apa? enjin kaburator kan? ko bukannya ader preve kan? hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 57
          • fkfkfk on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:47 pm

My 6 months old honda civic 1.8 can achieve a mileage of 13.6km/liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 11
        • Laaa..apa pulak kena mengena kiraan fuel consumption dengan pengalaman ko dengan CS tu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • so true man.. my Inspira can do 13 to 15km/L.. (60% 110km/h cruise and 40% stop-go city drive and some hilly roads like that)

It’s all about your right foot.. just tahan nafsu from mashing the pedal and pick the correct gear y’know..

ini tak.. sikit2 bash pedal, tuka gear lambat.. mcm mana nak jimat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • iskhalifah on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:03 pm

My 4 year old persona which is half the price of Vios, auto tranny, with 2 people on board, can do 11km/L also on mix city (KLCC area,jam!) & highway (NPE, PLUS) during peak hours, with better comfort and solid handling.

The result is quite surprising. Jonathan & Danny, I’m sure you’re not pedal-to-the-metal each time u press the Vios throttle right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • FaridRashid on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:13 am

I used persona 1.6 year 2008 standard gaban..kalau buat calculation sendiri, semua kereta jimat minyak… dia ni cakap kereta dia baguih, org ni cakap kereta dia paling saving…. Kereta aku normal road 6.3L\100km, meaning 15.87km/L city driving… ni yang tunjuk dalam meter la.. tapi vios Bapak aku lagi jimat kot…walaopon dia tunjuk 12km\l…..sapa nak komen?

• APEK.

Proton lawan Toyota ka…tolong lari jaul sikit la! apa preve? lousy car…lousy engine…no power, slow respone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 55
      • almera owner on Oct 17, 2013 at 1:58 pm

for your info Almera (VL) has better fuel economy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • i agree with apek. my 9 months old exora cfe/cvt can get 7.7L/100km =>less than 13km/L. i tested once for trip JB-KB(665km) via mersing- kuantan-kuala berang with 6 passengers and aircond ON ( front/rear) all the way.On the way back i get 8.1L/100km=>12.34km/L. Not to forget to reset FC trip to 0 0 before each trip.

• ayamxxx on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:52 am

better cfe is that the actual FC.
      Not really save fuel like toyota fag always said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • azhar on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:15 pm

the test if to prove Toyota claim of 5% improvement in FC…u understand or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 38
      • understand, but they driven the twin vios just as any other cars on the road. did they zig-zag on the road?. so that figure is the average driving style figure. not the figure when doing top speed or when doing 60kmh constantly. and 11km/l is nothing to should. yes, 5% improvement is proven then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • yes..but is test also reveal that vios is not so good in FC. so-so ajer..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Rates on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Regardless, however they want to market it, the fact remains that this ‘new’ VIOS is really a 10 year old model.

Proton was condemned for selling same model Saga/Iswara/Wira for over 10 years.

Despite some calling this VIOS the god-car, I don’t see much difference between Proton and Toyota in this regard.

Shame on you UMW Toyota for failing to even equip your so-called ‘new’ VIOS with stability control, which is increasingly becoming standard across the board.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 12
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Regardless, it will still have Resale Value, unlike kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 43
      • Lemonguy on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:43 pm

You have not drive Vios before then don’t comment here la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 44
        • u have not driven a preve either.. so dont comment everywhere

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 15
          • FaridRashid on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:17 am

Aku ada persona, penah bawak vios dgn prefe CFE, aku rasa minyak sama ja… tgk pada masing2 la, beli keta atas sebab apa, semua ni advertising startegy ja, Persona masa first launch 2007/2008 dulu pon kata saving minyak, senyap semua… tapi dah masok 5 tahun, naik bengang gak telinga, kabin berdengung…. tapi vios bapak aku senyap ja dah masok 4 tahun pon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Daren on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Honda City is the best car in its class. It comes with Vehicle Stability Assist(VSA) and it’s awarded 5 stars for the ASEANCAP safety test. It got a higher ewsale value than Toyota too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 16
        • kasparov on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:03 pm

this is LOL!

try fiesta 1st lah. the best B segment.

not gonna argue with the RV though.

• FaridRashid on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:19 am

Kalau takat baca brochure, semua company kata keta depa the best, 5 star la, bulan la, safety terbaik la…. nak tau yang mana satu, buat test terperinci macam diorang kat Paultan ni…

Kalau naik keta lembu hari2 pon, kita kata yang paling comfort, safety, jimat minyak sumer…

• Bob_B78 on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Not really an apple to apple comparison. The new vios probably less than 5000km under its belt. It can be presumed that the engine is not fully ‘run in’. Once it is fully ‘run in’ perhaps the FC will improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
      • Not really coz the preve FC so far is from new ones too. So it’s still apple to apple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
        • its about the old vios vs the new vios… i dont see a comparison between a preve n a vios in here buddy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Green on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Proton Saga FLX would return 9km/L.

Or Proton CFE Suprima will give you 8km/L.

While the new car’s multi-info display showed an average fuel consumption hovering around 12 km per litre on the outgoing leg, the decibel test, with its full-throttle blasts, four of us in both cars and many about-turns, had worsened the reading to around 11 km per litre. Again, we were faced with more moderately heavy traffic on the way back, especially on the trunk roads of Rawang, on the approach to the Damansara NKVE exit and the Sprint Highway thereafter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • popkorn on Oct 11, 2013 at 2:50 pm

mau jimat pakai motor la kawan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • S.Roma on Oct 14, 2013 at 3:34 pm

U are wrong,

i am the owner of saga FL, same engine as saga FLX, 1 litre can go for 12km/l (town), last time i can get around 15.1km/l. while the spec is 15.8km/l.

and 13km/l for rural area

• Don’t forget, the Prevé turbo is a 2.0 litre car in disguise. It is bigger and heavier, but also more powerful and offers more torque than the Vios.

The Prevé is quite fuel efficient for it’s class (C-segment), especially new Prevés with the improved/reflashed ECUs. But the Prevé’s exhaust emissions are still very high by European standards and the CamPro is beginning to show its age.

Don’t worry, we can look forward to better performance, FC and emissions when Proton makes use of the Petronas engines they bought last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
      • Proton Staff on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:25 am

Campro CFE emission is alright at Euro 5. Better than honda current engine, which sell in malaysia only having Euro 3 rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • But it’s like mencurahkan air di daun keladi man. Yes, Proton’s CamPro IAFM and CFE are Euro 4 and 5 spec respectively, but our national petrol grade is still Euro 2.

But it makes sense for Proton cause they need Euro 5 (and soon Euro 6) to have a crack at Europe.

But think of it this way, Proton is actually very generous to give us Malaysians Euro 4 and 5 engines, this means we can drive to Euro 4 Thailand and Euro 5 Singapore and refuel there itself without worries.

If you refuel your Honda/Toyota/Nissan Euro 3 car in Thailand and Singapore, you’ll risk engine damage (nothing severe, but still…).

Just some food for thought ! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • R u sure preve 2.0 .hahaha

• Better value.

• OMG…H.city simply can achieve more than 13km/l loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Honda City Owner on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:06 pm

My 2009 Honda City i-VTEC can get 20km/liter when I drive 110 km/h on the highway. So what’s the big deal with this new Vio’s so called improved fuel efficiency?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • my subaru sti ver9 also can achive 11km/l easily on ron95 low boost.
      nobody will believe what other said coz they do not experience it. Drove lots of car from 600cc to 3500cc.but seriosly, mileage depend lots on your foot.

• GTI Teh on Oct 26, 2017 at 7:53 am

Agreed. Marketing gimmick.

• Sam Loo's Estranged Uncle on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:16 am

Toyota still has a lot of problems to resolve first. Read this link about an ongoing legal case against Toyota:
    http://www.claimsjournal.com/news/west/2013/10/09/238151.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • WillIAmNg on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Thats probably why they say, ‘die die must try’. After u drive a Toyota, you die early!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Uncle Sam has been so busy these days since Vios was launched.

So many kimchi owners turned up begging him to accept their rotten cabbages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
  • dino years on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:23 am

improvement is always great. but isn’t the rate just a tad too little after all these years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Chris on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:30 pm

That 1NZ-FE lump is like Windows XP. Once a great engine, still useable today, but you can’t help thinking that it’s time for it to go.

On the other hand, Honda’s L15 engines are seeing healthy changes. I’m sure there are many other engines to compare to but just want to compare T to H, you know..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • darenz on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Comparing an aged old version of vios with a new vios is totally not fair. Old car usually consume higher fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • neh
    suprima S much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 55
  • Mahu B.N dan Najib turun on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:31 am

with the price increase, yet the improvement of sound proof is only 10db??fuel saving at only 5%+/-? This car still fresh engine of course save fuel,not accurate if using two different years old machine which result not apple to apple. I thought sound block at least more than 20db at least and i not expect fuel save as same engine is adopted. Why sales value is up and the quality still yet sincere?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 19
    • omanjedi on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:01 pm

with the same dinosaur engine and gearbox, a 5% saving of fuel is still considered an improvement…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • sonyman on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:32 am

hey, the test using same tyre, using same brand new car a not? If one is new, the other is used, mana boleh compare macam ini.

So it is difficult to compare. BTW the results dont show any significant difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Vanan on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:34 am

The best comparison!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
    • ABTguy on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:58 am

One is brand new another one is using 4 tyres that are somewhat worn. Of course the noise level will not be the same. WOT noise at 73db tells it all => no better insulation compare to old car !

On the other hand, fuel consumption is quite impressive, to think that the new car’s engine is still “tight”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • Look at the car plate number for 2012 Vios
        WYC XXXX, means should be fairly new about a couple months old

• Fuel consumption directly helped by gentler throttle mapping, I think, and probably tuning for EPS and that bit of weight shed

• reezfa on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:48 am

11.6km/L for new 1.5 engine?
    My 2007 Civic 2.0 with near 100,000km mileage can get 11-13km/L for city use.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 8
    • I second that. My 7 years old accord 2.0 achieved 11km/l consistantly with similar road mix.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • suhazli on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:37 pm

My Jazz Hybrid average 22km per litre ..
      Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • Haiyo..we are comparing gasoline engine 1.5l & 2.0l with the same 11km/l. Why are u so proud of your hybrid car achieving 22km/l where there are gasoline engine powered cars can achieve the same or better than your car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Anonymous on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:22 am

Your Jazz hybrid is not worth the purchase, small car..

• my ct average 45km/liter..ha..ha.. no need for hybrid..

• krs189 on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:53 am

11.6km/l. Wow that suck….. almost as bad as Preve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
  • Potential Buyer on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:55 am

I don’t see any WOW factor Why should I buy a Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
  • These data says more than a thousand words. Great job team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • nope, i did word count. the data is less than 1000 words, not more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
      • afaris on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:46 am

It ‘says’ more than a thousand words, not ‘literally’ more than a thousands words. Learn English ffs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
        • it’s sad that someone can know English well, but couldn’t differentiate a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
          • Kepunden Parang Skeper on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:15 pm

haha he must’ve had a bad day at work so he didn’t get the joke… lighten up laa bro…hehehe…

• Please use emoticon next time. In real world, somerimes you might not sense a joke or sarcasm until you really know a person.

• axel_stig on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:59 am

this iphone is so overrated!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • what has the iphone got to do with 2 dugongs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • nap sux on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:15 pm

it’s just metaphor bro…evry1 is looking for the brand(apple,toyota),blindly bonded to a brand that used to be a good quality,but not anymore….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • kelate on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:32 pm

its sarcasm bro…iphone 5 ~= iphone 5c…. vios 2012 ~= 2013

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • wow,impressive…(“,)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Fredo VVTi-L on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:05 am

its just the same car with a new top hat plus EPS…thats all, developed specifically for ASEAN country…jaguh kampung ni

• Nice work.. on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:06 am

i like this real life figure ever more so compared to company’s claim or ‘industry standard ratings’ and all. good job!

• uncertain buyer on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:06 am

gud article…need more actual comparison like this in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • I own previous vios and I can advise u do not buy this new vios unless u really like it and your soul can blend well with it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
  • taboogen on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:10 am

in other words it merely no difference at all between the old car and the new car.. opps its vios we talking here of course no different

• your fannns on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:11 am

I hope you can also do the vs. for VIOS vs. City vs. peugeot 208
    CRV vs. Mazda CX-5 vs. peugeot 3008
    accord vs. mazda 6 vs. camry

and manyother cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • carazy on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:17 am

even almost no improvement over the old car, still many-many ppl will buy this car though. good for business for toyota, even old tech ppl still love it.

• This is great……I hope to see more testing and comparing in the future!

Good work !

• eVaz88 on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:26 am

Well, certainly for Malaysia constant summer weather, we need powerful blower / aircond to cool down our cabin. Thanks for the info.

• also if you got a mother-in-law in the car, the loud blower is very helpful.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • Peter on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:28 am

Not bad, it’s more fuel saving then Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
    • JeremyNg on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:06 pm

Seriously ?! My fren Almera avg 6.6l/km without trying to drive economical (of course not WOP)

• Peter on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:58 pm

I drove Almera myself. When I say this, it proves the specs that you show is only for ‘ideal cases’, & I could do that kind of saving only on highway, and not the hilly road. Go ask other Almera owners how’s the fuel consumption.

• kelate on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:25 pm

it’s 6.6l/km or 6.6km/l?….maybe u got typo there..

• otakudang on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:29 am

I do hope u guys can do the same for other car models.. maybe comparison for preve vs suprima.. just curious..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • 2008 City can easily achieve above 13 km/L driving PJ to KL compare to 2013 vios with just 11 km/L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • megatron on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:05 am

I second that…I am driving a 2011 Honda City and I manage to achieve an average FC of 13.5 km/L for daily drive to work (through traffic jam and all).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • bReaL on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:22 pm

That new kia rio can get about the same, 13km/L, real life figure of course

• yippi33 on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:32 am

Great effort!

The noise level test is ok. but the FC test is very subjective. different driving condition even on the same path (braking, throttling). should be conducted in a controlled environment(test circuit) for more accurate result.

anyway congrats guys!

• Fukuoka on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:44 am

True, amateur road test for fuel consumption would never be as accurate as a standard evaluation, for example Japan’s 10.15 or JCO8 cycle. But those guys did the best they could, and they deserved the credit for their effort.

Back to Vios. It is interesting to point out that the old Vios E kerb weight is 1050kg, while the new Vios G is on 1090kg, which is 40kg heavier. Yet, the heavier Vios consumed less petrol. I think 5% is an acceptable figure since there are no changes in engine & transmission. The drivers weight is negligible since they swapped cars.

• kadajawi on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:38 am

“The old car has a tendency to leap forward rather uncomfortably even if you so much as feather the accelerator after it slips into first gear at low speeds (after a road bump or a slow right-angled bend, for instance, or when moving off from rest). The new car solves that – its throttle action is much more gradual, and the uptake lighter and more linear.”
    That’s great. Better to control, better for fuel economy. That’s how continental cars are usually set up, and I guess these days Korean ones too…? However now people surely will complain the car is underpowered…

• cedyy on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:58 am

my camry XV40 also have this problem of surging forward due to transmission gear dropping to first gear when slowing down at bumps or bends. this also happens to a friend’s Alphard. looks like it’s toyota transmission design problem.

• nothing is perfect on May 18, 2014 at 6:59 pm

I will use define that effect as throttle lag.
      Comparing my avanza and my this new vios, my avanza have that leaping forward feel but if you are a owner itself it shouldnt be a problem if you are good enough as you are able to know the car characteristics.
      The thing to note is that, you will not prefer the new vios when coming out corners/junctions to main road.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:41 am

sonyman, the 2012 Vios is a 2013 issue vehicle (as you can see from the rego plate), with less than 5,000 km on the odometer and is stock mechanically, so it’s a fresh enough car for the comparison. Its tyres are factory-fitted Bridgestones, while the new Vios rides on Continentals. The impromptu test was to see how well the claims of improvements held, vis-a-vis in direct fashion, so changing things like tyres weren’t part of the plan. It was never going to be a day and night level of difference – the point is, there is a difference, and it follows what is claimed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • nothing is perfect on May 18, 2014 at 7:01 pm

speaking of tyres, I got some feel the noise test are affected as the continental CC5 are really much quieter although the grip is not good.

• Wan Malaysia on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:42 am

Please compare new Vios against Honda City and Nissan Almera.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
    • powershot on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:58 am

add saga flx 1.6 & perodua alza in the mix; so that we all know where does these local carmakers stand realistically

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Adrian Lo on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:48 am

Bravo, that’s quite the test. Thumbs up to more future tests like these!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • “Each car carried two people, including the driver. Danny first led the way in the new car with Anthony, and I followed in the old car with Hafriz.” I think there are 3 people in new vios..please see third picture”..third person is CAMERAMAN..”

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:22 am

iZaL, the set of pix was taken during the in-car noise level measurement logging of both cars, when the four of us were in them. Jon was driving, and Hafriz took the pix from the rear seat. It was the only point in which we had more than two in a car that day.

• yup, 2 person in dat car thats why the FC looks not good enough. Some readers here think they can get better FC because they drive their car with 1 person

• GanMC on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:01 am

Thanks for your effort doing these tests, very informative

• sepucps on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:14 am

Great job with actual in reality test like this one, hopefully to see more in future..

• Lim Guan Eng on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:19 am

Whatever. It is still a Vios. 8.6L/100km is not impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Good job, PT team!

Now Mr.Sam Loo can enjoy coffee while reading this article..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Uncle Sam too busy to post these days.

Have to show at least 2 Hilux to kimchi owners every 30 mins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Well done, this is very good input reference for potential car buyer! Hope car companies willing to provide similar test car to paultan for similar or cross review. Normal test drive for consumer wouldn’t able to get such information.

• rimbayu on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:37 am

Hope to see preve against suprima s or same segment car,especially the fuel consumption test..

• Chow 1 on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:37 am

VIOS’s FC is so bad????

• How come my 11 months Civic has a better FC? I can easily get 13-14km/l. Same goes to my dad’s City which shows 14-15km/l.

Looks like VVTi is not that fuel saving.

• It “shows” 14-15km/l whereas in the article they calculate it manually. My CPS shows 5.9l/100km as well but do you believe a Campro CPS can do that combined? Real FC is more like 7.5l/100km, 15km/l

• paulwee on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:48 am

The body kit is ugly. Looks like an afterthought which ruins the designers’ original intention.

• Fredo VVTi-L on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:45 am

the 15″ TRD alloy wheels are even worse lah….really tarnish TRD image…demit!

• heybadigol on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:01 am

Great effort team! Nice statistics. Now now, we can’t really compare our car’s FC with what was tested here, as this was an instrumented test using scientific methods, and the methodology looks fine (to the point of using the same fuel nozzle!!). Only thing is since refuel was using same nozzle, means one car (say first car) was refuelling first, with the other (2nd car) waiting (double stacking ala F1). That means for the next refuel, it should’ve been switched with the 2nd car getting fuel first, while the first car waits in queue right? Cos waiting around/idling uses up fuel.

It would be unfair to compare our FC to the cars tested here, because I cant recreate the same route (ok, actually can lah), the same time, the same weather, the same traffic condition and the same weight being carried around (not apple to apple comparison). But must admit, 11.6km/l is pretty average for a 1.5 car. But then, the car had a lot of occupants, and this did include WOT testing, and engine is prolly still virgin.

Hope to see more tests, especially comparing normally aspirated engines with turbo-ed cars (both with similar power/torque), just to see if downsizing really works as advertised :)

• ahmoi on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:41 pm

the comparison is fair, this is how most people in general calculate their FC. i do the same thing to calculate my car FC too.

• Denaihati on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:03 am

thanks for the test. good information before making a decision to buy.

• thedarkside on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:04 am

why cant they have Dual VVTi for the 1.5 engine?

• Whatever on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:21 am

I’ve always have this impression of vios having an excellent FC yet a mere 11km/l is far from impressive by today’s standard.

• Terryble on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:53 pm

My 10 year old wira aeroback got about the similar FC >.< and i thought it sux

• Vincz on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Same here
        13 years old wira aeroback
        11-11.5 km/l in city
        ~14lm/l in highway

oh, we are not too far from the vios..

• simon on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:06 am

trust me ..iam using the old vios in this article..everyday drive to work from sban to kl and also use in kl heavy traffic for work purposes..my car is year 2011 model…from my calculation no matter what i get 15 to 16km per litre of ron95. the car is reall fuel efficient much much more than the myvi i had.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:27 am

11.6 km/L only for Toyota Vios with the so-called “reliable and fuel-efficient” engine…? Gimme a break… I can simply do 20 km/L with the current Honda City – in fact, the same Honda City can still get 15-16 km/L in choked KL roads. Even a Proton Saga BLM auto can get 13 km/L. That’s what UMW Toyota gets for cheating customers and ripping them off with such bullshit price for a piece of junk powered by an ancient engine and a dinosaur-aged gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
  • NISSpengAN on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:29 am

Compare new vios with almera,city and Mazda 2, I’m currently proud with my mighty Nissan almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • oo…so you are very proud with you creepy, ugly, disgusting Almera?? Lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • The comparison should carried out on both new models. The older version should not taken from daily driven person car. Should be both new. Then it would produceveven more similar result.

• cobest81 on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:31 am

My mirage still won….i got 15km/l for urban driving…..

• To those of u people claiming u can get better FC with your civic or even accord, pls read carefully k.
    its mentioned they did FULL THROTTLE during the tests.

now, does ur daily driving involve full throttle?

• ahmoi on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:46 pm

full throttle can be done in a short period. and we did that when overtaking (at least me).

• yeah, short period for u. but we dont exactly know the exact conditions of this test, do we?

so dont assume la. lol.

• ahmoi on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:45 pm

we overtake not one time only, and overtaking is not the only reason doing full throttle. that short period is just one example. when they do the noise test they don’t really have to do top speed to get full throttle. why so scare? scare of VIOS infamous ‘better’ FC is revealed to all?

• so you are assuming they do full throttle all the way or for a very long period so that caused the higher FC? and yet the FC is so call “very good FC” for you?

• reezfa on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:57 pm

I do use full throttle by manual shifting everytime i pass the smartag. Its a habit on me. And my speed is not limited to 110kmh as per test. It is subjective indeed, but a the tested figure is bad.

• Alamak u ni, did they really full throttle from start to finish?

• djfgh349785 on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:49 am

All stuck-on bodykits suck. Unless your intention is to Beng-ify your ride.

• 2500=100kmh vios
    2000=100kmh honda city

• djfgh349785 on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:54 am

I’m wondering whether all these trolls bandying their mileage about measured it using the proper method, like what they did for this review, or are they just quoting their FC that is displayed in their cars? Aren’t the in-car FC generally more optimistic than real-world FC?

• iskhalifah on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Can’t agree less. I see many comments which FCs are questionable.

Please use proper methodology when testing your car’s FC. To measure the FC accurately:
      1. Use the ‘petrol refill divide by distance traveled’ instead of the FC displayed on car
      2. Ensure the car doesn’t run idle most of the time. Idling can drain your fuel quite a lot
      3. Don’t load your the car full with passengers and goodies on the boot. Max driver & front passenger.
      4. Tyre with optimum air pressure
      5. Stock rims instead of aftermarket bigger wheels
      6. State clearly % of highway driving versus % of city driving. But then, driving in stop-go congested highway should be classified as city driving.
      7. The car receives regular service & maintenance.

For a better collective samples of cars FC around the world, I would recommend all of you to refer to www.Fuelly.com.

• vtec200k on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:02 pm

the point was to found out whether the 5% fuel efficient between old and new vios claimed by toyota is true or not, and they conclude it with a YES . . .
    the 11.6km/l is not exactly fuel efficient, yes, because they did not gunning for the fuel efficient . . . we dont know how the team did with the throttle, you dont know how long they idle their car while doing the shooting and recording . . .

p/s if they were to break the record for fuel efficient, they would did better than the average of us . . .

• omanjedir on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Mehhh…Fiesta Sedan is better

• krs189 on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:11 pm

For Fuel Consumption better by go for Suzuki Swift 1.4 L. At 17km/l the Suzuki Swift is much better than this.

• B.N dan Najib sila berundur on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:15 pm

This test is telling Malaysian two fact that toyota weak aspect since Vios launch in the beginning, the soundproof and fuel consumption. I am drive this dugong time being.It is a car that lack of two important issue which other competitor did better than UMW. Soundproof of vios is badly done at all gen,tyre noise easily pass on metal and seep in cabin like no barrier at all. VVTi in vios heart is kinda more disapointment as well where FC isn’t good as other. H.City is much better FC so far,almera i not sure.Anyway,Vios problem is not fixed at this newly priced generation. How many generation should buyer wait to received a good soundproof vios? UMW, go test kia rio and the soundproof was as good as your Altis. Trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
  • kimici on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Campro engine no way fuel suckers better forte fc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • The fuel consumption is not impressive at all. Just like my 2.0 Honda Stream. Why a lot of people told me VIOS fuel consumption is good?

• Leonardo on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:39 pm

One thing that’s clearly or intentionally missing was the CRASH RATING. It was not mentioned anywhere in the leaflet that I got or from the salesman in Section 15 showroom in Shah Alam. I asked about the ENCAP or ANCAP rating…and I got no answer. Even after I repeated the question. He said it was for Malaysian market. The showroom car was the Vios TRD, the most expensive variant, at RM93,200.00. And it’s got only 2 airbags, same as Perodua Viva and Saga SV entry level cars. So the Malaysian version would have gotten a maximum of 3 stars ANCAP with only 2 airbags, ABS & BA. But no TCS. But when it comes to the T brand, we suddenly forgive the safety short comings?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Leonardo, at this juncture, we have to say we certainly won’t be doing any real-world tests for that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • leonardo on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Anthony Lim, I am hoping somebody from MIROS is reading this, and they will take the initiative to carry out the crash test, so that no one can dispute the test results, coming from an ‘independent’ third party.

• JeremyNg on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:18 pm

The funny thing is my 12 years old 1.3 Wira avg 12.8km/l with 10W-40 engine oil and Ecopia tires. Without EcoPia tires, I still can above 12.2km/l (sometime I do WOT)

So all the while those Vios owner said that their car very fuel efficiency is Syok Sendiri ?! XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • izhar on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Agree. My wira 1.5 can go at least 350km per RM50 of fuel.Sometime 400 km on hiway.
      Average 13-15km per litre. Old tech mitsu/proton achieve this fc long time ago.

• Ftzone - Raymond on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:44 pm

There is no fun in driving anymore when you are too worried about FC. If FC is your main concern I would suggest a hybrid like Prius. A lot of folks don’t look into long term cost of ownership. Replacement parts is fairly expensive even for a VIOS. Just ask the salesperson how much it would cost you to replace wheel bearing, driveshaft or air-con compressor.

• Basically vios vs proton/hyundai is more or less like comparing iphone vs galaxy phone.

Iphone for reliability
    Galaxy phone for better specs and more functions

So it depends on what u are after. Younger generation mostly prefer better specs and functions. Old man like me would prefer a more reliable car to travel one distance to another.

So, different ppl have different needs. Why argue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Not really.

Kimchi cars RV deteriorate exponentialy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Looser on Oct 12, 2013 at 4:12 pm

So what? RV only matter when you sell. BUt for this ancient junk vios you already lost big time the moment to paid for the car. Paid big premium for cheapo old junk.

• Green on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:47 pm

MR Paultan.

What about coming out PRoton Suprima NVH and the same fuel consumption test???

Well, hope to see this in all coming review.
    Kia, Ford, Perodua, Etc.

As soon as possible.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:16 pm

For kimchis, what is the point of doing a review when only 2000-5000 units will ever be sold?

Furthermore, out of the 5000 units sold, more than 2500 units will be sold off within a year to used car dealer like Sam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
      • cynical on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:03 pm

sadly, there are no toyota salesman to upvote your stupid comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • CFE 8km/L on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:49 pm

superb review!
    Hope to see direct comparison with others car’s NVH and FC.
    using same testing method & timing!

• This comparison is what we really need! I want to propose to Paul and his team to extend the comparison across brands and then we will see many myths will be broken..

• cynical on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:47 pm

why is the number of likes and dislikes so low in this post, unlike the previous vios post? didn’t anybody told the toyota salesmen to come here and dislike comments against vios?

• bootupjoe on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Useless fuel efficient if government not subsidize the pertrol ….back to square.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • My 1st generation Vios (now sold) could do about 14-15 km/liter using the same route with similar driving condition. Is there any improvement from 1st gen to 3rd gen Vios?

• Jason Lim on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:57 pm

the so-called fuel efficient vios can only achieve 11km/l

while my 1.6 prince engine can get 10.3km/l

mind u is a turbo

• Anthony on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:01 pm

2 years ago, i drive a Prius which claim to be more Eco does 13l/100km on mixed route
    today I own a Preve CFE and Golf GTI which Preve occasionally does 15.8l/100km when i on full throttle with 9.7 on average… what if i told u, my 2.0 GTI does only 8.9l/100km on average with 17.9l/100km if i does 240kmh.

Save the chat on FC. If FC means alot for u, why not change your driving skill. if still numbing the numbers? get a VIVA then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • megatron on Oct 11, 2013 at 1:59 pm

You drove a Prius and recorded an average FC of 13L/100km or equivalent to 7.7km/L? I don’t believe you at all.

• Anthony on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:08 pm

As i said, driving skill & driving style matters. and above statement are my experience.

If u r a petrol head like me, putting hard feet on throttle. Hybrid car which serve PONY power, cant worked as an fuel saving Car. My mind keep yellong ” Power!! Give me more Power!”

i own that prius for 2Y9M, driving for almost 6k milage per month. i changed 3 set tyres,1 rotor disks, and 3 sets of disk brake.

back to the basic, if u so damn care about Your petrol Bill, Speculate your driving style, not the car.

• xoomie on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Hey Paul, I would like to suggest that you do a similar test to P1 & P2 latest model. Compile it, post it as an unofficial info for our benefit. It would be as a guideline on fuel consumption & the cars NVH. Thank you

• Paul, i think its better if u do EXACT the same test on different cars in the same segment, proton, honda, ford, etc, let the figures do the talking so all the “FANBOYS” can shut up and stop arguing.

• Superb test. Hopefully the same test can be done on other car. By the way, to all car fans please try to be concious while u compare the fuel consumption between different class of car. Its very unfair to compare 1300. Cc saga or1200. Cc mirage to 1500 cc vios. What about fc of a motorcycle, can u compare it with a car?

• SKC -but now days other ppl compare…..for example lah PROTON VS BMW,MERC…ETC….OUT OF MIND

• Interesting comparison. Good job paultan for going further to prove statement made by these major companies.

But what i dont understand is why are there so many riduculous bashing of this car. It might not come feature packed with passive safety or priced competetively but this article highlights the actual fuel saving as quoted even with an increase in dimension and weight of the car. That is SOMETHING considering that the same engine and transmission were used. In the automotive industry this will be considered a big success under such circumstances.

• RVP20 on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:59 pm

WTH….11++km/l even my Exora only clocked at 10.5km/l, where got better FC???

• This test is another prove that proton bashers are only retarded, spoilt citizens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • notJPJ on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:03 pm

i would luv to see comparison with proton cars!

• joe cole on Oct 10, 2013 at 7:28 pm

My 4 year old blm cn go 11.4km/l using normal road

• J@Ck_Drive on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Please do more comparison for the car in same segment. Most of the reader are interested.
    Especially on Car FC. Since the petrol price has been goes high.
    =P

• mizzuddin on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:45 pm

i used to drive a Persona Elegance

from Kuantan to Ampang, with 5 persons onboard plus luggage, maintaining 140km/h along the LPT highway, around 120 – 160km/h along the Karak highway and heavy traffic congestions to Pudu Station until reach my home at Ampang, the worst FC I got is 7.3L/100km only.
    the odometer was around 15k km with Shell Helix Ultra engine oil.

now i’m driving a Preve CFE, from Kuantan to Kota Bharu, maintaining around 120km/h along the Bypass highway, 100 – 160 km/h along the old roads, overtaking others most of the time of course, 180 – 220km/h along the Bukit Besi highway, with 5 persons onboard plus luggage, the FC was 8.9L/100km. i’m using Syntium 5000 0W-30 engine oil since 1st service and the odometer just clocked 15k km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • All Is Well on Oct 11, 2013 at 12:23 am

My wife’s new Swift 1.4 vvt can get 1litre-16.5km and 6.2l =100km. New Swift price 74K (full spec) but vios with same price u get lowest spec. Even I would rather choose preve premium spec now aft discount u can get for 69K..test drove my friends preve 180km per hour…still steady…thts wt v call safety.

• Dino Conoco on Oct 11, 2013 at 11:14 am

hahaha.. stupid comparison.. swift is hatchback while vios is sedan.. swift is lightweight compare to vios. pity on you sir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Both suck with full load on highway. Only good in city but still so so

• Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2013 at 12:50 am

Another super duper busy day trading kimchis.

Because of the new Vios, the volume of cabbages coming in has increased so dramaatically that I needed another Hilux to display.

Tried to get one from a buddy that trades 4WD, but too expensive. Finally found a 6year old unit but the SOB wanted RM40k. These Fung Tien owners are so LCLY that he asked my rep to go fly kite if cannot pay what he wants.

The interesting thing is that the Hilux owner can bargain to sell higher, whereas kimchi owner beg me to take in their cars even at RM5k lower before I showed them the Hilux.

Man, in the Malaysian market, Japs still rules in RV, irregardless of what the kimchi and sui kwan euros do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
    • keris lawak on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:24 am

Yawn.. next pls..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Hahaha. Dare not even mention about quality which is on par with proton.
      But keep repeating Rv only. Damn this guy is really old.
      And only hilux van sell now. Pity. Honda sedans anytime better than these umw craps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Hilux Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Pity you…

• Robertng on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:45 am

Hi Paul, great job and done very scientifically. Just curious about how the New Vios fares vs the Almera.fuel consumption,uQueitness, ride comfort, space etc. Which do be a better family car?

• jenga on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:50 am

Almera no power, if full load you have to push pedal to metal when overtake, lol. Yes it’s quiet but it’s torsion beam, the level of comfort is nowhere with multi-link one.

• norman on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:26 am

I dun understand the mentality and thinking of some rakyats here,You want car that sip fuel but also very powerful,you want cheap but want gadgets,stability system,you want quality but dun want to pay extra,fuel price increase make noise but if u compared to Thailand you say Thai cost of living not high..seriously piss me off.If u think u can make a near perfect car with cheap price,bulletproff engine and good rv then its time for you to join toyota,proton or even bmw la,Topic about comparison vios vs vios yet all irrelevant topic all came out…if nothing to say better dont say and no one will call u a dumbass if u keep quiet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • ribrub on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:47 am

Why not compare with everything, that what always Malaysians do! Preve/SS is compared with B segments, conti C segments even with Veloster, duh, regardless of how cheaper it is.

I want to compare Vios with Ferrari, I should compare it because Vios drivers always syok sendili hogging fastest lane or tailgating more powerful cars despite its slowness.

• DKBOSS on Oct 11, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Where is the comparison between the Proton Preve and Proton Suprima S as I believe it was mention a comparison for fuel efficiency and consumption will be done between both these cars ?? What happen all ?

• What dbA difference on Oct 11, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Firstly, thanks to Paultan for heeding feedback. Now there is like/dislike flood control. So u won’t see those RV guys hiding comments with 300 dislikes soon.
    DbA comparison is so wrong. Difference is negligible. And have u guys considered the old vios is already 5k km and subjected to many abuses? 6 months is more than enough for the sound insulation to degrade significantly. So I will rate the insulation of new vios Worse than old.
    Also, it will be good if u have tested the interior noise while it is Raining! U will be surprised with the spike from the roof.
    Hurray! 5% fc improvement on a 15 years old engine. Boy why do I sound so sarcastic?
    Lastly, ppl really compares a proton with toyota now. And some can even justify proton is better than toyota now with cheaper price and better feature to boot. Quality as we already know from all the sharing previously, is the Same. How long has toyota went.

• The other aspects like resale, comfort, syok factor..etc are probably maintained or improved a bit, at what a vios should be. Bcos of that, it seems like FC is not so high(nevermind the fact it is 5% better than the old one) on toyota’s list of priorities as also seen in the latest camry(versus its peers). And also because of that, ppl with higher capacity cars (2.0, 1.8 and yes, Preve too)are coming to take a dig at it. I believe it is a platform issue. Price aside, I hope toyota R&D will follow the footsteps of the european carmakers where the theme is less emission and more efficient. Go green.

• Eddie on Oct 11, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Hmm…My 1998 Mitsubishi Lancer CE (4 door sedan) 1.8L covers 10km per 11L of Ron91 unleaded fuel hey…I’m not lying…

My old 93 wira 1.5 covers roughly 300km in one full tank ;(

• hanssen on Oct 11, 2013 at 2:43 pm

my anh20 2008 2.4 vell shows average 7.3l/100 km yesterday from kl kuantan 250km. this translates to the use of rm15.33 for 100km or 13.69km/l ltr. moneywise av 0.15 sen/km. did i calculate correctly?

• Eddie on Oct 11, 2013 at 2:51 pm

lol…My 98 Lancer Ce (4 door) 1.8L can do 12.5km per litre hey…But it’s manual

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 11, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Bottom like, if you want to stand tall and be a successful person in life, driving a Korean car will not get u there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • Thanks on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Again thanks for confirming salesman fear of uprising kimchi competition to umw sales.
      From my understanding, u mean to say driving all other cars will give u success including honda, peugeot, proton, perodua, Nissan, mazda, except kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Proton is not included. Usually bashed as poorfag car.

But now…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:33 pm

it’s ok. I know how bad it feels to own a cabbage.

Been there, but now I have woken up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
  • supra 1.5 on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:40 pm

meh.. the data is useless actually.. coz the brainless peeps will buy this car without thinking and looking. they’ll just buy.

trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • NotSamCustomer on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Saw those who are proud of 13km/l, 14km/l, 15km/l…

My car run minimum 22km/l, easily can get 24km/l.

RM60 full tank at least 650km… (4.86L / 100km)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:32 pm

The impulsive sorhais are those that makes Sam’s biz grow.

Thanks to these sorhais that just look at the factory fitted baits, they will just buy the new and get shown the Hilux when they realise that driving a Korean car is perceived as cheap skate, untrustworthy, unreliable (synonymous with the car), taking un calculated risks, low self esteem and most of all easily influenced by advertisements.

That is why Korean car owners will never be success in their lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
    • Salesman very successful. on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:19 am

Oh so u mean toyota salesman are very successful.
      No wonder the ignorance I keep hearing ppl complaint in forums when they go toyota show rooms.
      Go ahead, keep syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
      • maserratiShameLoo on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Sam loser is only one very junior sales man that talk bodoh like small kid. That is the reason he is still staying in his dream. It is waste of time to se his blog as Sam still need to work very hard for his living. Sometimes, i do pity a guy who is not livig in reality. Work harder Sam to pay your 7 yrs 90% car loan first and save money to buy a house rather than wasting your time writing bodoh story here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
    • Sorhai on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Sam, from your statement ” That is why Korean car owners will never be success in their lives”, i will say that my uncle is a failure in this life because he is driving a Proton Saga FLX as his daily ride but just leave his Merz S class in his bungalow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
      • MeaningOfProud on Oct 12, 2013 at 3:19 pm

To Sam Hilux, first of all i think this is name with no wisdom.

What does proud means if a guy is driving a camry2.0E getting a 7 years 90% loan compare to a guy driving a Sonata but paying cash for his car. Are u saying you are proud with your Camry2.0E and you are owner of japanese car ( not your car till you fuly pay your loan of course)

I am driving a w212 but i never feel proud since they are many people who are richer than me but still driving a proton. Dont be a sorhai Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Well, I know of a few businessman that does just that, keeping a few Protons at home for casual use and Benz for Business.

But none of them kept a kimchi for whatever reason.

Wanna tell me why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
        • MeaningOfProud on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:44 pm

thats proved that you are one old folk but a very very junior sales man. Business man drive proton for business but luxury car for leisure. You are one typically no brain sales man. Admit it. Dont continue to be sorhai in your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Uncle Sam is an overnight success story trading kimchis, a true opportunist that saw the trend in the used car biz.

In the current economic env, wheree Bank Negara has strict conditions for loans, Used kimchis can only be sold at no more than RM65k, irregardless of its age and size. That is because it is near impossible to get more than 660% loan on a used car that has low retention value.

Most ppl that can buy used cars above RM100k would probably be cash buyers and they will only look for Camry and Accord for Jap segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • That’s what only 1 person think. The rest of the world knows toyota buyers are retards. Especially in msia where our models are stripped naked by UMW and priced high like conti. ( eg. VW Polo sedan)

Only dumb sohai wiil buy oudated empty junk. I will never hire a person driving toyota to work in my company. Why? Imagine I open for tender a project, my sohai toyota buyer staff surely choose lowest spec product and highest price as the winner. Something like our G paying RM40k to buy a RM2k laptop. Who wanna hire this type of sohai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
  • bleukaizen on Oct 12, 2013 at 2:57 am

both same engine… very minimal differences……so to all owners of previous version, dont feel bad

• peyno on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:37 am

hahah this is joke.. so scared to compare with other competitors CITY, ALMERA.. ???

• Didn't u notice? on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:21 am

Didn’t u notice? They had only keep mentioning kimchi and rv. Will keep avoiding mention brands which give even more value cheaper and vsm.
      These are their tactics. Thank god flood control is active.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Reality is that Korean Cars when traded in has very little demand theeafter.

I myself was an exkimchi owner & i have been thru all the pain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • stupidCarl on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:14 pm

what do u want to tell here, are you telling us you now change from very bodoh to lagi bodoh. Good on you.

• Honda City Owner on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:16 pm

New Vios is nothing if compared to Honda City.

• grand livina is better than vios in term of fuel com.
    1,6 livina vs 1,5 vios ..
    go for livina ..best customer service experiences

• nasurudin on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:54 pm

how much difference can you make when the age of tyre of both cars is difference. 5000 km tyre will surely be louder due to rubber hardening. and noise from the new air con resistor for the blower is common for new car. after few months the speed of the blower will slow down a bit . that why air con man will recommend to change the aircon resistor,The blower motor’s speeds are controlled via the blower motor resistor, which is located close to the blower and in the path of the air flow.

• My vios (m) 3 years old can get 22km/l with 17inch sportrim, full passanger n full bonet with speed 120kmh…with new fuel price rm2.10 per litres…ha3 n u will sakit hati to hear that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Hey don’tlah compare vios vs vios. I knowlah new vs old. Comparelah Vios with the current Honda City. City proves to be a real fight. I am sure City is still a great car (just my point).

• vios is always vios. smart, economical car for the masses. Its fact and figure people can’t deny. They can just envy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:33 am

I just need a steady supply of sorhais that buys kimchis new so that they will trade them in 1 year later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • fact and figure: 11km/l for vios.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:14 am

Fact and Figures

Kimchis have no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • stupidCarl on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:17 pm

so what, why you bother ? Others can afford but not you, others like it but not you. You think your old camry 2007 2.0E got RV ?

• steve on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:49 am

I view the new vios at Penang, QB last weekend.
    I am about 178cm tall. When I see at the back of the rear seat, my head touch the roof permanently. I told another viewer when I came out, he did not believe me. So I did a another test for him. And he believe when he saw it. The rear seat if not for anyone above 175cm tall if you seat up. When you adjust the front seat to back, the leg room at the rear seat too small for a person.

• Chan Hwa Seong on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:28 pm

When can we have comparison between Nissan Almera, Toyota Vios and Mitsubishi?

Thanks

• vios1234 on Oct 15, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Strongly advice go TEST DRIVE!!…

I finally got to test drive the vios trd today, my personal opinion is engine noise is very loud and engine have to rev hard to get a decent acceleration (compared to old vios).. suspension also very bumpy ride… the only good thing is cornering is more stable…now i know why they reluctant to let people test drive, even puchong showroom only allow test drive at 9am-11am on WEEKDAYS ONLY…i strongly suggest to test drive the car before deciding to buy! btw anyone also test drive the car and whats ur opinion?

my advice…dont just view the car… go for a test drive and u know what i mean

• andy ong on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:08 pm

my 2008 vios gave me 12.84km per litre. 367km/28.57(60/2.10). city drive only. Hope i can improve it better..

• sengkim on Oct 18, 2013 at 2:43 pm

2006 Honda City IDSI can get 18km/litre at 100km/hour. 7 speed auto. Now you tell me which is more economical. Which do you prefer, 4 speed or 7 speed.

• My 2010 manual proton persona got 13.0725km/liter.Not bad uh?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:03 am

Autos nowadays do better in fuel consumption, unless your manual is driven by a makcik

• my AUDI A4 can archived 50km/litre once before from Kedah drove down to JB.

Indeed, was towed by tow trucks plus higway.

I just want to emphasize those figure was just a reference number, cant reflect the actual picture, NO WAR JUST SEX please.

• Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Your A4 Kwai tai in the middle of the road?

• why on earth so many dumbos here commenting about their FC compared to vios here? FC varies a LOT when driven in different conditions, here the test is to compare old vs new vios by driving through the same road.
    take note driving pattern could also impact the FC. so this 5% is not necessarily proven fact that it’s better….it just so happen for these test it shows it’s 5% better. those talking about 1.8 engine getting 13km/L I really wonder if you guys are having traffic jams when getting kind of FC, cos if not shut the hell up, author already mentioned they faced heavy traffic on the way back so this is more or less a typical city driving FC.

• chuny on Oct 19, 2013 at 2:22 am

Why not just look at the numbers first?

http://www.fuelly.com/car/proton/preve
    http://www.fuelly.com/car/toyota/vios

IF you think your proton can achieve 13-14km/l, go ahead and contribute your findings, blindly making a comparison with this experiment that are supposed to find out the FC differences between the two VIOS is totally out of the context.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:01 am

Kimchis can proclaim their cabbages do as well as hybrids, but you have forgotten that they were sued in US for declaring a overly agressive number and had to replay the owners in future fuel use.

How can you ever trust what the Koreans are saying?

As as matter of fact, how can you trust anyone driving Korean cars?

• stupidCarl on Oct 19, 2013 at 5:18 pm

What is you want to share here, please explain ? Straight forward to the point and your intention ? You will get sue for lying and giving all fake RV story, he next one is both of you from Sam Bodoh school.

• Sam Loo The Trouble Maker on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Actually, now i realise that Sam is a decent used kimchi dealer.
    He at least will accept kimchis at 50% off purchase price if car ~1 year old.
    Other used car dealers asked me to leave the car there, no tiew me some more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • peugeot208GTI on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:28 pm

@SamShowedMeTheHilux, I agree with you.

In the end RV is the king regardless how good your Kimchis car can be. Too bad most sadistic Malaysian people buy cars only to chase trend and show off their “high specs” cars before realizing how bad they can afford for their financing and budgeting aftermath.

Combining with ridiculous high duties and taxes, it makes matter even worst. So think about it, don’t waste your hard earn money just to get something that will depreciate over time unless you are sure you are going to drive and own it for at least 5 years.

• Sapundal on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:28 pm

How about New mitsubishi attrage New launch 21km/L

• you can see how good toyota do the marketing by reading all the comments above.

• breeze on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:03 pm

11km/l was too bad for a 1.5 car. Even Civic 2012 2.0 can easily achived 14km/l on city drive. God bless you all.

• FaridRashid on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:22 am

Are you referring to proper test like what this guys did or just referring to Honda brochure?

• breeze on Nov 07, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Filled full tank, run the civic till the refil tank light blinking, then refil the tank untill full. Divied the mileage by the liters i had filled full. that is what i got. 14km/l.

• Roy Mustang on Oct 29, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Great experiment there Paulteam. Do keep it up!

But please don’t let them car makers pay you for it. Else we’d lose faith in you.

cheers! ;)

• Allen on Nov 15, 2013 at 3:58 pm

My hyundai elantra 1.8 2013 9.4L/100km (town)

• Ragunathan on Dec 11, 2013 at 3:11 pm

For heavens sake, think twice or even many times before buying the new Vios. I replaced my first generation Vios with the new one…and here is my take…its at least 3% lower in quality (I am trying to be nice here). Head lights are dimmer, cant see the speedometer clearly in daylight due to poor contrast, suspension is hard and don’t place anything on the front seat…stuff slips in-between and fall behind. Its not as solid as the first model. All “packaging” and lower quality. Just to be fair, their aircon is better and so is the power steering. But never another Toyota again! Better buy from an underdog than a so-called top brand that seems to take its customers for granted. Advisable to test drive other marques in its category.

• Where is Sam Loo ?
    Please correct Ragunathan’s comment

• Better buy hybrid with tax exempted. Better fc and great pick up summore can get 30km/l

• Was thinking to change a new car, but i’ve changed my mind while look at those new car’s FC is worse than my 10years old wira..

• Pls Paultan..

do the noise test with the New Honda City as well.

I want to see how BS Honda sound proof is.

• klseklse on May 07, 2015 at 9:32 pm

I got mine 13~15km/litre…. average for 3 years (VIos 2011 model)

• Wah..after read all these car tycoon im so impressed. Hahah ..yang jenis nk sembang tinggi je tu better beli all b segment n test it ur self loh. Talk is cheap. Buy it n test it