Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG introduced in Malaysia

Mercedes_A_45_AMG_launch_ 001

We’re at the ongoing media preview drive of the Mercedes-Benz W212 E-Class facelift on the East Coast, and earlier today, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia took the opportunity to introduce two new additions to its local model line-up. One of them is the range-topping W176 A-Class variant, the A 45 AMG.

The car was spotted in Langkawi yesterday, and back in August, a black-coloured A 45 AMG example was sighted at JPJ Putrajaya undergoing type approval. The order books for the car have officially opened, though our man at the scene, Hafriz, reports that the price for the car has not yet been announced, MBM just saying that it will be priced under RM400k.

Prior to the W176 A-Class being launched in Malaysia, a sales advisor posted a pre-launch booking listing on oto.my, with an indicative price of RM338,888 for the A 45 AMG. His mention of the A 200 and A 250‘s pricing of RM199k and RM239k back then turned out to be spot on, but it might be that the A 45 AMG’s eventual selling price will be higher than the RM339k indication.

Whatever the case may be, for those able to afford it, the A 45 AMG promises a whole lot of bang. The little rocket is equipped with the most powerful series production four-cylinder engine in the world, in this case the hand-built M132 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo four-pot – the EU6-ready mill offers a rather significant 360 hp at 6,000 rpm and 450 Nm at 2,250 to 5,000 rpm.

An AMG Speedshift DCT seven-speed dual-clutch sports transmission is directly flange-mounted on the transversely-installed lump, and the car comes with AMG 4MATIC all-wheel drive fitted as standard. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.6 seconds and an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

The car features specifically-tuned spring/damper units and larger stabilisers, with the three-link front suspension getting stiffer steering knuckles, more rigid bearings and totally new elastokinematics. The four-link rear axle, meanwhile, is new, with a geometry and setup unique to it.

Other regulation items include a three-stage ESP (On, Sport Handling and Off) with ESP Curve Dynamic Assist, which is adapted to the selected ESP mode and provides an imperceptible braking intervention on the inside wheel to offer more precise cornering. Also, an AMG high-performance braking system with ventilated and perforated discs.

The base wheels for the car are 18-inch units finished in titanium grey, but the Malaysian examples will wear the upsized optional AMG 19-inch multi-spokes, wrapped with 235/35 profile tyres – two finishes are available for the particular wheel, but we’re getting the one done in matt black with a high-sheen rim flange. Also fitted as standard for the local A 45 AMG is the optional AMG rear aerofoil.

The Malaysian-spec vehicle also gets the optional AMG Performance exhaust system as regulation kit – the system features the same automatically-controlled exhaust flap as found on the base AMG sports system, but has more rumble when the throttle is wide open and during gear shifts. It also has a dedicated tailpipe trim design.

Mercedes_A_45_AMG_launch_ 025

Base exterior elements include an AMG twin-blade radiator grille and cross strut in the AMG front apron, both finished in matt titanium grey, which also dresses the side sill panels and the rear diffusor insert. There’s no Night package for the Malaysian car, identifiable through its high-gloss black finish for the front and rear apron trim, side mirror covers and side sills (as seen on the photos of the debut example).

Inside, you’ll find sports seats finished in Artico man-made leather/Dinamica microfibre with red contrasting top-stitching, while the dashboard trim gets a carbon-fibre look. Red is worn by the seatbelts, as well the air-vent surround garnish.

MBM has also brought in a few units of the special A 45 AMG “Edition 1” version, which slaps on the AMG Night package as well as an Aerodynamics package. The Cirrus White exterior is dressed with matt graphite grey AMG sports stripes on the bonnet, roof and sides, with additional red highlights to be found on the radiator grille, exterior mirrors and rear aerofoil. Presumably, it’ll add a bit to the base price.

So, it looks hot, it looks fast, and you probably want one. Well, you’ll have to wait if you haven’t ordered an A 45 AMG yet, because the word is that local orders for the variant have been filled towards the end of 2014!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Painter on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:21 pm

And just like any Mercedes, when this gets old, the spare part replacement cost will hover around RM10k. Prepare to break your kids piggy bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 78
    • medic on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:30 pm

If that’s the case,you’re not the target customers MB be selling it too.Rich people who buy these cars can surely afford its maintenance.For now the car will remain a dream to most of us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 2
      • WaJib on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Perhaps he’s not rich enough to affrod a Mercedes..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
        • Painter on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm

No, I am not rich enough to afford a Mercedes. If only my dad were some rich Arab Sheikh, I would’ve wrapped my Lamborghini Aventador with diamonds and gold!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 59
          • Steve on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:35 am

i guess its correct. money dont buy taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Lancee on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:57 am

Dude, don’t need to be so uptight. The guy’s just airing his views.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • This thing will get destroy by the Suprima R!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 51
  • drMpower on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Whats the point of having the biggest engine blah blah blah blah, when the speed of the damnn thing is electronically LIMITED?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 65
    • Modesto.hann on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Humanity and social responsibility..until their safety feature can cope with high speed to reduce fatality rate. Good car company!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • dominic on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Sir, you drive max speed everyday everywhere?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • protonA45 on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:42 pm

oh our BMW fan boy butthurt already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • farizY on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:01 pm

If I’m not mistaken, there was a gentleman’s agreement between car companies to limit the speed. Same goes to bikes. But companies do offer to take off the speed limiter provided you give them more cash and there’s always aftermarket shops who can do it.
      *Why need to remove the limiter? Malaysians drive so slowly, hogging the road,all the horses would probably be constantly asleep. Kroiihhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Kereta Man on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:36 pm

You mean you can drive faster that 250km/h in malaysian roads? Where?? please enlighten me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • valjean on Oct 11, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Errrr… Elite Highway. From the KLIA toll until KLIA itself. Four lane road… Just keep in the middle. Don’t keep to right as there is bump at the base of the first flyover. Just make sure you slow down to 180kmh before the huge left turns when you near the still-under-construction exit to KLIA2 (used to be exit to Balai Bunga Raya).

Not exactly 250kmh but damn close. Don’t ask me know I know :-)

• Luqman_HKM on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:27 pm

It’s sort of like Gentleman’s agreement in Germany where all cars have limited top speed of 250kph. Also another risk is that you can stress the car for driving at high speeds for too long.

But there’s always the AMG Manufaktur option (300kph A-Class?)

• SammyB on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:49 pm

333K+ car with no keyless go and GPS? Overprofit somewhere? However this car is nice but the aerokit looks like some ah beng add-on eventhough AMG.

A used Merc is cheaper to repair compared too Audi, BMW or Volvo as parts are plenty and this reduces cost while the engines are fairly easy to repair and taken apart. AMG may need specialised but still cheaper even compared to a Lexus which is Toyota in origin.

BTW heard from a dealer in Bangsar, they already had 45 bookings made last month for this car. Cheapest entry ticket to the supercar experiece, the dealer said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • sutheshkumar87 on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Ah dude, do noticed that this car gets the bigger screen as compared to the other 2 smaller engine siblings, hence it comes with a GPS. And Mercedes keyless button is removable so we x know, it might have the keyless afterall.

• Jilbaber on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Do some search la, Mercedes keyless GO button is removable.

• farizY on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Government overprofitting, this car cost a dime in the US…LOL

• Waaaaayyyyy better value than the Mini Paceman JCW (RM340K)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • Enthu on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:03 pm

The top of the line A class and it doesn’t even have the fierce and handsome grill from the A250?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Furqan on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Time for BMW to bring its M135i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • If comparing with NEW cars in malaysia, nothing even comes close to A45 in terms of power, refinement and brand prestige.

for ppl who are complaining parts and maintenance expensive, you are not the target market..move along and buy suprima S

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • In teerms of power and speed yes the A45 is god-like. But for me the BMW M135i is more ‘fun’ due to its rear wheel drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • i hope it’s just you though… the 1-series is not what you call… good-looking… and the future spells FWD for bimmer…

• Johnny on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Most powerful 4-potter ever!!!!! But I think some Evo’s with a little mods can dapau this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
    • teamsleepnine on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:15 pm

ohhhh…lordy!!!another map fan boy and it’s “a lil mod tapau this and that”dude stop it stop comparing mod car and stock car…but since you start,now imagine what little mod can do the a45?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Jilbaber on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:41 pm

then little mods on this A45 gonna smoke that little mod Evo’s and so on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • protonA45 on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Dear Johnny, if both car A45 and Evo modded, i think A45 can tapau your Evo for breakfast, lunch, dinner, plus when cruising on top speed (280kmph) with stability wise tapau your Evo again for supper and when your EVO can even reach that speed i think its already shaking like sampam, go more parts all dislocated, masuk longkang already. trust me ! some more along with 3 pointed star, medium to high class chicks all i tapau in my ride, matt rempit chicks for your Evo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
      • johnterry on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:33 am

i think A45 is already over modded..wanna see if can compete with fq series

• Jilbaber on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Tell that to AMG Black Series…mod on top of a modded

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/mercedes/a-class/65699/mercedes-a45-amg-black-series-spied

• teamsleepnine on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:54 am

fq,is not factory official product….rally art uk sells it by commissions it to wrc motorsports in kiwiland to build it.

• Johnny bravo on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:15 am

LMAO, you made my day mr Johnny. EVO cant even come close to the A45 amg in terms of performance, fuel efficiency, status, look, and also chick magnet-ism. Even the basic A200 win hands down compared to your JAP SCRAP.

• protonA45 on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:38 pm

with that price i can buy few units of my PROTON Suprima S, tuned to the same horse power or even more…i get lotus ride and handling too woohoooooo
    haters gonna hate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 44
    • i’m no hater, but i find your comment is just a little too lame and your sarcasm sense is not funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
  • This is the most desirable car from Merc..at least to my eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:57 pm

I’m wondering if this car’s gearbox is same as VW’s DCT dry type. If yes, good luck then. You don’t have to be surprise if someday when you press the throttle , RPM meter does not responds at all, and your car blocks & jam the entire roads, for waiting towing service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Jilbaber on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm

What ? I thought you only talk about resale value and toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • teamsleepnine on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:53 pm

for a guy that talk about problem…you should know the type the trans a45 is using…seriously dude,you are one of that type of guy that every car got this and that problem..when ask mesti dengar from this guy and that girl..stop being so shallow and assuming things even before you know it…

• protonA45 on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:06 pm

lame, funny or not its fine really. look at my “like”, by now u should probably know who is lamer. im sry u must accept da facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • i know we always have an option to refresh and self-like, which i didn’t do..haha. sorry..

• end of 2014, dayyyummm

• glaze on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm

cheapest AMG in town!

• Beetle Nut on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Introduced but no price? Then why introduce it?

• vodka on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Many wealthy Malaysians for sure. All allocations snapped up till end 2014! A lovely car at a great price if it actually sells for RM339k

• teamsleepnine on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:55 pm

i’m sure many middle class citizen can afford this.you don’t need to be wealthy to buy 300-400k car.

• blaster88 on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Firstly, no doubt crazy expensive, its still the cheapest AMG in town. The next AMG up the ladder is the C63 at RM700k? It would sell like hot cakes!!! Not sure about the driving experience as you have 350 ponies on AWD, if you like zooming down the highway at break neck speed or launch yourself off the lights, then this is the machine for you..Lotus, Porsche, GT86 fans need not apply…

• teamsleepnine on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:58 pm

actually what brand new car that is below 400k have 350hp?f30 335?but then you don’t get the ///m treatment…the a45 is an amg…the heritage etc..

• droll on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:55 pm

http://www.bimmerboost.com/content.php?3711-The-M133-(A45-CLA45-GLA45)-AMG-motor-is-underrated-First-dyno-of-an-A45-AMG-shows-340-horsepower-to-all-four-wheels

nuff said. want one so badly but can’t afford one. maybe when it’s 2nd hand LOL

• i know did does not matter but what sound system this car has? does this car has Bang& Olusen like its big brother SLS AMG.

• MackyMac on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:24 pm

The interesting question is… A45 or 2009 \\\M3….

Hmmm…. *shakes piggy bank*

• teamsleepnine on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:59 pm

bit irrelevant to compare…v8 and 4 bangers turbo..but both also tempting nevertheless!

• MackyMac on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:25 am

aha! thats what i thought to… and then the prices, oh they’re just to similar…and the M3 has a decent boot :P…. Darned you online classifieds!

• carazy on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:38 am

M3 anytime bro, NA + RWD = real fun!!!

• medic on Oct 11, 2013 at 1:34 pm

New M3 is a turbo unit,no more NA.Also only in DCT(dual clutch).

• heybadigol on Oct 10, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Chris Harris likes it, over an M135i. Nuff said! Being AWD, dont expect to drift this car. Instead, it will stay neutral at all times, not even understeer nor any torque steer, which is in itself quite an achievement.

• Kelvin on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:01 pm

1 edition adds 7300 Euros to base price. Not exactly a small sum. But then again, the margin is super high on RRP, so maybe MBM can get a good price.

• Nathan on Oct 11, 2013 at 2:34 am

The only view an A45 driver will see is my Golf R’s tail lamp. #cantcatchup. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • BLT CLUB on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:54 am

What game you playing bro? Which platform, PS3, Xbox, PC, IOS, Andriod? Or in your dreams bro? Kah, kah, kah.

• Nathan- you cannot be serious! Golf R cannot compete with the A45… Either in performance or desirability

• Johnny bravo on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:21 am

Another VW= Very Worried fanboy. Your Golf is a golf caddy compared to this beast. Even the lower A250 can beat the shit out of your VW caddy. besides, only Ah Beng drives Golfs, cozz they cant afford the real luxury sport car like the A45amg and start to run down the better cars with their caddies. Go drink some milk while watching the real man driving these AMGs.

• foxtrot on Oct 11, 2013 at 11:07 am

DAT 1.8 BARS OF BOOST

• Mugilan on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:16 pm

How the hell AMG squeeze 360 horses from 2 liter engine ??!!

• 2.0L with twinscroll turbo for 360hp? some turbolag to be experienced there.

• future owner on Oct 13, 2013 at 6:19 pm

so what is the selling price of this beast? can anyone confirm?

• LMAO all the comments here, so hilarious

• Cant afford on Oct 14, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Those that cant afford will talk and those who waiting to get their car doesn’t bother about a single thing that you all mentioned here.

• Kenneth Khor on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:16 am

One of the most affordable 5 sec car.
    The great looking’s a bonus, really hard to look away.

• Lambocor on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:36 pm

So cheap…can buy this while my Aventador is due for servicing…

• wilson on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:37 pm

nice car!

with wonderful power and suspension