2014 Toyota Harrier – new exterior and interior photos

We now have more photos of the 2014 Toyota Harrier, which first made an appearance in July this year. Toyota Japan’s website mentions a ‘winter debut’, and we reckon its first motorshow appearance will be this year’s Tokyo Motor Show.

Based on the Lexus RX SUV, all images of the 2014 Harrier that we’ve seen so far are that of the hybrid version, so the new Harrier might be an exclusively hybrid SUV, unlike the RX which has RX 270 and RX 350 petrol variants. The Toyota Harrier Hybrid will mostly likely share its hybrid system with the RX 450h, which means a 3.5 litre V6 mated with a Hybrid Synergy Drive system that uses three electric motors.

With this new set of photos, we get to see the interior of the new Harrier for the first time. The exterior and interior are bespoke, not a mere rebadge of the RX. The interior features Toyota’s latest design cues, such as slim aircond vents and joypad-like steering wheel buttons.

The Harrier’s eagle logo is nearly as prominent as the Toyota logo, being used on the nose of the car as well as etched into the leather on the door cards.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The long awaited suv..and it comes only in hybrid..time to switch to santa fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 84
    • Sam Loo on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Get the 1 year old Sante Fe. Great Value for money. Around 70k off the new car price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 32
      • Only one year old and already depreciated by 70k…wow…while the loan only depreciated by maybe 25k. How to survived on Korean car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • Sick&tired on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:50 am

I have a lot of experience in used cars and I am calling your statement a bunch of bs! If you really have a 1 year old santa fe selling for rm70k, then why dont you post your contact number here. I am willing to puchase all of the units that you have. Heck I am willing to top up an additional rm5k for you as commision. Take up my challenge or stfu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 56
        • Learn to read before pouncing on someone. He said 70k off the new price, not selling at 70K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
        • eVaz88 on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Learn to read bro! RM70k OFF the retail price.. not SELLING price at RM70k. Sick & tired of uneducated peopling trying to be smart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
          • He just makes a slight mistake…didn’t deserved the name calling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
        • kadajawi on Oct 14, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Sam Loo is such a loser. His Toyota sales are so bad, he comes here to bad mouth Korean cars. Korean cars used to have lower RV than Japanese cars in the early 2000. But after 2010, in actual fact, Korean cars got same RV as Honda and Toyota. Go to Mudah and Carlies and do a comparison yourself. Compare the Tucson to the CRV, Compare the Accord to the Sonata. It is more or less the same.
          The Toyota salesman nowadays know this and their sales are being eaten badly by Korean cars. Logically speaking, why are Korean cars now Top 10 in total global car sales of ALL the berpuluh puluh of car brands? Surely billions of people globally cannot be wrong. Go Google and see what are Hyundai and Kia Sales globally and their ranking.

Sam Loo pls don’t lie and come here with different forum names spreading rumours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 33
        • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:09 pm

You are obviously one used car salesman that did not make it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
        • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:16 pm

He is obviously someone I showed the Hilux to before.

Now, they will all try their very best to artificially raise kimchi’s trade in value percesption.

Its not gonna work, coz its ceiling price for trade in has been set by the Malaysian public. Cars that are unreliable and with a poor brand name will perpetually have low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • is it really that bad? take a look at oto.com, the cheapest for 2012 2.2 santa fe is aroun 128k. how much was the santa fe brand new? (not the latest santa fe, the design is different)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:10 pm

You think anyone’s gonna buy a 1 year old Santa Fe at RM128k?

Trade in price for 1 year old Santa Fe is much much lower than that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Excellent!

• Toyota should launch this model with their turbocharged technology. It would pull attraction to their clients.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • west end boys on Oct 13, 2013 at 7:03 pm

sexy,finally a sexy hybrid suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • policeman on Oct 13, 2013 at 7:10 pm

From the front, I would have guessed it was a Ford if I did not read the title.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
    • bvc100 on Oct 14, 2013 at 7:38 am

And that top rear 3-quarter angle shot had me thinking of a Subaru Impreza hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Somehow, the side profile is not as well proportioned as the XU30. The front overhang seems too long. Nice interior though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • PreUse on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Indeed, it looked like this SUV has an ‘attack angle’ of a sedan. Some day, it may get stucked somewhere in urban jungle- it’s natural habitat.

• Sam Loo on Oct 13, 2013 at 7:55 pm

New? Meh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
  • holofanboi on Oct 13, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Finally…

The prodigal child returns…

Oh how I instantly fell for you when I was but a mere 16 year old schoolkid…

And now that I’m old enough, I can’t afford you anyway LOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • NeutralCarEnthusiast on Oct 13, 2013 at 8:34 pm

almost 100% sure we wont get the same vehicle in malaysia…like land cruiser and fj cruiser…even when it reaches here it would be in the form of re-con…just my humble guess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Fresh look, fit & handsome but importantly price needs to be right. Ain’t coming in cheap in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Typical exterior.. nice interior though.. but overall impresion – nothing to woo.. IMO..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • craba55 on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:57 pm

nothing to woo really? try to compare to the previous gen i’m sure there is something to woo at

• What to woo for? Pls share.. dont compare with previous gen.. compare it with current available suv in the market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • qwerty on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:58 am

Though haven’t really got the chance to touch it, it seems that the material quality is a bit superior. It resembles that on the current Avalon.

This also has the now-matured hybrid system, a true solution to the bad fuel consumption of all SUVs.

Not trying to say this is the best out there but there are segments where it shines.

• This is only a pretender, Lexus RX is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • james on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Hmm this or the range rover, not a tough decision, range rover wins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • Sam Loo on Oct 13, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Either Lexus RX or Toyota Harrier, it will have RV.

For Kimchi Santa Fe or Sorento, get pre-owned. You get around RM70k off the price of a new car for a 1 yr old model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 35
  • sudonano on Oct 13, 2013 at 10:22 pm

rear lights remind me of a Subaru.

That front grille has to go. now. looks hideous.

• I’d hate to say this… but… it looks quite nice, actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Why Everyone think Toyota is big car??? on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:20 am

1. Front grille seems to be fugly.
    2. No bi-xenon headlight in this MIGHTY TOYOTA HARRIER?! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • Re-design with a grill and it would’ve have been perfect, grill just ruins everything. Looks great espacially the rear, and the interior is just awesome.
    But here is more proof that good Japanese cars only exist in Japan, just look at the Toyota Sai(yes thats the real name not typo).

• That’s why Malaysian are cheap, keep saying how kimchi is good.

Look at Japan how successful they are, without kimchi or kpop on the road, they are able to stand up against the nature !

• qwerty on Oct 14, 2013 at 7:59 am

The materials used in the interior seems to be of high quality. Loving the interior.

• Hondaman on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:19 am

Nice but we will only get it as a RM350k recond, courtesy of Naza with 1 yr warranty or RM300k with 1 month warranty.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:47 am

The ultra high duties and taxes is designed to keep the AP system running.

Seems that there is no intention to stop this. All the datelines set now appears to be a smokescreen for higher taxes and duties for all vehicles.

We will catch up with Singapore soon as the country that costs the most to own a car

• thepolygon on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:32 am

I just want that leather stitched dashboard and side doors

• ONLY IN HYBRID?! Damnnn……..

Its pretty nice actually. Two thumbs up! Except for the engine.

• qwerty on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:03 am

the 3.5L hybridized system is good at around 295+hp (US-spec RX450h)but consumes so little fuel, why thumb it down?

• wahedenator on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:09 am

wow! this is nice.
    no money to buy evoque, beli 2014 Harrier pn hokeyyhh

• Ha Gnih on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:22 am

I find the front end looks slightly disproportionate. Too long and the front wheels are pushed a tad too far back. Donch loike it !!!

• Polo Saga on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:25 am

Nice design!!!

• bluebird on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:46 am

I don’t think we can buy it brand new in Bolehland.
    We can only buy it as Recon (other people’s junk) at premium price

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:42 am

A recond Jap is still much better than a branc new kimchi, much muchh better and safer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • taswk on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:04 pm

This is good news for me. With the right pricing, I will be able to replace my 2nd generation Harrier with this one.

• azazel on Nov 04, 2013 at 10:19 pm

I also have a 2nd generation Toyota Harrier 350G. Hoping i can replace it with the new Harrier. Looks amazing

• Yes, I would like it to be imported to the South East Asian region but I doubt that as it seems likely it would be a JDM car.

• Majuperak on Oct 14, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Well the real Lexus brand new RX270 base model sells for MYR350k ….. so this Toyota Harrier whatever model would have to be in the range of MYR270k I suppose ??

• Azlan on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Like every other car segment news….
    Always… They are amid follower of certain brand…
    Bashing every other brand… For what?
    Since no one knows who you really are…. Sendiri fikir la….

• BeemerFreak on Oct 15, 2013 at 9:18 am

That stupid antique digital clock on the centre console ruins everything. Why cant they just put a proper clock or get rid of it totally.

• razakoss on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:01 am

looks like luxury version of toyota fortuner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • L' Ron on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Engine performance?

• Farrel on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Wow this suv is soo cool i really love the exterior.

• Im planning to get a harrier. Money wise, maybe 2.4. Then this new 2.0 and 2.5 hybrid came out. Can anybody advise me? Hows the maintenances? Tqvm sirs.