GALLERY: Gorgeous classics at Asia Klasika 2013

Asia Klasika 2013-22

While it’s true that our main focus here at paultan.org has always been on new cars, we know all too well that the sleek, tech-laden and direct-injected machines of today wouldn’t exist if it weren’t for their parents. They may not have ABS, but their looks alone can stop you dead in your tracks.

Last year’s Asia Klasika event, of which our sister site oto.my was a proud sponsor, served up a delicious dose of polished chrome and gleaming paintwork that saw many a jaw drop, and this year was no different.

Asia Klasika 2013-7

Also known as the Malaysian International Vintage and Classic Car Concours, the 2013 event, held once again at the Matrade exhibition and convention centre, had quite a number of birthdays to celebrate – 50 years of Lamborghini, the Porsche 911 and the Mercedes 600 and SL Pagoda; 60 years of the Chevrolet Corvette and Mercedes Ponton; and 100 years of Aston Martin.

Paying tribute to those automotive hallmarks were trophies for best Aston, Corvette, 911, Lambo, Mercedes, Ferrari and Jaguar of the show, while the open class comprised Vintage (1960 and older), Classic (1961-1975) and Modern Classic (1976-1989) categories this time.

In a repeat win from last year, M. Sinnasamy bagged the coveted overall Best of Show trophy with his pristine 1965 MGB roadster, while James D’Cruz’s 1951 Porsche 356 ‘split-screen’ won Best Preserved Automobile.

Once again, HRH Sultan Ibrahim ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar of Johor graced the day with his presence as the event’s Royal Patron. After inspecting and admiring each of the cars in turn, His Royal Highness declared Chris Au’s 1967 Porsche 911 2.0 the winner of the second-ever Sultan’s Cup.

Asia Klasika 2013-43

Some stunning classic machinery from His Royal Highness’ collection were of course present, including a Mercedes 600 Landaulet, Lamborghinis Jalpa, LM002 and Espada, as well as Astons Vantage, Volante and DB7 Zagato.

Travel back in time through our gallery below and you’ll spot, amongst other iconic pieces of motoring history, an Aston Martin Lagonda Series 4, a Ford Thunderbird, a Ferrari 400i and a Cadillac Eldorado Seville that looks like it could take off at any moment…

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ChickenShake on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:59 am

I am First!! too bad the nissan 130Y is not there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • luv the classic porsche 911

• Peter on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:38 am

Aiya, I missed this.
    I know that ad’s support this site, but in addition to them, can we have a small calendar or listing of upcoming events on the side as well so readers will be informed of latest events happening around the region?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • farizY on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:11 am

Right-hand drive Vette Stingray? Wow, that’s rare.

• Robot Boy on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:26 am

Lucky these are all true classics. beautiful display. at least non of these neo classic copies such as TD2000 ot bufori came to show their cars.

• wks79 on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:11 pm

would love to see some classic german cars in the future … fingers crossed.

• teamsleepnine on Oct 14, 2013 at 3:13 pm

finally a proper classy show ala concour de elegant that showcase true legend and fine exquisite automobile instead of another show that showcase tuned evo that can “tapau” fine supersport cars with ahlian with plastic face and boobs that claimed to be a “model” poses next to it…syabas Asia klassika

• heybadigol on Oct 14, 2013 at 6:28 pm

All the current “new” cars seem boring when compared to these classics. Love the old Corvettes, but they’re still common in the US. But that Aston Martin Lagonda is very rare indeed. Only 645 cars made (thank you Wikipedia).

• Basayev on Oct 15, 2013 at 2:04 am

Where’s Eleanor? JT, you missed the Eleanor! AAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa……………..!

• superbird #43 on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:48 pm

does a Dodge Ram count as a classic?