Mazda3 Hybrid launched in Japan, gets over 30 km/L

2014_Mazda3_Hybrid_002

The 2014 Mazda3, or the Axela as it is called in its home market, has just gone on sale in Japan. Other than the usual 1.5/2.0 litre petrol and 2.2 litre diesel engines that have been announced for export markets, however, the domestic range consists of a 2.0 litre hybrid variant simply called the Mazda Axela Hybrid.

As rumoured in 2009 and confirmed a year later, the 2013 Axela/Mazda3 Hybrid licenses Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive system. No output figures have been detailed, but the hybrid package in use here is most likely to be the current Prius’ 82 PS/207 Nm electric motor and eCVT transmission. Toyota, of course, is already working on the next-gen Prius.

The Axela/Mazda3 Hybrid’s 2.0 litre petrol engine is Hiroshima’s own, however. Mazda claims that it differs from the standard car’s SKYACTIV-G 2.0 unit, as it has been developed “exclusively for the hybrid powertrain” while retaining the brand’s “trademark driving pleasure.” Fuel economy is pegged at 30.8 km per litre, measured under the JC08 test cycle.

It looks identical to its petrol and diesel siblings on the outside, but the Mazda3 Hybrid’s cabin features a few notable additions. The bespoke, Prius-like gear knob is unique to the hybrid, as is the revised instrument cluster. The boot is smaller too, as some space is partitioned off to store the electric motor’s bulky battery packs.

In Japan, the hybrid variant is only available in sedan form and forgoes Mazda’s i-stop and i-ELOOP technologies. It forms the Axela Sedan’s top variants (above the base 1.5 litre models), and is priced below the range-topping turbodiesel Axela Sport 2.2 XD (hatchback).

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• it needs bigger rims… but the gear knob stays…

• kadajawi on Oct 14, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Sam Loo is pissing in his panties now, scared his Toyota Vios, with no VSC is going to lose sales to this Mazda3 Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
    • kadajawi on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Sam Loo is such a loser. I am waiting for him to come and run down this Mazda.His Toyota sales are so bad, he comes here to bad mouth Korean cars most of the time but nowadays other Jap cars too. Hello Sam Loo, Korean cars used to have lower RV than Japanese cars in the early 2000. But after 2010, in actual fact, Korean cars got same RV as Honda and Toyota. Go to Mudah and do a comparison yourself.

The Toyota salesman nowadays know this and their sales are being eaten badly by Korean cars and Mazda cars.

Sam Loo pls don’t lie and come here with different forum names spreading rumours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
      • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Toyota has better RV than Mazda. Besides Kimchi, my yard is full of Mazda, especially CX5 all going for rock bottom prices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 50
        • Gimme your contact details. I seriously don’t mind relieving you of one of those rock-bottom items.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
          • feder on Oct 14, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Test the car first. I’m afraid it just another spoiler like Vios. Many people said it’s a fuel saver but then it’s just a mouth-to-mouth hype. Same with Mirage good FC is only on highway, less then 20km/l. If like that many cars also can achieve above 10km/l. Haiz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:00 pm

You see, kimchi owners have such small brains that they start comparing a C-Segment Mazda 3 with a B-Segment Vios.

Maybe its because even the D-Segment Sonata and K5 felt threatened by the B-Segment Vios.

Only 2 conclusions, either they are wetting their pants or they just have brains the size of H5N1 virus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 23
        • samloosark on Oct 15, 2013 at 1:20 am

Where got kimchi owners here? Are you high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
          • No need to layan him. He’s just a pathetic looser. U’ll only make him famous. Everytime i go to toilet his name always appear in my brain haishhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:10 am

Fake Fella

• His target is Kimchi and conti cars! Mazda is safe maybe? Sam Loo?!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 15, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Nope, Sam does not just target kimchis, but more specifically Elantra and Sonata. They are the ones that yield the highest profit.

K5/K3/Cerato/Forte and Ssanyong all ultra hailat and its not worth trading

• Green on Oct 14, 2013 at 3:56 pm

similar fuel consumptin as Prius 1.8 JC08~ 31km/L
    http://s4.paultan.org/image/IMG_8334b-850×587.jpg

welcome to Malaysia!!!!

• When can we start ckd-ing…perfect for bolehland

• _xXx_ on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:12 pm

What’s the point??? For a mere 5k saving, you get sub-standard assembly. Opened up my rear boot inner panel last week – found 4 out of 10 snap rivets missing, and one locating pin bent. WTF!

• I don ask u to buy it…want them build here n sell outside boleh…..n I don know people here still have guts to want manufacturer to open plant here when same people said made in boleh is substandard n have guts to say nap fail to bring car maker open plant here when boleh people themself said no to made in boleh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • ironically, our local mazda showroom put up “who needs hybrid when u hv skyactiv?” banners. Even Mazda hv to agree that hybrid is the master when it comes to fuel saving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:19 pm

so with the introduction of hybrid, are they also telling us that Skyactiv is actually BS?

• They are options for us. We don’t have to stick with only one solution.

• storm on Oct 15, 2013 at 10:42 am

It stated clearly in the brochure. Is Skyactiv plus Hybrid. It means you get a very fuel efficient skyactiv engine paired with hybrid.

• zamer on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:04 pm

all are beautiful until it comes with cvt..

cant hybrid go along with conventional gearbox?

if i remember correctly, lexus got it hybrid with normal gears..

• frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 12:53 am

HSD has no gear at all, it’s a planetary gear not like belt type CVT. And what’s wrong for CVT in crowded traffic? It’s works brilliantly.

• Redwings on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:20 pm

This Mazda3 hybrid will give CT200 a tough time..hope the price is right…

• Lpost on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:37 pm

It’s mazda first hybrid model matched with toyota hybrid tech and skyactiv, dont expect this model to be available in other country. This car must be fun to drive far better than prius.

• i dont think mazda 3 hybrid will launch in malaysia…

• mazda 3 hybrid will be selling like hotcakes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:01 pm

As long as its not kimchi, the owners will never be shown the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • Why do u have to b such an asshole ah? Life would b better without u in this forum laa. Nobody wants you. Go somewhere shut your pile hole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • dino years on Oct 15, 2013 at 1:11 pm

your brain is as backwards as the cars that you sell. shaddap already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 15, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Uncle Sam loves impulsive kimchi buyers.

Once hooked, they will sell it off within a year coz they will feel small, inferior in front of their friends who drives a Jap, they will be sidelined for carreer development coz they are deemed untrustworthy and unambitious, they will be looked at with a funny eye by relatives that asked, why buy a Korean? and all the mumbo jumbo high spec words can come out only to be asked, what about RV? before the hailat face shows up

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 15, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Mazda 3 Hybrid will be a great seller.

However, the better deal is a 1 year old Elantra selling at below the price of a new Picantp

• Lan Siao on Oct 16, 2013 at 12:19 pm

hybrid sales like hot cakes, but technician pokok ceri tree qualified to service hybrid vehicles still none. LOLS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Hybrids only need servicing on the mechanical engine and the normal wear and tear.

There is nothing serviceable on the hybrid electrics. You obviously did not do your homework

• tkhengong on Apr 08, 2014 at 10:18 am

If I am not mistaken, the hybrid engine similar ot the one in the Prius is supplied by Toyota.