SPIED: BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe M Sport scooped

BMW-4-GC-M-2

Our ever-reliable European spies have a treat for us today: a first peek at the BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe M Sport. We’ve seen the baby GC before, of course, first in April this year undergoing winter testing in Sweden, and more recently a full-bodied but camouflaged tester making its round on road. This, however, is the first time we’re seeing the four-door 4-er in M Sport guise.

It’s a handsome thing, isn’t it? With its deep and wide bumpers, the 435i Gran Coupe M Sport (the twin tailpipes give away the engine variant) in Estoril Blue cuts a fine figure even with the customary camouflage on. You can see the full M Sport kit here, as fitted to a 4-er Coupe in the same signature paintjob.

If you’re not up to speed with BMW’s recent naming game, here’s a refresher: the 4 Series is essentially a coupe (two-door) version of the current 3 Series sedan, but with enough visual and character differentiation to warrant a new model name. This 4-er Gran Coupe, then, is a four-door variant of the sporty coupe.

It continues the model tree set by the 5 Series sedan, 6 Series Coupe and 6 Series Gran Coupe family before it, and mirrors the similarly-shaped relationship between the Audi A4 sedan, A5 Coupe and A5 Sportback. Confused? You’re probably not alone. Our man Jonathan has driven the 4 Series Coupe recently. Read his verdict on the sporty F32 here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Why d the headlights must join together with the kidney grille?! it looks terrible and fugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • Don’t worry Audi will copy this later, wait be patient, your time will come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • comport on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Hi VS
        Congrats. You talked like a CEO. In fact you don’t even can afford its spark plugs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Star Dust on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:58 pm

What a beauty, and in my favourite colour……Barisan National Blue

• Blackbox on Oct 14, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Looks like a lowered 3 series GT.

• policeman on Oct 14, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Sumpah, tak kisah pun!
    Vios lagi bagus kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • frenzyaustin on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Looks exactly like a 3-series.

• jarami on Oct 15, 2013 at 1:12 am

Now you know? You should say it’s not worth the money. They should reduce the price because recycling design through different series, same with recycling same rubbish. Only some changes here and there.

• Look like an angry version of 3 series

• Luqman_HKM on Oct 15, 2013 at 12:12 am

I’m starting to see the Gran Coupe-ish profile now. It doesn’t look like a 3GT indeed. Just like the A5 Sportback looking a little like A7, only sportier

• Luqman_HKM on Oct 15, 2013 at 12:23 am

Can anyone explain, why is there a calculator in the gallery?

• Sick n tired of those bmw models. All got same look. Same as audi too.

• You can stick with your Kimchi for life time no problem.

• drrif on Oct 15, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Too many niches…getting bored of it already

• b33mer on Oct 16, 2013 at 2:45 pm

I’m buying this… cun.