Mazda2 Elegance – sedan gets makeover in Thailand

Mazda has given the Mazda2 sedan a minor makeover in Thailand. Now called the Mazda2 Elegance, the booted version of the Mazda2 five-door hatchback has been dressed up with a “New 2013 Collection” look. Celebrity endorsements are common in the Land of Smiles, and Mazda Thailand chose popular actor Nadech Kugimiya a.k.a. Barry as the man to represent.

It’s mostly a cosmetic job with added equipment. Outside, the Mazda2 Elegance features front and rear skirting, 16-inch polished silver alloy wheels, chrome door handles and four-beam projector headlamps.

Inside, the sedan’s seat upholstery has been switched from beige to black leather. The centre stack features a DVD player with seven-inch colour touchscreen display. This head unit, which can be controlled via a remote control and steering buttons, has Bluetooth and iPhone/iPod/USB/AUX connectivity. The instrument panel design appears new, and it features a multi-info display.

No mechanical changes, so under the hood is a 1.5 litre MZR engine with 103 PS and 135 Nm of torque. The DOHC 16v unit is paired to a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic in Thailand. Up north, the Mazda2 Elegance is priced from 585,000 to 722,000 baht (RM59,409 to RM73,330).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kherwin on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Thailand is a big market, not wonder to see they’re change a new look and got new model so fast!

It’s look good with good price,jealous!

and Cute Nadech!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Aerro on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:25 am

“the Mazda2 Elegance is priced from 585,000 to 722,000 baht (RM59,409 to RM73,330).”

Huh, soon here it’ll become RM90K fully loaded specs.

Bravo NAP!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:12 am

Don’t be fooled by Mazda. They are clever at marketing. The truth is, Mazda is another kimchi. Name sake only from Japan but their quality is no better than kimchi. All the CX5 buyers now all crying their car breakdown so much. And my yard now, its full of CX5 and kimchi cars. I just sold off a 2012 CX5 for RM80,000. Yes, not all Japanese cars got good RV. Only Japanese car with good RV is Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 43
      • Sparcov on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:21 am

you sure RM80k? I’m looking for a used cx5, but i couldn’t get that selling price.

• I will pay you RM100,000 for the same 2012 CX5. Loads of BS…

• MazdaTheAwakening on Oct 17, 2013 at 1:53 pm

CX5 got problem? Serious bo!
        http://www.autoblog.com/2012/12/03/mazda-cx-5-named-japans-car-of-the-year-subaru-br-z-wins-spec/

http://www.mazda.com/publicity/release/2012/201211/121129b.html

Well “problematic” CX5 wins “Car of the Year 2012-2013 Japan”

• already overprice in thai….suppose under RM30k in thai..when it come to malaysia the price can be at least RM50-60k..but well already over price even not touching boleh soil…how can boleh price below RM50k if thai already RM50k above?

• already overprice in thai with less equipment….suppose under RM30k in thai..when it come to malaysia the price can be at least RM50-60k..but well already over price even not touching boleh soil…how can boleh price below RM50k if thai already RM50k above? tq thai gov for making this car price more than RM50k in thai

bravo thai gov!

• WOW, It looks much better than Merc A klasse!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Surprisingly gorgeous! Looks better than a Vios, in my opinion. :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • 103ps 135nm.. Still the old engine, not the proudly skyactive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Front skirt is abit overkill.
    Other than that looks great.
    Love the big size screen.Is that 7.5 inch?

• baloney on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:53 pm

hope msia bring this here this year with the right price. thus I ll pick this over almeria

• lemonguy on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Because of our stupid govern policy…every sectors we lacking behind and soon we will be kick out. Our leader just think for their own interest…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Gary Yap on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:21 pm

I just want to know why every other Thai car ad must feature a pretty boy with baby bottom complexion…unless you are of a certain orientation, I find it frivolous, off-putting even. The car? Big yawn…i couldn’t even hit 150km/h on the NKVE, this car needs some balls, like that pretty boy i guess.

• lazyf on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Tiru nama Persona Elegance ye…hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Moores on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:27 am

Elegance was used in many car brands including Merc….haaiizz

• 8772ss on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Why no new design yet? The facelift is awful. The car is already 5 or 6 year old.

• gtmini on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:23 am

If you want new design everytime go for kimchi/proton. Japs make their cars as cash cow.

• Denaihati on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:54 am

not bad for cosmetic changes, better look and awesome.

• NissanRainy on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Makeover for stock clearance?Total new Mazda launch soon probably next year.
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/242456/2014-mazda-2-rendering-appears-in-japanese-magazine/

• http://www.caradvice.com.au/242456/2014-mazda-2-rendering-appears-in-japanese-magazine/