Toyota to focus on non-turbocharged, larger engines

Toyota_Camry_XV50_ 002

Toyota isn’t known to break away from traditions, but the recent engine downsizing trend has gone on for long enough for it to be considered the industry norm. Yet, the Japanese carmaker has remained reluctant to join the small-capacity turbocharged wagon, and it looks like that is set to continue in the near future.

Toyota’s engine and powertrain guru Koei Saga said as much in an interview with Automotive News USA, claiming that he’s unconvinced that turbocharging is a technology that “makes the world better.” Instead, the company is looking at upsizing its engines (larger displacement) to run on the Atkinson cycle that is predominantly used in its current hybrid powertrains.

Saga believes that a bigger engine running the more efficient fuel combustion cycle may deliver better power gains without sacrificing fuel economy. Top-end output will be compromised, but the increased thermal efficiency will allow for “strong acceleration and better fuel economy” compared to a traditional Otto cycle engine.

Toyota isn’t skipping the mainstream turbocharged game altogether, however, as it will indeed introduce a line of force-fed 2.0 litre engines soon, most likely in the upcoming Lexus NX crossover (a trademark for the NX 200t name has already been filed). Its availability within Toyota’s range will be limited though, according to Saga.

Meanwhile, he also commented on Toyota’s on-going push towards the use of CVT transmissions (mainly on the new American-market 2014 Toyota Corolla). The leading Japanese carmaker will expand CVT use, but only where it makes sense, said Saga, as the technology does have its limitations, and that the buyers’ desire for it is still reserved.

He goes on to say that larger vehicles, such as the D-segment next-generation Toyota Camry that is due in 2017, will have “a next-generation automatic transmission (fixed-gear torque converter), probably not a CVT.” Its higher power and weight demands would prove too great for a CVT to handle, apparently.

Toyota_Camry_XV50_ 004

As the directly comparable American-market Accord already employs a CVT transmission, it looks like Honda has more faith in the technology than Toyota does (though not enough to offer it in our Accord, mind you). Even on the turbo front, Honda appears to be more open towards embracing the change than Toyota is.

Nissan too is quick to adapt to the changing market demands. Its US-market Altima, which will be our next-generation Teana, has used a CVT transmission since 2007, and the brand is seen as the industry-leader for this technology. Its partnership with Renault has also brought in various turbocharged engines, including 1.6 litre units used in the Juke and Latio/Tiida, as well as the new 1.2 litre motor that will debut in the next-gen Qashqai.

So there you have it, folks. Don’t expect a mainstream Toyota with a small-capacity turbocharged engines anytime soon, or you will be disappointed. Bigger, not smaller engines seem like the more likely possibility at this point. Same with CVTs too – don’t count on them being fitted to models larger than the Corolla.

Some things change, while others don’t. Toyota, it seems, falls in the latter category. Thoughts on this, anyone?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kereta_lembu on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Good Job Toyota! Should make the cars more appealing by bringing in bigger capacity engines & don’t forget the 4 speed auto while you’re at it! Higher displacement = More value for our Local market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 30
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 214
      • Ah lian, u think Toyota is so high end and nobody cant afford it ah? Toyota is very cheap car except Lexus.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 23
        • carlies on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:50 pm

I would say Toyota goes for that way is simply because they keep on using the same reliable / proven engine instead of the higher maintenance cost of the small size/turbocharged engine.

As more and more Toyotas on the road with the same conventional engine, they able to provide reasonable and affordable cost of repair/parts and thus attracts the mid income buyers, which contributes the most to the Toyota’s sales.

There is nothing wrong with Toyota and that’s their strategy to provide economical and reliable vehicle. It’s all about the choices available in the market. For those worshipping for newer technologies with higher maintenance cost, they have their own choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:08 am

Why everybody so butthurt with my comment? It is true. Owning a Toyota is a dream for most people. And those who cannot afford a Toyota are just plain lazy and poor. Buck up and improve your lives!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
          • Wisdom on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:21 am

Sam, u set your standard too low..
            disgustingly low..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Wisdom on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:32 am

hafriz,
            too much camry pic. its an eyesore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Bob_B78 on Oct 17, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Dear Carlies, I have a question to ask you. Last time Nokia 8210 sell about RM2k when launched until the final price of 1.2k before discontinued. So if Nokia decided to sell it now with the same price of RM2k, will you buy it? Nokia 8210 is quite tahan lasak mind you. My point is if u are using same old technology over and over again, it should be cheaper to produce as there will always be Continuous Improvement Process to reduce manufacturing cost. Does this reduction of cost benefits the end user? Sorry to say no as the car price continuously increasing.

• Some claim that Toyota uses old technology, but why all these German are keep on copying them?
        The latest copy Merc GL class try to be a Toyota Landcruiser wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 56
        • VS

Another faker ah lian, German need to copy Japanese? u watch too much porn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 42
          • Wei, don’t come here and confuse us. If you like to watch porn that is your problem we have no interest to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • valjean on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:54 pm

This comments makes me laugh. You make it sound like Toyota is so exclusive until it is like a supercar! In fact I think it is the other round, people buy Toyota because they cannot afford other makes like BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Lexus etc :-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 6
        • Robert on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:43 pm

In fact people buy toyota because they affraid broken down on roadside and maintenance fees. Rich people would simply risk themselves buy rare models of cars and unaffraid of losing money for maintenance and RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
          • dugong on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:08 pm

So you saying lexus always break down?

Rich will never buy toyota, cos they are smart and will never pay premium for empty old junk. Only poor ppl scared to lose RV and kiasu will buy toyota. But they get shown the hilux too when they trade in cos the high RV is only a myth. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:18 am

Most rich people buy Camry. They are so rich they dont need to buy BMW to prove to the world that they have made it. Btw, BMW and Mercedes breakdown so often in Malaysia and all rich people know this. If you are stuck with your Proton, don’t blame the world. Work hard and sweat a bit. Don’t be lazy. Come to my yard, I got lots of CX5 and Kimchi to sell to you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
          • Simpleguy on Oct 17, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Sam..please stop degrading your mentality level mentioning Camry is an expensive or rich person car. On the other way round, don’t assume that all those who are driving proton is definitely a poor person. For your own sake….alot of people who drives kancil can easily cash buy many camrys at once. Just a matter of personal priority. By the way..buying a RM170 thousands car does not reflect you are rich..it just tells everyone that cash wise..you are poorer by 170K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • lepry on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Better buy proton and use saved money to go for holiday in Malaysia or abroad. That’s much better than being a syok sendiri person who always think he is richer than most people, haha!

• nowadays if you can afford a kimchi, you definately can afford a toyota, as their price are almost the same.
        so driving kimchi is poor people doesnt make sense.
        but if if you say driving proton is poor people, i do agree.
        and driving kimchi are those knows about car and want better car.
        those driving toyota are those conservatives refused to change.
        and they drive their 4 gears toyota like driving a sport car.really funny group of people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 15
        • Driving proton is poor people? I dun agree, even millionaire arrive in Perdana. If a person chooses Suprima against Vios, you say he is poor? Or Myvi against Merc so what, he still has millions in banks.

As if you drive a Porsche…ptuih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
          • But i think only 1% or less among the millionaire group will drive proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
          • well if a person chooses Suprima against Vios, he must be liking his underwear a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:33 am

Millionaires usually drive Toyota and never a Proton. Usually Protons are for poor people. If these poor people work hard, then one day, they can upgrade to a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
          • Samuel Tong on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Don’t forget that Tun Dr M does drives his beloved Proton cars. :)

• A has a Preve and 4 bungalows, and B has a camry and a terrace house. Which one is richer? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
          • How pathetic you can be, are you dreaming while driving your Preve that you got 4 atap bungalows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
          • Hmmm.. sounds like my family. hehe.. having myvi, exora, perdana, wira 1.8, savvy and an old 3 series.. Living in a bungalow in SS19.. Doesn’t feel right to spend so much money, just to lose them after few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
          • show off..

• I agree, when i go and see, at least there is a proton/p2 parked at those very big stable along beemer/merc.

• hello that’s for the maid/gardener/kuli to use la

• Wrong, kuli parks car behind house.

• Sam is talking cock like Saga did. Msian ultimate dream is driving Audi, BMW, Porche etc, not Toyota or Lexus la.
        Btw, open new R&D for turbo charge engine will be costly. Tat y Toyota stick to its old model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
        • huh, proton has more budget for r n d than toyota…?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:20 am

Not true, Malaysian ultimate dream is to drive a Camry. Now my yard, besides Kimchi, I am stocking up on Audis and BMW. RV so bad, you can buy yourself a 1 year old BMW or Audi for RM100k off.

Porsche all recon lah in Malaysia, only poor people buy Porsche to show off to the world they got money. All loan lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • eterna on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:16 pm

Show us the pictar or it only happens in your wet dream!!!

• Carking on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:33 am

Are you purely an idiot or are you just pretending to be stupid to get attention? Porsche for poor people? Wow you really need to go back to pre school and learn mathematics again.

• TrashYou on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:48 pm

You type it like “pathetic” little bastard in your “own world”. Ppl are not bashing one brand because of certain makes! but just voice out their dissatisfaction when comparing to makes (even Jap vs Jap). Plus everyone here is working for better life/financial. For your information I’m damn sure A lot ppl not only hardworking + hv a better life than u! Not only own Toyota, even continental car too.
        Pls show respect to bloggers. “Sam” I show u my arse here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:35 am

You are rude and abusive. Looks like you are frustrated in being poor. Work hard and you too can own a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • Sam, I owned a Vellfire… it is much more expensive than Camry… But I do not agree on your statement. You have insulted so many proton car owners here. I think you are mentally ill. Is it because you dreaming of getting a Camry and you work so hard yet you still can’t afford to buy a Camry? You just want to release your tension here? Come on, the Camry in Malaysia offered by UMW is one of the lowest specs car in the world. Even a Honda City now offering 5-speed automatic transmission but UMW still keep bringing in 4-speed automatic transmission on their Camry and the new Vios. Think wisely before you wrote some non-sense again.

• In other words, buying Toyota is for someone who is dare to buy cheap things with expensive price, just to look rich.

• Obviously on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Wow. Just wow. Your idiocy knows no bounds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • True Testimony on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Own already. Buang already. Crap car. Keeps rattling. RV good (not really) so throw while you can. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • Hailat on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Haha @SamShowedMeTheHailat, another syok sendiri comment by an owner who can’t or haven’t own better cars than his ‘revered’ Toyota. Instead, you bash others who have better knowledge about cars and not merely looking at the brand like you because deep down you know Toyota is not really as good as you and your pal, Sam blown it to be. Your comment just showed you are narrow-minded and/or delusional.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • say what??…everyone’s dream is to own a toyota camry!!??…HAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Looser on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:11 pm

I can easily buy a dozen camrys cash. But i will never buy one. Why? Coz i work hard for my money and will not buy outdated thrash for premium price. By the way, camry is just a cheapo junk, same class like banana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
        • carlies on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Of course who will go for Camry if we were so rich like you can easily buy a dozen Camrys in cash? Your comment doesn’t make any sense. Don’t give such comment just because you don’t like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • hey, pls have some respect to banana. i love it. my kids love bananas too.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux may have forgotten his meds.

• Hilux Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2013 at 12:18 am

Ya, kosong car = less trouble and cheaper to maintain(as nothing much to maintain). RV better as most malaysian like kosong car, lighter weight and drink lesser fuel. 2 airbags is ok and VSC is just a waste of earth resources. Toyota is still the best car manufacturer at this, no one can easily surpass. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • farizY on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:03 am

Toyota bersepah la brader atas jalan. Aiyo.

• Sam Loo, go back to work!!! you spend too much of time viewing Paultan webpage and comment nonsense. That why your sales figure not good and still have to drive old proton saga…..although you are Toyota salesman!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • I think the liked n disliked abuse notification need little bit polish..eg disliked many times of same comment still can be done by refresh..n sometime I cannot liked or disliked comment when I already liked or disliked the above/below comment….

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Isn’t is obvious that the sorhai that posted the above is an imposter K5 owner that Sam has shown 4 Hilux to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • and more road tax for the government. thank you toyota!

• Toyota is going backward or stationary

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 15
    • sudonano on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Moving backwards I think.

Is this an excuse to recycle the same engine? I don’t think we would mind new non turbo engines, like what Mazda did with the SkyActiv. But recycling 10 year old engines is a sheer insult isn’t it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 12
      • i agree 100%. look at mazda. they wanted to squeeze every drop from an NA engine, and they went out on that pursuit and produced skyactiv engines. that’s the way to go. instead the super conservative toyota just chose to employ the worst attitude – “if it’s not broken, don’t change it.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Mazda 3 2014 2.0 Skyactiv produce only 120HP but 210NM of torque. Engine capacity isn’t what determine a car’s power. A high displacement detuned engine is actually great idea as it has better reliability than before and smoother power output. But it won’t work in Malaysia as our outdated thinking displacement =power+emissions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • That’s with GDI and i-LOOP. It’ll only be prolly available in highest variant. The lower one would reach that hp/torque.

• That’s with GDI and i-LOOP. It’ll only be prolly available in highest variant, correct?. The lower one would NOT reach that hp/torque.

• Datuk on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:22 pm

new tagline, Toyota Moving Backward. The legendary 2JZ engine is still the best turbo engine that toyota had ever produced. Maybe they need to produce new generation of 2JZ for new Supra but sadly, i don’t think Toyota will produce it, myb in future, hopefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • Chris on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Back then I was a big fan of Toyota, 4age powers my car, drooling over 1/2jz, dreaming of dropping a 1UZ into an old TA22 Celica.

People tell me Toyota is uncle car, but I don’t care because they were cool. Now I’m almost uncle already, but I think Toyota is too uncle even for me.

Their golden age has passed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
  • vee-oh on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:33 pm

bright future for Sam Loo..bigger engine, higher RV!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • D.I.Y on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:40 pm

It might work, but may not in our country.. we’re tax accordingly from engine capacity. Some more larger engine consume more engine oil might 5-7L above?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • I have to agree with you Datuk..the 2JZ and the Supra are indeed legends..we can hardly see any inline 6’s in japanese cars nowadays

• TS.Lim on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Toyota has its own point. Atkinson cycle engine really done well on fuel saving. Turbocharged engine might get overall goodness in FC and performance, but it wont really save fuel at times.
    1.6 turbo won’t really has good FC like 1.6 NA, but it might goes up to equivalent to 2.0NA or 2.5NA or higher.
    And, turbocharged has its own problem like heat and reliability.
    Atkinson cycle always has low top-end horsepower, but this is not a big problem as not much people driving with the highest revving all the times.
    If atkinson cycle engine get improvement on low end torque(as torque is important to move the car) then will be good.
    And, if capacity going up, people will suffer from paying road-tax, for certain country…
    Agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 28
    • Chris on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:50 pm

We think small forced induction engine is the way to go due to you-know-what.

If road tax start charging by emission and weight, I’m sure people’s mindset will change. No longer will we think about how much displacement the engine have, instead, how much CO2 it produce and petrol it consume.

Displacement should be irrelevant nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • TS.Lim on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm

I knew Europe is already started decide road tax charges by CO2 emission, but for certain countries, displacement still the main factor to affect road tax so far… … …
        Petrol source is getting less, maybe full electric car is alternative way to go?

• Chris on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:54 pm

I personally think the way to go would be “alternative transportation”.

Population grows, energy source become scarce, the concept of “car” may become a luxury in the future. Why on earth do we sit in a 1-1.5 ton metal alone, it takes too much energy to push it, electric or otherwise.

Light weight, compact personal transportation may be the answer.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Toyota i-Road and Renault Twizzy is a smart alternative, but i-Road seems more fun. These small EV should solve traffic congestion and high emission in the world, only need better battery technology for better range and speed up to at least 100km/h for semi highway.

• Sky pirate on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Small displacement, turbocharged engine looks better on paper too. While in the real world, the advantages are debatable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • 4G63T DSM on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:14 pm

I’m not even sure that there is anything left to debate about smaller forcefed engines.

Force fed engines have been long known to be more efficient for its greater volumetric efficiency. Thay can be smaller as modern turbocharger technology allows superb low end torque characteristics. You don’t have to rev be hell of of the engine to get it to move thus saving fuel.

Even Proton “gets” it. Not sure why it still escapes Toyota.

All the old cons of turbo engines have long been rectified (un-reliable turbocharger, gas guzzlers, turbo lag, emisions issues) with low inertial/twinscroll/VGT turbochargers, direct injection and more accurate AF ratios.

Even on Turbo engines, most of the time its operating on vacumm on cruising and part throttle…not unlike an NA engine…so if you are not giving it the beans, you are just running like a smaller N/A engine, hence the fuel savings.

Atkinson (and part like Mazda’s own Miller cycle) engines not only has a week top end, its also notoriously week on the low end as well, as the effective compression ratio is much less than a normal Otto cycle engine. This is why Toyota uses its hybrid synergy drive to augment its low end and Mazda uses a supercharger for the same means.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Robert on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:55 am

Agreed. Small displacement with VGT turbo is really solve atkinson type big engines. In the oldern days, engineers drop turbocharged technology because the turgo lag really kill performance and worse emission during lagging period. So big engines with various valve timing were introduced. Now everything solve. Turbocharged engine always produced better exhaust emission. Some more, small engine are lightweight as well.

• saladin on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:29 pm

try compare both turbo cars and hybrid car in traffic jams(which most of us are in everyday). then u know which car is for the future.

• abuya123 on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Dont talk about technical la Mr salesman. Atkinson cycle la, fuel saving la…. low top end la… We are not stupid. Just googling to get those information. undersquare, square and oversquare engine have their own advantage. None is win and none is loose. Dont try to highlight turbocharge drawback to said, its good camry use old engine.

Kalau dah pakai enjin 2.0, nak saving kebenda nye? Minyak cam motor EX5? Monthly installment is already insane so is that fc is matter for buyer?

Better you focus on design, interior and exterior rather than talk about engine and fc when promoting this car. See what Naza do to selling their high fc car. It works !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
      • t-con on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Wrong! TOC of camry for 9 years is same with saga sv. Lelelelel

*sarcasm*

• glaze on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:14 pm

This statement is spoken from Toyota in US, and in US the roadtax is not based on the engine displacement. So with higher displacement it doesn’t affect the roadtax as long as the emission is low and the FC is low that is the major concern over there.

But this will greatly impact many countries that are still taxing based on the displacement such as the Bolehland. This really ruined the sales of Lexus here.

• The cycle that’s better than Atkinson is called Miller cycle = Turbo.

• szwlambo on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:00 pm

let’s put it that way, toyota engineers have no brains and technology anymore. you calling others lazy while there is a pure lazy bump in toyota and u can’t see it. i feel sad for you. i bet you can’t afford to buy another car, that’s why only u buy toyota. sad case. just for your effort, here’s a potato.

• and oh i forgot…..arghhh! my eyesss

• Guan Yin Ma on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Typical japanese mindset. GOOD. Japanese like to maintain their tradiosional style. If they can produce LFA, i doubt they are going backwards. With all their previous F1 R&D facilities, I shall have full faith on them. HYBRID is the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:04 pm

EV is the future, hybrid is the bridge to the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • carlies on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Hybrid is the future??????

It’s just the transition of the technology, from fuel to fully electric car EV. The EV is always our human’s goal. Try to see what happen in US and the Tesla’s sales.

• Toyota has been stationary for the past 10 years plus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • old dog on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:52 pm

It is time, to move away from Toyota..look at how they milk the 4-gear in Camry locally…
    They are so reluctant to change since they are still doing good…until then, when customer moving out..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Perhaps another Nokia in the making

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Chris on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Agree. Being a long time Nokia user I can feel it. Wait until Toyota get knocked off by other manufacturers and we’ll see them coming out with exciting products again.

• Vincent on Oct 16, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Toyota way of evolution: 4 Speed ECT Gearbox -> 4 speed Super ECT Gearbox -> 4 Speed Ultra Super ECT gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
  • Looking forward for a 2017 Camry with 3.5L SOHC VVTi, that would be uncle-welcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Fahmi on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:53 pm

SOHC?? What are you talking? Toyota’s are mostly DOHC..

• frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Blind Toyota hater which probably haven’t drove a car before.

• Well most uncle just buy Toyota and doesn’t care much about what’s given from the car, are you saying they are also blind as well?

• shawal on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Toyota is busy selling ‘modes’ of transportation for the ‘developing’ masses
    They have no desire to sell desirable cars
    They know their target consumers prefers reliability above all else..
    Not everyone is a car enthusiast, you certainly won’t find em ere…

• siasl on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Yes, some of them prefer reliability as they say Proton doesn’t have to be equipped with VSC/VSA/ESC as it’s not reliable. Toyota is the most reliable car according to them but even the Malaysian most fav car – chick-magnet Vios doesn’t have one but Picanto. How come?

• tricycle on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:14 pm

i have driven turbo-charged car. great torque, acceleration and really fun etc.

the problem with turboed car, after a few hundred thousands of km, the turbo might have problem.

luckily in my case it was still under warranty. so they replaced it for free. but after the warranty out, I sold and switch back to NA.

with NA less torque, less fun but need not to worry about turbo maintenance (after warranty expired)

in short, turbo for rich people only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
    • vincent on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:55 pm

After ‘a few hundred km’, you replace your turbo unit for Rm1k, is that too much for you?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:19 pm

My stock TD05 14B on my 4G63 had 250k on it. And not gently driven 250k either. So even old turbochargers can be reliable. Was perfectly servicable when I swapped it with a TD05 16G….nothing wrogn with the 14B, but partly because it ran out of breath past 6000rpm (the car had 264cams and a 8200rpm redline)

• “turbo for rich people only” lah sangat. Proton proved you wrong since 2011. skrg bukan 1980an la turbo bocor segala bagai ni.

“TURBOS FOR ALL, BEECHES!” <- should've been Proton's tagline lol.

• Fredo 4G93 on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:54 am

Nice one bro!
        thumb up…
        turbo is actually making power more affordable

• Chris on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:47 am

Dude. The way you put it, I’m going to assume you’ve driven “few hundred thousands of km” within the car’s warranty period.

Assuming 200,000 to be minimum for “few hundred thousand”, warranty is 5 years, you’ve been driving over 100km every single day? Are you driving a turbo diesel van ferrying people around or you’re just exaggerating things?

• frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Makes more Camry! Rip off the buyers more! And use the money create another great car like GT86, except it’s cheaper! Let those Camry buyers pay the bill and everyone happy!

• Toyota Best on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Yes, all the engines and transmissions used by the 2003 Camry and Vios will still be used in the future 2030 “ALL NEW” Camry and Vios. Reliability mah. And who dares to say Toyota is not reliable?

• If you work at Toyota call centre, then you will know what is the problem that is facing by other Toyota owners.

• salambangi on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:21 pm

What a Saga. Toyota demise is foreseen if the saga continues.A deja vu?

• jolly_idiot on Oct 16, 2013 at 4:30 pm

They should offer diesel instead. Diesel has proven super high torque and fuel economy. Why don’t they move forward in diesel? They can have super big cc yet super eco fc with diesel.

Only drawback is sound. But I believe technology will overcome this.

• Fahmi on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Toyota had done it before… Its the AD series engine, only in Euro market… It’s not very successful indeed, not bad engine but recieved poor reviews from the press, uncompetitive compared to Euro diesels, even Koreans… Lexus abandoned the engine in new Lexus IS, instead sticking to hybrid IS300h with petrol 2.5 four banger…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_AD_engine

• Diesel will only give high torque if it is turbo-charged, which Toyota reluctant to get involved.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 17, 2013 at 3:12 am

Torque is good for daily drive and yet high torque engine match with good gearbox gives incredible fc and speed.

Imagine a 2.0 turbodiesel match with a 8 speeder. Super good car where your rpm only around 1.5k – 2k at 180km/h.

You don’t even need to revv the engine to sky high to get it move.

No replacement for displacement. Especially torque. You can easily increase hp but not torque.

• Fredo on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:03 am

2.0L turbodiesel with 8-AT…sounds like an F30 320d hehe..
          yeah, 180km/h at only aroun 2k rpm… what a bless…

• thedarkside on Oct 17, 2013 at 12:50 pm

sorry im using Preve as reference…my Preve rpm is still below 3K while doing 140kmh…drive it on normal road with normal speed…it hardly gets near 3Krpm…bless the turbocharged engine

• I am sure Toyota has its own tactics against market. It has its own reason why they don’t want turbo engines.

Unlike Korean cars, they just want to make more money and fame, but compromise car quality, fuel efficiency, environment friendly and safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • On the countrary, Korean cars have increased their stance in this world on all those factor maybe with the exception of enviromental friendly. Their balance between NVH and features makes them a definitive alternative if you absolutely do not want Japanese. But granted Korean cars started out like how Samsung started out, chucking as much toys as the car can fit, is it useful, maybe? But hey it attracted buyers and so is Schereyer’s design. Today, and espacially Kia, we see cars that are the most bang-for-bucks along with Ford. Their material quality is certainly up to par with most car.

• Chris on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:56 am

If anyone watched Top Gear’s China episode, you will remember Clarkson mention the Chinese are less concerned about the refinement or technical advancement of the car, but will look at how much gadgets and gimmicks it has on the car.

I believe the lesson here is that whether we like it or not, there will be people who looks at gimmicks. That is what the Koreans are doing, they know they can’t beat the Japanese with just their badge for now, so they make it up by offering gadgets in cars. They know what sells.

• Fredo on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:17 am

huh! Jeremy Clarkson? forget it, not worth watching him talking rubbish…
          he bash almost everything…unless its british…
          and btw, features are not gimmicks… whatever features fitted in their cars are usually useable for user…eg: rear passenger aircond vent and puddle lamps on the new cerato are both functioning and useful to users…they give more to make up for their low brand image…while japs like toyota give less knowing they have a good brand..
          well, in the end we as a user have a choice

• Yes, the Chinese market is well known for people who wants gimmicks. As a young and upcoming market with little car history (cars is still a relatively new think in China), the problems we face such as reliability or driva-bility has not come in yet. Give them a few more decades before problems such as this arise and maybe they’ll change their buying decision to something american or European(I have a hard time imagining mainlanders buying Japanese).

And to Fredo, there are stuff in cars that are gimmicks, Ford’s Voice sync thingy is one of them and so is the puddle lamp, because if you didn’t already at least have a hint there is a puddle where you are coming out, chances are those puddle lights aren’t going to help you much. another thing is Automatic Wipers, Auto Parking brake, night vision, electronic e-brake. There are also Some feature does more harm than good, the Auto collision warning, auto park and alarm BLIS(the one that sounds, Volvo used to have it, but I guess is all gone now)

• Chris on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Speaking of gimmicks, the GPS and the bluetooth handfree system for phone is useless in the Elantra. Either that or my family got a lemon.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Wait and see. Time will tell. The Japanese It industry tasted that feeling of hardheaded ness and egoism in believing too much on its own belief before, would you buy a Japanese smart phone or a Japanese 3D tv now? You will be ashamed to. In time the same feeling will apply to buying a Toyota. It is only a matter of time before the Koreans will eat the japs alive in the auto industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • I would buy a Japanese smartphone and TV over a Korean any given day of the week. Yes the Koreans have the ‘Wow’ factor, the look-ma-no-hands tech they employ. But seriously are you going to use them at all?.

The Koreans toys are filled with gimmicks that allows you to show it off to your friends, or to make new friends, but by day 30 you’ll start to use what a phone and a TV is actually for and none of those fancy gimmicks. For that I’ll buy a Japanese, it does its job just as it should and at times better and more reliably. Is pure utilitarian design where the Koreans gadgets will make you lust for the next toys that has the latest gimmicks.

PS: Koreans as in Mostly Samsungs here, LG are pretty good utilitarian design.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:47 pm

New Samsung Galaxy S4 has new gesture control which I found it’s useless all the time. Sony came up with a convenient water proof smartphone in an elegance design and nobody bats an eye. Wait a minute… Fujitsu and NEC offered water proof smartphone years ago. I would say Japanese has better technology but not better sales. Samsung and LG latest technology is flexible display and that’s the end of the story. Fujitsu has tons of ground breaking technology going now and Sony has class leading camera sensor which exist in iPhone 5/5s and Galaxy SIII/IV. While Japanese gadgets has lower sales than Korean, it doesn’t translate into Korean technology is better than Japanese, it’s like saying Vios is better than Prius C because Vios is outselling Prius C.
          While Korean car has better spec than Japanese counterpart, but I hardly see any ground breaking technology from them unlike Nissan’s latest self driving technology or Toyota’s latest driving aids.

• oveokq on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Sony cellphone battery talktime sucks. Who wants to bring those external battery pack here and there everytime it runs out of power?

• K-Pop on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:50 pm

I used a Samsung Galaxy SII, I told myself NO Samsung in near future. I feel ashamed buying Samsung in 1st place as the phone are absolute crap after update. I found Sony TV looks better than Samsung and 3D TV from all brands include Panasonic, Sharp and LG are gimmick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • China will eat all auto companies from behind , with the latest take over PSC CITROEN AND PEUGEOT china will have33% stack after the Volvo , so what’s next

• toyota are forever using old technology. Juz look at the new vios. Old engine 4 speed gearbox..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • To-old-ta !!

• What a sweet coincident…
    Paultan get a Toyota Camry review unit with registration number BLR 5151 and my dad have Toyota Camry 2.2 GX (XV10) on year 1997 with registration number B*V 5151… and for me, i’m still loyal with my SLK (Small Little Kancil) ^_^

• not-my-name on Oct 16, 2013 at 5:23 pm

TOYOTA = The Outdated-spec Yet Over-price This-is Awesome?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • OMG i start to feel headache reading about this. So it’s true when people say “you can go wrong with toyota”

• Its not all stupidity as it seems as Mazda has been going down this route as well with their skyactiv engine as well, forgoing Turbo for good-ol NA power in their new set of skyactiv mil. Toyota can get away with this because they know what their buyers are actually looking for, a car that can do its job, reliable, and cheap and easy to maintain until the next Ice-Age comes. And if Toyota might pull off a car with the same power and fuel consumption as their sci-fi Turbo counterpart, I don’t really see why not. Add to that NA is cheaper to manufecture and easier to maintain and have a better reliability than their more complex turbo counterpart. No doubt an Ecoboost Ford is always a better buy than its 1NZ-FE counterpart, but for people that use it well beyond the cars silver jubilee, they might think twice before touching the Ecoboost. Considering that Ford already have problems with some of their 1.6 Ecoboost over in america with coolent and fuel leak not to mention (and this is pulling solely from reports in America) Turbo is rarely better than their midsize sedans,powered by conventional, non-turbo, larger-displacement, four-cylinder engines. And commenters from Europe are also agree that Turbo don’t really match realiability of those NA cars.

All in all, this is right up their alley, Toyota today are still known for their cars success starts when it reaches the 100k KM odo mark, where most other cars begin to fall apart. So Toyota is basicallly doing this to keep the status quo, not many Toyota buyers (GT86 aside) really buy their car for the driving dynamics really, they buy it for a solid depandable appliance. Toyota might be the only manufecturer with a very outdated powerplant inventory, so any new engine is a welcome sight. Now any Paultan reader that have reach this point and withold that desire to dislike me to oblivian, you can do it now, but thanks for reading anyway and feel free to correct me at any point, healthy friendly debate is always welcome. And to the writer, I sense a little Toyota bias at the last two peragraph of the article, I do hope I am wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Josh Ling on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:58 pm

i like your comment(s) a lot everytime. it’s very well said. toyota is the world’s largest car manufacturer not because they are dumb. they know what they are doing. and mind you, other car manufacturers have yet to get the same level of success Toyota is enjoying here in Asia, especially the developing countries like Thailand, Indonesia etc., and those are some markets with huge potentials. old technology and old-school design they might have, but they certainly know a thing or two when it comes to satisfying the needs of the markets.

• Why thanks, I started commenting here because last time, there used to be some moderate and resoning people over here, but they have all gone now, as I am beginning to, the sheer number of trolls and tunnel-vission commenters is just too high. But back to topic, Toyota is a company that does its homework well, they know what the masses want and they deliver just that, nothing more, nothing less. And no matter how much lementing we car enthusiast give, all they know is that the current majority of buyers and people who like a moderately, depandable, appliance that is so lack of soul it’s perfect!

If the coming years, if th majority do demand the cars to be sporty and ford-like, i am sure they will deliver, the reason they did those cars in the 80s/90s is because at that was the era of pure unadulterated speed thrill and the masses of that time wants a sporty and cheap car. Not any more, certainly not the masses, we are a more matured society than before. The Group B/Turbo F1 era is being replaced by ‘who has the better lawyer’ game, the health and safety era. And no matter what we car enthusiast say, people wants to look at their future more than enjoy life that exist today. Yes, Sam Loo may have a point, but he puts it out like a troll.

• silwen on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:52 am

The demand for sporty and fun cars is very much determined by the economic giants of the US and EU for the moment. The waistline is thinning and fuel economy is in vogue, especially when petrol is £1.30 a litre.

I think you’re correct in saying that Toyota delivers the goods past the 100k km mark. Despite the general dislike on Paul Tan in relation to Toyota, it’s fairly important to their market that the cars are reliable. After all, the average age of a car on the road in the US is now 11.4 years. Half of these cars are beyond that and it would be no surprise that many would have at least 250k km on the odometer. The average buyer with a modicum of common sense would want a vehicle as you described, dependable.

I am rather sceptical though, of how UMW, not Toyota per se, is handling the Malaysian market. The 1NZ-FE engine is a single vvti and it should be noted that most of the 1st world markets have switched over to 1.3 litre double vvti engines. Let’s face it, in view of a stiffer competition, a 10 year old engine doesn’t look good on paper.
          On the flipside- if it works, why change it? There are few if any comments on the 1NZ-FE being unreliable and problematic. I only ever read comments on the car being old and having 4 speeds. In contrast, the comments on the VW DSG gearbox are far more worrying. A failed gearbox is a costly piece to replace. All the money saved on fuel dissipates if one has to fix a gearbox.

At this point I concur with you that the enthusiast would lament at Toyota’s direction- this is evident in the general tone of comments in this comments section. What gets me are the trolls and insubstantial comments. It would be delightful if unintelligent bashing would be left out of the comments section. But such is life.

So besides being boring, what other sins have Toyota committed to justify the distaste for their success? (I am genuinely curious)

• Basically, Toyota as a whole is a hard company to fault especially with Akio up there. In America, is tough to put a single fault on Toyota, sure they are worse off than their rivals on everything on the written paper but terrible to the point of unconditional hate? price-wise is still competitive, targeted buyers are not going to care much on the performance and looks, and the gizmos in them are unquestionably Korean. Americans point out that among Toyota’s advantage over the others that they like is the big glass space and the spaciousness. Yes the Koreans and Mazda’s have a lustful sevelt line but like Supercars, its like sitting in a post-box compared to the Atrium of Toyota’s and Nissan’s.

And than we have the general targeted buyers, gizmos and gadgets are targeted at young and upcoming generation Ys, which according to the reports aren’t too interested in cars than say a new mobile phone or computer. So that leaves Gen Xs and even the baby boomers, and do most care if their cars have touchscreen? I really don’t think so. And the new generation are also reported to have lower income and a harder time buying a car, so like I said, as of now, Toyota has the strategy perfectly laid out.

Only problem, and this I agree with Toyota bashers, is how UMW is handling Toyota, price wise, the targeted Generation X and Y should reallly just walk off and get a Honda or even a Nissan in ssome case where for a roughly 10% cheaper, is still better speced. Thou I still think , as a Honda user, that Toyota is still mre reliable and fuss-free than an equivalent Honda. But for 10% more expensive its really debatable if its the right choice.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:04 pm

I just watched the new Altis reviewed by a Taiwanese journalist, which is my most favourite car reviewer in YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyxtGHgUUFw
      He complain about the car 2 airbags which is below average in today standard. He says you can’t blame Toyota or He Tai (UMW for Malaysian) for not install more safety kits. It’s what the comsumer demand for. Consumer going for better Head Unit, HID lamp, DRL and other stuff when considering a car. He Tai just fulfill what their customer demand. Only way to change it is stop buying their car and demand for better safety kits, they will do it immediately if not they were going to suffer. It works with UMW before with the VSC stuff.

• Hilux Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2013 at 12:33 am

I do agree with AVH. Toyota is still well known for its reliability thus creating the better resale value due to higher demand of its car. But with the low specs and overlooked safety features given and yet selling at the high price, this is certainly nothing to be praised about. If someone else can deliver better specs and safety equipments at even lower price, why cant Toyota/UMW, as mentioned by buycartv jia wei, even toyota taiwan has the same problem. Toyota will learn and give better car to consumers when they are threaten. People like sam loo is just showing us how stupid they are by protecting a brand blindly and keep bashing others.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Sam only promotes used Hyundai.

He uses Hilux to show kimchi owners than kimchis trade in value is HAILAT.

He uses a Camry because its is a D-Segment car with the best TCO in Malaysia

• Fredo on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:28 am

Yeah, its quiet apparent..they do like toyota for some reason..

to me as a summary, one can choose to have either:
      1. realiable , easy to maintain but less fun/ thrills
      2. not so reliable, not so easy to maintain but fun and thrills to drive – Turbo

while option #1 does not seems to get more fun factor, Option #2 is actually moving towards more reliable & economical while maintaining its fun/thrills factor…. i dunno about u guys but option 2 for me, life is short anyway

• volve on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:45 pm

You have to choose no.1 or Uncle Sam Loo will how you Toyota flagship product, the mighty Hilux!!!

• Wow, we have Toyota lover and Toyota hater here, regardless of topic written by the blogger. It seems that we have so many intelligent gurus here that is smarter than Mr Koei Saga, Bravo. You guys are the shining light of ultra knowledgeable, highly critical Malaysians. Hope some neutral readers may learn greatly from the comment given by you guys. Some of your kids might grow up and learn how to comment eloquently like you guys (well, some of you)

Back to the topic, Mr Saga is only providing his opinion, same as you guys, stating the direction Toyota will undertake in the future. They may fail or may not, depends on the taste of potential car buyer. At least they have a game plan. Just because I do not want to buy a particular car it means that the car is bad or it will suffer the same fate as Nokia. Just get another car that suit your taste and money.

This is not a lecture but just my 2 cents, like any of you. But at least I am proud to know that it’s the Malaysian who first predicted Toyota’s doom

• I read many are bashing T here (except Sam Loo of course)

• These bashers are mainly Kimchi salesman with nothing to do, sale is low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:06 pm

How many K5 and Sonatas do you see on Malaysian Roads compared with Camry and Accord?

Sales of kimchis are dwindling. The 5 Japs are making in grounds to increase market share.

Kimchi sales are dying, but I would like to keep some sorhais buying new kimchis so that 1 can export them to Sri Lanka 1 year later.

Used kimchis have very little demand in Bolehland nowadays

• Sam Loo The Trouble Maker on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Actually, now i realise that Sam is a decent used kimchi dealer.

He at least will accept kimchis at 50% off purchase price if car ~1 year old.

Other used car dealers asked me to leave the car there, no tiew me some more

• tycoon88 on Oct 16, 2013 at 6:53 pm

higher cc pay more road tax! japan no need pay road tax kuah! u can save some road tax with a golf 1.6 tsi.

this camry 2.5V road tax really kills!

• Storm on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:31 pm

Kills what?? 2.5 rd tax cost 700 vs 1.6 at 90. Yes looks like a lot. It only works out to around 60 per month for 2.5. You buy a 180k car still can complaint about this 700 per year road tax??

• It’s not about the road tax but the insurance paid. It’s already expensive despite the ‘zero tax’ then have to pay expensive price again?

I disagree with the statement of turbo car is for rich people above as proton after this get it in its GSC cars that most probably don’t breach 50k price

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Fung Tien’s strategy of providing consumers with products that have the TCO has proven to be succesful over and over again.

Total Cost of Ownership takes into account the operational and depreciation of the vehicle.

For kimchi’s case anywhere in the world, depreciation itself is easily 2X the operational cost of a Fung Tien.

On top of that, Fung Tien has the least garage time amongst all makes and models. I must say that sui kwan euros spend more time in workshops than kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • supra 1.5 1nz-fe on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:38 pm

TOYOTA.. Moving AWKWARD!

• Fahmi on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:44 pm

The way Toyota is going for efficiency (big engine, small power) really reminds me of BMW’s “Eta (e)” series in the 80’s and early 90’s… This method may work in countries which roadtax is not regulated by displacement, instead regulated by efficiency and emissions, but it may not work in Malaysia (and some other countries) thanks to archaic displacement-based road tax which puts Toyota at a disadvatage compared to smaller displacement engines..

• Well, if Toyota (Japan) pushes for alternative fuel/power, whether they choose to use a turbo or NA engine doesn’t really matter.

The future is about going green. Whoever makes a 101% green car will have a massive advantage. Hybrids, EVs and etc. don’t count because the batteries aren’t renewable.

Time is running out.

• Turbocharge engine= low end torque, fun to drive, save taxes

NA Engine= smoother in delivery power, more suitable for luxury sedan that wan quite and smooth cabin.

• quiet*

• kadajawi on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Mh… yes. However at least with hybrids the lack of low end torque from the petrol engine is replaced by low end torque from the electric motor. That of course only applies to hybrids.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 17, 2013 at 3:23 am

Hybrid is an useless car. You’re just moving from 1 limited resources (fossil fuel) to another (lithium ion)

You save petrol money and pay toyota for batteries. Think of the disposal on battery. It’s even more environment unfriendly.

IMHO, hybrid is a tok kok car. If you cruise above 60 or 80km/h. You’re on petrol! Full EV mode only can bring you 3-5km far. Unless you drive the car to pasar only. Otherwise, I don’t see it saving.

In the other hand. Diesel is true saving and with bio diesel + euro 4. Things is getting better. Most european car are using diesel now.

• Old technology = less headache + good serviceability
    Will very seldom have problems

• frenzyaustin on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Exactly what Toyota buyers demand for and it’s their 1st priority.

• I recommend you Datsun Sunny. Super reliable.

Come on la bro, be sensible.

• I showed Sam Loo the Hilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:46 pm

I recommend a 1986 proton saga for you. Old is Gold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Nissan Sunny 130Y – The most reliable car ever made

• Bobomarley on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Toyota have its own prespective on engine and transmission progress they have spend so.much research and understanding to get the current technology perfected. The key point here is reliability. Turbo engine so far about 0.7 reliable than the normal engine this.is because number of parts involve and heat managent issues..you can check even the mighty vw also reliabilty rating was pretty low. Low volumn sports car ok la but not for the masses like saab or Peugeot or others pretender like the supreme ass…hybrid is the current way to go….and toyota got plenty of it…

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:16 pm

so much for moving forward huh? bigger engine = higher road tax… just saying…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Higher road tax only in countries like Bolehland

• kadajawi on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Most European countries have higher road tax according to engine size too, though it is slowly moving towards a CO2 based tax.

• think on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:34 pm

it seems like , not that toyota want to be exclusive…but more towards cost constraint,,as new engine will cost more to develop…larger engines is ridiculuous…higher roadtax,fuel consumption should be high especially town use…it’s ok we have alot of choices now other than toyota…think

• carlies on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:01 pm

As I think further, we need to pay even more for the repair cost of the newer engine. Road tax is just…….nothing especially those countries other than Malaysia.

• kadajawi on Oct 16, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Anything that improves FC is fine with me. Mazda has proven that upsizing can work, their CX5 with the latest Skyactiv engine is more frugal than comparable VW group models with downsized turbocharged engines, so yeah, why not? (Test results from a very pro VW biased car magazine… if even they have to admit defeat…) Only problem is that many countries tax according to engine displacement, so while those downsizers get to enjoy lower anual car taxes (and sometimes even lower sales tax), Toyota’s will be more expensive to buy and run.

• saladin on Oct 16, 2013 at 11:09 pm

what toyota is trying to say is.
    1.4 turbo = 2.0 na power = 2.0 na fc
    2.5 hybrid = 3.0 na power = 2.0 na fc.

• That’s not going to work here, as many said above. the insurance is much higher than below 2.0l cars.

• tns8686 on Oct 17, 2013 at 2:25 am

if battery is lifetime warranty i buy lo OK?

• retard on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:57 am

good news for gomen and jpj cos high road tax.
    only rich apek drive toyota

• farizY on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:14 am

Even Formula 1, the pinnacle of motorsport, is downsizing their engine. Starting for 2014 onwards, they will be using 1.6L V6 turbo engines with energy recovery system.

• Hulwan on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:44 am

When Toyota pushed forward with a mass-produced hybrid car (Prius) back in 1997 many people said that they are crazy for not following the trend. At the end of the day, they are crazy in a sense that they have a one-track mind focusing on efficiency. Since Atkinson cycle is more efficient than Otto, they are pushing forward with it. Maybe in 5-10 years time others will follow – only time will tell.

• not toyota fans on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:45 am

2015 toyota launch the new 5.8L engine with 4 speed gear box put in camry ,toyota claim that with this new TECHNOLOGHY fuel consumption as low as 1.2L/100km,good job toyohahhahahahahhahhaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • saman loo on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:43 am

waiting Vios 2014 Sportivo Limited Edition fitted with 2.5V engine with 4AT.
      powderful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Majuperak on Oct 17, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Toyota following Australia’s footsteps ? Holden commodore 3.8V6 and HSV5 liter V8 engines ??

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Camry / Camry Hybrid is the most popular replacement fro K5 and Sonata owners that have seen the light

• Sam Loo The Trouble Maker on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Actually, now i realise that Sam is a decent used kimchi dealer.
    He at least will accept kimchis at 50% off purchase price if car ~1 year old.
    Other used car dealers asked me to leave the car there, no tiew me some more