Chevrolet pits the Camaro Z/28 against the Mustang, and sets a Porsche 911-beating Nurburgring lap time

The Chevrolet Camaro vs Ford Mustang rivalry is to the Americans what the old Mitsubishi Evo vs Subaru WRX game was to JDM fanatics, just that it never went away. Now with the new hardcore 2014 Camaro Z/28 at its disposal, Chevrolet decided to take the battle into its own hands and planned its own shootout contest with the Ford Mustang Boss 302 Laguna Seca.

Why the 444 hp Boss and not the more powerful 540 hp Shelby GT500? Apparently, Chevrolet had tested them all and found the track-focused special edition car to be Ford’s quickest track Pony. It’s a similar case with Chevy’s own 580 hp Camaro ZL1 too, which is less track-capable than the 500 hp Z/28. The venue chosen is GM’s own Milford Road Course.

Watch the video above to see the outcome. It’s not so much of a spoiler for us to reveal that the hot Camaro completely aced the Mustang. Chevrolet claimed that its carbon-ceramic anchors allowed the Z/28 to brake deeper into corners, while its ultra-wide 305-section front tyres pulled higher g-forces through fast bends.

The F1-style spool-valve dynamic damper system also gave the Camaro an advantage over the Mustang over the 4.6-km course, as did its 500 hp/637 Nm 7.0 litre LS7 V8 engine. By the end of the lap, the Chevrolet Camaro Z/28 was clear by a good 5.3 seconds over the Ford. Game, set and match, Chevrolet.

Having done that, Chevrolet shipped the ultimate Camaro over to the Nurburgring to set a representative lap time. Track conditions were not perfect, with intermittent spots of rain over the lap. Still, the Camaro Z/28 set an impressive time of 7:37.40 though the notorious Nordschleife, which you can watch in full above.

How impressive? That’s four seconds quicker than GM’s own Camaro ZL1, and marginally faster than the latest Porsche 911 Carrera S, Lamborghini Murchielago LP640 and Mercedes SLS AMG. Had it been bone dry, Chevy reckons it could go up to six seconds under, which would elevate it to Porsche 911 GT3 RS and Ferrari 458 Italia territory.

Who dares say American cars can’t handle turns? The 2014 Chevrolet Camaro Z/28 took on 154 of them and came out on top.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• motorhead on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:29 pm

I can only say… Woww…

• Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:33 am

Utter rubbish. My Hilux can tapau these cars anytime. No matter how fast the Camero, Mustang and Porsche can go, in flood time or city driving, my Hilux beat them flat.

And when selling time, Hilux RV beat the Porsche, Ford and Chevvy anytime!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 30
      • TripleLooper on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:11 am

this is about Nurburgring, not “flood time” or city driving. So yea you are absolutely correct, Utter rubbish indeed.

• Luqman_HKM on Dec 07, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Just saying, but he does have a point. Why bother because KL is prone to flood so a Hilux/any 4WD/SUV will be a better bet

• Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Sam Loo, stop causing trouble in this forum. For over 1 year you have been causing trouble. People are fed up of you. We know you have about 10 other names you come here with. Anything to do with Kimchis is you. Only 1 frustrated Toyota salesman spreading false rumours about Korean cars purportedly potraying many people.

• Fahmi on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:34 pm

New Camari ZL1 will be crazier than this presumably…

• Fahmi on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:35 pm

*Oops..typing error… Camaro, not Camari, sounds like Camry already.. Haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • ooo… the soundtrack… need to use the lavatory!

• benzs on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Why not againts Godzilla Gtr35? Must be very interesting as americano got more guts in term of pistons but Gtr never lost even with 6 guts on it.

• Because the GT-R possibly will break down after half a lap. As it did during the 24h Nurburgring race 2013 when it finished as 150th.. :D

• American car magazine “Motor Trend” just pitted the Camaro z28 against the Nissan GTR and Porsche 911 Turbo. The Camaro was faster around 2.27 mile Barber Motorsports Park than either of them. Also remember the GTR costs RM 136,675 more than the Camaro. The porsche costs RM 405,389 more than the Camaro.

• kusochon on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:31 pm

murrica still can’t beat gtr.

• Actually you are incorrect.
      http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/coupes/1403_chevrolet_camaro_z28_porsche_911_turbo_s_nissan_gt_r_comparison/viewall.html

• They said they wanted to complete this car with 911 and GTR… but wait… the GTR Nismo is just around the corner~~~

• GT-Rider on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:44 pm

I dun mind, beat me!

• shift stick!! that’s great to see again!

• Out of Topic on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:25 am

Bumblebee!

• paparadzi on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:59 am

The Camaro vs Mustang rivalry has been going on since the 1960s. Both Ford and Chevy have produced faster, more powerful cars but it has always been the Mustang that the Camaro is pitted against, nothing more, nothing less.

• Anonymous on Oct 18, 2013 at 2:00 pm

What I like about the interior is it looks like it was from a concept car. It is definitely unique and surely a head-turner wherever it goes