Volkswagen Malaysia issues range-wide price increase

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_040

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has just issued a new price list for its entire lineup, with a majority of its models receiving a higher pricetag than before. Refer to the table below for the full model list, their old and new prices, as well as the differences between them.

As you can see, all Volkswagen models bar the Polo Sedan, Golf R, Eos, Passat (CKD), Passat Sport (CBU) and Passat CC R-Line have incurred price hikes, as much as RM6,000 in the case of the Touareg V6. The Polo 1.2 TSI is now RM1,000 dearer, while the Golf 1.4 TSI Mk7’s price has been upped by RM2,000.

Volkswagen_Malaysia_pricelist_October2013

Even the recently launched Golf GTI Mk7 suffers a swelling in price, with both the three-door Pure and five-door Advanced variants taking a RM2,000 hit each, to now retail at RM211,888 and RM219,888 respectively. The RM10,000 Tech Pack remains unchanged, so the price for a full-spec Golf GTI Mk7 is now RM229,888, before you factor in the extra RM3,000 19-inch ‘Santiago’ wheel option.

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has issued an official response to our query as to why this range-wide price increase is being issued, which you can read here. Previously, VGM cited “pricing re-evaluations by the authorities” as the cause of price hikes for the Polo GTI last year and the Passat CC in 2011.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• swee swee on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Aiyo…price increase again..sure blow some of the potential customer away..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 9
    • miskin on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:48 pm

orang kaya naik sikit apa ada hal ma? kereta harga rm600k boleh beli.. naik rm5k x der hal ma……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 38
      • Extended Warranty on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Don’t have to wait for official response from VGM, let me take a guess. The price has to be increased since the premium for the Extended Warranty Programme i.e. insurance premium has to be increased due to extensive warranty claims.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
        • I think it’s because they want to launch up! cars here with very affordable price, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • greay on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:20 am

Everytime I see a VW car, I remember those Curry Restaurant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • Star Dust on Oct 18, 2013 at 5:22 am

tq BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 60
          • Wisdom on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:19 am

Malaysian deserve the price increase. No worry VW. Malaysian will still buy. Because our mindset, the more expensive the car, the higher class its in.

Please increase more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 4
          • just buy saga flx..
            cheaper to buy monthly..the saving u get, u can go holiday overseas :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
        • i suspect it’s due to the weakening RM. Look at their CKD models – no increase. That explains it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
          • Only Use At Night Car on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:17 am

VW Malaysia dare to increase their prices despite every other VW owner having continuous breakdowns??? Not once, not twice but continuous breakdowns?

Do they know that ALL their cars with DSG sold here in the past few years are all faulty and that they were in clear knowledge of it before they sold a lemon to their customer?

I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away.

VW Germany already admit on May 08 2013, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white. What this means is that, their DSG cars CANNOT be sold in Malaysia at all unless you want to use the car in the night only when it is cooling and got no jam.

For existing DSG owners, there is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner are inherently defective.

How can I trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, a reminder again, the DSG cars should not have been sold in Malaysia in the first place. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. As earlier said, unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam.

Pity current DSG owners. Their prices are going to have a free fall plummetting to ridiculous levels. Bargain hunters can now buy a 2012 Golf or Passat for less than RM90k because everybody knows about the DSG problems. Its all over the VW facebook page. Most owners are mad that to replace their DSG box takes 3 months. So, 3 months no car!

VW owners must do a class action suit against VW Malaysia. They knew about this problem for years but persisted in selling still right up to Oct 2013. In overseas, people are suing because it is a danger. Many people accident and die because halfway overtaking DSG lose power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 17
          • neutralviewer on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:11 am

then, pls stay away from contis. you can continue taking your bus or whatever mode of transport you’re now on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 74
          • Wisdom on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:42 pm

They can easily absorb the different of weaker RM vs Euro. They have a very.. very comfortable profit margin. These are minus tax and everything.

Compare the prices/spec between here and europe or elsewhere. This is one hell of a money sucking activities.

• Interest thought here considering the vw cars have been having serious engine and dsg problems.

• MariGold on Oct 18, 2013 at 1:26 am

miskin,KFC naik rm2,orang kaya ma eat KFC,x der hal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • but if me, i will surely ask WHY instead of paying blindly.. even i know price is higher, i still paying but i still wanted to know WHY.. if price hike because of manufacture, acceptable.. if tax then i will sure say, half of my car price is tax, then add up 5000 more for tax.?
        well i just my thought.. -_-

• miskinkaub4bi on Oct 18, 2013 at 5:28 am

naik sikit itu bukan issue ma, the question is whether is it worth to burn an extra 5k just like that, with 5k i can do a lots of things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • VW to PM - Podah! on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:20 am

VW Malaysia has gone against PM Najob’s promise that there will be a gradual 30% reduction in car prices over the next five years. Very brave of VW Malaysia to go against the PM’s promise. Blatantly telling PM, podah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • Low Budget on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:28 pm

AiYo Bradder, Can’t you see lately our RM has devalued automatically? Sooner or later those foreign car prices will be adjusted upwards according to the valuation of Ringgit.

• Hameed Koyakutty on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Tamak maximum.

Stop buying European product.
      Kasi lingkup ekonomi Jerman.
      Then they will review price downwards…..camtu je mau kasi ajar…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 25
      • konfem on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Beli la Toyota, Japanis product. Dalam gearbox 4 speed pun masih nampak kaya maa…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 14
        • frenzyaustin on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Toyota isn’t the only Japanese car in Malaysia. Don’t forget Honda, Nissan, Subaru, Suzuki, Mitsubitshi and last but not least, Mazda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 4
          • Maybe VW wants to cover up the cost of kain pelikat mamak for Golf seats. As the price of thread increases they have no other way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
          • loled on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:37 pm

I hope vw will change the colour of kain pelikat seat to blue lines instead, I saw one mamak wearing it so beautiful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • mamak man on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:46 pm

you deserve my like thambi!

• Daripada beli proton. Android player tapi takde google play. And internet cuma boleh guna masa berhenti. Jom lepak kat dalam kereta.
          Dont they ever heard of radio streaming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 39
          • That’s against safety standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • Semua pun tak mau. berjalan kaki lebih sihat and kuat! i’m sure semua stomuch besar tak tahan beleh pengsan. Kamu sudah tahu siapa dia lah.. hahaha

• Affordable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • Can you explain why it’s so affordable?

• Bob_B78 on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:46 am

Affordable?? make me laugh only!!! During august this year there was rebate up 9k for majority of the models. Now they up 2k. Those who bought during the promotion period got a good bargain. It will become a really bad bargain when DSG fails.

• Obama on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:53 pm

I hope they will feel the impact on the sales volume, or else every other car manufacturers will use the same “pricing re-evaluations by the authorities” reason to hike their price. But, the only genuine reason i can think of is the depreciation of ringgit against euro of almost 10% compared to last year that caused them to increase the cost of selling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…WAH…is it the sales too good then need to increase price?…come on VW, now the trend is to reduce car price or give more discount, u ini terbalik…nanti sales pun terbalik…

• sudonano on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:38 pm

A bit fishy, VW is the only company in MY with “increases” due to “re-evaluations by the authorities”. They are not the only company with a more than 90% CBU lineup (25 out of 26 variants are CBU).

Ford MY is 100% CBU. No drama. Same with Audi, Lexus, Mazda. Odd. It would be nice if they tell us why was there a re-evaluation….

On the slightly bright side, I guess the existing owner’s cars would “appreciate” in price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
    • Maserati(Official) on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Friend, theres a big difference when ur FORD CBU is from Thailand whereas VW CBU is from Germany, South Africa and other European Countries.

But anyhow,VW have to improve on their service centres! I have 2 VWs but these 2 will be my last.

I have already booked a Merc to replace one of my VWs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 62
      • Merc? No need to show off laa. Merc bersepah la on the road nowadays. Org lain pun banyak duit juga

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
        • In M’sia, they think they r orang kaya if driving a Merc but end of the day when they visit to Singapore or other 1st world country, there r a lot of poor man Taxi drivers r driving those Mercedes-Benz LOLX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • sudonano on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Not all Ford CBUs are from Thailand.

Ford Fiesta, Ranger, Ford Focus Titanium/+, Sport/+ are built in Rayong.

Ford Focus ST is made in Germany.

The Mondeo and S-MAX are made in Belgium, while the Kuga is made in Spain.

Seems to me that there aren’t many returning VW customers. Is it THAT bad?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • So where’s the drillzzzzzz??????

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 18, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Drills of what? My new A class?

Come to Sepang and race. you set the time and date, heck I will even give u a head start of 10secs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • LickMyCrack on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Merc? So what? Show off! I can’t afford it. So what?

• frenzyaustin on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Because it’s wear a “German badge”. As long as it’s German, Malaysian will think it’s a premium car, drive a Polo thinking driving a 1-Series, that’s why VW are the most overpriced car brand in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 4
      • karma on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Polo sedan? No way, my friends will mistakenly see it as Proton Saga

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 7
        • frenzyaustin on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Glorified Proton Saga BLM, LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • Majuperak on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Glorified Proton Saga ? RM99,888 vs 30,000 Saga ? You must be kidding !! Proton Saga is lowest class car ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
          • query on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:24 pm

…but it is more reliable than VW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
          • K-Pop on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:10 am

Any sh*t got VW badge at least 4.5 star already. Camry rebadge as Passat sure people praise it’s 4-speed because German engineering.

• this is quiet shocking… considering the gomen promised 20-30% reduction on car prices by 2017…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
    • I used to misunderstand that Saga is rebadge from VW Polo sedan lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Johnny on Oct 18, 2013 at 2:07 am

They tricked us! They increase price by 100% in 2016, then reduce 30% from there.

• truman6 on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:48 pm

petrol increased rm0.20 mar…these cars transported to buyer with trailers, need use alot fuel…so increase absorb by buyer lor…lol…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • VW Devil on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:49 pm

MAYBE: VGM did this to compensate its dealership’s margins perhaps. Most of the models subjected to price increase are models that the dealerships sell most except Touregs n a few…just another side of perspective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • george sam on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Human beings are a very forgetful lot. If one recall the VW expo held in Bukit Jalil 2 years, it incurred RM20 million. Hence this price increase do help to defray the investment expenditure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Rod Stewart on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:05 pm

You must be a marketing manager of another car brand who is jealous of the budgets given to Volkswagen Malaysia marketing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
      • Neil Young on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:14 am

And you must have many hot daughters and model girlfriends. Kudos

• Price increase + problematic DSG.

Good luck VW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 3
    • not-p2-salesman on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Rather than you buy and wait for a new unit of DSG, it’s much better to buy a new Viva, at least you still can move around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
      • Viva? Go ahead and die faster laa in that milo can haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
        • not-p2-salesman on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:40 pm

But…but…but Polo got 5 stars Euro NCAP rating was in 2009 lor. That’s way old test.

• Chris on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Why, your driving skill is bad enough you take for granted every car will crash?

I know people will bash me for this, but sometime someone just wants a small car, and Viva is the cheapest small car here. You can’t deny that there will be times a small car is better than a big car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
        • Tin milo is waayyyy reliable than those rempit vw car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Rocky balboa on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Company will become arrogant when a lot of people are supporting their product. They don’t care how you feel, perhaps their waiting list is so dammnn long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • gengzi on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Yes, everybody wants to look rich what. Even after 3 months their cars been truck-towed because they cannot afford to pay monthly installment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Kepunden Parang Skeper on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:01 pm

sad…sad…poor us malaysians… (-_-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • razakoss on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:02 pm

aiyaaa… no wind no hurricane.. suddenly price increase for what? insurance for dsg gearbox ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • dino years on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Wow so many car problems and complaints, the response is “raise price”? VW must be high on pil khayal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • temen on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Where got complaints? VW is at least as reliable as Proton if not Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 81
      • golfer on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:18 am

Go and have a visitnto vw official fb pageband you will know..

• dino years on Oct 18, 2013 at 2:36 am

you on pil khayal as well?

• kington on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:58 am

The amount of problems and complaints with the 7 Speed DSG box is probably the worst in automotive industry.

• Gary Yap on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Could be docket price under-declared, maybe they didn’t grease some “person” sufficiently? Can’t wait to hear the official reason though, because Euro been quite weak, so it’s not forex. Maybe to cover the many warranty claims?

• Chris on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:58 pm

High demand (for whatever reason).
      Low supply (for whatever reason).

Capitalism ho!

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Why am I not surprise!!!! Oh ya because VW use to increase prices. Well….. At least VW management thinks “at least still got buyers” why do “u” care?

• cocky on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:21 pm

VW supposes to put it in 300,000 bracket price as most Malaysians can afford it.

• asking on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:31 pm

I have 1mil in my account can I buy 4 vw cars in cash? It’s for my daughter, mom and wife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
    • Polo Saga on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Buy 5. Each one for your daughter, mom, wife, and ur mistress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Shocked by your comment.
      And there were two thumb-ups, surprisingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Typical kampung mentality. Live inside the car enough. N0 need to eat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • amoi-suk on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:35 pm

No, it YOUR mentality is kampung. He said in his account, he may have multiple accounts. He doesn’t mention yet his other assets such as houses, factories, plantations, etc. Do you think one wants to get his account emptied only for those rubbish cars? Think again with your brain not bums

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Yea … use your imagination to the best. houses, factories, plantation. …. He doesn’t mention yet and you assume he has that.

• battu on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:58 am

He is ur uncle? u know everything even up to plantations?haha

people here can post have 1million 1 billlion watever they want. i also got 1 million, own 2 VW and 2 Merc. dun believe me? hahaha

• _xXx_ on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:35 am

I dun think kg ppl behave like what u said. Kg ppl usually dun show off.

• dugong on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:42 pm

At this rate VW can soon tapau UMW toyota as most overpriced car in msia (poorest value for money).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo I need you to supply me with a hailat smile coz VW increased the price, don’t forget new stock of Hilux, ok?

• Polo Saga on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Whatever it is, rich people dun give a sh*t about hiking price. Thanks to corrupted government, middle class below will still suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
  • John Smith on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Poor after-sale service + price hike = decrease in sale
    VGM,still expect sale to be soaring with this kind of service and price? It is time to review your insight.

• Just go visit the Volkswagen Malaysia facebook page and you will realized how “Happy” the car owners is…

• wussy on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:30 pm

They are all happy with superior gearbox named DSG (drivetrain selalu gagal)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Sahipul on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:59 pm

My observation VW has always been overprice in most of the occasion. Yet people still buy it because of their brand. I think we really need to utilize our consumer power to give pressure to the manufacturers/dealers to reduce their pricing. But they know the consumers sentiment, always blaming the government for any price hike, so they take advantage by placing high prices and pointing the fingers at the government. At the end, the consumers whose on the losing side while the manufacturers/dealers enjoying their high profit margin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Azfar on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:52 pm

hahaha. you such protective ha on government. i bet you are a strong supporter of gov. did you realized that what ever profit made by VW in increasing their price, gov get the money too by the tax. gov doest care for us as the citizen, work very hard to ern money. but what MITI do when VW want to increase price? sure they say go ahead, coz gov still get the befits through the tax. so at the end, gov is in power to increase or decrease the price, but what they do. just allowed the price hiked. cuz gov dont care about their citizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • free economy meh, supply and demand based. Unlike communist system where gov got full control of the market. U think VGM so naive and dun know when to act to rip ppl money? They capitalist meh.

• kadajawi on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Well, yes, but so is Toyota. At least VW offers something for the money. You pay a bit more than with competing products, but… say the Passat. 171k will get you a Camry 2.5. But the Camry is an empty shell, with a certain lack of safety features. Something in that price class should offer as much as possible, yet the Camry lags behind. The Polo sedan… after discount it is about the price of a Vios TRD. It offers more space though, more refinement, more space, more safety. And it is not much more than the less safe, less spacious Fiesta sedan (after Ford downgraded the car and jacked up the price).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • But the SC number is still small. And their skills are questionable.

• Fredo on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:47 am

well, we cannot win all..gotta to lose some, win some..otherwise, toyota bungkus la wei….

• Fredo on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:46 am

agreed with you bro on the Passat- Camry comparison…spot on!
        not only the equipment level, the drive also seems to show a little more appreciation to your money.

• i have more reasons not to buy VW now..
    previous reasons are: my low income, stupid DSG, useless service centre, and the fact this is just a common brand in german, like toyota in japan and proton in malaysia!
    ok sam loo i’m with u now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • sompua on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Does anybody out there think that the car buying situation here is financially healthy in the long term, is this sustainable?

• kadajawi on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:14 pm

If the official price goes up they can offer more discount…

• Do they give you special discount since you are from Germany?

• kadajawi on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Nah, and I’m not interested in VW. I’m a traitor, I prefer French cars.

But it seems like you can get some 10k or so discount on the Polo sedan (it doesn’t sell well, I suppose)? For a 2012 car it’s more than that. And to be honest, after that discount it does get rather tempting, no? There is no DSG that can fail, just an ordinary 6 speed torque converter IIRC. The engine is NA… should help with reliability. In terms of space I believe PT wrote only the Almera can beat it. And the price is just like all the other B segmenters. It’s the most Japanese car from Germany.

• the fact on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:14 pm

the price DOES NOT EVEN INCLUDE INSURANCE!…ahhahaha…yet a lot of people buy even tough knowingly its expensive and the 7 Speed DSG is one huge problem :)

• saladin on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:25 pm

new vw stock coming in so need to pay extra cos rm depreciate. vw is trading in us dollar currency. they do not trade in euro currency if not they might not increase the price.

• Watever on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Duhhh… Where is the promise of reducing car price 30% by beloved Govt? Are they playing an old trick to the rakyat by increasing price by 70% then at the end of 5 years term reduce the price to 30% so then claimed that promise fulfilled?!#€*^=+}{

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • policeman on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Yes. That is their plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • dreamer on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:16 pm

You will see it in your dream tonight

Good luck

• Whatever on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:31 am

Man, haven’t you read the news? The gov already said there’s in plan to reduce the car prices, contrary to their manifesto that says otherwise. Period.

• Expected the increase ler. Honda, suzuki, will follow suit. Later gardenia, pos, mph…

• Spicy road on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Who make the most profits here? VGM or bolehland government? VW owner could check their own vehicle duty form, how much is VGM reported the original price of the car?

• Vincz on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:47 pm

They just need to generate more income from new car owners to cover the gearbox replacement bill for existing customers..

• Basically the increasing prices were from gov..its being influenced by VW competitors especially Mercedes Malaysia since their a250 debut..if not Golf GTI price is around 190k only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • lamboo on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Why government? Are government selling VW cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Carnut on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:58 am

All car prices are controlled by MITI. Normally they won’t allow manufacturer to sell a car at too low prices if it competes with national car or when some other manufacturers complain about others cars being priced too low. A lot of invisible hands. So better connected manufacturers have an advantage so get competitors to price their products higher.

• Sahipul on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Correction, MITI do not control/regulate the car prices. As with most items in the market, the prices are determine by the manufacturers/producers/dealers/sellers. Only prices of essential goods being control by the govt thru KPDNKK under Price Control Act 1946.

• i never mentioned gov sells cars. i just said gov who is the one controlling the car’s price. any car’s manufacturer need to giv pre-suggestion price to the particular gov body before their car debut, then they hav a meeting regarding that price. If any competitors have not agreed wit the prices, the new price will be suggested..

• Yeah yeah yeahh blame the gov

• vroom vroom on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:52 pm

With existing DSG issue and negative feedbacks on service centre, VW Malaysia still think they can afford to increase the price of their models? Please lar be realistic, such lousy marketing & operations strategy, sooner or later this all gonna go down the drain…

• policeman on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Some fools fail to realise that VW is Germany’s Proton. It’s cheap junk for the poor people.

VW must be ROFL when Malaysian’s pay premium price for their cars.

Do you see any Germans buying Proton? No! Cause they ain’t morons.

I wonder when will VW provide lifetime warranty for gearbox?

• lsfan on Oct 17, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Yes, years before in East side of Germany, they bought Proton

• frenzyaustin on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:13 am

In Germany, average income people drive Audi, lower income people drive VW. It’s true actually.

• Bukan haritu BN janji car price turun ker?! Stupid lah those yg voted for them~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • Tambi on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:15 am

Price increase for DSG failure? Good joke vw

• VGM increase the price due to exchange rates issue, it do not means for ewp or wty purpose, you try 2 compare RM with SGD & Euro, even thai baht is getting higher, but stay tuned 2 ckd polo sedan soon

• thebugbud on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:25 am

Ringgit drop…. EUR going up… living expenses increase… petrol increase… nation debt increase… rasuah increase and never ends… crime rate increase… corruption increase… yet .. ppl say only perception. … what do you say…. 30% drop in car price… it’s a wonderful dream only to wake up the next day in a sad reality.

• TY BN

• lol… Polo mislook like Saga … haha… VW so many issue? then buy a proton.. change the logo to VW. Why pay premium price to just get a lousy car?

• Keris Jawa on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:13 am

The more reason to consider the A250…

• noone blamed proton yet? coz proton wants ppl to buy suprima S instead of Golf gti with a difference of almost 130k? lelz

• neemfa on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:11 am

VWM greedy as always.. hike up price to cover warranties, or whatever the reason is..

(I won’t be surprised if they say government intervened lol)

• I think the price increases is to partly cover back the money they spent to replace the faulty DSG units during the recall.

• Garfield on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:26 am

It’s their stock clearance sale time. Any increase in list prices would just make their discounts sound a lot sweeter…..

Just don’t buy VWs from Jan to June, if you really want one. Learn to buy cars from Oct to Dec. Don’t worry about trade-in value of your cars. You shall find that the incentives you can get far outweigh the small drop in trade-in prices. Also applicable to other continental cars except those sold by Naza group. But if what you want is T or H, just forget everything I just taught you :)

• valjean on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:31 am

No lah… you all got it wrong.

Price increas is just to for publicity sake. So that we all talk about it. To create a fake “urge” to buy now.

Then when you go to the showroom, I am damn sure salesman will said “Actually ah sir, I still got few unit at “Old Price” you know? Berapa bijik mau?

So what they are doing is smart. Got us all hype up and “kancheong”. Don’t fall for it!!!

• increase price and then give rebates. Then they can say we offer better % price reduce as promised by BN.

• Mike Dude on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:53 am

I pity those not-so-rich people who want to keep up with trend and technology and have to pay for higher prices. It’s only VW people! In other countries these are not even luxury cars. But in our country we poor people think we are already more ‘kaya’ simply by driving a Vios, just because it’s overpriced. Stop the madness! We are a society in which our financial status is perceived by the cars we drive. Pity…

• Car is a necessarily object for majority of Malaysian to move around…
    But luxury car (VW) in this case is positioning itself as a luxury brand in Malaysia are mean for those who can afford…

• vee-oh on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:08 am

off course need to increase price, no choice..because need to cover so many warranty claims for the gearbox

• expensive yet dsg and 1.4 engines are unreliable. buy japanese pay less and get a life rather than going to sc claim warranty..

• VW under which arm??? Sime???….you know la then!

• neutralwhatneutral on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:14 am

to all vw bashers, if your finances or common sense allow, go test drive one, be poisoned by it and you will never look back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Yeah at first you get poisoned by the sheer power of the engines..later you will literally poison yourself because of the engine and gearbox issues

• yesman on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:23 am

enoh enoh. agree with you yoyo then buy toyota la hor. support sam and his family.

• wow price increase…again?
    every year price increase…best auto brand in malaysia!!

• longjaafar on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:09 am

VW Malaysia is touting their cars as a premium brand and therefore command premium prices. In Europe and the rest of the world, the VW is below brands like Mercedes, Audi, BMW, Lexus and Jaguar. In Malaysia, because the brand name is strong, buyers tend to equate this “people’s car” to the top line brands. VW in Europe is just like Proton is in Malaysia..

• mr_em on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:11 am

VW spokesman [in a typical politician’s tone]:

“You don’t like our price increase? Go buy other brand lah!”

Hahahahahaha….. Malaysia oh Malaysia…

• Duck Dynasty on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:32 am

Too high a price to pay for Germanys’ “The Peoples Car” which no different thant Proton is to us

• poor_malaysian on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:48 am

increase a bit such big reaction, you can tell majority malaysian are really poor, but vw are not targeting on poor malaysian as well. so no harm to increase the price

• Not poor, just kiam siap

• Actually,vw should be targeting at least most poor malaysians no matter what. Its the People’s Car,and thats the meaning of Volkswagen when translated ._.

• amirad on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Don’t worry kawan. Just wait for the year end sale. Every year got one. No need to rush. Less RM20k to RM30k for all models. Make sure you have the downpayment ready and your payslip clear so that you can easily apply the loan. Usually SAs will give us only a few days to settle the payment. Thats how we bought our VWs. We bought the cars not that we are heads over heels over VWs. Besides the Roc, other VWs are just sleeper cars. The heavy discounts got us. We could just as well get another make if the performance and price were what we expected.

• retard on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:18 pm

better close shop la. premium brand create by our own bn cronies. what next, china make car also can become premium luxury brand in this bolehland.

• ernie on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:20 pm

no problem. they will give huge discounts in december as always. 12k. thats why i bought the polo sedan. no dsg and N/A engine only. good enuf for me.love it.

• Tiong yan on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:54 pm

I think if we stop buying the car price will go down

• PauKaya on Oct 18, 2013 at 5:20 pm

dsg problems still can increase price. kee siao or not.

• old dog on Oct 18, 2013 at 5:30 pm

All Malaysian are the sufferer…the others will follow suit..

• MitPie on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Hi guys…just wanna share a humble opinion of mine, hopefully meant to correct some views by some people here who I firmly believe, not even VW owners.

For me, as a VW owner, I’m fully aware of the DSG problems worldwide…not just in our country, but thing is…it’s not as bad as clamoured. People who bash VW & its DSG box haphazardly are saying as if every DSG will fail eventually, but for my car of its type, having joined VW forums & fanpage including closed group in FB, I learn that only around 10-15% of the same type (use DSG for sure) suffer DSG problems. Yes 10-15% is still high for me, but at least not as bad as depicted.

VW bashers who have never driven one what’s more to own one, you would never understand the joy of VW owners driving VWs…it’s not the best, but at least better than most Japanese cars….in terms of perfromance & sheer driving pleasure that is, but in terms of reliability, YES Jap cars are better by miles…cheers all.

• dino years on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:31 pm

as i understand, those who drive their cars hard (long distance, traffic jams, frequent uphill)will get the failure. so…the rest just use it to go round town maybe?

and really sorry but the reasoning escapes me here. if i’m going to gamble 200k+ on a vw with 15% chance of getting a failed dsg, well, i rather gamble it on a Proton, or three.

• Only Use at Night Car on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:53 pm

What a stupid reasoning. Spend RM200k to get problems like this? Even a mere Proton that cost RM50,000 does not give me such problems. This is the most silly reasoning I have ever heard. Are you a VW salesman worried about his falling sales becvause everybody knows about the DSG scandals?

• VGM just want us too stay away from their cars. Why Malaysians so desperate to buy car(s)?

ONLY WHEN BUYING STOP price will heading south.

KISS

• Tau ceti on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:39 pm

http://www.carsguide.com.au/blogs-and-stuff/carsguide-blog/comment_why_vw_inaction_over_reliability_will_dent_sales

Increase the price in advance to standby customers claiming warranty. Claim until fulat.

• samlok on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:55 am

Such fragile car still dare to hike up price!? Discount bagi i pun tak mau

• tiong yan on Oct 19, 2013 at 1:51 pm

They can increase the price but if you stop buying the car the price will go down

• Pittawat on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:40 pm

If VW having price mark down, what will the ppl comment?

• Ada VW Polo Hatchback lainching esok ke? CKD?