Merc A 45 AMG Edition 1 is officially priced at RM349k

Mercedes-Benz  A 45 AMG (W 176) 2013

A week after it was unveiled without an official pricetag, the Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG now has a confirmed Malaysian price. As it turns out, it falls far below the suggested “under RM400,000” pricepoint, finalising at RM348,888 (on-the-road without insurance).

In fact, that RM349k buys you a top-spec A 45 AMG Edition 1, no less. The special limited-run examples add on both the AMG Night package and the Aerodynamics package. Upsized matt black 19-inch wheels with 235/35 profile tyres, upgraded AMG high-performance brakes and louder AMG Performance exhaust system are all packaged in as well.

As you’d already know, the little rocket is equipped with the most powerful series production four-cylinder engine in the world. The hand-built M132 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo engine offers a rather significant 360 hp at 6,000 rpm and 450 Nm at 2,250 to 5,000 rpm. As with all AMGs here, RON 97 fuel is recommended.

Mercedes-Benz  A 45 AMG (W 176) 2013

An AMG Speedshift DCT seven-speed dual-clutch sports transmission takes care of gearshifts, and the car comes with AMG 4MATIC all-wheel drive as standard. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.6 seconds and an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia is quick to quip that the A 45 AMG Edition 1 is priced at under RM1,000 per hp, and that it’s by far the most affordable proper AMG model sold here. The next step up is the RM782k C 63 AMG Coupe, which is more than twice as costly.

Would you consider this uber-hatch a bargain, then?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• it is a lot cheaper than the BMW 1M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:40 pm

This marks the death of the BMW 4 series. Launched today but died today. Anyway, I am waiting for Sam Loo to come here and talk about this car’s RV. He will probably say Camry is far superior than AMG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 21
      • Both r crap and overpriced i must say!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
      • GT-Rider on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:37 pm

4.6sec to make century sprint. Yes that’s good but still GT-R is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 50
        • a GT-R is faster cause it’s in the supercar territory… this is a hatchback… and the 2013 GT-R is way more expensive compared to this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
        • kington on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:19 am

GTR is fast on the straights and corners, very effective tool. But it’s heavy and wears its tires very fast. You could probably get a used GTR for this amount of money, but this is a monster hatch, while the GTR is in the supercar territory.

2 of my friends have had troubles with their GTR’s LSD but other than that, i guess it’s quite worth the thrill. For me though, the GTR is still a tad too heavy. I’m a GT3 type of person and the 997 GT3 remains the best car I’ve ever driven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Maserati on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:39 pm

4 series and a45 are like two diff cars in character altogether……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • ........ on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:12 pm

FAP-tastic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • The will be alot of boy racer after this

• kington on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:22 am

I guess more would be attracted to a used GTR, which is approx the same price bracket these days.

• syafiq on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:24 pm

i will go for recon R35

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 28
    • You tadak duit ka mau beli recond car? hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • i bet u only use cheap plotong only?

• cheap plotong only? phuihhhh plotong. i only use plotong or T & H & Volks for pergi pasar/supermarket only la.

• syafiq on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:28 pm

recond car for org tadak duit? i dont think so. for some people, they will go for recon car not bcoz they dont hve money but they r smart people. car is not asset like property n the price will decrease very fast each year so no need to spend a lot for buying new one. supercar like ferrari n lambo also got so many recon n still not for org tadak duit. this is just my opinion only dato no need rendah2kan org n proton wahai wanabe dato?

• Hopefully they also launch the normal A45 without the edition 1 package…maybe at 328-338k…that would be a fantastic price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • TS.Lim on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Ya, hopefully it take out the ‘Edition 1″ and make it even cheaper, maybe around 330k.
      Really love this car!
      Superb performance, nice design!
      I sure will buy it! (…..if i have money)

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:54 pm

For only RM19K you want to take out E 1 package, you’re sure?
      355K for 4.6s AMG Merc, good deal.
      If you just want quick pace and you are not a racer, A250 is good enough.

• downsys on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Jimmy, the Edition 1 adds night package and asrodynamics package. So jwrx is suggesting a reduction of 19k minus those two things, but still with AMG upgrades.

• Not everyone wants a huge ah beng RED wing on a classy car like a A45, and the carbon splitters in front are abit too much for my taste

• Sam Loo niece on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:06 am

Errr….with your tag as wrx, i am sure your are beng closet.

• hehe…my tag is more then 15 years old…i was a ah beng back then…not now

• Alfred on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:40 pm

After all the edition 1 models sold out, are they still gonna sell the standard car?

• gynaecologist on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:41 pm

nice timing. I’ll cancel my vios and get this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • presna on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:45 pm

WOW….. that’s a bloody good lookin’ car…..
    anyone got 349k to spare?

• UmnoGoon on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:12 am

Ask that mamak lady to give you a few cows. Sure can buy a few to ferry the cows.

• James on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:46 pm

This is so gonna be my car in at least 5 years time :D

• So, which is a better buy? A45 or 428i?

• Er.. for performance of course A45, i feel that it is better price than 4 series.. But if wan attract chick, i think 428i better haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • kington on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:28 am

I think the 4 would be a more relaxed drive as opposed to this. I don’t really see the reason for this car as the MEgane RS is fast enough for me, although the best I’ve sampled is the Iroc R.

• Not worth it. I can buy 4 vios at that price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • One word- Beautiful

• D.I.Y on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Only RON97 fuel is recommended.. sweattt”’ pump liquid gold all the time

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Luxurious brand owners should not utilise subsidy from government, leave it to others ok.
      Shameful pumping RON95 into our luxurious vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • spark on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:23 pm

buddy,their income tax could be higher than your annual salary. just let them be.

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:15 pm

You probably are new to this website.
          You probably think my garage has 2 cars, CRV & Camry.
          You probably think I pump RON95.
          And you probably think I run typical Chinaman business and do not honestly pay income tax 100%.
          I always said: do the right things, youngsters. This is even more important when we have ages and wealths.
          I won’t reply to any comment even if it said I am a dog, it’s meaningless; I reply when the comment or reply involve important message or meaning.
          Do you know the word ‘shameful’ was used purposefully and intentionally?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • lucky me on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:22 am

for max output… actualy u need to fill with RON 98

• Einstein on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:17 pm

FAP FAP FAP FAP FaP FAP FAp fAPPpPppPPpPp,!!!!! Ahhhhh,,

• If you want to attract chick, get 4 series.
    If you want to attract Ah Pek, get this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
  • venven81 on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:03 am

pumping out 360hp from a 2L engine and 450Nm! sweet… wonder if it’s gonna steal Golf R or Scirocco R customers albeit there’s still significant price gap and of course both are in different league between the 2 marques?
    only a matter of time for us to see lots of these baby rockets on our road

• ROBERT on Oct 19, 2013 at 1:18 am

I love the design so much. If road is good in Sarawak, can get 1.

• Dennis Loh on Oct 19, 2013 at 2:03 am

I cannot understand why you people compare the A45 with the GTR? You all might as well compare it to an AVENTADOR or a Ferrari FF. For goodness sake is a completely different car. If the GTR is so good then why people are still buying European exotics. It just doesn’t have the built quality & the exotic feel & presence of the Teutonic & Italian exotics. IMHO the GTR is for boy racers who cannot afford the European exotics & try to tweak to over 700+ hp & race with the Lambos & Ferraris. Try doing Launch control on the GTR all day long. I’m interested to see the end results as compare to the 991 Turbo S doing the same thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Suprima on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:44 am

You are right. I rather be seen in a german or italian supercar than wat….jepun rice rocket. Want to impress? You drive a gtr, hotel will shoo u to basement car park. If u arrive in a german or italian, sure vip car park. If you pick up a hot date, in gtr, she will think you either an ah long or some massage parlour taikor. If the other marque, her panties will auto remove for you. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Dont get too worked up bro…majority of ppl who compare GTR to the A45 have never driven nor even sat in a GTR. Its just stuff ppl say while browsing mudah.com

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • I understand that it’s not very wise to compare the A45 with the GTR and you have a point. However, I don’t think it’s necessary to stereotype GTR owners (most of those who compared everything to a GTR on forums probably never even drove one).

Despite the interior being nowhere near to the 911 standards it was pitched against, it is still one damn impressive sports car. It’s a weird feeling you get when you drive it because it doesn’t feel like one that’d do even half the stuff car magazines claim but this thing will just keep surprising you. And most importantly I wasn’t shopping with a GTR on the list because I’m a boy racer and I couldn’t afford an European. Not saying this because I’m butthurt because I did end up with something else.

• samlok on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:44 am

Do we really need 360hp and 450torq for a car?

• lucky ne on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:21 am

there gonna be new bad boy in town!!

• mr fiq on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:01 am

salesman proton mesti cakap suprima is better than A45..hahah

• vee-oh on Oct 19, 2013 at 9:24 am

all things good bout this car, except the exterior kits are too ah beng…not so elegance like Golf R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • power8003 on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:17 pm

AMG kit you called it ah beng…..-.-” u really got no class la…..

• i guess you must have DSG probs abt your Golf R right? hahahah admit it

• amma g on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Waiting list upto 2015!

• Joe Radzif on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:04 am

Golf will cry to the car
    People will cry to the price…

• this car is not suitable in malaysia since the roads are like driving rally and the police gonna drink more kopi and rosmah gonna buy new cincin

• Anyone can borrow me money to buy this car? I just short a lil

I have RM 1,000

short of 347,888 anyone can borrow me?

• preve_fan_boy on Aug 10, 2014 at 9:56 am

come on guys.. this car was owned by preve in driven… lol