2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan detailed, est. RM86,888

2014_Volkswagen_Polo_Sedan_16

An upgraded 2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan has turned up unannounced at the carmaker’s local website. It’s quite an interesting one, this, as it has been enhanced with new features, yet carry a much lower estimated price of RM86,888. The existing Polo Sedan’s RM99,888 pricetag was unaffected by VGM’s recent range-wide price revision.

UPDATE: The locally-assembled 2014 VW Polo Sedan has been officially launched – click here for the launch report.

Most of the updates are found inside. A new RCD 320 Radio system with USB, iPod and Bluetooth connectivity replaces the basic RCD 210 head unit in the outgoing car. Climatronic auto air con with new rear vents is added into the standard equipment list, and a height-adjustable centre armrest now resides between the two front seats.

The 2014 model gets a few cosmetic changes too. The halogen headlamps have a different design; now with bright white surrounds instead of the current car’s black finish. Rear badge placement has been revised: there’s now a prominent Volkswagen lettering by the left light cluster, and the Polo insignia has been moved to the opposite side of the boot lid.

2014_Volkswagen_Polo_Sedan_05

Elsewhere, the new Polo Sedan is identical to the one before. The 1.6 litre MPI engine with 105 PS and 153 Nm stays, as do the six-speed automatic transmission. Its performance figures remain: 0-100 km/h takes 12.3 seconds, and top speed is 183 km/h. Claimed fuel consumption is 6.5 litres per 100 km (15.3 km/L). Four airbags and ISOFIX mounts are standard items.

This could very well be the locally-assembled model that had been reported earlier in the year. Presumably it will replace the current fully-imported Polo Sedan that is manufactured in Pune, India, and join the Passat 1.8 TSI as the second CKD Volkswagen model to be assembled in DRB-Hicom’s Pekan plant.

Officially, the 2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan is not readily available for purchase just yet (hence the estimated price tag), but the pre-order books have now been opened.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Yes put the price tag below 100k.. and take out the ‘VW’.. Only in bolehland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 61
    • The price is way to close with vios…this model come with 4 airbag 6 speed auto

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 2
      • Outdated on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:03 pm

What? No VVT or any other valve/camshaft technology? Would you choose an outdated engine over the outdated gearbox i.e. 4 speed auto in the best selling non-national car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 68
        • civiclise on Oct 20, 2013 at 9:52 am

what da point of vvti/vtec/ if the performance/fuel consumption is the same as the car having those technology..of course the car in same class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
          • To-civiclise on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:55 pm

what da point of 6 speed/cvt if the performance/fuel consumption is the same as the car having the 4 speed auto..of course the car in same class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • trail on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Yes it has a point. You can be more superior than others because you have the badge. Same like having the big T badge, wowowow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • abuya123 on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:31 am

It is VW. Full stop. Unless you still shout that Q&Q watch is comparable to Swatch because is show same time, then you can keep talking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
          • Service Stinks on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Don’t be fooled. Its not the DSG cars that breakdown non stop. Their Polo with non DSG is also known as kaki breakdown. Go to facebook and read yourself. And customers have to wait 3 months to get anything fixed especially normal parts. See facebook, all fuming mad. And don’t get excited with their warranty. Its ONLY 2 years. 3 years is insurance based. That takes months. Adjuster must come and see, approval takes weeks, and most of the time, not covered. Don’t believe? Go to facebook and see yourself. VW customers are fuming mad. Even to service the car also must make appointment few weeks beforehand. And when you cross over the required mileage because you waiting weeks for your appointment. VW will tell you, sorry, cannot claim warranty. Because you have crossed over the service interval mileage. You tell them but my appointment given 4 weeks later, they tell you, you should plan in advance. So, their DSG cars can only drive at night but their non DSG cars like the Polo stinks in service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 56
          • VW no principles on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Now that DSG is openly known as defective and faulty, I would not buy a car from a company who for years denied that there was anything wrong with their DSG. It is a matter of principal. Yes, all car companies got defects and have issued recalls but VW is an exception. They did not recall. They just plainly denied anything wrong with their DSG. For years they denied. In the meantime, so many people suffered with breakdowns, power failure while overtaking and serious accidents. You think it is fun trying to overtake a lorry and suddenly your DSG loses power?

On principal basis, I would not buy from VW as they got no ethics and principals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 46
    • The price oso way to close to proton ss n preve le..for those able to buy this 2 car might be able to buy polo sedan just RM6k summore..lower bank interest

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 6
      • Doubt it will be that low.. Our gov will not allow it, unless they wan Suprima S sales to go down the drain…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • WongK on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Guys, ” Service Stinks” and “VW No Principles” are among the many moles placed in all VW news sites, to degrade the car company. They are from competitor car companies. Do your own research and see for yourself. Ive been noticing the trend lately …

• JohnDi on Oct 19, 2013 at 9:29 pm

It looks like Almera hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 38
    • Potong on Oct 20, 2013 at 7:48 pm

What? No 6 airbag?
      Lousy 6 speed auto?
      12 second for 0-100kmh?
      No LCD monitor somemore?

Better buy Suprima S or Preve LE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 102
      • romzee on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:04 am

Better buy Proton?

U don’t know ka, Preve maintainance expensive than Camry/Accord/Polo. That’s why government now replace Perdana to Camry/Accord for their official car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
        • Potong on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:49 am

Because Potong car is a sportcar, it have powderfool turbo engine, F1 style paddle shift and Lotus Handling. Somemore got GPS, auto wiper and Auto-Cruise.

That’s why it have more pricey maintenance.

You can’t compare the maintenance of third world market car with a euro style sport car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • hearthurt on Oct 21, 2013 at 4:54 pm

I thought proton is called car for poorfags because of its cheapness in price and maintenance? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • potong2 on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:13 am

it became pricey because you need to replace that non-quality parts for several times

• Price is wrong! should be around 99k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
  • iphone 6 on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Give me a like if you think POLO Sedan 2014 still looks like a Proton Saga.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 408 Thumb down 40
    • Very much like my saga blm pre facelift

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 18
    • Hey thanks.. now i realized.. haha.. saga wif vw badge.. haha.. haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
      • My friend bought it, and after 1 week have problem with it’s radio. Hmm, never taught tis would appear in VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
        • rammun on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Aiyoh. Relax bro. 7 yrs ago i took delivery of a kancil n the radio kaput within 13 hrs. Serious!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
          • 14 yrs ago i took delivery of a kancil n the radio got no sound.

Because there is no radio (EX extra 660).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
        • Omnimon on Oct 20, 2013 at 7:09 am

always ‘my friend’ story…
          typical basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 15
          • riodr on Oct 20, 2013 at 9:04 am

There are a lot of complaints in VolkswagenMalaysia FB. Take a look. It’s not mere such stories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Sorry, but actually I was VW fan. After read few review I realised VW still hv problems with it’s electronics stuff and gearbox which is not suitable in hot place like Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Dont syok sendiri la

• Gary Yap on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:25 pm

I agree, it’s the VW equivalent of a Saga and that’s really the polo sedan’s main issue. Looks like they haven’t done much to the styling either. RM87k is probably w/o insurance, so it’ll end up RM90K on the road, which is nothing great because VW dealers have been giving >RM10K discount on the Polo sedan. Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi on Oct 20, 2013 at 5:06 am

But most normal consumers don’t know about the 10k discounts, so they never bothered to even consider the Polo. If you see the car is over your budget, will you go to the showroom to testdrive it and ask for discounts?

90k is pretty much on par with the competitors… the conti/Korean competitors that are a bit better in terms of safety only offer hatchbacks (Ford had a safe sedan in that price segment, but they removed all the safety features and increased the price), Japanese competitors lack the safety features and refinement. Besides this is the second biggest B segment car on the market in Malaysia (only the Almera offers more space), so it is practical too. And don’t forget, it doesn’t have DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • It does look like a saga, but with better proportions and more presentable looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • poloball on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:19 pm

So what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Wow… Nice pricing although not really competitive with the JAps. At present still not that many on the road. This model might change that.

On second thought , the new Vios might have swept all the potential buyers already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • Spec n safety wise not really la but u know boleh people..vios is better so say they all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
      • policeman on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:05 pm

In MY, not many people buy a car based on its available safety equipment.

Most go for looks, status symbol, price, fuel efficiency, and what mother in law suggests.

MIL knows best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • poloball on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Easy, just cancel the booking. It is way better to get VW than vioss…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Lol looks like all the other models had to suffer in a price hike for their smaller brother!

Guess the after sales ain’t gonna improve since the sales are going to go up for this model.

• high spec honda city toyota vious proton preve and others will be in deep trpuble….90k beli apa…mesti vw la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
    • no… u think maintain VW is more cheaper than Proton or Jap/Kor car? You buy car not just look at the price tag! Consider other factors too! I’m sure this wont have nice safety package like Preve / Suprima have… and spare-part availability like Jap cars haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
      • Trajectory on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Actually, my VW is easier and cheaper to maintain compared to my wife’s persona and 8th gen honda Civic.

My golf is now at 35k km and serviced twice at RM700 +- from authorised dealer. No problems so far. So RM1.4K all together.

My wifes Persona varies, but usually every 5-10km. Its already at 54K KM and already over RM2.5K serviced. Problems which we ended up paying extra was a faulty window button and sagging rear bumpers which came at about RM300 to service at Proton.

Similar to my Civic, the regular service intervals is time consuming and expensive at about RM300-800 per service. Its currently at 45k KM. no probs except for AC leakage at 5000km which was covered under waranty.

Honestly, i still believe its cheaper to maintain a Euro marque compared to the japs (in malaysia that is). But ofcourse, spare parts are more expensive. I still service all cars at their respective authorised centres for waranty purposes.

All prices were inclusive of taxes and labour.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 16
        • Monday blues on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:51 am

Regular service is rm700. Will the cost be the same for major service?

• Good luck with the DSG. Soon it’ll give problems that will cost you more than your Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 34
        • Pakai myk hitam aper smpi bleh tahan berkilometer2 baru servis?

• Pakai myk hitam aper smpi bleh tahan berkilometer2 baru servis? 35km baru servis 2x..

• volkswagen’s service is per 15,000km. that is one of the advantage.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
        • Really?? How is that possible? Need to use special engine oil from VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
          • just castrol fully synthetic. i asked for the service costs and got a shock. except for a major maintenance (RM1k+), every 15,000 km is around RM600. that’s affordable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
          • Amran Pekida on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:45 pm

guna minyak masak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • BeemerFreak on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:04 am

How is that not possible. Go take a look at Volvo, their service interval is 20k km. it’s a conti marque hence the longer service interval

• kadajawi on Oct 20, 2013 at 5:02 am

Nope. Typically overseas contis have a 30-35k interval, Japanese cars around 20k. 15k should be perfectly fine then, and the 5k that Honda requires is outright ridiculous and sounds more like an attempt to give their SC more work/money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
        • Bob_B78 on Oct 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Yes its true. The service interval is every 15k. However, I would prefer to service it every 10k instead even though fully synthetic oil is used. For me, I think it over stretched the oil usability and my decision for doing so is because our country is hot and humid whole year. It put a lot of stress on the engine and lubricant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
        • policeman on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:58 pm

But the disadvantage is that the engine fails prematurely, along with the transmission.

I’ll rather get a car that is serviced every 5000km and an engine/transmission that is reliable and lasts well over 250000km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • Bob_B78 on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:34 pm

ahah, i dun think it will cause any sweat to jap n proton cars. U forgot korean cars are richly equiped n priced similarly. Basically there is nothing unique in this model that makes it stand out from the rest other than VW badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • donadts on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Yes, the rear aircond vents. But this is car where it’s not too necessary to have it unless it’s an MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • frenzyaustin on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:38 pm

I rather trade in the rear AC vent for VSC. I drove a Saga in heavy rain before and I realise how damn important to feature a working VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • bojek on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 116
    • Spy Kid on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:17 pm

You talk and then you spit. A badly brought up kid.
      An orphan has better manner than you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • Mat rempit x pakai kete lah. Dorang pakai moto aje..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • frenzyaustin on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Finally a VW priced right! A better buy than TRD Sportivo Vios, except sh*tty VW SC. It doesn’t feature troublesome TSI+DSG and the FC quite ok for it’s performance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • GoodWork! on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Sam loo will show his hilux face when trying to sell vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Cut all the crap cosmetic changes n bring us the real enhancement.. where the hxll is the esp??

I m more concern on safety than all those audio, color changes etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Han Tan on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:36 pm

You can’t compare the build quality of German engineering to a Saga or below rm100k Japanese cars, even to this ckd version. Highly recommended to Vios potential buyers. Sorry uncle Toyota Sam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:32 pm

It’s actually an Indian car, and Vios/City is Thailand car. They were developed in India and Thailand but only wear German/Japanese badge. And I’m so curious what so good about “German Engineering” has? It doesn’t has anything particular that stands out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
      • Han Tan on Oct 19, 2013 at 9:20 pm

not only Germany dear sir, conti cars in general. unfortunately cars are priced so high here that most people only get to choose one foreign badge to buy and they usually choose japanese. India car? Mahindra? ckd cbu concept ada faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • frenzyaustin on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:08 am

Not manufactured but where it’s engineered. Vios are mostly engineered by orang Thai and use outdated parts from Japan, same as VW Polo sedan which using previous generation VW parts. Vios does not available in Japan and so do Polo sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • Got. Vios is Belta in Japan

• frenzyaustin on Oct 20, 2013 at 11:25 am

The sales is so bad that Toyota Japan focus on Yaris instead. Belta was discontinued and you hardly sees any in Japan.

• What so good about German Engineering vs Japanese?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Go test drive a polo n a vios.. feel the difference on the road.. even a polo hatchback vs altis can tell the difference..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • frenzyaustin on Oct 20, 2013 at 11:24 am

For real Japanese vs German, should drive GT-R vs 911 Turbo, SLS AMG vs LFA and Lexus GS vs 5-Series.

• Germany is the world’s number one engineering nation. They have the world’s best engineered products from pens to lens to cameras to hydro powered and solar powered items to medical technology to cars, trains, shipping and aeronautical engineered products. If you read history Japan became an manufacturing nation only after the Meiji era when they sent their best talent to learn from the Germans or Prussians, as they were known then, under Bismarck’ s rule.

• sudonano on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Probably not as bad as the Vios. But if only it had ESC, then it would be my number 2 in the B segment after the Rio and 208. I guess it will have to give way to the City and Fiesta, and settle for 3rd, for me…

And finally they actually priced the Polo Sedan at a more realistic 87k. The previous 100k was an insult considering the FIesta Sedan (Then) had more kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Then after this they will sell it cheaper with ESC/VSC

• Polo is not bad at all. If you a small family type, aims for daily driving, and really not passion about a car then Polo is a very good car for u. It has good FC and handling well ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • calcutta on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:42 am

city doesn’t have ESC as far as i know, why city and not polo then?

100k an insult? don’t you think all car manufacturer already try to offer their product at the lowest price possible?

for your information, our gov rake in tax more than any car manufacturer profit margin. Car maker make a profit of maybe 10k per car,our gov easily takes 30k per car in tax,no R&D,marketing cost involve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • calcutta on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:46 am

just checked,honda city facelift does have ESC

• Jilbaber on Oct 20, 2013 at 3:22 pm

City only have VSA on facelift premium model only

• You are right.
            Only E model hv vsc.
            Bought S model 2 weeks ago.
            Only can afford after discount 7K.

• sudonano on Oct 20, 2013 at 9:49 am

1. City DOES have ESC. Check before you write.

2. Of course. And here is the reason. You see, the Polo Sedan is not that fantastically spacious, unlike the Almera. It’s styling is well, so-so. Safety is a big meh too. The old Fiesta Sedan had better safety and more tech for 81k. This one? Rip off 99888. (Mind you, the 99888 was while the old Fiesta was still on sale)
        http://paultan.org/2011/06/21/ford-fiesta-1-6-lx-sedan-upgraded-now-with-bluetooth-usb-and-seven-airbags-rm81388/

Yes the govt hentam us kaw kaw with tax. but don’t think your distributor is one big angel too. Go look at a Toyota and you will see how much the distributor takes. VW is emulating the bad habits of Toyota, but not taking Toyota’s good habits… ie good aftersales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • GoodWork! on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Too bad still without VSC, is that so hard to fit it in? Do take note as the additional 2 side airbag is only for front side, not the complete one to cover from front to back.

Anyway, city still safer as it has VSC. For new vios, nothing needs to be commented, do your own maths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Chris on Oct 20, 2013 at 11:46 am

Not saying it’s the deal of the century, but looking at the specs and price, it does seems like a serious contender in the 80-90k B segment market now.

Will you go for..
      A slightly more refined 6 speed Polo?
      A matured, decent City?
      A good RV (lol) Vios?
      A fun to drive Fiesta?
      A slightly cheaper, well-spec Rio?
      A funky dashboard Sonic?
      An under-the-radar Mazda 2?
      A controversial looking Almera?

Disclaimer: Apologize if I offend anyone with the description, it is impossible to be totally not biased. But in the end, we’re spoilt for choices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • I choose Almeera, much more beautiful than Merc A Class!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 45
        • really insulting benz ehen comparing almeera with a class. Its boot lid looks like trojan….

• It’s the latest trend, will be popular among automotive designers, don’t you think it’s sexy?

• ahlau on Nov 01, 2013 at 6:14 pm

your are outdate, new A-class very sporty look….

• I will choose city cause it got VSA, and i need a car can serve me more than 5 year

• Good price.But still, after sales service will ruin it.To schedule a service also take months? Who really have time to wait that long? by that time, mileage is over by thousands km and suddenly say ohh we cannot warranty this part cos your car didn’t sent for service on time..boo hoo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Eddie on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Not bad…If you they offer a 5/6 speed manual trans @ rm70K range

• some opinion on Oct 19, 2013 at 6:57 pm

overprice bro…preve cfe better than this..turbo engine,paddle shift gear wit 7 speed,auto cruise, n much more bigger than this polo sedan rite..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 35
    • Safwan Othman on Oct 20, 2013 at 10:51 am

I am the owner of polo sedan first version. My mileage has clocked 70,000 km already. Yes the car have no special gadgets like kia, hyundai or what so ever…. but you can feel the difference of quality when you drive it. I don’t really require all those techs into my ride… but VW compensate it with good quality and reliable car.
      Comparing preve, kia, hyundai, toyota,honda all high tech with polo sedan low tech… same like comparing kancil installed with gadgets to simple old type merc that still widely used as taxi nowdays at rural area.
      Test drive it for you to believe it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
      • Good luck with the outdated specs. I want more value for my moaneh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Jilbaber on Oct 20, 2013 at 3:33 pm

I’ve test drive it, but sorry to say I don’t see the ride “quality” you aforementioned. To me it just a basic A to B car with ripped off price tag..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Proton on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:05 am

Please lar. Mau syok sendiri coz you paid rm100k.

My inspira is much better drive than your bread and butter curry india VW.

Just because you paid rm100k and it’s a placebo effect you think you make it and up there.

I have test driven the polo sedan before i bought my inspira. Don’t be a badge snob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
        • vroom vroom on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:28 pm

then your inspira must be sushi wannabe punya nasi goreng kampung. just because you drive inspira you think you’ve made the best choice in the world & act like you drive a lancer. ppl like their polo sedan then let it be la! he wasn’t even comparing his polo sedan with your inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
          • preng preng on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Why you butt hurt ? You drive problematic dsg is it ?

It’s a fact that the polo sedan is an overprice junk. There are a lot of better car below rm100k than the useless polo sedan. Open your eyes vroom vroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Enthu on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm

your 7 speed paddle shift auto is just a CVT with pointless “virtual gears”. Get to know your own blardy car better before you comment.

Oh and drop by for some earplugs when your Preve’s CVT whine like a dog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • fengs on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:43 pm

If you say it’s pointless, put it 10 “virtual gears”! Only “pointless” thing only, the others are useful and valuable. More airbags, more cabin space, etc.

Why polo sedan no such things? It’s as outdated and overpriced as Vios lol

• 1.6l n.a. engine is a joke. Why not they just use TSI like on polo (hatchback)? Even “cheapo” preve has it. I thought I would see “German Precision Engineering” here since VW is waayyyy older company than Proton.

• Norman on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Seriously Small capacity Euro cars better buy with turbo or supercharge else the fc will suffer a lot due to their chassis weight,Proton NA cars is much better.Ive own the 2003 Renault Megane 1.6 and car weight is as same as 1.8/2.0 cars.Funny thing they perform in cold and night whether

• Finally, a reliable VW (and matches Vios price!). Throw all of those DSG, VGM!

Now VW lousy service centre must be fixed. Current service centres 10x worse than Peugeot, 1000x worse than Proton.

Combined FC is higher than TSI though.. that’s CFE/Inspira-like real-world FC. I think it can do better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Better buy this car than vios or city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Dr Mamak on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Still boring. But 2 thumbs up for the rear aircon vent!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Please lower to RM79,900. Hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Wait till 2014 year end and there u go, u get the rm6k discount for finishing the stock!

• price nearly the same as fiesta

• Siew Li on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Wow! I can use a Japanese car price to own a German car! great! I wanna get it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Monday on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:48 pm

This damned car should be sold below RM50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
    • Even lowest variant vios in thai over RM50k…how do u aspect polo sedan to be price lower than RM50k in boleh?

• It will happened if BN down

• sorry lads. still feel a bit too much for what to me is an entry level car.

• Han Tan on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:01 pm

same as Honda City. Entry level for Honda, still a Honda wut??

• Enthu on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:04 pm

ain’t Vios City the same? and you think its better to pay the same price for an entry level Jap instead of an entry level conti?

• hargur on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:47 pm

City facelift has VSC, do you say it’s sam with Polo which doesn’t?

• City got VSC
        Vios has catfish face
        Polo Sedan is fake Saga BLM, lol

• james on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Exterior like saga only, who cares about conti thingy? They suppose to make it beautiful like Vios catfish. Then people can call it [insertwhatevername]fish.

• cincin on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Yes! I have owned Hondas and Toyotas before. Million times better…please buy the Polo and experience VW’s famed after sales service and relaibility then you would know what I am taking about…

• Sam's doctor on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:31 am

entry level toyota close to 100k ( vios TRD)

• tiadaid on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:51 pm

I’ve driven the Polo Sedan on a test drive – if you’re expecting Golf-like driving dynamics, you’re wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:34 pm

What to expect from a Indian car that specially developed for 2nd/3rd world country? I’d be surprise if it can match Polo hatchback from German.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • Well, in india they get the 1.6 TDI which runs rings around a so called hybrid in terms of fc but we cant dream of it cos we are still stuck on euro2m in bolehland….

• tiadaid on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:03 am

Which is why you shouldn’t buy a car based on the brand, as many typical Malaysians are doing!

• budlee on Oct 19, 2013 at 7:55 pm

hmm.. this looks promising…

• GRexer on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:07 pm

I think the headlamps are more than just a colour change, I noticed that the older black-faced ones have dual bulbs in each headlamps as compared to a single bulb in the ones shown here. Personally, I would prefer separate bulbs for low and high beam.

• Green on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:14 pm

What about finding out the actual NVH and Fuel consumption test, using same method as vios, 4 passenger, full throttling @ high traffic jam Jalan duta?

• Yes I agree! Choose worst roads, worst day (maybe on Monday to KL / Friday out from KL) and worst time (8am to KL and 5pm out from KL) then go and test.

• Tumbi on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Not just polo sedan, every vw car should lower their price, coz they all don’t worth that much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 36
    • They cannot reduce it coz where to put face if their cars are cheaper or same with proton? Proton bashers said Proton was established more than 25 years ago but other companies are much more older. Despite the high price, it still comes with cheap specs (no VSC, etc)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Still worth more than a Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • fongkh on Oct 19, 2013 at 8:55 pm

VW’s design is always simple and nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
  • Kawe Tampan on Oct 19, 2013 at 9:11 pm

0-100km in 12 seconds. Macam siput babi je laju dia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
  • Old Man’s luxury Saga BLM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • wee teck on Oct 19, 2013 at 9:24 pm

So….I would follow Sam Loo advice and buy a Toyota Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
  • azhar on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:06 pm

need to kumpul duit from now on

• hantu on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:15 pm

I wish VW Malaysia can bring in TDI version same as Indian market.

• unreasonableSam on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:00 am

Why no 6 airbags…

• motorhead on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:06 am

Now price is sane.. Ideal car for me to go to work. May consider.

• what Saga look alike….its still Volkwagen polo sedan…haha

• emken on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Yes, still 2 airbags, no VSA/ESC, in other words, it’s just an overpriced saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • vteic on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:08 pm

No, it’s fake one, they copied Saga front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Jimmy on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:46 am

In a few years time, when people mention about Kia (segments A to Z), it is automatically 6-airbags + ESP in our brains, just like Merc and BMW. VGM you can do better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Norman on Oct 20, 2013 at 1:04 am

Well if youre looking something classy with a budget then this will do,Go research and find another 10k bolt on turbo

• Good luck when you ask for warranty. It doesn’t have factory warranty like CFE

• bawakereta on Oct 20, 2013 at 8:16 am

Buy ford laa. My ford lynx still running perfectly even its already 400,000km ++ , except the air-cond fail to work. Ford car is very reliable. Cost of maintenance cheaper around RM400.

• Old saga is cheaper, aircond still working, maintenance around 100+

• powershot on Oct 20, 2013 at 5:05 pm

the quality & reliability of ford cars nowadays is not as good as the old days (especially for the cars made from the thai factory).

• Sam's doctor on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:26 am

EX5 cheaper. Maintenance less than RM50

• Holy cow, same price like City. How – should I get this branded looking saga or Honda City?

• Delirious on Oct 20, 2013 at 10:06 am

Hey guys,

This Polo Sedan doesnt have DSG, its comes with the conventional automatic gearbox.

• copycat

• But proton bashers don’t dare to say because it’s not a proton!!

• blaster88 on Oct 20, 2013 at 10:34 am

Think twice before buying a VW! After sales service absolutely sucks! Especially if you claim warranty from the 3rd year onwards. which is undertaken by Alliance. lots of paper work and waiting time esp for the adjuster to come. Mine took months….wrote to VW Malaysia and as usual, no response!!! Am selling my VW. Sad because it was a nice ride…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • cosmothegod on Oct 20, 2013 at 11:05 am

Still needs VSC. Our road condition and weather requires VSC as standard option. You can aquaplane even at 60kmh in heavy rain.

German Precision Engineering, refers to premium brands only, I’m just guessing here.

• policeman on Oct 20, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Electronics have spoilt people.
      They are now incapable of driving without these aids.

• nighttrain on Oct 20, 2013 at 8:37 pm

True dat, cikgu. But ain’t it better to have as precaution than not? Personally, I’d prefer good wet condition tyres to VSC.

• Crasher7 on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:14 pm

The price will sure gets buyers attention

• cincin on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Has anyone of you experience VW after sales service? You should if you are a sucker for extreme pain…I would rather have my eyes dug out with a spoon than to spend countless hours writing and screaming at them…going to sell my VW.

• Indian rupee drop ma thats why cheaper la. You really think syed likes you meh?

• cincin on Oct 20, 2013 at 4:59 pm

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-12/volkswagen-confirms-australian-car-recall/4747694

Read this before you buy your next VW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/10/17/us-autos-toyota-recall-idUSBRE99G0Y220131017

Read this before you consider a Toyota…

• azhar on Oct 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm

that one with DSG..polo sedan dont have DSG laaaaa

• blaster88 on Oct 20, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Mohd, no comparison, Toyota owned up and did the responsible thingy vs VW hush hush approach. Toyota’s Aircon issue does not kill vs VW issue which is life threatening…all brands have recalls. Its how it is being handled, communicated and who holds the higher moral ground. Guess VW never learned for how Audi MIShandled the issue with one of their model many years ago…nearly killed the brand in the US.

• “Toyota’s Aircon issue does not kill vs VW issue which is life threatening”

Toyota’s aircon issue will let the drivers airbag explode right into your face on the highway. That’s not life-threatening for you?

But you’re absolutely right: Toyota’s issues won’t kill VW’s issues. But VW’s issues won’t kill Toyota’s issues as well… ;)

• kenapa la VW polo sedan tak pakai enjin 1.4 TSI..

• PAUL TAN JR on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:03 am

Anything from Pekan is a CON! seriously ANYTHING..

• this has to be the most boring car to be ever created since the nissan sunny. Still would have one over a gay vios tho.

• RoKie on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:09 pm

And still no stability control system ? The rear passengers lives are worthed less ?

• fredo on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:59 pm

at least now people will have more choices…suprima-s or vios or kimchi or VW Polo…. ahhahahahaa

• Nissan on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Very soon, there will be again a review of price tag maybe before it is launched.

• azrai on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:13 am

Is it the new CKDed POLO in Pekan? I wonder how they can reduce the price drastically with extra kit.

• i have good experience with vw service. DSG got prob. settled within days. just to share my xperience. coz nobody remember good things, we only tend to remember bad things

• 1 stick and 2 balls on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Polo Sedan can lure potential vios buyers with this price .But think of Sam Loo’s advice (he may be rude , but he speaks the TRUTH ).

• lookaround on Oct 27, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Does Polo Sedan 2014 comes with EBD? I am confused with BA and EBD. Thanks.

• Affinity on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD) same as Brake Assist (BA)

• I own a VW GOLF 1.4 TSI (18months already) Stay and work in Kuala Lumpur.NO DSG OR SERVICE ISSUES….I drove up to Genting Highlands and Gunung Brincang(Cameron Highlands)with ease….Happy and Satisfied. (ausgezeichnet)

• Nicivo on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Guys India just launched their Polo sedan with 1.2 Tsi, DSG and ESP any idea when or VW will ever bring this spec to Malaysia?? I tried calling and emailing them but no reply at all. Drove the 1.6 FSi, the car feels solid very well built, very convincing in the corners as well, brakes are amazing considering the rear is only drums, but it lacks power, pick up isn’t that great, top speed i got with the test drive unit was 160km/h nothing more.

• Nicivo on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Guys India just launched their Polo sedan with 1.2 Tsi, DSG and ESP any idea when or VW will ever bring this spec to Malaysia?? I tried calling and emailing them but no reply at all.Test drove the car feels solid very well built, very convincing in the corners as well, brakes are amazing considering the rear is only drums.

• Own a Polo CBU few months back. The driving experience is like an iphone (vw) vs Samsung (japanese rival) with the range below 100k. It was solid and convincing. However, rattling sound from the door started to appear. Need to make a week appointment to fix it. Still thumbs up for vw polo sedan.

• 1.8cc on Nov 16, 2013 at 9:44 pm

I drive wira 1.8. 2x acc but still gud.

• 1.8cc on Nov 16, 2013 at 9:47 pm

vw polo sedan rim huv 5 nuts

• just book a polo sedan at Glenmarie, solid german car, color paper grey. I like service schedule every 15 K or 1 year just like merc.

• David kekana on May 27, 2022 at 5:24 am

2014 Volkswagen polo sedan I like it

• David kekana on May 27, 2022 at 5:24 am

2014 Volkswagen polo sedan I like it price please